DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 11 recites in lines 1-2 the limitation of “the first water-soluble film and second-water soluble film”. The examiner suggests inserting the word “the” before “second-water soluble film” for clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, 4, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "a sealing plane" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This appears to be the same sealing plane as recited in claim 1, line 1, and the examiner suggests amending the claim to recite “the sealing plane”.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the ratio" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This appears to be the first instance of any ratio in the claims, and the examiner suggests amending the claim to recite “a ratio”.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the Top-to-Bottom depth difference" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This appears to be the first instance of any Top-to-Bottom depth difference in the claims, and the examiner suggests amending the claim to recite “a Top-to-Bottom depth difference”.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the conveyor and/or the platens" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This appears to be the first instance of the conveyor and/or the platens in claim 10 or its parent claim 1. It is noted that claim 9 recites “a rotating platen conveyor belt”. However, claim 9 is not a parent claim to claim 10, and the language also is inconsistent. The examiner suggests either amending the claim to recite “a conveyor and/or a platen” or the plural form as appropriate.
Alternatively, the examiner suggests amending the claim to be dependent from claim 9, and using “the rotating platen conveyor belt” instead of the conveyor and/or the platens in lines 1 and 2-3.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the seal area" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This appears to be the first instance of the seal area, and the examiner suggests amending the claim to recite “a seal area”.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the sealing techniques include but are not limited to heat sealing, solvent sealing, and a combination thereof" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This appears to be the first instance of any reference to sealing techniques, and the term should be “sealing techniques” and should somehow relate to the step of sealing from claim 1. Additionally, it is unclear how to interpret this limitation as the scope of “sealing techniques” is unclear because these techniques “include but are not limited to heat sealing, solvent sealing, and a combination thereof”. It appears that applicant is attempting to claim other sealing techniques. The examiner suggests breaking the claim into two claims - such as by amending claim 12 to recite: “12. The process according to claim 1, wherein the sealing is performed by sealing techniques.” and adding a new claim such as “16: The process according to claim 12, wherein the sealing techniques include heat sealing, solvent sealing, and a combination thereof.”
Claims 13 and 14 and rejected based on their dependency from claim 12.
Claim 14 recites the limitation " the size of the part of the pouch" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This appears to be the first instance of the size of the part of the pouch, and the examiner suggests amending the claim to recite “a size of a part of the pouch”.
Claim 14 recites the limitation " the area which is to be the sealing area" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This appears to be the first instance of the area which is to be the sealing area, and the examiner suggests amending the claim to recite “an area which is to be a sealing area”.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 14 recites the broad recitation “the area which is to be the sealing area”, and the claim also recites “namely between the moulds, around the edges of the moulds” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "their film temperatures" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if this is a recitation back to “the first water-soluble film heating temperature and the second water-soluble film heating temperature” as recited in claim 1. The examiner suggests reciting “the first water-soluble film heating temperature and the second water-soluble film heating temperature” for clarity.
Regarding claim 15, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase (“such as infrared quartz tube lamps, a heating plate, or a combination thereof”) are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). The examiner suggests moving the limitations after such as into a dependent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7, 9, 10, and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Brandt Sanz (US 20160340068 A1).
As to claim 1, Brandt Sanz discloses a process for making a water-soluble pouch (“water soluble pouch 10”) having at least one compartment on a sealing plane, the process comprising the steps of:
a) feeding (via “first web feed roll 500”) a first water-soluble film onto a horizontal or non-horizontal portion of a continuously and rotatably moving endless surface (“conveyor system 520”), which comprises a plurality of moulds (“a plurality of first molds 530”), and continuously moving the film to said horizontal or non-horizontal portion;
b) heating the first water-soluble film to a first water soluble film heating temperature and forming from the first heated water-soluble film on the horizontal or non-horizontal portion of the continuously moving surface, and in the moulds on the surface, a continuously moving, horizontally or non-horizontally positioned web of open pouches, by applying an under pressure (paragraph 0031, “As the first web 505 passes beneath the heater 540, the first web 505 can be heated to the desired temperature.”);
c) filling the continuously moving, horizontally or non-horizontally positioned web of open pouches with a formulation, to obtain a web of open and filled pouches (see paragraph 0062, disclosing “Filling or partial filling can be provided by a dispenser 550.”);
d) heating a second water-soluble film to a second water-soluble film heating temperature and continuously sealing the web of open pouches, by feeding the second heated water- soluble film onto the horizontally or non-horizontally positioned web of open, filled pouches, to obtain a web of closed pouches (see paragraph 0049, disclosing “The sealing may occur in the land area 531 between individual first cavities 570 of the first molds 530. Non-limiting examples of such means include heat sealing, solvent welding, solvent or wet sealing, and combinations thereof.”);
wherein at the point of sealing, the first water-soluble film heating temperature and the second water-soluble film heating temperature difference is in the range from 0 to 50°C, and the under pressure on the first film is released post the sealing of the second film, and (see paragraph 0008, disclosing “The second maximum temperature can be greater than or equal to the first maximum temperature.”);
e) cutting the web of closed pouches into a plurality of individual pouches (see paragraph 0050, disclosing “The formed pouches 10 may then be cut by a cutting device.”).
See Figures 3 and 5, below:
See also paragraph 0008, 0027, 0031-0032, 0035, 0040, 0049-0050, 0055, 0062, disclosing:
[0008] The water soluble first web can be at a second maximum temperature when the second pressure difference is applied. The second maximum temperature can be greater than or equal to the first maximum temperature.
