DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
2. This communication is in response to the communication filed 6/11/2025. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
3.1. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because while the claims (1) are to a statutory category (i.e., process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter, the claims (2A1) recite an abstract idea (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon); (2A2) do not recite additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application; and (2B) are not directed to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
In regard to (1), the claims are to a statutory category (i.e., statutory categories including a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter). In particular, independent claims 1, 10 and 19, and their respective dependent claims are directed, in part, to methods and systems for providing virtual healthcare services between providers and patients.
In regard to (2A1), the claims, as a whole, recite and are directed to an abstract idea because the claims include one or more limitations that correspond to an abstract idea including mathematical concepts, mental processes and/or certain methods of organizing human activity which encompasses both certain activity of a single person, certain activity that involves multiple people, and certain activity between a person and a computer. For example, independent claims 1, 10 and 19, as a whole, are directed to providing virtual healthcare services by, inter alia, sending a survey to a patient, receiving responses from a patient, processing the responses to generate a score indicative of a mental health of the patient and determining the score satisfies a criterion, transmitting the determination to a provider, storing the score and other information, outputting information to the provider, etc. which are human activities and/or interactions and therefore, certain methods of organizing human activity which encompasses both certain activity of a single person, certain activity that involves multiple people, and certain activity between a person and a computer. The dependent claims include all of the limitations of their respective independent claims and thus are directed to the same abstract idea identified for the independent claims but further describe the elements and/or recite field of use limitations.
Furthermore, the claims are also directed to an abstract idea because the claims, except for certain limitations (* identified below in bold), under the broadest reasonable interpretation, can be reasonably and practically performed in the human mind and/or with pen and paper using observation, evaluation, judgment and/or opinion. That is, other than reciting the certain additional elements, nothing in the claims precludes the limitations from being practically performed in the mind and/or with pen and paper. For example, a person is capable of reasonably and practically sending a survey to a patient, receiving responses from the patient, processing the responses, determining a score, transmitting the responses to a provider, etc. in their mind and/or with pen and paper using observation, evaluation, judgment and/or opinion.
CLAIM 1:
A method for providing virtual healthcare services, the method comprising:
sending, by a virtual health system, a mental health survey provided by the virtual health system to a patient;
receiving a plurality of patient-reported responses to the survey by the patient;
processing the patient-reported responses to generate at least one score indicative of reported mental health of the patient;
determining that the at least one score satisfies a criterion maintained by the virtual health system;
transmitting, in response to the determination and via a messaging engine, a notification to a provider associated with the patient;
storing, in a patient profile maintained by the virtual health system, the at least one score in combination with data describing at least one feature comprising:
a service length of a corresponding virtual-health service,
an appointment frequency of the virtual-health service,
a provider assignment associated with the virtual-health service, and
at least one patient or provider review or satisfaction survey related to the virtual-health service; and
outputting information to the provider based on an association detected between the at least one feature and improved patient health or well-being or between the at least one feature and the mental health survey.
CLAIM 2
The method of claim 1, wherein the mental health survey comprises a standardized self-report mental health assessment.
CLAIM 3
The method of claim 1, wherein the criterion comprises a threshold score value.
CLAIM 4
The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting the notification through at least one communication channel selected from an in-application alert, an e-mail message, and a text message.
CLAIM 5
The method of claim 1, wherein the information output to the provider comprises a recommendation to modify an appointment frequency for the patient.
CLAIM 6
The method of claim 1, wherein the information output to the provider comprises a recommendation to modify a session length for the patient.
CLAIM 7
The method of claim 1, wherein the information output to the provider comprises a recommendation to reassign the patient to a different provider.
CLAIM 8
The method of claim 1, wherein the information output to the provider comprises a recommendation to assign an additional provider to the patient.
CLAIM 9
The method of claim 1, wherein storing the at least one score comprises updating a record in the patient profile that is accessible to the provider through the virtual health system.
CLAIM 10
A system for providing virtual healthcare services, the system comprising:
at least one processor; and
a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to:
send, by a virtual health system, a mental health survey provided by the virtual health system to a patient;
receive a plurality of patient-reported responses to the survey by the patient;
process the patient-reported responses to generate at least one score indicative of reported mental health of the patient;
determine that the at least one score satisfies a criterion maintained by the virtual health system;
transmit, in response to the determination and via a messaging engine, a notification to a provider associated with the patient;
store, in a patient profile maintained by the virtual health system, the at least one score in combination with data describing at least one feature comprising:
a service length of a corresponding virtual-health service,
an appointment frequency of the virtual-health service,
a provider assignment associated with the virtual-health service, and
at least one patient or provider review or satisfaction survey related to the virtual-health service; and
output information to the provider based on an association detected between the at least one feature and improved patient health or well-being or between the at least one feature and the mental health survey.
CLAIM 11
The system of claim 10, wherein the mental health survey comprises a standardized self-report mental health assessment.
