DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 filed July 15th, 2026, are pending in the current action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 9-11, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simari et al. (US2019/0371067) in view of Lee et al. (US2017/0148218) in view of Torii et al. (US2018/0164983)
Consider claim 1, where Simari teaches an information processing apparatus comprising: a display; (See Simari ¶77 where augmented reality content appears on the client system’s display) a camera configured to capture an image outside the information processing apparatus; (See Simari ¶84 where the method may obtain an image from a camera of the client system 103) a memory; a processing circuit (See Simari Fig 8) configured to: execute a content stored in the memory, in response to receiving a power off signal for turning off a power of the information processing apparatus, set an object included in an image captured by the camera as a registration key, and store an execution state of the content associated with the registration key as key content pair information, (See Simari ¶76-78 where at the end of an AR session, e.g., when the user turns off the client system 103 or moves to a different location, the 3D model that corresponds to the feature points may be stored with the associated WIFI, BLUETOOTH, and GPS metadata. The tracking algorithm may detect sets of 3D points in images of the real-world environment, which are referred to as feature points, and identify correlations between the real-world feature points and previously-seen feature points. The AR application may generate a 3D model of the AR environment based on the feature points on these real-world objects. Thus, the feature points serve as a key to the 3D model content forming a key content pair that is stored when the client system is turned off.) in response to receiving a power on signal for turning on the power of the information processing apparatus, control the camera to capture an image outside the information processing apparatus, and determine whether the key content pair information is stored in the memory, (See Simari Fig. 5 and ¶76-78 where further, when the camera 201 is opened, re-localization may be performed to identify the client system 103's location. During re-localization, the door knob, trashcan, and other points previously detected and stored in map may be recognized. The AR content, e.g., a note, may then be displayed at the corresponding locations in the AR environment. ) in response to determining that the key content pair information is stored in the memory, determine whether the registration key included in the key content pair information conforms with an object included in the image captured by the camera, in response to determining that the registration key conforms with the object, restore the execution state of the content associated with the registration key, (See Simari Fig. 5 and ¶76-78 where further, when the camera 201 is opened, re-localization may be performed to identify the client system 103's location. During re-localization, the door knob, trashcan, and other points previously detected and stored in map may be recognized. The AR content, e.g., a note, may then be displayed at the corresponding locations in the AR environment.)
Simari teaches determining if mapped content exists, however Simari does not explicitly teach
in response to determining that the key content pair information is not stored in the memory or that the registration key does not conform with the object, display an initial screen on the display. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Lee teaches in response to determining that the key content pair information is not stored in the memory or that the registration key does not conform with the object, display an initial screen on the display. (See Lee Fig. 4 and ¶83-85 where content is initially displayed in step 412 and when no mapped content is found at step 413 the flow chart loops back to the content displayed at step 412) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of Simari to do nothing when no mapped content exists as taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using a known technique for providing a default option when no content exists.
Simari teaches content associated with a key, however Simari does not explicitly teach a menu screen used for a content selection. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Torii teaches a menu screen used for a content selection. (See Torii Fig. 12a, 12b and ¶285-287 where here, there may be a configuration in which, in the HMD 1A, the control section 150 displays a menu image in the display region V, and the real object B1 is selected and designated from among real objects included in the visual field VR through an operation of the user U1 on the menu. In this case, the control section 150 may detect the real object B1 from, for example, a captured image in the camera 61 in response to an operation using the hand H, and may transmit output information including information for designating the real object B1.) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the mapped content of Simari to be modified using a menu as taught by Torii. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of providing a user accessible method of mapping the desired content.