[0027] An apparatus 1 for forming a water soluble pouch 10 is shown in FIG. 3. The apparatus 1 can comprise a first web feed roll 500, a printing unit 510, a conveyor system 520, a plurality of first molds 530 movably mounted on the conveyor system 520, a heater 540, a dispenser 550, and a second web feed roll 560. Upstream of the dispenser 550, the apparatus 1 can comprise a first vacuum system 600 and a second vacuum system 610, the second vacuum system 610 being between the first vacuum system 600 and the dispenser 550. The first web 505 can be fed through the printing unit 510 prior to being place on the conveyor system 520. The printing unit 510 can print the first plurality 310 of adjacent printed characters 300 onto the first web. The first web 505 can then be fed onto the conveyor system 520. The conveyor system 520 can convey the first molds 530 in the machine direction MD. The dispenser 550 can be movable in the machine direction MD and in a direction upstream of the machine direction MD.
[0031] The first molds 530 provided can comprise a first cavity 570. As the first web 505 is conveyed in the machine direction MD, the first web 505 can pass beneath a heater 540. The heater 540 can be an infrared lamp. The heater 540 can be an infrared lamp having a temperature of from about 300° C. to about 500° C. As the first web 505 passes beneath the heater 540, the first web 505 can be heated to the desired temperature. The distance between the heater 540 and the first web 505 can be adjustable so that the temperature of the first web 505 can be controlled. Similarly, the temperature of the heater 540 can be adjustable so that the temperature of the first web 505 can be controlled.
[0032] As the first web 505 is optionally being heated or after the first web 505 is optionally heated to the desired temperature, the first molds 530 can be conveyed over a first vacuum system 600. The first vacuum system 600 can be used to apply a first negative gage pressure to the first porous face 575 of the first cavity 570. When the first negative gage pressure is applied to the first porous face 575 of the first cavity 570, the first web 505 can be at a first maximum temperature. When the first web 505, and or third web, is heated, it is possible that the temperature of the first web (and or third web as applicable) is non-uniform in the machine direction MD and the cross direction. This can occur because when a web is being carried by a first mold 530 (and or second mold as applicable), part of the web is resting on the land area 531 of the first mold 530 (and or second mold as applicable) and part of the web is overlying the first cavity 570 (and or second cavity as applicable). The difference in boundary conditions for the first web 505 (and or third web as applicable) in the direction of the thickness of the first web 505 (and or third web as applicable) can result in non-uniform heating of the first web 505 (and or third web as applicable). For instance, the portion of a web overlying the center of a cavity may be at a temperature of 107° C. and the portion of the web out on the land area 531 may have a temperature of about 25° C. The portion of a web overlying the center of a cavity may be at a temperature of 103° C. and the portion of the web out on the land area 531 may have a temperature of about 26° C. The portion of a web overlying the center of a cavity may be at a temperature of 108° C. and the portion of the web out on the land area 531 may have a temperature of about 24° C. The maximum temperature as referred to herein is the maximum local temperature of the portion of the web being formed. The maximum temperature as referred to herein can be the maximum local temperature of the portion of the web being thermoformed. A higher temperature of the portion of the web overlying the center of a cavity can promote improved thermoforming resulting in fewer and or less structurally significant microscopic cracks. Further, higher temperatures during thermoforming can promote plastic deformation which can result in less internal pressure of the finished pouch 10 as compared to if the web is elastically deformed. If the temperature is too high, the web may become so pliable that the web may be drawn into holes in the forming surface which can be detrimental to the structural integrity of the finished pouch 10.
[0035] The first maximum temperature can be from about 5° C. to about 100° C. The first maximum temperature can be from about 10° C. to about 100° C. The first maximum temperature can be from about 20° C. to about 100° C. The first maximum temperature can be from about 60 to about 100° C.
[0040] The second maximum temperature can be from about 100° C. to about 120° C. The second negative gage pressure can be from about 150 mbar to about 260 mbar below atmospheric pressure. The second negative gage pressure can be from about 180 mbar to about 260 mbar below atmospheric pressure. The second negative gage pressure can be from about 180 mbar to about 230 mbar below atmospheric pressure. The second negative gage pressure can be from about 210 mbar to about 230 mbar below atmospheric pressure. That is, the second negative gage pressure pulls harder on the first web 505 than the first negative gage pressure.
[0049] Any suitable process of joining the first web 505 and the second web 565 may be used. The sealing may occur in the land area 531 between individual first cavities 570 of the first molds 530. Non-limiting examples of such means include heat sealing, solvent welding, solvent or wet sealing, and combinations thereof. Heat and or solvent can be applied to the entire surface of the sheet or only the area which is to form the seal can be treated with heat or solvent. The heat or solvent can be applied by any process, typically on the closing material, and typically only on the areas which are to form the seal. If solvent or wet sealing or welding is used, heat can also be applied. Wet or solvent sealing/welding processes include selectively applying solvent onto the area between the molds, or on the closing material, by for example, spraying or printing this onto these areas, and then applying pressure onto these areas, to form the seal. Sealing rolls and belts as described above that optionally also provide heat can be used, for example.
