Remarks
The Office has cited particular columns, line numbers, paragraph numbers, references, or figures in the references applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses to fully consider the reference in entirety, as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2141.02 and § 2123.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: In lines 1-2, “at last one of” appears to be “at least one of”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-9, and 11-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dilger et al. (US 2015/0102737 A1, hereinafter referred to as Dilger).
Regarding claim 1, Dilger discloses a light-emitting diode (LED)-based light engine (LEM, Figs. 1, 10A, 11C) comprising:
a first interface (“a positive power supply line, a common ground line” Claim 1; FIG. 1, FIG. 10A) by which the light engine is configured to receive an electric current output by a driver (Power Supply Unit, PSU) (“The connection consists of three lines; A supply line LED+, a common ground line LED- and a communication line CL.” Paragraph [0082]);
a second interface by which the light engine is configured to send to the driver a maximum allowable current value associated with the light engine (“a communication line where signals on the communication line are measured against the common ground line, and a Pulse Generation Unit generating pulses with its number proportional to the current demand of the Light Engine Module.”, Claim l; “The Pulse generator generates pulses in regard to the current demand of the Light Engine Module.” Paragraph [0140]; FIG. 10A);
wherein the maximum allowable current value: corresponds to a peak electric current at which the light engine operates normally (“generating pulses with its number proportional to the current demand of the Light Engine Module." Claim 1; Paragraphs [0026], [0140]); and
serves, at least in part, to configure the driver so that the electric current output by the driver does not exceed the maximum allowable current value of the light engine (“sending from every Light Engine Module a number of pulses corresponding to its current demand by shorting the communication line via a resistor; counting at the Power Supply Unit the pulses on the communication line by measuring the voltage on the communication line; and adjusting at the Power Supply Unit the adjustable current source in respect to the counted pulses.”, Claim 6; "The Power Supply Unit counts” the pulses and “a current representing the amount of pulses is supplied by the Power Supply Unit”, Paragraphs [0143], [0144]; FIGS. 10A, 11B).
Regarding claim 2, Dilger discloses the light engine of claim 1, further comprising at least one LED (“a plurality of series connected LEDs”, Claim 1; “Each Light Engine Module contains at least one LED string. The LED string consists of a plurality of LEDs.” Paragraph [0082]; FIG. 1, FIG. 10A).
Regarding claim 3, Dilger discloses the light engine of claim 2, wherein the at least one LED comprises at least one of: at least one LED strand (“Each Light Engine Module contains at least one LED string. The LED string consists of a plurality of LEDs. A plurality in the light of the present disclosure means that there are at least three LEDs connected in series.” Paragraph [0082]; FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Dilger discloses the light engine of claim 1, further comprising a first control unit (Pulse Generation Unit, PGU, Fig. 10A) configured to communicate with the driver through the first interface (“Pulse Generation Unit generating pulses with its number proportional to the current demand of the Light Engine Module.”, Paragraph [0026], Claim l ; FIG. 10A).
Regarding claim 7, Dilger discloses the light engine of claim 6, wherein the first control unit is configured to output the maximum allowable current value to the driver via the first interface (“generating pulses with its number proportional to the current demand of the Light Engine Module”, Claim 1; “The Pulse generator generates pulses in regard to the current demand of the Light Engine Module.”, Paragraph [0140]; FIG. 10A).
Regarding claim 8, Dilger discloses the light engine of claim 7, wherein the first control unit is configured to output the maximum allowable current value to a second control unit of the driver (“a Central Processing Unit (CPU) which inputs information from the measurement unit and outputs instructions to the switchable voltage Source and the adjustable current generator.”, Claim 4; FIG. 10B).
Regarding claim 9, Dilger discloses the light engine of claim 6, wherein the first control unit is configured to control the light engine at least partially based on at least one sensor signal (“The concept relies on a different approach, by adding an extra current generator TDU onboard the Light Engine Module. This current generator is temperature controlled by a sensing element”, Paragraph [0088]; FIG. 2, FIG. 3, FIG. 4A).