Consider claim 2, where Simari, in view of Lee in view of Torii teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the information processing apparatus is worn on a head of a user. (See Simari ¶89 where the device is an augmented/virtual reality device) (See Lee ¶41 where the device may be a head mounted device)
Consider claim 4 The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the object is a wall or an interior of a room. (See Simari ¶77 where the table and a wall, light switch, door knob, trash can, and so on may be used to generate the feature points for the real-world objects)
Consider claim 5, where Simari in view of Lee in view of Torii teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the execution state of the content is information indicating a reproduction portion or a progress portion of the content. (See Simari ¶37, 97 where a first user 101 may leave a message for a second user 102 with their dog 104. When the second user 102 walks into an area near the dog 104, a notification may be presented indicating that the dog has a message. Thus, presenting a reproduction of the message to the first user or an updated status message for the second user)
Consider claim 6, where Simari teaches an information processing apparatus comprising: a display; (See Simari ¶77 where augmented reality content appears on the client system’s display) an operational input interface; a camera configured to capture an image outside the information processing apparatus; (See Simari ¶84 where the method may obtain an image from a camera of the client system 103) a memory; a processing circuit configured to: in response to, detect an object included in an image captured by the camera, set the detected object as a registration key, store an execution state of a content associated with the registration key as key content pair information, the content being stored in the memory, in response to activating the information processing apparatus after shutting off a power of the information processing apparatus or shifting the information processing apparatus to a sleep mode, control the camera to capture an image outside the information processing apparatus, (See Simari ¶76-78 where at the end of an AR session, e.g., when the user turns off the client system 103 or moves to a different location, the 3D model that corresponds to the feature points may be stored with the associated WIFI, BLUETOOTH, and GPS metadata. The tracking algorithm may detect sets of 3D points in images of the real-world environment, which are referred to as feature points, and identify correlations between the real-world feature points and previously-seen feature points. The AR application may generate a 3D model of the AR environment based on the feature points on these real-world objects. Thus, the feature points serve as a key to the 3D model content forming a key content pair that is stored when the client system is turned off.) and determine whether the key content pair information is stored in the memory, in response to determining that the key content pair information is stored in the memory, (See Simari Fig. 5 and ¶76-78 where further, when the camera 201 is opened, re-localization may be performed to identify the client system 103's location. During re-localization, the door knob, trashcan, and other points previously detected and stored in map may be recognized. The AR content, e.g., a note, may then be displayed at the corresponding locations in the AR environment. ) determine whether the registration key included in the key content pair information conforms with an object included in the image captured by the camera, in response to determining that the registration key conforms with the object, restore the execution state of the content associated with the registration key, (See Simari Fig. 5 and ¶76-78 where further, when the camera 201 is opened, re-localization may be performed to identify the client system 103's location. During re-localization, the door knob, trashcan, and other points previously detected and stored in map may be recognized. The AR content, e.g., a note, may then be displayed at the corresponding locations in the AR environment.)
Simari teaches determining if mapped content exists, however Simari does not explicitly teach
in response to determining that the key content pair information is not stored in the memory or that the registration key does not conform with the object, display an initial screen on the display. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Lee teaches in response to determining that the key content pair information is not stored in the memory or that the registration key does not conform with the object, display an initial screen on the display. (See Lee Fig. 4 and ¶83-85 where content is initially displayed in step 412 and when no mapped content is found at step 413 the flow chart loops back to the content displayed at step 412) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of Simari to do nothing when no mapped content exists as taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using a known technique for providing a default option when no content exists.
Simari teaches camera capture, however Simari does not explicitly teach receiving a predetermined instruction from a user of the information processing apparatus via the operational input interface. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Lee teaches receiving a predetermined instruction from a user of the information processing apparatus via the operational input interface. (See Lee ¶3, 78-79 where after the camera is activated a photograph is taken) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the scanning operation in Simari (See Simari ¶8 where the user is asked to open the client system's camera to scan for the real-world object) would be a photograph operation as taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of allowing the user to perform the operations they have been asked to do.
Simari teaches content associated with a key, however Simari does not explicitly teach a menu screen used for a content selection. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Torii teaches a menu screen used for a content selection. (See Torii Fig. 12a, 12b and ¶285-287 where here, there may be a configuration in which, in the HMD 1A, the control section 150 displays a menu image in the display region V, and the real object B1 is selected and designated from among real objects included in the visual field VR through an operation of the user U1 on the menu. In this case, the control section 150 may detect the real object B1 from, for example, a captured image in the camera 61 in response to an operation using the hand H, and may transmit output information including information for designating the real object B1.) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the mapped content of Simari to be modified using a menu as taught by Torii. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of providing a user accessible method of mapping the desired content.