[0050] A cutting operation can be integral with or located down-stream of the apparatus shown in FIG. 3 to separate the pouches 10 into individual pouches 10. The formed pouches 10 may then be cut by a cutting device. Cutting can be accomplished using any known process. The cutting can be done in continuous manner, optionally with constant speed and in a horizontal position. The cutting device can, for example, be a sharp item or a hot item, whereby in the latter case, the hot item ‘burns’ through the sheet/sealing area. The cutting device or devices can be a rotary die cutter to make cuts in the cross direction and a cutting wheel to make cuts in the machine direction MD.
[0055] If more than one pouch 10 are to be joined to one another, the apparatus 1 can be provided with a top pouch forming device 2, as shown in FIG. 5. In such an arrangement the bottom pouch 10 can be formed as described above with respect to forming pouches 10. The top pouch forming device 2 can comprise a third web feed roll 800. A water soluble third web 805 can be provided from the third web feed roll 800. The third web 805 can be carried on a heated roller 900. The heated roller 900 can heat the third web 805 to a temperature of from about 100° C. to about 135° C. The heated roller 900 can heat the third web 805 to a temperature of from about 100° C. to about 125° C. The higher the temperature of the third web 805, the greater the propensity for the deformation to be by thermoforming.
[0062] Once a second compartment 580 is formed in the third web 805, a substrate treatment agent can be placed in the second compartment 580. The second compartment 580 can be filled or partially filled with a substrate treatment agent 50. Filling or partial filling can be provided by a dispenser 550. Filling can occur when the second compartment 580 is proximal the apex of its travel path. If the second mold 532 is conveyed on a drum system, filling may occur when the second mold 532 is proximal it highest elevation. If the second mold 532 is conveyed on a belt system, filling can be provided at a location at or downstream of where the second compartment 580 is formed. The dispenser 550 associated with the second mold 532 can travel with the conveyor system 520 for at least part of the range of motion of the conveyor system. For instance, the dispenser 550 that fills the second compartment 580 formed in the third web 805 can travel back and forth over a limited range of motion as shown in FIG. 5. After the second compartment 580 in the third web 805 is filled, the second web 565 is then sealed to the formed third web 805 to form a second enclosed pouch 10 having a second chamber 40. The formed third web 805 can be a deformed, plastically deformed, or thermoformed.
As to claim 2, Brandt Sanz discloses wherein the water-soluble pouch comprises a plurality of compartments (“cavities”) arranged in a side-by-side manner on a sealing plane. See paragraph 0030, disclosing “The first molds 530 can have a land area 531 that surrounds the respective cavity, the first cavity or cavities 570 and second cavity or cavities.”
As to claim 6, Brand discloses wherein the first water-soluble film heating temperature of the first water-soluble film is in the range from 80 to 150°C (see paragraph 0035, disclosing “The first maximum temperature can be from about 60 to about 100° C.” see paragraph 0040, disclosing “The second maximum temperature can be from about 100° C. to about 120° C.”).
As to claim 7, Brandt Sanz discloses wherein the second water-soluble film heating temperature of the second water-soluble film is in the range from 30 to 175°C (see paragraph 0035, disclosing “The first maximum temperature can be from about 60 to about 100° C.” see paragraph 0040, disclosing “The second maximum temperature can be from about 100° C. to about 120° C.”).
For claims 6 and 7, See paragraph 0035-40, disclosing
[0035] The first maximum temperature can be from about 5° C. to about 100° C. The first maximum temperature can be from about 10° C. to about 100° C. The first maximum temperature can be from about 20° C. to about 100° C. The first maximum temperature can be from about 60 to about 100° C.
[0036] The first maximum temperature can be such that the deformation of the first web 505 is by thermoforming. Thermoforming may provide for a finished pouch 10 that has lesser degree of micro-cracking as compared to a pouch 10 that is formed from a first web 505 that is deformed at a lower temperature.
[0037] The first negative gage pressure can be from about 10 mbar to about 90 mbar below atmospheric pressure. The first web 505 can be subjected to the first negative gage pressure for from about 1 s to about 10 s. The first web 505 can be subjected to the first negative pressure for from about 2 s to about 5 s. The first web 505 can be subjected to the first negative pressure for from about 1 s to about 3 s. The first negative gage pressure can be from about 10 mbar to about 40 mbar below atmospheric pressure. The first negative gage pressure can be from about 25 mbar to about 35 mbar below atmospheric pressure. The water soluble first web 505 can have a temperature of from about 5° C. to about 100° C., or even from about 10° C. to about 100° C., or even from about 20° C. to about 100° C., when the first negative gage pressure is applied to the first web 505. The lower the first negative gage pressure the faster the first web 505 will be deformed. Slower deformation can reduce the amount of micro-cracking in the deformed first web 505. For a lower the temperature of deformation, the first negative gage pressure may be greater, i.e. less vacuum, so that deformation of the first web 505 is slow, which can reduce micro-cracking in the first web 505.
[0038] As the first web 505 is conveyed further in the machine direction MD, a second negative gage pressure can be applied to the first porous face 575 of the cavity 570 when the first web 505 is at a second maximum temperature. The second negative gage pressure can be applied with a second vacuum system 610. The second negative gage pressure can be applied when the first web 505 is at a second maximum temperature. The second maximum temperature can be greater than the first maximum temperature.
