Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limiting member (10) is installed on the base (1) when the cage body is folded of claim 7 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because of the following informalities: Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The phrase “the cage body” in claim 7 lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1&2) as being anticipated by Richmond US 5669331.
Regarding claim 1, Richmond discloses an animal cage, comprising
a base (1) [14 of figure 3] and
an upper cover (2) [12 of figure 3],
wherein a front side panel, a rear side panel, a left side panel (3) and a right side panel (4) are arranged between the base (1) and the upper cover (2) [as shown in figure 12 and other figures];
the front side panel comprises a first side panel (5) and a second side panel (6) [16 and 18 of figure 5],
an upper end of the first side panel (5) is movably connected to the upper cover (2), a lower end of the first side panel (5) is movably connected to an upper end of the second side panel (6), and a lower end of the second side panel (6) is movably connected to the base (1) [shown between figures 6-7];
the rear side panel comprises a third side panel (7) and a fourth side panel (8), an upper end of the third side panel (7) is movably connected to the upper cover (2), a lower end of the third side panel (7) is movably connected to an upper end of the fourth side panel (8), and a lower end of the fourth side panel (8) is movably connected to the base (1) [shown between figures 6-7];
upper ends of the left side panel (3) and the right side panel (4) are respectively movably connected to the upper cover (2) [shown via “movement lines” in figures 3-5], and
lower ends of the left side panel (3) and the right side panel (4) are detachably connected to the front side panel and the rear side panel through connecting pieces (9) [42 shown in figures 3, 5, and 11-11A];
the front side panel, the rear side panel, the left side panel (3) and the right side panel (4) can all be folded inwards [figures 1-7].
Regarding claim 2, Richmond discloses the animal cage according to claim 1, wherein
the upper cover (2) comprises upper cover body (200), the edge of the upper cover body (200) is provided with an upper baffle (201) extending from top to bottom, inner side surfaces of the upper baffle (201) and a lower surface of the upper cover body (200) enclose and form a second accommodating space [between 12 and 27 in figures 6-7];
the base (1) comprises a base body (100), the edge of the base body (100) is provided with a lower baffle (101) extending from bottom to top, inner side surfaces of the lower baffle (101) and an upper surface of the base body (100) enclose and form a first accommodating space [between 29 and 14 in figures 6-7];
the front side panel, the rear side panel, the left side panel (3) and the right side panel (4) are all arranged on the inner sides of the upper baffle (201) and the lower baffle (101) [figure 7];
when a cage body of the animal cage is folded, the left side panel (3) and the right side panel (4) are turned over and folded into the second accommodating space, and the front side panel and the rear side panel are folded between the upper cover (2) and the base (1) and stored in an accommodating space below the left side panel (3) and the right side panel (4) [figure 7].
Regarding claim 3, Richmond discloses the animal cage according to claim 2, wherein a door opening for animals to enter and exit is provided on the right side panel (4), the door opening is provided with a cage door (11) rotatably connected to the right side panel (4), and the cage door (11) is provided with a door lock (14) [50/56 of figures 12-13].
Regarding claim 4, Richmond discloses the animal cage according to claim 3, wherein the upper cover (2) is provided with a handle (22) [30 of figure 12].
Regarding claim 5, Richmond discloses the animal cage according to claim 1, wherein front and rear sides of the upper cover (2) are provided with lock buckles (21), and the base (1) is provided with lock buckle fixing portions (12) at positions corresponding to the lock buckles (21) [60 of figures 1-2 and 9-9A].
Regarding claim 6, Richmond discloses the animal cage according to claim 1, wherein the connecting piece (9) is a latch [as previously described] or a button-type automatic spring latch lock.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richmond in view of Simpson US 20050229866.
Regarding claim 7, Richmond teaches the animal cage according to claim 1, but does not specify wherein the animal cage further comprises a limiting member (10); the limiting member (10) is installed on the base (1) when the cage body is folded, and installed at junctions of the first side panel (5) and the second side panel (6) overlapping the left side panel (3) and the right side panel (4) when the cage body is unfolded, and at junctions of the third side panel (7) and the fourth side panel (8) overlapping the left side panel (3) and the right side panel (4).
Simpson; however, teaches removable locking pin members [figures 8A-8B]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide such types of locking connectors, in order to meet design preferences; since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in the respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Regarding claim 8, the references teach the animal cage according to claim 7, wherein the limiting member (10) is a limiting bolt [see previous rejection] or an angle iron.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richmond in view of Axelrod US 20050145192.
Regarding claim 9, Richmond teaches the animal cage according to claim 1, but does not specify wherein all or some of the base (1), upper cover (2), left side panel (3), right side panel (4), front side panel and rear side panel comprise an inner layer panel and an outer layer panel, with a hollow layer formed between the inner layer panel and the outer layer panel.
Axelrod; however, teaches optional hollow construction [paragraph 0084]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide such types of panels, in order to meet design preferences; since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in the respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Conclusion
/JESSICA B WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644