DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 2-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,589,096. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the instant application are broader than the claims in the ‘096 Patent (see In re Goodman).
Referring to claims 2-10 of the instant application, see claims 1-8 of the ‘096 Patent.
Referring to claims 11-19 of the instant application, see claims 9-16 of the ‘096 Patent.
Claims 2-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,348,803. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the instant application are broader than the claims in the ‘803 Patent.
Referring to claims 2-10 of the instant application, see claims 1-10 of the ‘803 Patent.
Referring to claims 11-19 of the instant application, see claims 11-20 of the ‘803 Patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schultz et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0054847) in view of Perrufel et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0352751) in further view of Garfinkle (U.S. Patent No. 5,400,402) in further view of Newell (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0017831).
Referring to claim 2, Schultz discloses receiving, at a server from a device of an account holder (see Paragraphs 0023 and 0027), a request to grant temporary access of a digital gateway to a user, wherein the request specifies a set of access rules for the temporary access (see Paragraph 0016 for the application server 130 receiving the request and Paragraph 0024 for access only being temporarily permitted).
Schultz also discloses based at least in part on the request, generating, by the server, a temporary access token, wherein the temporary access token defines at least one expiration condition and is associated with at least one content limitation rule defining a subset of content available to the user (see Paragraph 0024 for generating a token that identifies a time period for which the access is granted and a level of access).
Schultz also discloses transmitting, from the server to a device of the user, the temporary access token (see Paragraph 0024 for sending the temporary access token to a user).
Schultz also discloses granting, by the server, the temporary access to the digital gateway for the user via the temporary access token (see Paragraph 0024 and Paragraph 0052 for the user requesting access using the temporary access token by further authenticating the user at an administrative server 150 and Paragraphs 0028-0029 for providing access to the service provider network 160), wherein access to content within the digital gateway is restricted based on the at least one content limitation rule associated with the temporary access token (see Paragraph 0024 for generating a token that identifies a time period for which the access is granted and a level of access).
Schultz also discloses automatically expiring the temporary access token after a pre-set period (see Paragraphs 0024 and 0053 for the access token expiring after the per-set time period identified in the temporary access token has expired).
Schultz fails to teach automatically revoking access, by the server, the temporary access upon a satisfaction of the at least one expiration condition defined by the temporary access token.
Perrufel discloses automatically revoking access, by the server, the temporary access upon a satisfaction of the at least one expiration condition defined by the temporary access token (see Paragraph 0063).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the temporary access token granting system, as taught by Schultz, using the token revocation functionality, as taught by Perrufel, for the purpose of enabling the access to a wireless network to be limited only to the users present in the establishment offering the service, without it being necessary to input a code (see Paragraph 0005 of Perrufel).
Schultz and Perrufel fail to teach that the expiration condition is specified in the request to grant temporary access of the digital gateway to the user and transmitting, from the server to a second device of the user distinct from the first device of the account holder, the temporary access token.
Garfinkle discloses that an expiration condition is specified in the request to grant temporary access of the digital gateway to the user (see Column 3, Lines 40-42).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the request sent from the user device, as taught by Schultz and Perrufel, using the expiration information request functionality, as taught by Garfinkle, for the purpose of providing an improved system for controlling the use of video programs that have been downloaded from a central station and stored at a customer’s site (see Column 1, Lines 7-11 of Garfinkle).
Schultz, Perrufel and Garfinkle fail to teach transmitting, from the server to a second device of the user distinct from the first device of the account holder, the temporary access token.
Newell discloses transmitting, from the server to a second device of the user distinct from the first device of the account holder, the temporary access token (see steps 350-360 in Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the request sent from the user device, as taught by Schultz, Perrufel and Garfinkle, using the expiration information request functionality, as taught by Newell, for the purpose of sharing of purchased pay-per-view events across multiple set-top boxes (see Paragraph 0001 of Newell).