[0039] For clarity, gage pressure is zero referenced at atmospheric pressure. So if the first negative gage pressure is 50 mbar below atmospheric pressure and the second negative gage pressure is 100 mbar below atmospheric pressure, it can be said that the second negative gage pressure is less than the first negative gage pressure. And, it can be said a gage pressure of 50 mbar below atmospheric pressure is a negative gage pressure since it is pressure below atmospheric pressure. Since a negative gage pressure of 50 mbar below atmospheric pressure is below atmospheric pressure, it is a vacuum. So, in the circumstances in which the second negative gage pressure is less than or equal to the first negative gage pressure, it can be thought of as the first negative gage pressure being a first level of vacuum and the second negative gage pressure being a second level of vacuum, and the second level of vacuum is more forceful than the first level of vacuum.
[0040] The second maximum temperature can be from about 100° C. to about 120° C. The second negative gage pressure can be from about 150 mbar to about 260 mbar below atmospheric pressure. The second negative gage pressure can be from about 180 mbar to about 260 mbar below atmospheric pressure. The second negative gage pressure can be from about 180 mbar to about 230 mbar below atmospheric pressure. The second negative gage pressure can be from about 210 mbar to about 230 mbar below atmospheric pressure. That is, the second negative gage pressure pulls harder on the first web 505 than the first negative gage pressure.
As to claim 9, Brandt Sanz discloses wherein said moving endless surface is a part of a rotating platen conveyor belt having the plurality of moulds comprising vacuum holes (paragraph 0032, reciting “holes in the forming surface”, paragraph 0033, reciting “The openings can be circular openings. There can be from about 2 to about 2000 openings.”). See paragraphs 0032-0033, disclosing:
[0032] As the first web 505 is optionally being heated or after the first web 505 is optionally heated to the desired temperature, the first molds 530 can be conveyed over a first vacuum system 600. The first vacuum system 600 can be used to apply a first negative gage pressure to the first porous face 575 of the first cavity 570. When the first negative gage pressure is applied to the first porous face 575 of the first cavity 570, the first web 505 can be at a first maximum temperature. When the first web 505, and or third web, is heated, it is possible that the temperature of the first web (and or third web as applicable) is non-uniform in the machine direction MD and the cross direction. This can occur because when a web is being carried by a first mold 530 (and or second mold as applicable), part of the web is resting on the land area 531 of the first mold 530 (and or second mold as applicable) and part of the web is overlying the first cavity 570 (and or second cavity as applicable). The difference in boundary conditions for the first web 505 (and or third web as applicable) in the direction of the thickness of the first web 505 (and or third web as applicable) can result in non-uniform heating of the first web 505 (and or third web as applicable). For instance, the portion of a web overlying the center of a cavity may be at a temperature of 107° C. and the portion of the web out on the land area 531 may have a temperature of about 25° C. The portion of a web overlying the center of a cavity may be at a temperature of 103° C. and the portion of the web out on the land area 531 may have a temperature of about 26° C. The portion of a web overlying the center of a cavity may be at a temperature of 108° C. and the portion of the web out on the land area 531 may have a temperature of about 24° C. The maximum temperature as referred to herein is the maximum local temperature of the portion of the web being formed. The maximum temperature as referred to herein can be the maximum local temperature of the portion of the web being thermoformed. A higher temperature of the portion of the web overlying the center of a cavity can promote improved thermoforming resulting in fewer and or less structurally significant microscopic cracks. Further, higher temperatures during thermoforming can promote plastic deformation which can result in less internal pressure of the finished pouch 10 as compared to if the web is elastically deformed. If the temperature is too high, the web may become so pliable that the web may be drawn into holes in the forming surface which can be detrimental to the structural integrity of the finished pouch 10.
[0033] The first porous face 575 of the first cavity 570 can comprise openings having an area from about 0.1 mm.sup.2 to about 2 mm.sup.2. The first porous face 575 of the first cavity 570 can comprise openings having an area from about 0.5 mm.sup.2 to about 1 mm.sup.2. The first porous face 575 of the first cavity 570 can comprise openings having an area from about 0.5 mm.sup.2 to about 1.5 mm.sup.2. The openings can be circular openings. There can be from about 2 to about 2000 openings. The openings can be sized such that at the temperature of deformation, plastic deformation, or thermoforming, the web is not drawn into the openings to a degree such that the structural integrity of the finished pouch 10 is compromised.
As to claim 10, Brandt Sanz discloses wherein the conveyor (“conveyor system 520”) and/or the platens (porous face 575) may further comprise a plurality of apertures (“The openings can be circular openings. There can be from about 2 to about 2000 openings.”) which are located at both edges of the conveyor and/or the platens along the machine direction, in which an under pressure may be applied through the plurality of apertures. See Figure 4, below
As to claim 12, Brandt Sanz discloses wherein the sealing techniques include but are not limited to heat sealing, solvent sealing, and a combination thereof (“a thermal bond or a solvent weld or combination thereof”). See paragraph 0022, disclosing:
[0022] The edges 90 of the first sheet 20 and second sheet 30 can be bonded to one another. For example, the edges 90 of the first sheet 20 and second sheet 30 can be joined to one another by a thermal bond or a solvent weld or combination thereof. A thermal bond can be formed by applying one or more of heat and pressure to the two materials to be bonded to one another. A solvent weld can be formed by applying a solvent to one or both of the first sheet and second sheet and contacting the first sheet 20 and second sheet 30 in the location at which a bond is desired. For water soluble pouches, the solvent can be water and or steam.
