DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in application 19/234,564.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 6/11/2025 and 9/10/2025 on are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim – Objections
The following claims raise an objection based on the following informalities:
Claims 1, 13, and 14 recite “comparing the captured facial images of the plurality of with a plurality of registered facial images registered in advance”, which the Examiner believes is missing: “users”. Grammatical correction is requested to recite the following: “comparing the captured facial images of the plurality of users with a plurality of registered facial images registered in advance”.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,361,504; over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 11,200,630; and over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,854,106. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all inventions disclose equivalent elements for determining/ authenticating passenger identities and tracking passenger progress through a facility.
19/234,564
US 12,361,504
Independent Claims 1 and 13-14
An information processing apparatus comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and a processor configured to execute the instructions to (information processing method comprising; non-transitory storage medium storing a program that causes a computer to perform):
receive captured facial images of a plurality of users from a camera located at each of a plurality of stages executed in a predetermined order;
compare the captured facial images of the plurality of with a plurality of registered facial images registered in advance;
generate a graphical user interface comprising viewable information indicating a number of users in each of the plurality of stages listed in the predetermined order, who have completed face recognition at the respective stage and have not completed face recognition at a next stage following the respective stage; and
control a display to display the generated graphical user interface.
Independent Claims 15 and 19-20
An information processing apparatus comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and a processor configured to execute the instructions to (information processing method comprising; non-transitory storage medium storing a program that causes a computer to perform):
receive captured facial images of a plurality of users from a camera located at each of a plurality of stages executed in a predetermined order;
compare a captured facial image of a user, among the plurality of users, with a plurality of registered facial images registered in advance;
generate a graphical user interface comprising display a registered facial image and face recognition completion history information on a same screen; and
control a display to display the generated graphical user interface, wherein the face recognition completion history information is displayed in the predetermined order.
Independent Claim 1
An information processing apparatus comprising: a memory storing instructions; and a processor configured to execute the instructions to:
receive one or more first facial images, from at least one stage among a plurality of stages between a check-in stage and a boarding stage, wherein the plurality of stages also include a baggage drop stage and a security stage;
update status information of one or more passengers in each of the plurality of stages based on a comparison of each of the one or more first facial images with a plurality of second facial images registered at the check-in stage;
generate a graphical user interface comprising viewable information indicating a number of passengers in each stage of the plurality of stages who have completed face recognition at the each stage and have not completed face recognition at a next stage;
control a display to display the generated graphical user interface; and
transmit an alert if the passengers present in any stage when a deadline time for the any stage has passed, wherein the deadline time for each stage is set based on boarding information registered in association with facial recognition at the check-in stage, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to determine the deadline time based on a congestion degree determined based on a number of the passengers in an airport where procedures in the plurality of stages are performed.
Independent Claim 15
An information processing apparatus comprising: a memory storing instructions; and a processor configured to execute the instructions to:
receive one or more first facial images, from at least one stage among a plurality of stages between a check-in stage and a boarding stage, wherein the plurality of stages also include a baggage drop stage and a security stage;
update status information of one or more passengers in each of the plurality of stages based on a comparison of each of the one or more first facial images with a plurality of second facial images registered at the check-in stage;
generate a graphical user interface comprising viewable information indicating a number of passengers in each stage of the plurality of stages who have completed face recognition at the each stage and have not completed face recognition at a next stage;
control a display to display the generated graphical user interface; and
transmit an alert if the passengers present in any stage when a deadline time for the any stage has passed, wherein the deadline time for each stage is set based on boarding information registered in association with facial recognition at the check-in stage, wherein the greater a number of the passengers who have completed the check-in stage is, the shorter the time between the deadline for each stage other than the boarding stage and a boarding time of the boarding stage.