Regarding claim 11, Dilger discloses the light engine of claim 6, wherein the first control unit is configured to at least one of: determine the maximum allowable current value based on a current temperature of the light engine; and update the maximum allowable current value (“This current generator is temperature controlled by a sensing element" and thermal derating for current reduction, Paragraphs [0087] - [0088]; “derating starts at a temperature of about 93° C.”, Paragraph [0105]; FIG. 2, FIG. 3, FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 12, Dilger discloses the light engine of claim 6, further comprising a power supply unit configured to autonomously supply power to the first control unit (“The supply voltage of the pulse Generator PG is derived from the supply voltage for the LED's.”, Paragraph [0140]; FIG. 10A).
Regarding claim 13, Dilger discloses the light engine of claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of LEDs (“a plurality of series connected LEDs” Claim 1; “Each Light Engine Module contains at least one LED string.”, Paragraph [0082); and
a power distribution unit configured to control a distribution of power provided by the driver to the plurality of LEDs (current control via PGU and adjustable current generator, Paragraph [0140], Claim 6; FIG. 1, FIG. 10A).
Regarding claim 14, Dilger discloses the light engine of claim 13, further comprising a first control unit configured to control the power distribution unit such that the distribution of power is at least partially based on at least one of: calibration data; and sensor data (“temperature controlled by a sensing element” for derating/current control, Paragraph [0088]; FIG. 2-4).
Regarding claim 15, Dilger discloses the light engine of claim 1, further comprising at least one of: an operating sensor configured to detect at least one current operation parameter; and an environmental sensor configured to detect at least one current environmental parameter (“sensing element” for temperature as an operating parameter, Paragraph [0088]; FIG. 2-4).
Regarding claim 16, Dilger discloses a driver configured to drive the light engine of claim 1 (“Power Supply Unit” with adjustable current generator responsive to the pulses from the Light Engine Module, Claim 4, Claim 6; FIG. 10B).
Regarding claim 17, Dilger discloses a lamp or luminaire comprising the light engine of claim 1 (Light Engine Modules for lighting systems; abstract and Paragraph [0082]; FIG. 1).
Claim 18 is essentially the same in scope as claim 1 and is rejected similarly as discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5, 10, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dilger in view of Jonsson (US 10,609,797 B1, hereinafter referred to as Jonsson).
Regarding claim 4, Dilger discloses all the features and limitations as discussed above but does not disclose a memory unit configured to store the maximum allowable current value.
Jonsson discloses a memory unit configured to store the maximum allowable current value (‘In other embodiments, the circuitry may include a memory device, such as (but not limited to) a flash memory with a serial interface or a radiofrequency identification (RFID) tag, storing the drive information and coupled to at least one connection of the cable interface.”, col. 10, ll. 11+, FIG. 5; “The LID includes an RFID tag holding the information”, col. 13, ll. 17+, FIG. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dilger's Light Engine Module to include a memory unit storing the maximum allowable current value (or current demand information) as taught by Jonsson 's LID memory/RFID, to allow the light engine to reliably communicate its peak operating current characteristics to the driver.
Regarding claim 5, Dilger discloses all the features and limitations as discussed above and further discloses temperature related operating information (“This current generator is temperature controlled by a sensing element”, Paragraph [0088]; FIG. 2, FIG. 3, FIG. 4A).
Dilger does not disclose the memory unit further configured to store data pertaining to calibration information, current temperature, type of emitter, current color, CCT, operating duration, input voltage, or input current.
Jonsson discloses memory storing drive information about the load including characteristics such as type, voltage/current levels (“storing the drive information”, col. 10, ll. 11+, FIG. 5; Table 1 load type indications; FIG. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to store additional operational data (such as temperature or load type) in the memory of the combination of Dilger and Jonsson, as taught by Jonsson's stored drive information and Dilger's temperature sensing, to enable more complete driver configuration based on light engine characteristics.
Regarding claim 10, Dilger discloses all the features and limitations as discussed above and further discloses wherein the at least one sensor signal comprises data pertaining to a current temperature of the light engine (“temperature controlled by a sensing element”, Paragraph [0088]; FIG. 2-4).
Dilger does not disclose sensor signals comprising data pertaining to current color, CCT, motion or presence, environmental light, or air quality.