As to claim 13, Brandt Sanz discloses wherein the second water-soluble film is wetted by spraying a solvent such as water on or contacting a solvent-containing article with the second water-soluble film (“For water soluble pouches, the solvent can be water and or steam”). See paragraph 0022, disclosing:
[0022] The edges 90 of the first sheet 20 and second sheet 30 can be bonded to one another. For example, the edges 90 of the first sheet 20 and second sheet 30 can be joined to one another by a thermal bond or a solvent weld or combination thereof. A thermal bond can be formed by applying one or more of heat and pressure to the two materials to be bonded to one another. A solvent weld can be formed by applying a solvent to one or both of the first sheet and second sheet and contacting the first sheet 20 and second sheet 30 in the location at which a bond is desired. For water soluble pouches, the solvent can be water and or steam.
As to claim 14, Brandt Sanz discloses the heat sealing is used, wherein a sealing roller with cavities of the size of the part of the pouch, which is not enclosed by the mould, is rolled over the web of pouches, passing under the roller such that the roller contacts only the area which is to be the sealing area, namely between the moulds, around the edges of the moulds. See paragraphs 0020-0022:
[0020] Each of the first sheet 20 and second sheet 30 can have an interior surface 70 and an opposing exterior surface 80, as shown in FIG. 2. The printed characters can be on the interior surface 70 and or exterior surface 80. The interior surface 70 of the first sheet 20 and second sheet 30 can together form a chamber 40. The edges 90 of the first sheet 20 and second sheet 30 can be joined to one another to form the chamber 40. Within the chamber 40, the substrate treatment agent 50 can be disposed. At least one of the first sheet 20 and second sheet 30 can be a formed sheet 25. At least one of the first sheet 20 and second sheet 30 can be a thermoformed sheet 25. The interior surface 70 of the first sheet 20 and second sheet 30 can be oriented towards the chamber 40. The first plurality 310 of printed characters 300 can be provided on the interior and or exterior surface of any sheet forming the pouch.
[0021] The edges 90 can each have a length less than about 100 mm, or even less than about 60 mm, or even less than about 50 mm. The plan view of the of the water soluble pouch 10 can be substantially rectangular, substantially square, substantially circular, elliptical, superelliptical, or any other desired shape that is practical to manufacture. The overall plan area of the water soluble pouch can be less than about 10000 mm.sup.2, or even less than about 2500 mm.sup.2. Sized and dimensioned as such, the water soluble pouch 10 can fit conveniently within the grasp of an adult human hand. Further, for water soluble pouches 10 intended for use in automatic dishwashing machines, such a size can conveniently fit in the detergent receptacle within the machine.
[0022] The edges 90 of the first sheet 20 and second sheet 30 can be bonded to one another. For example, the edges 90 of the first sheet 20 and second sheet 30 can be joined to one another by a thermal bond or a solvent weld or combination thereof. A thermal bond can be formed by applying one or more of heat and pressure to the two materials to be bonded to one another. A solvent weld can be formed by applying a solvent to one or both of the first sheet and second sheet and contacting the first sheet 20 and second sheet 30 in the location at which a bond is desired. For water soluble pouches, the solvent can be water and or steam.
As to claim 15, Brandt Sanz wherein the first water-soluble film and the second water-soluble film are heated to their film temperatures by using an infrared lamp such as infrared quartz tube lamps, a heating plate, or a combination thereof. See paragraph 0031, disclosing:
[0031] The first molds 530 provided can comprise a first cavity 570. As the first web 505 is conveyed in the machine direction MD, the first web 505 can pass beneath a heater 540. The heater 540 can be an infrared lamp. The heater 540 can be an infrared lamp having a temperature of from about 300° C. to about 500° C. As the first web 505 passes beneath the heater 540, the first web 505 can be heated to the desired temperature. The distance between the heater 540 and the first web 505 can be adjustable so that the temperature of the first web 505 can be controlled. Similarly, the temperature of the heater 540 can be adjustable so that the temperature of the first web 505 can be controlled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandt Sanz (US 20160340068 A1) as applied to claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 9, 10, and 12-15 above, and further in view of Colace (US 20210062119 A1) and Meier (US 20180282673 A1).
As to claim 3, Brandt Sanz does not discloses wherein the ratio of height between the second water- soluble film to the sealing plane and between the first water-soluble film to the sealing plane of each compartment comprised in the resulting water-soluble pouch, as measured 24 hour after pouch making and stored at 20-23°C, 30-40% rH, is from 0.65 to 1.2.
Colace and Meier, however, makes obvious wherein the ratio of height between the second water- soluble film to the sealing plane and between the first water-soluble film to the sealing plane of each compartment comprised in the resulting water-soluble pouch, as measured 24 hour after pouch making and stored at 20-23°C, 30-40% rH, is from 0.65 to 1.2.
Colace discloses that storing at 20-23°C, 30-40% rH is known, as is using a total time of 18 hours. See paragraph 0093, disclosing:
[0093] The temperature is fixed at 20° C. The relative humidity (RH) is set at 35% for 6 hours, and then raised in 1 step (takes 6 min for plateauing the RH) onto 50%. The RH remains at 50% for 12 hours then decreases in 1 step back to 35% plateauing within 6 min. The total duration of the measurement is 18 hours. There is no prior pre-conditioning of the films as the DVS runs 6 hours at 35% RH as preconditioning step.