19/234,564
US 11,200,630
Independent Claims 1 and 13-14
An information processing apparatus comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and a processor configured to execute the instructions to (information processing method comprising; non-transitory storage medium storing a program that causes a computer to perform):
receive captured facial images of a plurality of users from a camera located at each of a plurality of stages executed in a predetermined order;
compare the captured facial images of the plurality of with a plurality of registered facial images registered in advance;
generate a graphical user interface comprising viewable information indicating a number of users in each of the plurality of stages listed in the predetermined order, who have completed face recognition at the respective stage and have not completed face recognition at a next stage following the respective stage; and
control a display to display the generated graphical user interface.
Independent Claims 15 and 19-20
An information processing apparatus comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and a processor configured to execute the instructions to (information processing method comprising; non-transitory storage medium storing a program that causes a computer to perform):
receive captured facial images of a plurality of users from a camera located at each of a plurality of stages executed in a predetermined order;
compare a captured facial image of a user, among the plurality of users, with a plurality of registered facial images registered in advance;
generate a graphical user interface comprising display a registered facial image and face recognition completion history information on a same screen; and
control a display to display the generated graphical user interface, wherein the face recognition completion history information is displayed in the predetermined order.
Independent Claims 1, 22, and 23
An information processing apparatus comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and a processor configured to execute the instructions to (information processing method comprising; non-transitory storage medium storing a program that causes a computer to perform):
capture facial images of a plurality of users, using a camera from at least one stage, among a plurality of stages between a check-in stage and a boarding stage, wherein the plurality of stages include a first stage and a second stage subsequent to the first stage;
compare the captured facial images of the plurality of users with a plurality of registered facial images acquired in the check-in stage;
update status information of each of the plurality of the users corresponding to each of the first stage and the second stage;
identify one or more first users among the plurality of users, with a recently completed state for the first stage;
identify one or more second users among the plurality of users, with a recently completed state for the second stage;
generate a graphical user interface comprising viewable information highlighting the one or more first users with the recently completed state for the first stage and highlighting the one or more second users with the recently completed state for the second stage; and
control a display to display the generated graphical user interface.
Independent Claims 24 and 25
An information processing method comprising (non-transitory storage medium storing a program that causes a computer to perform):
capturing facial images a plurality of users, using a camera from at least one stage, among a plurality of stages between a check-in stage and a boarding stage, wherein the plurality of stages include a first stage and a second stage subsequent to the first stage;
comparing the captured facial images of the plurality of users with a plurality of registered facial images acquired in the check-in stage; updating status information of each of the plurality of the users corresponding to each of the first stage and the second stage; identifying one or more first users among the plurality of users, with a recently completed state of the first stage; identifying one or more second users among the plurality of users, with a recently completed state for the second stage;
generating a graphical user interface comprising viewable information highlighting the one or more first users with the recently completed state for the first stage and highlighting the one or more second users with the recently completed state for the second stage; and
controlling a display to display the generated graphical user interface.
19/234,564
US 11,854,106
Independent Claims 1 and 13-14
An information processing apparatus comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and a processor configured to execute the instructions to (information processing method comprising; non-transitory storage medium storing a program that causes a computer to perform):
receive captured facial images of a plurality of users from a camera located at each of a plurality of stages executed in a predetermined order;
compare the captured facial images of the plurality of with a plurality of registered facial images registered in advance;
generate a graphical user interface comprising viewable information indicating a number of users in each of the plurality of stages listed in the predetermined order, who have completed face recognition at the respective stage and have not completed face recognition at a next stage following the respective stage; and
control a display to display the generated graphical user interface.
Independent Claims 15 and 19-20
An information processing apparatus comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and a processor configured to execute the instructions to (information processing method comprising; non-transitory storage medium storing a program that causes a computer to perform):
receive captured facial images of a plurality of users from a camera located at each of a plurality of stages executed in a predetermined order;
compare a captured facial image of a user, among the plurality of users, with a plurality of registered facial images registered in advance;
generate a graphical user interface comprising display a registered facial image and face recognition completion history information on a same screen; and
control a display to display the generated graphical user interface, wherein the face recognition completion history information is displayed in the predetermined order.