Jonsson discloses load sensing and measurement techniques for determining operating characteristics of the LED load (FIG. 4, FIG. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to extend Dilger's temperature sensor signal to include other operating or environmental sensor data as taught by Jonsson's load measurement and control techniques, for enhanced light engine control.
Regarding claim 19, Dilger discloses all the features and limitations as discussed above and further discloses processing of the received current demand information by the driver's control unit (“a Central Processing Unit (CPU) which inputs information from the measurement unit”, Claim 4; FIG. 10B).
Dilger does not disclose the driver comprises a memory unit configured to store the maximum allowable current value.
Jonsson discloses the driver comprises a memory unit (“a non-transitory storage medium 517 (e.g. a semiconductor memory) storing one or more instructions” and using Imax, col. 10, ll. 33+, FIG. 5, col. 12, ll. 6 - 56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to store the received maximum allowable current value in a memory unit of Dilger's driver as taught by Jonsson's driver memory and Imax usage, to retain the value for subsequent current regulation.
Regarding claim 20, Dilger discloses all the features and limitations as discussed above and further discloses a controller configured to be in communication with at least one of the driver and the light engine (“Central Processing Unit (CPU)”, Claim 4; FIG. 10B) and a temperature sensor configured to detect a current temperature of the light engine (“sensing element”, Paragraph [0088]; FIG. 2-4).
Dilger does not disclose a communication module configured to be in communication with at least one of the driver and the light engine.
Jonsson discloses a communication module / control interface (“control interface 505 and a processor 518”, col. 10, ll. 33+, FIG. 5; communication via cable and network FIG. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a communication module in the system of Dilger as taught by Jonsson's control interface and communication techniques, for enabling communication between the driver and light engine.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 9, 10, 13-15, 17-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,336,067 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present application claims are either anticipated by or obvious variants of the parent claims 1-7, 9, 10, 13-15, 17-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,336,067 B2. The parent claims recite additional structure (control unit, memory unit, LED strand) that is not required by the broader present claims, but practicing the parent claims necessarily practices the present claims.
19/234,873 (Instant Application)
Patent No.: US 12,336,067 B2
1. A light-emitting diode (LED)-based light engine comprising: a first interface by which the light engine is configured to receive an electric current output by a driver; and a second interface by which the light engine is configured to send to the driver a maximum allowable current value associated with the light engine, wherein the maximum allowable current value: corresponds to a peak electric current at which the light engine operates normally; and serves, at least in part, to configure the driver so that the electric current output by the driver does not exceed the maximum allowable current value of the light engine.
2. The light engine of claim 1, further comprising at least one LED.
4. The light engine of claim 1, further comprising a memory unit configured to store the maximum allowable current value.
1. A light engine having a driver interface, wherein the light engine is configured to be driven by a driver via the driver interface, the light engine comprising: a circuit comprising at least one light-emitting diode (LED) strand comprising at least one LED; a first control unit comprising a first memory unit configured for storing a maximum allowable current value for the light engine, the maximum allowable current value corresponding to a peak electric current at which the light engine operates normally; and a first digital interface configured for at least one of receiving data and sending data, wherein the first control unit is configured to output the maximum allowable current value stored in the first memory unit via the first digital interface for configuring the driver so that an electric current provided by the driver does not exceed the maximum allowable current value of the light engine.
3. The light engine of claim 2, wherein the at least one LED comprises at last one of: at least one LED strand; and a plurality of LEDs including at least two different types of LEDs.
9. The light engine according to claim 1, wherein: the at least one LED comprises a plurality of LEDs of different types distributed on two or more circuit boards; and only LEDs of one type are present on one circuit board.
5. The light engine of claim 4, wherein the memory unit is further configured to store data pertaining to at least one of: calibration information relating to the light engine; a current temperature of the light engine; a type of emitter of the light engine; a current color of light emitted by the light engine; a current correlated color temperature (CCT) of light emitted by the light engine; operating duration information relating to the light engine; an input voltage relating to the light engine; and an input current relating to the light engine.
3. The light engine according to claim 2, wherein: the first memory unit is further configured to store calibration data of the at least one LED; and the first control unit is further configured to control the power distribution unit such that the distribution of power provided by the driver to the two or more LED strands is at least partially based on the calibration data.