Additionally, Meier discloses a water-soluble pouch, wherein the fill volumes are variables. See paragraphs 0010 and 0042, disclosing:
[0010] In order to solve the aforementioned problem, there is proposed in a detergent product a plurality of pouch chambers which are located one after the other in a number n where n≥3, which pouch chambers are arranged as a (finite) series of pouch chambers with a monotonously increasing size of the footprint located in the sealing plane and/or with a monotonously increasing size of the fill volume. In a series of pouch chambers having n elements arranged successively, where n≥3, the footprint and/or the fill volume of each subsequent pouch chamber in the series is larger than or identical to the footprint and/or the fill volume of the adjacent preceding pouch chamber. By way of example, in a series of pouch chambers located one after the other, the first pouch chamber may have the smallest footprint and/or the smallest fill volume and a second pouch chamber may have a larger footprint and/or a larger fill volume. A third subsequent pouch chamber may then in turn have for example an identical footprint and/or an identical fill volume to that of the second pouch chamber or else a larger footprint and/or a larger fill volume. A fourth pouch chamber of the series may then have for example a maximum footprint and/or a maximum fill volume.
[0042] The fill volume of the smallest pouch chamber may be between 40 and 80%, preferably between 50 and 70%, more preferably between 55 and 65%, of the fill volume of the largest pouch chamber. The fill volume of a medium-sized pouch chamber may be between 50% and 90%, preferably between 60% and 80%, more preferably between 65% and 75%, of the fill volume of the largest pouch chamber. It will be understood that a plurality of “medium-sized” pouch chambers may be provided. The above-described advantages of the detergent product according to the invention can be achieved particularly well in this way.
Additionally, changes in size and shape are very often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, the height variable would be directly related to the fill volume which is recognized as a result effective or relevant variable subject to routine experimentation under MPEP 2144.05..
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the ratio of height between the second water- soluble film to the sealing plane and between the first water-soluble film to the sealing plane of each compartment comprised in the resulting water-soluble pouch, as measured 24 hour after pouch making and stored at 20-23°C, 30-40% rH, is from 0.65 to 1.2 as taught by Colace’s time, temperature and humidity values, and Meier’s fill volumes, and as an obvious change in size and change and routine experimentation of the fill volumes and thus height.
As to claim 4, Brandt Sanz does not disclose wherein the Top-to-Bottom depth difference between at least two individual compartments is from 10% to 300%.
However, Meier discloses that the fill volumes can be modified. See paragraphs 0010 and 0042, disclosing:
[0010] In order to solve the aforementioned problem, there is proposed in a detergent product a plurality of pouch chambers which are located one after the other in a number n where n≥3, which pouch chambers are arranged as a (finite) series of pouch chambers with a monotonously increasing size of the footprint located in the sealing plane and/or with a monotonously increasing size of the fill volume. In a series of pouch chambers having n elements arranged successively, where n≥3, the footprint and/or the fill volume of each subsequent pouch chamber in the series is larger than or identical to the footprint and/or the fill volume of the adjacent preceding pouch chamber. By way of example, in a series of pouch chambers located one after the other, the first pouch chamber may have the smallest footprint and/or the smallest fill volume and a second pouch chamber may have a larger footprint and/or a larger fill volume. A third subsequent pouch chamber may then in turn have for example an identical footprint and/or an identical fill volume to that of the second pouch chamber or else a larger footprint and/or a larger fill volume. A fourth pouch chamber of the series may then have for example a maximum footprint and/or a maximum fill volume.
[0042] The fill volume of the smallest pouch chamber may be between 40 and 80%, preferably between 50 and 70%, more preferably between 55 and 65%, of the fill volume of the largest pouch chamber. The fill volume of a medium-sized pouch chamber may be between 50% and 90%, preferably between 60% and 80%, more preferably between 65% and 75%, of the fill volume of the largest pouch chamber. It will be understood that a plurality of “medium-sized” pouch chambers may be provided. The above-described advantages of the detergent product according to the invention can be achieved particularly well in this way.
Additionally, changes in size and shape are very often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, the height variable would be directly related to the fill volume which is recognized as a result effective or relevant variable subject to routine experimentation under MPEP 2144.05..
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the Top-to-Bottom depth difference between at least two individual compartments is from 10% to 300% as taught by Meier’s fill volumes, and as an obvious change in size and change and routine experimentation of the fill volumes and thus depth differences.
As to claim 11, Brandt Sanz does not disclose wherein the difference in mean thickness of the first water-soluble film and second-water soluble film post deformation in the resulting pouch excluding the seal area and as measured 24 hours after pouch making and stored at 20- 234C, 30-40% rH is less than 25%.
Colace and Meier, however, makes obvious wherein the difference in mean thickness of the first water-soluble film and second-water soluble film post deformation in the resulting pouch excluding the seal area and as measured 24 hours after pouch making and stored at 20- 234C, 30-40% rH is less than 25%.
Colace discloses that storing at 20-23°C, 30-40% rH is known, as is using a total time of 18 hours. See paragraph 0093, disclosing:
[0093] The temperature is fixed at 20° C. The relative humidity (RH) is set at 35% for 6 hours, and then raised in 1 step (takes 6 min for plateauing the RH) onto 50%. The RH remains at 50% for 12 hours then decreases in 1 step back to 35% plateauing within 6 min. The total duration of the measurement is 18 hours. There is no prior pre-conditioning of the films as the DVS runs 6 hours at 35% RH as preconditioning step.
