DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,358,712. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations of the instant application can be arrived at from the claim limitations of the cited patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Auclair et al. (US 7,073,665) in view of Notheis (US 4,478,354).
Claim 1, Auclair discloses a package dispenser comprising: a bottom wall (18); a top wall (24); first (40,44) and second (40,44) side walls that are opposite each other, that extend in a height direction (H) of the package dispenser, and that are parallel to a length direction (L) of the package dispenser; and first (20) and second (20) end walls that are opposite each other, that extend in the height direction (H) of the package dispenser, and that are parallel to a width direction (W) of the package dispenser, wherein the bottom wall (18), the top wall (24), the first (40,44) and second (40,44) side walls, and the first (20) and second (22) end walls together delimit a storage space containing at least one stack of wipes (the article dispenser of Auclair is fully capable of storing a stack of wipes; see abstract), wherein a second set of intermittent cuts (50,52) is formed in at least the first (40,44; fig.3) side wall, the second set of intermittent cuts delimiting a second removable panel (54) configured to be removed to form a second dispensing opening (fig.10), wherein a third set of intermittent cuts (92) is formed in at least the first side wall (40,44), the third set of intermittent cuts delimiting a third removable panel (92; figs.11-12) configured to be removed to form a third dispensing opening (fig.12), and wherein the second removable panel (54) is removable to form the second dispensing opening (fig.10) without removing the third removable panel (92), and wherein the third dispensing opening (fig.12) is continuous with the second dispensing opening (fig.10) such that, when both the second (54) and third (92) removable panels are removed, a combined dispensing opening including the second dispensing opening and the third dispensing opening (figs.10-12).
Auclair does not disclose wherein the top wall comprises a handle; wherein a first set of intermittent cuts is formed in at least the top wall, the first set of intermittent cuts delimiting a first removable panel configured to be removed to form a first dispensing opening; the second set of intermittent cuts delimiting a second removable panel configured to be removed to form a second dispensing opening separate from the first dispensing opening; the third set of intermittent cuts delimiting a third removable panel configured to be removed to form a third dispensing opening separate from the first dispensing opening.
Notheis discloses wherein the top wall (26) comprises a handle (30); wherein a first set of intermittent cuts (28) is formed in at least the top wall, the first set of intermittent cuts delimiting a first removable panel (28) configured to be removed to form a first dispensing opening (fig.3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the device of Auclair with wherein the top wall comprises a handle; wherein a first set of intermittent cuts is formed in at least the top wall, the first set of intermittent cuts delimiting a first removable panel configured to be removed to form a first dispensing opening; the second set of intermittent cuts delimiting a second removable panel configured to be removed to form a second dispensing opening separate from the first dispensing opening; the third set of intermittent cuts delimiting a third removable panel configured to be removed to form a third dispensing opening separate from the first dispensing opening in order to form a hand opening for grasping a handle panel used for hand carrying an open package and to enable articles to be dispensed from the top of the article dispenser, all of which are widely known configurations in the art.
Claim 2, Auclair discloses wherein the second removable panel (54) is larger than the third removable panel (92).
Claim 3, Auclair discloses wherein a first portion of the second removable panel (54) is formed on the end wall (20,22) and a second portion of the second removable panel (54) is formed on the first side wall (40,44).
Although Auclair does not disclose wherein a first portion of the second removable panel is formed on the upper wall and a second portion of the second removable panel is formed on the first side wall, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement such a configuration since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim 4, Auclair discloses wherein an entire periphery of the second removable panel (54) is curved.
Claim 5, Auclair discloses wherein a lower edge of the third removable panel (92) is not straight. Although Auclair does not disclose a straight lower edge of the third removable panel, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement such a configuration since a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim 6, Auclair discloses wherein an upper edge of the third removable panel (92) is curved (fig.1).
Claim 7, Auclair discloses wherein the second removable panel (54) comprises a grip portion (54 inherently has a gripping portion since the removable panel has to be gripped by a user to remove the panel).
Claim 8, Auclair discloses wherein the grip portion (54 inherently has a gripping portion since the removable panel has to be gripped by a user to remove the panel) is configured to be pushed in (fig.3; lower portion of 54 can be pushed in to form a grip opening) or folded out to form a grip opening.
Claim 9, Auclair discloses wherein the grip portion (54 inherently has a gripping portion since the removable panel has to be gripped by a user to remove the panel) is formed on a lower edge (fig.3; the lower edge portion of 54 can be punched in to form a grip opening) of the second removable panel (54).
Claim 10, Auclair discloses wherein the third removable panel (92) comprises a grip portion (fig.10; portions of 92 can be pushed in to form a grip opening).
Claim 11, Auclair discloses wherein the grip portion (fig.10; portions of 92 can be pushed in to form a grip opening) is configured to be pushed in or folded out to form a grip opening (fig.10; portions of 92 can be pushed in to form a grip opening).
Claim 12, Auclair discloses wherein the grip portion (fig.10; portions of 92 can be pushed in to form a grip opening) is formed on an upper edge of the third removable panel (92).