6. The light engine according to claim 4, wherein: the sensor system comprises a temperature sensor configured for detecting a current temperature of the light engine; and the first control unit is configured to at least one of: determine the maximum allowable current value based on the current temperature; and update the maximum allowable current value stored in the first memory unit.
6. The light engine of claim 1, further comprising a first control unit configured to communicate with the driver through the first interface.
13. The light engine according to claim 1, wherein the first control unit is configured to communicate with a second control unit of the driver through the first digital interface.
7. The light engine of claim 6, wherein the first control unit is configured to output the maximum allowable current value to the driver via the first interface.
14. The light engine according to claim 1, wherein the first control unit is configured to output the maximum allowable current value to the driver via the first digital interface.
8. The light engine of claim 7, wherein the first control unit is configured to output the maximum allowable current value to a second control unit of the driver.
15. The light engine according to claim 14, wherein the first control unit is configured to output the maximum allowable current value to a second control unit of the driver.
9. The light engine of claim 6, wherein the first control unit is configured to control the light engine at least partially based on at least one sensor signal.
4. The light engine according to claim 1, wherein: the light engine further comprises a sensor system comprising at least one sensor configured for providing at least one sensor signal; and the first control unit is configured to control the at least one LED strand at least partially based on the at least one sensor signal.
10. The light engine of claim 9, wherein the at least one sensor signal comprises data pertaining to at least one of: a current temperature of the light engine; a current color of light emitted by the light engine; a current correlated color temperature (CCT) of light emitted by the light engine; a motion or presence in an environment of the light engine; environmental light in the environment of the light engine; and an air quality in the environment of the light engine.
4. The light engine according to claim 1, wherein: the light engine further comprises a sensor system comprising at least one sensor configured for providing at least one sensor signal; and the first control unit is configured to control the at least one LED strand at least partially based on the at least one sensor signal.
5. The light engine according to claim 4, wherein the sensor system comprises at least one of: at least one operating sensor configured for detecting one or more current operational parameters; and at least one environmental sensor configured for detecting one or more current environmental parameters.
6. The light engine according to claim 4, wherein: the sensor system comprises a temperature sensor configured for detecting a current temperature of the light engine; and the first control unit is configured to at least one of: determine the maximum allowable current value based on the current temperature; and update the maximum allowable current value stored in the first memory unit.
11. The light engine of claim 6, wherein the first control unit is configured to at least one of: determine the maximum allowable current value based on a current temperature of the light engine; and update the maximum allowable current value.
6. The light engine according to claim 4, wherein: the sensor system comprises a temperature sensor configured for detecting a current temperature of the light engine; and the first control unit is configured to at least one of: determine the maximum allowable current value based on the current temperature; and update the maximum allowable current value stored in the first memory unit.
12. The light engine of claim 6, further comprising a power supply unit configured to autonomously supply power to the first control unit.
7. The light engine according to claim 1, wherein the light engine further comprises a power supply unit configured for autonomously supplying power to the first control unit.
13. The light engine of claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of LEDs; and a power distribution unit configured to control a distribution of power provided by the driver to the plurality of LEDs.
2. The light engine according to claim 1, wherein: the at least one LED strand comprises two or more LED strands; and the light engine further comprises a power distribution unit configured for controlling a distribution of power provided by the driver to the two or more LED strands.
14. The Light engine of claim 13, further comprising a first control unit configured to control the power distribution unit such that the distribution of power is at least partially based on at least one of: calibration data; and sensor data.
3. The light engine according to claim 2, wherein: the first memory unit is further configured to store calibration data of the at least one LED; and the first control unit is further configured to control the power distribution unit such that the distribution of power provided by the driver to the two or more LED strands is at least partially based on the calibration data.
15. The light engine of claim 1, further comprising at least one of: an operating sensor configured to detect at least one current operation parameter; and an environmental sensor configured to detect at least one current environmental parameter.
5. The light engine according to claim 4, wherein the sensor system comprises at least one of: at least one operating sensor configured for detecting one or more current operational parameters; and at least one environmental sensor configured for detecting one or more current environmental parameters.