Independent Claim 1 and 13-14
An information processing apparatus comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and a processor configured to execute the instructions to (information processing method comprising; non-transitory storage medium storing a program that causes a computer to perform):
receive captured facial images of a plurality of users from a camera located at each of a plurality of stages including a check-in stage, a baggage drop stage, a security stage and a boarding stage;
compare the captured facial images of the plurality of with a plurality of registered facial images acquired in the check-in stage;
generate a graphical user interface comprising viewable information indicating a number of users, in each of the plurality of stages listed in the order of the check-in stage, baggage drop stage, security stage and the boarding stage, who have completed face recognition at the respective stage and have not completed face recognition at a next stage following the respective stage; and
control a display to display the generated graphical user interface.
Independent Claims 15 and 19-20
An information processing apparatus comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and a processor configured to execute the instructions to (information processing method comprising; non-transitory storage medium storing a program that causes a computer to perform):
receive captured facial images of a plurality of users from a camera located at each of a plurality of stages including a check-in stage, a baggage drop stage, a security stage and a boarding stage;
compare a captured facial image of a user, among the plurality of users, with a plurality of registered facial images acquired in the check-in stage;
generate a graphical user interface comprising display a registered facial image and face recognition completion history information on a same screen; and
control a display to display the generated graphical user interface, wherein the face recognition completion history information is displayed in an order of the check-in stage, the baggage drop stage, the security stage and the boarding stage.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (b)
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 13, and 14 recite “the plurality of” which contains insufficient antecedent basis. Correction for proper antecedent basis is requested. See Claim objection above for further detail.
Claims 2-12 are also rejected as being dependent from claims 1, 13, 14, under the same rationale and reasoning as identified above.
Claim 9 (currently dependent on claim 7) recites “the status” which contains insufficient antecedent basis. Correction for proper antecedent basis is requested.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC §101
35 U.S.C. § 101 reads as follows:
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter, specifically an abstract idea.
Claims 1-20 are directed to a judicial exception (i.e., abstract idea), without providing a practical application, and without providing significantly more.
Under the 35 U.S.C. §101 subject matter eligibility two-part analysis, Step 1 addresses whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. See MPEP §2106.03. If the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined in Step 2A [prong 1] whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea). See MPEP §2106.04. If the claim is directed toward a judicial exception, it must then be determined in Step 2A [prong 2] whether the judicial exception is integrated into a practical application. See MPEP §2106.04(d). Finally, if the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application, it must additionally be determined in Step 2B whether the claim recites "significantly more" than the abstract idea. See MPEP §2106.05.
Examiner note: The Office’s 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (2019 PEG) is currently found in the Ninth Edition, Revision 10.2019 (revised June 2020) of the Manual of Patent Examination Procedure (MPEP), specifically incorporated in MPEP §2106.03 through MPEP §2106.07(c).
Regarding Step 1,
Claims 13 and 19 are directed toward a process (method). Claims 1-12 and 15-18 are directed toward an apparatus (system). Claims 14 and 20 are directed toward a computer program product having computer-readable tangible storage media (article of manufacture). Thus, all claims fall within one of the four statutory categories as required by Step 1.
Regarding Step 2A [prong 1],
Claims 1-20 are directed toward the judicial exception of an abstract idea. Independent claims 1, 13-15, and 19-20 are directed specifically to the abstract idea of user tracking and workflow management.
Regarding independent claims 1, 13 and 14, the underlined limitations emphasized below correspond to the abstract ideas of the claimed invention:
An information processing method comprising:
receiving captured facial images of a plurality of users from a camera located at each of a plurality of stages executed in a predetermined order; [Mental processes - generic data comparison/analysis that could theoretically be performed in the human mind or via pen-and-paper observation (looking at a person and checking a roster).]
comparing the captured facial images of the plurality of users with a plurality of registered facial images registered in advance; [Certain methods of organizing human activity—tracking the progress, status, or movement of people through an administrative process or sequence of checkpoints.]
generating a graphical user interface comprising viewable information indicating a number of users in each of the plurality of stages listed in the predetermined order, who have completed face recognition at the respective stage and have not completed face recognition at a next stage following the respective stage; and control a display to display the generated graphical user interface. [Certain methods of organizing human activity - managing information flow and data presentation, presenting collected information without altering computer functionality.]