Consider claim 9, where Simari in view of Lee in view of Torii teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the object is a wall or an interior of a room. (See Simari ¶77 where the table and a wall, light switch, door knob, trash can, and so on may be used to generate the feature points for the real-world objects)
Consider claim 10, where Simari in view of Lee in view of Torii teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the execution state of the content is information indicating a reproduction portion or a progress portion of the content. (See Simari ¶37, 97 where a first user 101 may leave a message for a second user 102 with their dog 104. When the second user 102 walks into an area near the dog 104, a notification may be presented indicating that the dog has a message. Thus, presenting a reproduction of the message to the first user or an updated status message for the second user)
Consider claim 11, where Simari teaches an information processing apparatus for executing a content, comprising: (See Simari ¶77 where augmented reality content appears on the client system’s display) an operational input interface; a camera configured to capture an image outside the information processing apparatus; (See Simari ¶84 where the method may obtain an image from a camera of the client system 103) a memory; a processing circuit configured to: in response to, detect an object included in an image captured by the camera, set the detected object as a registration key, store an execution state of the content associated with the registration key as key content pair information, in response to activating the information processing apparatus after shutting off a power of the information processing apparatus or shifting the information processing apparatus to a sleep mode, control the camera to capture an image outside the information processing apparatus, (See Simari ¶76-78 where at the end of an AR session, e.g., when the user turns off the client system 103 or moves to a different location, the 3D model that corresponds to the feature points may be stored with the associated WIFI, BLUETOOTH, and GPS metadata. The tracking algorithm may detect sets of 3D points in images of the real-world environment, which are referred to as feature points, and identify correlations between the real-world feature points and previously-seen feature points. The AR application may generate a 3D model of the AR environment based on the feature points on these real-world objects. Thus, the feature points serve as a key to the 3D model content forming a key content pair that is stored when the client system is turned off.) and determine whether the key content pair information is stored in the memory, in response to determining that the key content pair information is stored in the memory, (See Simari Fig. 5 and ¶76-78 where further, when the camera 201 is opened, re-localization may be performed to identify the client system 103's location. During re-localization, the door knob, trashcan, and other points previously detected and stored in map may be recognized. The AR content, e.g., a note, may then be displayed at the corresponding locations in the AR environment. ) determine whether the registration key included in the key content pair information conforms with an object included in the image captured by the camera, in response to determining that the registration key conforms with the object, restore the execution state of the content associated with the registration key, (See Simari Fig. 5 and ¶76-78 where further, when the camera 201 is opened, re-localization may be performed to identify the client system 103's location. During re-localization, the door knob, trashcan, and other points previously detected and stored in map may be recognized. The AR content, e.g., a note, may then be displayed at the corresponding locations in the AR environment.)
Simari teaches determining if mapped content exists, however Simari does not explicitly teach
in response to determining that the key content pair information is not stored in the memory or that the registration key does not conform with the object, display an initial screen on the display. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Lee teaches in response to determining that the key content pair information is not stored in the memory or that the registration key does not conform with the object, display an initial screen on the display. (See Lee Fig. 4 and ¶83-85 where content is initially displayed in step 412 and when no mapped content is found at step 413 the flow chart loops back to the content displayed at step 412) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of Simari to do nothing when no mapped content exists as taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using a known technique for providing a default option when no content exists.
Simari teaches camera capture, however Simari does not explicitly teach receiving a predetermined instruction from a user of the information processing apparatus via the operational input interface. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Lee teaches receiving a predetermined instruction from a user of the information processing apparatus via the operational input interface. (See Lee ¶3, 78-79 where after the camera is activated a photograph is taken) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the scanning operation in Simari (See Simari ¶8 where the user is asked to open the client system's camera to scan for the real-world object) would be a photograph operation as taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of allowing the user to perform the operations they have been asked to do.
Simari teaches content associated with a key, however Simari does not explicitly teach a menu screen used for a content selection. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Torii teaches a menu screen used for a content selection. (See Torii Fig. 12a, 12b and ¶285-287 where here, there may be a configuration in which, in the HMD 1A, the control section 150 displays a menu image in the display region V, and the real object B1 is selected and designated from among real objects included in the visual field VR through an operation of the user U1 on the menu. In this case, the control section 150 may detect the real object B1 from, for example, a captured image in the camera 61 in response to an operation using the hand H and may transmit output information including information for designating the real object B1.) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the mapped content of Simari to be modified using a menu as taught by Torii. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of providing a user accessible method of mapping the desired content.
