DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a. expander in at least claim 8.
expander is interpreted to cover capillary tube as per [0112] of applicant specification; and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 calls for the limitation “at least one gas-liquid separator disposed at the compressor suction pipe, the gas-liquid separator being not disposed…” (last paragraph), which limitation is indefinite as it is unclear as to how the gas-liquid separator relates to the previously recited at least one gas-liquid separator. In other words, is the gas-liquid separator one of at least one gas-liquid separator? Or is it the same as the at least one gas-liquid separator? It is uncertain.
Applicant is encouraged to recite “at least one gas-liquid separator disposed at the compressor suction pipe, the at least one gas-liquid separator being not disposed…”
A similar issue is found in claim 2 with the recitation “the gas-liquid separator”. Claim 2 should be addressed accordingly.
Claim 3 calls for the limitation “a temperature of the non-azeotropic mixed refrigerant flowing through the respective capillary tube is lower than a temperature of the non-azeotropic mixed refrigerant flowing through the compressor suction pipe”; which limitation recites both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus. It is unclear whether infringement occurs when one creates the apparatus or when one actually uses the apparatus (see MPEP 2173.05(p), In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
A similar issue is found in claims 9 and 10. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-7 and 11 are indefinite for their dependency on an indefinite base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 20190024948 A1) in view of Matsunaga (US 7739881 B2).
Regarding claim 1:
Park discloses a refrigerating apparatus (Fig. 7), comprising:
a compressor #110 to compress a non-azeotropic mixed refrigerant ([0011]);
a condenser #120 to condense the compressed non-azeotropic mixed refrigerant;
at least two evaporators including a first evaporator #151a configured to supply cold air to a first interior space, and a second evaporator #152a configured to supply cold air to a second interior space at a temperature higher than a temperature of the first interior space ([0155]);
a valve #170 configured to branch the non-azeotropic mixed refrigerant condensed by the condenser to at least two branches;
at least two capillary tubes including a first capillary tube #141 configured to connect the valve to a refrigerant inlet side of the first evaporator, and a second capillary tube #143 configured to connect the valve to a refrigerant inlet side of the second evaporator (Fig. 7);
a compressor suction pipe #165 to connect the refrigerant outlet side of the second evaporator to an inlet side of the compressor;
a regenerative heat exchanger #250a in which at least a portion of the at least two capillary tubes is adjacent to the compressor suction pipe to exchange heat therebetween (Fig. 7),
check valve #158 to allow the non-azeotropic mixed refrigerant to flow from the first evaporator to the second evaporator (Fig. 7).
Park does not disclose at least one gas-liquid separator disposed at the compressor suction pipe, the gas-liquid separator being not disposed in a connection pipe between the first evaporator and the second evaporator.
In the same field of endeavor, Matsunaga teaches wherein at least one gas-liquid separator #6 disposed at a compressor suction pipe #3b, the at least one gas-liquid separator being not disposed in a connection pipe between a first evaporator #8 and the second evaporator #9 (see Fig. 1B; col. 5, L 1-7).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Park with at least one gas-liquid separator disposed at the compressor suction pipe, the gas-liquid separator being not disposed in a connection pipe between the first evaporator and the second evaporator; in a similar manner as taught by Matsunaga.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have prevented liquid refrigerant from being sucked into the compressor; thereby, ensuring proper compressor operations.
Regarding claim 2:
Park as modified discloses all the limitations.
As modified, the at least one gas-liquid separator is provided at the outlet side of the second evaporator (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 6:
Park as modified discloses all the limitations.
Park further discloses wherein the check valve does not allow refrigerant flow from the second evaporator to the first evaporator such that a reverse flow of the refrigerant is prevented when switching from simultaneous operation of the first interior space and the second interior space to operation of the second interior space alone ([0152]).
Regarding claim 7:
Park as modified discloses all the limitations.
Park further discloses wherein the first interior space is a freezer compartment and the second interior space is a refrigerating compartment ([0155]).
Double Patenting
For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 8 and 11 are respectively rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12331975.
Although the terminology, phrasing, or specific claim terms differ, the underlying invention or functional scope is the same or an obvious variation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 12-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The combination of elements as set forth in independent claims 8 and 17 is not disclosed or made obvious by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yoon (US 20070068193 A1), Bonet (US 9310121 B2), Itoh (US 20070193292 A1), Rivis (US 20150096325 A1).
/LIONEL NOUKETCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763