As the underlined claim limitations above demonstrate, independent claims 1, 13 and 14 are directed to the abstract idea of Mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, or opinion)); and Certain methods of organizing human activity (fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions)).
Regarding independent claims 15, 19 and 20, the underlined limitations emphasized below correspond to the abstract ideas of the claimed invention:
An information processing method comprising:
receiving captured facial images of a plurality of users from a camera located at each of a plurality of stages executed in a predetermined order; [Mental processes - generic data comparison/analysis that could theoretically be performed in the human mind or via pen-and-paper observation (looking at a person and checking a roster).]
comparing a captured facial image of a user, among the plurality of users, with a plurality of registered facial images registered in advance; [Certain methods of organizing human activity—tracking the progress, status, or movement of people through an administrative process or sequence of checkpoints.]
generating a graphical user interface comprising displaying a registered facial image and face recognition completion history information on a same screen; and controlling a display to display the generated graphical user interface, wherein the face recognition completion history information is displayed the predetermined order. [Certain methods of organizing human activity - managing information flow and formatted data presentation.]
As the underlined claim limitations above demonstrate, independent claims 15, 19 and 20 are directed to the abstract idea of Mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, or opinion)); and Certain methods of organizing human activity (fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions)).
Dependent claims 2-12 and 16-18 provide further details to the abstract idea of claims 1, 13-15, and 19-20 regarding the received data, therefore, these claims include mental processes, and certain methods of organizing human activities for similar reasons provided above for claims 1, 13-15, and 19-20.
After considering all claim elements, both individually and in combination and in ordered combination, it has been determined that the claims do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Regarding Step 2A [prong 2],
Claims 1-20 fail to integrate the recited judicial exception into any practical application. The claims recite additional limitations which are hardware or software elements or particular technological environment, such as an “information processing apparatus”, a “non-transitory storage medium”, a “memory”, a “processor”, a “camera”, a “graphical user interface”, and a “display”. However, these limitations are not enough to qualify as “practical application” being recited in the claims along with the abstract idea since these limitations are merely invoked as a tool to perform instruction of an abstract idea in a particular technological environment and/or are generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use, and merely applying and abstract idea in a particular technological environment and merely limiting use of an abstract idea to a particular field or a technological environment do not provide practical application for an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05 (f) & (h)). The claims do not amount to "practical application" for the abstract idea because they neither (1) recite any improvements to another technology or technical field; (2) recite any improvements to the functioning of the computer itself; (3) apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine; (4) effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; (5) provide other meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
The relevant question under Step 2A [prong 2] is not whether the claimed invention itself is a practical application, instead, the question is whether the claimed invention includes additional elements beyond the judicial exception that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application by imposing a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. This is not the case with Applicant’s claimed invention. The steps of "receiving captured facial images" and "generating a graphical user interface" represent generic information collection and traditional display manipulation without a specific structural computer improvement. Automating the recited claimed features as a combination of computer instructions implemented by computer hardware and/or software elements as recited above does not qualify an otherwise unpatentable abstract idea as patent eligible. Examples where the Courts have found selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated to be insignificant extra-solution activity include selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display, Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1354-55, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1742 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Applicant’s limitations as recited above do nothing more than supplement the abstract idea using additional hardware/software computer components as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a technological environment, which is not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application since they do not impose any meaningful limits. Dependent claims 2-12 and 16-18 merely incorporate the additional elements recited above, along with further embellishments of the abstract idea of independent claims respectively, but these features only serve to further limit the abstract idea of independent claims. Therefore, the additional elements recited in the claimed invention individually, and in combination fail to integrate the recited judicial exception into any practical application.