Consider claim 14, where Simari, in view of Lee in view of Torii teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the object is a wall or an interior of a room. (See Simari ¶77 where the table and a wall, light switch, door knob, trash can, and so on may be used to generate the feature points for the real-world objects)
Consider claim 15, where Simari in view of Lee in view of Torii teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the execution state of the content is information indicating a reproduction portion or a progress portion of the content. (See Simari ¶37, 97 where a first user 101 may leave a message for a second user 102 with their dog 104. When the second user 102 walks into an area near the dog 104, a notification may be presented indicating that the dog has a message. Thus, presenting a reproduction of the message to the first user or an updated status message for the second user)
Claim(s) 3, 8, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simari in view of Lee in view of Torii as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Nguyen et al. (US2018/0349946)
Consider claim 3, where Simari in view of Lee in view of Torii teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the object is a wall, light switch, table, door knob or trashcan. (See Simari ¶77 where the table and a wall, light switch, door knob, trash can, and so on may be used to generate the feature points for the real-world objects) however, Simari does not explicitly teach a clock, a calendar, a sofa or a bookshelf. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Nguyen teaches a sofa. (See Nguyen ¶43 where the data object may be a sofa) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art that the object recognition performed in Simari would also be able to recognize other common objects.
Consider claim 8, where Simari in view of Lee in view of Torii teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the object is a wall, light switch, table, door knob or trashcan. (See Simari ¶77 where the table and a wall, light switch, door knob, trash can, and so on may be used to generate the feature points for the real-world objects) however, Simari does not explicitly teach a clock, a calendar, a sofa or a bookshelf. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Nguyen teaches a sofa. (See Nguyen ¶43 where the data object may be a sofa) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art that the object recognition performed in Simari would also be able to recognize other common objects.
Consider claim 13, where Simari in view of Lee in view of Torii teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the object is a wall, light switch, table, door knob or trashcan. (See Simari ¶77 where the table and a wall, light switch, door knob, trash can, and so on may be used to generate the feature points for the real-world objects) however, Simari does not explicitly teach a clock, a calendar, a sofa or a bookshelf. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Nguyen teaches a sofa. (See Nguyen ¶43 where the data object may be a sofa) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art that the object recognition performed in Simari would also be able to recognize other common objects.
Claim(s) 7 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simari in view of Lee in view of Torii as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Um et al. (US2015/0067580)
Consider claim 7, where Simari in view of Lee in view of Torii teaches The information processing apparatus according to claim 6, however they do not explicitly teach further comprising a proximity sensor, wherein, in response to detecting that the information processing apparatus is removed from a head of the user by using the proximity sensor, the processing circuit shuts of the power off the information processing apparatus or shifts the information processing apparatus to the sleep mode. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Um teaches further comprising a proximity sensor, wherein, in response to detecting that the information processing apparatus is removed from a head of the user by using the proximity sensor, the processing circuit shuts off the power off the information processing apparatus or shifts the information processing apparatus to the sleep mode. (See Sum ¶88 where the wearable device can perform a smart power management in a manner of minimizing power consumption according to a sensed state based on information sensed by the proximity sensor 610. If the state of the wearable device changes from the active state to the inactive state, the wearable device can perform such a function as stopping, bookmarking, storing, and the like of data in playing. Despite the wearable device becomes the inactive state, sensing information is continuously checked by the proximity sensor 610 to perform a function more adaptive to an intention of a user. If the inactive state is maintained for more than a predetermined time period, it may be able to automatically make the wearable device operate in a non-active mode (sleep mode).) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art that the user turning off the device operation taught in Simari could be performed using a proximity sensor as taught by Um. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using known methods of turning a device off to yield predictable results.
Consider claim 12, where Simari in view of Lee in view of Torii teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 11, however they do not explicitly teach further comprising a proximity sensor, wherein, in response to detecting that the information processing apparatus is removed from a head of the user by using the proximity sensor, the processing circuit shuts of the power off the information processing apparatus or shifts the information processing apparatus to the sleep mode. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Um teaches further comprising a proximity sensor, wherein, in response to detecting that the information processing apparatus is removed from a head of the user by using the proximity sensor, the processing circuit shuts off the power off the information processing apparatus or shifts the information processing apparatus to the sleep mode. (See Um ¶88 where the wearable device can perform a smart power management in a manner of minimizing power consumption according to a sensed state based on information sensed by the proximity sensor 610. If the state of the wearable device changes from the active state to the inactive state, the wearable device can perform such a function as stopping, bookmarking, storing, and the like of data in playing. Despite the wearable device becomes the inactive state, sensing information is continuously checked by the proximity sensor 610 to perform a function more adaptive to an intention of a user. If the inactive state is maintained for more than a predetermined time period, it may be able to automatically make the wearable device operate in a non-active mode (sleep mode).) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art that the user turning off the device operation taught in Simari could be performed using a proximity sensor as taught by Um. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using known methods of turning a device off to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
WILLIAM LU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2624
/WILLIAM LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624