Additionally, Meier discloses a water-soluble pouch, wherein the fill volumes are variables. See paragraphs 0010 and 0042, disclosing:
[0010] In order to solve the aforementioned problem, there is proposed in a detergent product a plurality of pouch chambers which are located one after the other in a number n where n≥3, which pouch chambers are arranged as a (finite) series of pouch chambers with a monotonously increasing size of the footprint located in the sealing plane and/or with a monotonously increasing size of the fill volume. In a series of pouch chambers having n elements arranged successively, where n≥3, the footprint and/or the fill volume of each subsequent pouch chamber in the series is larger than or identical to the footprint and/or the fill volume of the adjacent preceding pouch chamber. By way of example, in a series of pouch chambers located one after the other, the first pouch chamber may have the smallest footprint and/or the smallest fill volume and a second pouch chamber may have a larger footprint and/or a larger fill volume. A third subsequent pouch chamber may then in turn have for example an identical footprint and/or an identical fill volume to that of the second pouch chamber or else a larger footprint and/or a larger fill volume. A fourth pouch chamber of the series may then have for example a maximum footprint and/or a maximum fill volume.
[0042] The fill volume of the smallest pouch chamber may be between 40 and 80%, preferably between 50 and 70%, more preferably between 55 and 65%, of the fill volume of the largest pouch chamber. The fill volume of a medium-sized pouch chamber may be between 50% and 90%, preferably between 60% and 80%, more preferably between 65% and 75%, of the fill volume of the largest pouch chamber. It will be understood that a plurality of “medium-sized” pouch chambers may be provided. The above-described advantages of the detergent product according to the invention can be achieved particularly well in this way.
Additionally, changes in size and shape are very often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, the mean thickness variable would be directly related to the fill volume which is recognized as a result effective or relevant variable subject to routine experimentation under MPEP 2144.05..
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the difference in mean thickness of the first water-soluble film and second-water soluble film post deformation in the resulting pouch excluding the seal area and as measured 24 hours after pouch making and stored at 20- 234C, 30-40% rH is less than 25% as taught by Colace’s time, temperature and humidity values, and Meier’s fill volumes, and as an obvious change in size and change and routine experimentation of the fill volumes and thus mean thickness.
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandt Sanz (US 20160340068 A1) as applied to claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 9, 10, and 12-15 above,
As to claim 5, Brandt Sanz does not disclose wherein at the point of sealing, the first water-soluble film heating temperature and the second water-soluble film heating temperature difference is from 0 to 30°C.
Brandt Sanz discloses in paragraph 0008 that “[0008] The water soluble first web can be at a second maximum temperature when the second pressure difference is applied. The second maximum temperature can be greater than or equal to the first maximum temperature.”
See paragraph 0035-40, disclosing
[0035] The first maximum temperature can be from about 5° C. to about 100° C. The first maximum temperature can be from about 10° C. to about 100° C. The first maximum temperature can be from about 20° C. to about 100° C. The first maximum temperature can be from about 60 to about 100° C.
[0036] The first maximum temperature can be such that the deformation of the first web 505 is by thermoforming. Thermoforming may provide for a finished pouch 10 that has lesser degree of micro-cracking as compared to a pouch 10 that is formed from a first web 505 that is deformed at a lower temperature.
[0037] The first negative gage pressure can be from about 10 mbar to about 90 mbar below atmospheric pressure. The first web 505 can be subjected to the first negative gage pressure for from about 1 s to about 10 s. The first web 505 can be subjected to the first negative pressure for from about 2 s to about 5 s. The first web 505 can be subjected to the first negative pressure for from about 1 s to about 3 s. The first negative gage pressure can be from about 10 mbar to about 40 mbar below atmospheric pressure. The first negative gage pressure can be from about 25 mbar to about 35 mbar below atmospheric pressure. The water soluble first web 505 can have a temperature of from about 5° C. to about 100° C., or even from about 10° C. to about 100° C., or even from about 20° C. to about 100° C., when the first negative gage pressure is applied to the first web 505. The lower the first negative gage pressure the faster the first web 505 will be deformed. Slower deformation can reduce the amount of micro-cracking in the deformed first web 505. For a lower the temperature of deformation, the first negative gage pressure may be greater, i.e. less vacuum, so that deformation of the first web 505 is slow, which can reduce micro-cracking in the first web 505.
[0038] As the first web 505 is conveyed further in the machine direction MD, a second negative gage pressure can be applied to the first porous face 575 of the cavity 570 when the first web 505 is at a second maximum temperature. The second negative gage pressure can be applied with a second vacuum system 610. The second negative gage pressure can be applied when the first web 505 is at a second maximum temperature. The second maximum temperature can be greater than the first maximum temperature.
[0039] For clarity, gage pressure is zero referenced at atmospheric pressure. So if the first negative gage pressure is 50 mbar below atmospheric pressure and the second negative gage pressure is 100 mbar below atmospheric pressure, it can be said that the second negative gage pressure is less than the first negative gage pressure. And, it can be said a gage pressure of 50 mbar below atmospheric pressure is a negative gage pressure since it is pressure below atmospheric pressure. Since a negative gage pressure of 50 mbar below atmospheric pressure is below atmospheric pressure, it is a vacuum. So, in the circumstances in which the second negative gage pressure is less than or equal to the first negative gage pressure, it can be thought of as the first negative gage pressure being a first level of vacuum and the second negative gage pressure being a second level of vacuum, and the second level of vacuum is more forceful than the first level of vacuum.