Regarding Step 2B,
Claims 1-20 fail to amount to “significantly more” than an abstract idea. The claims recite additional limitations which are hardware or software elements or particular technological environment, such as an “information processing apparatus”, a “non-transitory storage medium”, a “memory”, a “processor”, a “camera”, a “graphical user interface”, and a “display”. However, these limitations are not enough to qualify as “significantly more” being recited in the claims along with the abstract idea since these limitations are merely invoked as a tool to perform instruction of Abstract idea in a particular technological environment and/or are generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use, and simply displaying information on a screen or organizing history in a predetermined order without a specific, technical improvement to computer functionality fails to integrate the abstract idea into a patent-eligible practical application (MPEP 2106.05(f) & (h)). The claims do not amount to "significantly more" than the abstract idea because they neither (1) recite any improvements to another technology or technical field; (2) recite any improvements to the functioning of the computer itself; (3) apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine; (4) effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; (5) add a specific limitation other than what is well-understood, routine and conventional in the field; (6) add unconventional steps that confine the claim to a particular useful application; nor (7) provide other meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
Dependent claims 2-12 and 16-18 merely recite further additional embellishments of the abstract idea of independent claims 1, 13-15, and 19-20 respectively, but these features only serve to further limit the abstract idea of independent claims 1, 13-15, and 19-20; however, none of the dependent claims recite an improvement to a technology or technical field or provide any meaningful limits. The addition of another abstract concept to the limitations of the claims does not render the claim other than abstract. Under the Interim Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility (PEG 2019), it specifically states that narrowing an abstract idea of claims do not resolve the claims of being "significantly more" than the abstract idea. Thus, the additional elements in the dependent claims only serve to further limit the abstract idea utilizing the computer components as a tool and/or generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
Therefore, since there are no limitations in the claims 1-20 that transform the exception into a patent eligible application such that the claims amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and looking at the limitations as a combination and as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kelly et al. (WO 2003053783 A2).
As per independent Claims 1, 13, and 14, Kelly discloses an information processing apparatus comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and a processor configured to execute the instructions to (information processing method comprising; non-transitory storage medium storing a program that causes a computer to perform) (See at least Figs.1-2, Para 0008, and Para 0049):
receive captured facial images of a plurality of users from a camera located at each of a plurality of stages executed in a predetermined order (See at least Para 0034-0038 and Para 0045-0046);
compare the captured facial images of the plurality of with a plurality of registered facial images registered in advance (See at least Para 0034, Para 0037-0041, Para 0050 and Para 0060);
generate a graphical user interface comprising viewable information indicating a number of users in each of the plurality of stages listed in the predetermined order, who have completed face recognition at the respective stage and have not completed face recognition at a next stage following the respective stage; and control a display to display the generated graphical user interface (See at least Figs. 2 and 8-10, Para 0031, and Para 0040-0045).
As per Claim 2, Kelly discloses wherein the information indicates the number of users staying between the respective stage and the next stage (See at least Figs. 8-10, Para 0040-0045).
As per Claim 3, Kelly discloses wherein the information is displayed in the predetermined order on a display screen from left to right (See at least Figs. 8-10, Para 0040-0045).
As per Claim 4, Kelly discloses wherein the plurality of stages executed in the predetermined order include at least one of a check-in stage, a baggage deposit stage, a security inspection stage, an immigration stage, or a passage in front of a signage terminal (See at least Figs. 8-10, Para 0040-0045).
As per Claim 5 (4), Kelly discloses wherein the information indicates a number of people per flight number (See at least Figs. 8-10, Para 0040-0045).
As per Claim 6 (4), Kelly discloses wherein the information indicates a number of people per origin and destination (See at least Figs. 8-10, Para 0040-0045).
As per Claim 7 (4), Kelly discloses wherein the information indicates a number of people per boarding gate (See at least Figs. 8-10, Para 0040-0045).