Although Auclair does not disclose the grip portion is formed on a lower edge of the third removable panel, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement such a configuration since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim 13, Auclair discloses wherein the second removable panel (54) is not larger than the third removable panel (92) in the width direction (W) of the package dispenser.
Although Auclair does not disclose wherein the second removable panel (54) is larger than the third removable panel (92) in the width direction (W) of the package dispenser, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement such a configuration since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 14, Auclair does not disclose wherein the first removable panel and the first portion of the second removable panel are positioned on opposite sides of the handle in the width direction (W) of the package dispenser.
Notheis discloses wherein the first removable panel (28) and the first portion of the second removable panel (28) are positioned on opposite sides of the handle (30) in the width direction (W) of the package dispenser (10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the device of Auclair with wherein the first removable panel and the first portion of the second removable panel are positioned on opposite sides of the handle in the width direction (W) of the package dispenser in order to form a hand opening for grasping a handle panel used for hand carrying an open package and to enable articles to be dispensed from the top of the article dispenser, all of which are widely known configurations in the art.
Claim 15, Auclair does not disclose wherein the first portion of the second removable panel is spaced apart from the handle.
Notheis discloses wherein the first portion of the second removable panel (28) is spaced apart from the handle (30). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the device of Auclair with wherein the first portion of the second removable panel is spaced apart from the handle in order to form a hand opening for grasping a handle panel used for hand carrying an open package and to enable articles to be dispensed from the top of the article dispenser, all of which are widely known configurations in the art.
Claim 16, Auclair discloses wherein the third removable panel (92) extends from an upper edge of the second removable panel (54).
Although Auclair does not disclose wherein the third removable panel (92) extends from a lower edge of the second removable panel (54), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement such a configuration since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim 17, Auclair discloses wherein the third removable panel (92) is spaced from an upper edge of the first side wall (40,44).
Although Auclair does not disclose wherein the third removable panel (92) is spaced from a lower edge of the first side wall (40,44), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement such a configuration since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim 18, Auclair discloses wherein the third removable panel (92) is spaced from an upper edge of the first end wall (20).
Although Auclair does not disclose wherein the third removable panel (92) is spaced from an upper edge of the first side wall (40,44), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement such a configuration since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim 19, Auclair discloses wherein the second removable panel (54) is spaced from the first end wall (20) and the second end wall (20).
Claim 20, Auclair discloses the articles being dispensed through the first dispensing opening, the second dispensing opening (fig.10), or the combined dispensing opening (fiogs.11-12).
Auclair does not disclose each of the at least one stack of wipes has a bottom surface formed from a bottom wipe, a top surface formed from a top wipe, two side surfaces and two end surfaces, wherein the side surfaces and the end surfaces extend between the bottom surface and the top surface, wherein each of the at least one stack of wipes is placed in the storage space and rest with the bottom surface on the bottom wall of the package dispenser, and with the top surface of the stack facing the top wall of the package dispenser, wherein each of the at least one stack of wipes in the package dispenser is a stack of interfolded wipes, wherein each of the at least one stack of wipes is arranged to be dispensed from the top surface of the stack, the interfolded wipes in the stack being dispensed through the first dispensing opening, the second dispensing opening, or the combined dispensing opening.
Notheis discloses each of the at least one stack of wipes has a bottom surface formed from a bottom wipe (fig.3), a top surface formed from a top wipe, two side surfaces and two end surfaces (fig.3), wherein the side surfaces and the end surfaces extend between the bottom surface and the top surface (fig.3), wherein each of the at least one stack of wipes is placed in the storage space and rest with the bottom surface on the bottom wall of the package dispenser (fig.3), and with the top surface of the stack facing the top wall of the package dispenser, wherein each of the at least one stack of wipes in the package dispenser is a stack of interfolded wipes (see figures), wherein each of the at least one stack of wipes is arranged to be dispensed from the top surface of the stack, the interfolded wipes in the stack being dispensed through the first dispensing opening (28). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the device of Auclair with each of the at least one stack of wipes has a bottom surface formed from a bottom wipe, a top surface formed from a top wipe, two side surfaces and two end surfaces, wherein the side surfaces and the end surfaces extend between the bottom surface and the top surface, wherein each of the at least one stack of wipes is placed in the storage space and rest with the bottom surface on the bottom wall of the package dispenser, and with the top surface of the stack facing the top wall of the package dispenser, wherein each of the at least one stack of wipes in the package dispenser is a stack of interfolded wipes, wherein each of the at least one stack of wipes is arranged to be dispensed from the top surface of the stack, the interfolded wipes in the stack being dispensed through the first dispensing opening, the second dispensing opening, or the combined dispensing opening in order to form a hand opening for grasping a handle panel used for hand carrying an open package and to enable articles to be dispensed from the top of the article dispenser, all of which are widely known configurations in the art.
Conclusion
/AYODEJI H OJOFEITIMI/Examiner, Art Unit 3651