Referring to claim 3, Schultz discloses that each content item of the subset of content comprises at least one portion of metadata in common (see Paragraph 0023 for the content including context information used for verification purposes).
Referring to claim 4, Schultz discloses that the at least one expiration condition comprises content access duration (see Paragraph 0024).
Referring to claim 5, Schultz and Perrufel disclose all of the limitations of claim 2, but fails to teach that the expiration condition comprises a content access count.
The Examiner takes Official Notice that an access token can comprise an expiration condition that comprises a content access count.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify an expiration condition for accessing content, as taught by Schultz and Perrufel, using the content access count condition, as taught by the Examiner’s statement of Official Notice, for the purpose limiting the number of times a user can access the content.
Referring to claim 6, Schultz discloses that the granting, by the server, the temporary access to the digital gateway for the user further comprises verifying an identity of the user (see Paragraph 0029).
Referring to claim 4, Schultz discloses that a user request temporary access to the over-the-top content platform and, in response to receiving the request, the user’s identity is verified before the temporary access token is assigned to the user (see Paragraphs 0017 and 0052 for first authenticating a user’s device, thereby allowing a user to access the user device and then if the user has been authenticated, allowing the user to receive the temporary access token).
Referring to claim 5, Schultz discloses that the pre-set period is a time period (see Paragraph 0024).
Referring to claim 6, Schultz discloses that the request is initiated via providing a password (see Paragraph 0037).
Referring to claims 11-15, see the rejection of claims 1-6, respectively.
Claims 7-8 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schultz et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0054847) in view of Perrufel et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0352751) in further view of Garfinkle (U.S. Patent No. 5,400,402) in further view of Newell (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0017831) in further view of Brown et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0051755).
Referring to claim 7, Schultz, Perrufel, Garfinkle and Newell disclose all of the limitations of claim 2, as well as Schultz granting temporary access to content (see the rejection of claim 2), but fails to teach the limitations of claim 7.
Brown discloses generating a unique link to the digital gateway for the user, detecting a user interaction with the unique link and that the granting, by the server, the access is based at least in part on the detecting the user interaction with the unique link (see Paragraphs 0025-0026).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the temporary access system, as taught by Schultz, Perrufel, Garfinkle and Newell, using the unique link functionality, as taught by Brown, for the purpose of allowing a user to transfer playback from one device to another without being logged into the same user account on both devices (see the bottom of Paragraph 0003 of Brown).
Claim 8 corresponds to claim 7, where Brown further teaches that generating the unique link further comprises generating a quick response code at the device of the account holder and detecting the interaction further comprises scanning the quick response code with the device of the user (see Paragraph 0019).
Referring to claims 16-17, see the rejection of claims
Claims 9-10 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schultz et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0054847) in view of Perrufel et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0352751) in further view of Garfinkle (U.S. Patent No. 5,400,402) in further view of Newell (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0017831) in further view of Costello et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0006982).
Referring to claim 9, Schultz, Perrufel, Garfinkle and Newell disclose all of the limitations of claim 2, but fails to teach granting access to an associated chatroom for a pre-set period.
Costello discloses granting access to an associated chatroom for a pre-set period (see Figures 2-4 and Paragraphs 0023-0038).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the temporary access token granting system, as taught by Schultz, Perrufel, Garfinkle and Newell, using the chatroom functionality, as taught by Perrufel, for the purpose of granting access to a chatroom based on an access level (see Paragraph 0008 of Costello).
Claim 10 corresponds to claim 9, wherein Costello discloses automatically putting both the device of the account holder and the device of the user in the chatroom when both devices are concurrently accessing the content within the digital gateway (see Figures 2-4 for a user at a first computing device allowing a user at a second device to join the chatroom that both users are using and further allows additional computing device to join the chatroom based on the moderator granting permission).
Referring to claims 18-19, see the rejection of claims 9-10, respectively.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jason Salce/Senior Examiner, Art Unit 2421
Jason P Salce
Senior Examiner
Art Unit 2421
September 29, 2026