16. A driver configured to drive the light engine of claim 1.
10. A driver having a light engine interface, wherein the driver is configured for driving the light engine according to claim 1, the driver comprising: a driver circuit configured for providing the electric current to drive the light engine; a second control unit; and a second digital interface configured for at least one of receiving data and sending data, wherein the second control unit is configured to read the maximum allowable current value for the light engine received at the second digital interface and to control the driver circuit at least partially based on the maximum allowable current value in such a way that the electric current provided by the driver does not exceed the maximum allowable current value.
17. A lamp or luminaire comprising the light engine of claim 1.
17. A system comprising: a light engine having a driver interface, wherein the light engine is configured to be driven by a driver via the driver interface, the light engine comprising: a circuit comprising at least one light-emitting diode (LED) strand comprising at least one LED; a first control unit comprising a first memory unit configured for storing a maximum allowable current value for the light engine, the maximum allowable current value corresponding to a peak electric current at which the light engine operates normally; and a first digital interface configured for at least one of receiving data and sending data, wherein the first control unit is configured to output the maximum allowable current value stored in the first memory unit via the first digital interface for configuring the driver so that an electric current provided by the driver does not exceed the maximum allowable current value of the light engine; and the driver having a light engine interface, wherein the driver is configured for driving the light engine, the driver comprising: a driver circuit configured for providing the electric current to drive the light engine; a second control unit; and a second digital interface configured for at least one of receiving data and sending data, wherein the second control unit is configured to read the maximum allowable current value for the light engine received at the second digital interface and to control the driver circuit at least partially based on the maximum allowable current value in such a way that the electric current provided by the driver does not exceed the maximum allowable current value; wherein: the driver interface of the light engine is electrically connected to the light engine interface of the driver; and a communication pathway is provided between the first digital interface of the light engine and the second digital interface of the driver.
18. A system comprising: a driver; and a light-emitting diode (LED)-based light engine comprising: a first interface by which the light engine is configured to receive an electric current output by the driver; and a second interface by which the light engine is configured to send to the driver a maximum allowable current value associated with the light engine, wherein the maximum allowable current value: corresponds to a peak electric current at which the light engine operates normally; and serves, at least in part, to configure the driver so that the electric current output by the driver does not exceed the maximum allowable current value of the light engine.
19. The system of claim 18, wherein the driver comprises a memory unit configured to store the maximum allowable current value.
17 (claims 1 + 10). A system comprising: a light engine having a driver interface, wherein the light engine is configured to be driven by a driver via the driver interface, the light engine comprising: a circuit comprising at least one light-emitting diode (LED) strand comprising at least one LED; a first control unit comprising a first memory unit configured for storing a maximum allowable current value for the light engine, the maximum allowable current value corresponding to a peak electric current at which the light engine operates normally; and a first digital interface configured for at least one of receiving data and sending data, wherein the first control unit is configured to output the maximum allowable current value stored in the first memory unit via the first digital interface for configuring the driver so that an electric current provided by the driver does not exceed the maximum allowable current value of the light engine; and the driver having a light engine interface, wherein the driver is configured for driving the light engine, the driver comprising: a driver circuit configured for providing the electric current to drive the light engine; a second control unit; and a second digital interface configured for at least one of receiving data and sending data, wherein the second control unit is configured to read the maximum allowable current value for the light engine received at the second digital interface and to control the driver circuit at least partially based on the maximum allowable current value in such a way that the electric current provided by the driver does not exceed the maximum allowable current value; wherein: the driver interface of the light engine is electrically connected to the light engine interface of the driver; and a communication pathway is provided between the first digital interface of the light engine and the second digital interface of the driver.
20. The system of claim 18, further comprising at least one of: a controller configured to be in communication with at least one of the driver and the light engine; a communication module configured to be in communication with at least one of the driver and the light engine; and a temperature sensor configured to detect a current temperature of the light engine.
18. The system according to claim 17, wherein the system further comprises a controller configured to be in communication with the first digital interface of the light engine and the second digital interface of the driver.
19. The system according to claim 18, wherein the system further comprises at least one further system element configured to be in communication with the controller.
20. The system according to claim 19, wherein the at least one further system element comprises at least one of: one or more interface elements; and one or more communication modules.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nuhfer et al. (US 2011/0080111 A1) discloses configurable load control device for light-emitting diode light sources.
/DANIEL D CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845