[0040] The second maximum temperature can be from about 100° C. to about 120° C. The second negative gage pressure can be from about 150 mbar to about 260 mbar below atmospheric pressure. The second negative gage pressure can be from about 180 mbar to about 260 mbar below atmospheric pressure. The second negative gage pressure can be from about 180 mbar to about 230 mbar below atmospheric pressure. The second negative gage pressure can be from about 210 mbar to about 230 mbar below atmospheric pressure. That is, the second negative gage pressure pulls harder on the first web 505 than the first negative gage pressure.
In this case, the temperature variable would be understood as a result effective or relevant variable subject to routine experimentation under MPEP 2144.05..
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein at the point of sealing, the first water-soluble film heating temperature and the second water-soluble film heating temperature difference is from 0 to 30°C by routine experimentation of the temperature variables.
As to claim 6, Brand can be interpreted as not disclose wherein the first water-soluble film heating temperature of the first water-soluble film is in the range from 80 to 150°C.
In this case, the temperature would be understood as a result effective or relevant variable subject to routine experimentation under MPEP 2144.05. See paragraphs 0035-40, cited above.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the first water-soluble film heating temperature of the first water-soluble film is in the range from 80 to 150°C by routine experimentation of the temperature variables.
As to claim 7, Brandt Sanz can be interpreted as not disclosing wherein the second water-soluble film heating temperature of the second water-soluble film is in the range from 30 to 175°C.
In this case, the temperature would be understood as a result effective or relevant variable subject to routine experimentation under MPEP 2144.05. See paragraphs 0035-40, above.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized herein the second water-soluble film heating temperature of the second water-soluble film is in the range from 30 to 175°C by routine experimentation of the temperature variables.
As to claim 8, Brandt Sanz wherein a first under-pressure between 200 mbar to 900 mbar is applied to the moulds after the first water-soluble film is heated and positioned over the moulds.
However, Brandt Sanz does disclose pressures in the range between 200 mbar to 900 mbar. Brandt teaches in paragraph 0040 “The second negative gage pressure can be from about 210 mbar to about 230 mbar below atmospheric pressure”. See paragraphs 0037-40, disclosing:
[0037] The first negative gage pressure can be from about 10 mbar to about 90 mbar below atmospheric pressure. The first web 505 can be subjected to the first negative gage pressure for from about 1 s to about 10 s. The first web 505 can be subjected to the first negative pressure for from about 2 s to about 5 s. The first web 505 can be subjected to the first negative pressure for from about 1 s to about 3 s. The first negative gage pressure can be from about 10 mbar to about 40 mbar below atmospheric pressure. The first negative gage pressure can be from about 25 mbar to about 35 mbar below atmospheric pressure. The water soluble first web 505 can have a temperature of from about 5° C. to about 100° C., or even from about 10° C. to about 100° C., or even from about 20° C. to about 100° C., when the first negative gage pressure is applied to the first web 505. The lower the first negative gage pressure the faster the first web 505 will be deformed. Slower deformation can reduce the amount of micro-cracking in the deformed first web 505. For a lower the temperature of deformation, the first negative gage pressure may be greater, i.e. less vacuum, so that deformation of the first web 505 is slow, which can reduce micro-cracking in the first web 505.
[0039] For clarity, gage pressure is zero referenced at atmospheric pressure. So if the first negative gage pressure is 50 mbar below atmospheric pressure and the second negative gage pressure is 100 mbar below atmospheric pressure, it can be said that the second negative gage pressure is less than the first negative gage pressure. And, it can be said a gage pressure of 50 mbar below atmospheric pressure is a negative gage pressure since it is pressure below atmospheric pressure. Since a negative gage pressure of 50 mbar below atmospheric pressure is below atmospheric pressure, it is a vacuum. So, in the circumstances in which the second negative gage pressure is less than or equal to the first negative gage pressure, it can be thought of as the first negative gage pressure being a first level of vacuum and the second negative gage pressure being a second level of vacuum, and the second level of vacuum is more forceful than the first level of vacuum.
[0040] The second maximum temperature can be from about 100° C. to about 120° C. The second negative gage pressure can be from about 150 mbar to about 260 mbar below atmospheric pressure. The second negative gage pressure can be from about 180 mbar to about 260 mbar below atmospheric pressure. The second negative gage pressure can be from about 180 mbar to about 230 mbar below atmospheric pressure. The second negative gage pressure can be from about 210 mbar to about 230 mbar below atmospheric pressure. That is, the second negative gage pressure pulls harder on the first web 505 than the first negative gage pressure.
In this case, the pressure variable would be understood as a result effective or relevant variable subject to routine experimentation under MPEP 2144.05. Additionally, rearrangement and reversal of parts and changes in order of the steps, such as by making second film the first film, would have been obvious. MPEP 2144.04.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein a first under-pressure between 200 mbar to 900 mbar is applied to the moulds after the first water-soluble film is heated and positioned over the moulds by routine experimentation of the pressure variables and by obvious rearrangement and reversal of parts and changes in order of the steps.
Conclusion
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10-6:30.
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745
GRK