As per Claim 8, Kelly discloses wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: update status of at least one user, among the plurality of users, in a displayed viewing information when there is a matching in the comparison between a captured facial image corresponding to the at least one user and the registered facial images (See at least Para 0034).
As per Claim 9 (7), Kelly discloses wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: manage the status based on status information indicating completion of a first stage received from an external apparatus (See at least Para 0038-0041).
As per Claim 10 (4), Kelly discloses wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: register boarding information of the plurality of users in association with the captured facial images on the plurality of users acquired in the check-in stage (See at least Para 0034).
As per independent Claims 15, 19, and 20, Kelly discloses an information processing apparatus comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and a processor configured to execute the instructions to (information processing method comprising; non-transitory storage medium storing a program that causes a computer to perform) (See at least Figs. 1-2, Para 0049):
receive captured facial images of a plurality of users from a camera located at each of a plurality of stages executed in a predetermined order (See at least Para 0034-0038, Para 0045-0046);
compare a captured facial image of a user, among the plurality of users, with a plurality of registered facial images registered in advance (See at least Par 0034, Para 0038-0041, Para 0050, and Para 0060);
generate a graphical user interface comprising display a registered facial image and face recognition completion history information on a same screen; and control a display to display the generated graphical user interface, wherein the face recognition completion history information is displayed in the predetermined order (See at least Figs. 8-10, Para 0040-0045).
As per Claim 16, Kelly discloses wherein the face recognition completion history information in each stage is displayed in the order of stage in the order of a direction from top to bottom (See at least Figs. 8-10, Para 0040-0045).
As per Claim 17, Kelly discloses wherein the face recognition completion history information is displayed below the registered facial image (See at least Figs. 8-10, Para 0034, and Para 0040-0045).
As per Claim 18, Kelly discloses wherein the plurality of stages executed in the predetermined order include at least one of a check- in stage, a baggage deposit stage, a security inspection stage, an immigration stage, or a passage in front of a signage terminal (See at least Figs. 8-10, Para 0040-0045).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kelly in view of Maruta (US 9,819,912 B2).
As per Claim 11, while Kelly does disclose the tracking of passengers throughout the various stages of a terminal (See at least Figs.8-10, Para 0040-0045, Para 0044 “In that way, a passenger’s movements from the time he/she enters the airport until the passenger boards the aircraft can be collected and stored for future use.”; Para 0045 “If a traveler has checked-in, but not boarded an airplane scheduled to depart, the present system may use its ability to track the location of travelers in the terminal and then send a message to a workstation located in the immediate area to notify the traveler of the pending departure.”), Kelly fails to expressly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: determine a location of at least one of the plurality of users based on a face image acquired from a video transmitted from a video camera, among a plurality of video cameras, when a deadline set for a first stage, among the plurality of stages, has expired.
However, the analogous art of Maruta discloses airport security system/method with the ability to determine a location of at least one of the plurality of users based on a face image acquired from a video transmitted from a video camera, among a plurality of video cameras, when a deadline set for a first stage, among the plurality of stages, has expired (See at least Figs. 1-7 and C10-C14).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have included wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: determine a location of at least one of the plurality of users based on a face image acquired from a video transmitted from a video camera, among a plurality of video cameras, when a deadline set for a first stage, among the plurality of stages, has expired, as disclosed by Maruta in the system disclosed by Kelly for the advantage of providing a method/ system of facilitating secure passenger check-in/ boarding at an airport terminal, with the ability to increase system efficiency and functionality by incorporating a variety of passenger tracking/ locating technology and functionality (See KSR [127 S Ct. at 1739] “The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.”).
As per Claim 12 (11), Maruta discloses wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: detect the face image from the video transmitted from the video camera installed between a location corresponding to the first stage for which the deadline has expired and a location corresponding to a second stage, the second stage being a most recently completed stage among the plurality of stages (See at least Figs. 1-7, C10-C14).
Conclusion
August 21, 2026
/JONATHAN P OUELLETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629