CLAIM 12
The system of claim 10, wherein the criterion comprises a threshold score value.
CLAIM 13
The system of claim 10, further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to transmit the notification through at least one communication channel selected from an in-application alert, an e-mail message, and a text message.
CLAIM 14
The system of claim 10, wherein the information output to the provider comprises a recommendation to modify an appointment frequency for the patient.
CLAIM 15
The system of claim 10, wherein the information output to the provider comprises a recommendation to modify a session length for the patient.
CLAIM 16
The system of claim 10, wherein the information output to the provider comprises a recommendation to reassign the patient to a different provider.
CLAIM 17
The system of claim 10, wherein the information output to the provider comprises a recommendation to assign an additional provider to the patient.
CLAIM 18
The system of claim 10, wherein storing the at least one score comprises updating a record in the patient profile that is accessible to the provider through the virtual health system.
CLAIM 19
A method comprising:
receiving data related to a virtual health service;
processing the data;
using the processed data to identify virtual health service features associated with improved patient health; and
providing recommendations based on the virtual health service features to a provider.
CLAIM 20
The method of claim 19, wherein the data related to the virtual health service comprises a service length, at least one patient and provider review or satisfaction survey, a patient assignment, an appointment frequency, and patient reported mental health on surveys provided by the virtual health system, and wherein the features associated with improved patient health or wellbeing comprise appointment length, frequency, and provider assignments.
* The limitations that are in bold are considered “additional elements” that are further analyzed below in subsequent steps of the 101 analysis. The limitations that are not in bold are abstract and/or can be reasonably and practically performed in the human mind and/or with pen paper.
In regard to (2A2), the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The additional elements in the claims (i.e., * identified above in bold) do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional elements merely add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea; merely link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use; and/or simply append technologies and functions, specified at a high level of generality, to the abstract idea (i.e., the additional elements do not amount to more than a recitation of the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) or are more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer).
Here, the additional elements (e.g., virtual system, engine, processor, memory, medium, etc.) are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using generic computer technologies. Moreover, the claims recite “by a virtual health system”, “cause the system to,” etc. devoid of any meaningful technological improvement details and thus, further evidence the additional elements are merely being used to leverage generic technologies to automate what otherwise could be done manually. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Furthermore, the additional elements do not recite improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field—the additional elements merely recite general purpose computer technology; the additional elements do not recite applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for disease or medical condition—there is no actual administration of a particular treatment; the additional elements do not recite applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine—the additional elements merely recite general purpose computer technology; the additional elements do not recite limitations effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing—the additional elements do not recite transformation such as a rubber mold process; the additional elements do not recite applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment—the additional elements merely leverage general purpose computer technology to link the abstract idea to a technological environment.
In regard to (2B), the claims, individually, as a whole and in combination with one another, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements or combination of elements in the claims, other than the abstract idea per se, amount to no more than a recitation of (A) a generic computer structure(s) that serves to perform computer functions that serve to merely link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (i.e., computers); and/or (B) functions that are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry. Here, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements fall under (A), that is, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer technologies. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer technologies cannot provide an inventive concept.
Moreover, paragraphs [0187]-[0188] of applicant's specification (US 2025/0308690) recites that the system/method can be implemented using personal computers, server computers, handheld or laptop devices, multiprocessor systems, microprocessor-based systems, network personal computers (PCs), minicomputers, mainframe computers, embedded systems, distributed computing environments that include any of the above systems or devices, and the like, which are well-known general purpose or generic-type computers and/or technologies. The use of generic computer components recited at a high level of generality to process information through an unspecified processor/computer does not impose any meaningful limit on the computer implementation of the abstract idea. Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Furthermore, the additional elements are merely well-known general purpose computers, components and/or technologies that receive, transmit, store, display, generate and otherwise process information which are akin to functions that courts consider well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry, such as, performing repetitive calculations; receiving or transmitting data over a network; electronic recordkeeping; retrieving and storing information in memory; and sorting information (See, for example, MPEP § 2106).
Therefore, the claims are not patent-eligible under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4.1. Claims 1-4, 7-13, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banerjee et al. (US 2019/00206518), in view of Thompson (US 2015/0154721), and in view of Moturu et al. (2016/0140320).
CLAIM 1
Banerjee teaches a method for providing virtual healthcare services (Banerjee: abstract), the method comprising:
sending, by a virtual health system, a mental health survey provided by the virtual health system to a patient (Banerjee: abstract; ¶¶ [0009] “user application may administer a screening questionnaire to the user”, [0026] ”a virtual network”, [0027] “virtual client applications”, [0051] “invention which provides mobile mental-health care to a user 350 using a user mobile mental-health application”; FIGS. 1-9);
receiving a plurality of patient-reported responses to the survey by the patient (Banerjee: ¶¶ [0014]-[0015] “therapist application may use the responses from the user to score each of the assessment tools and generate a score”; FIGS. 1-9);
processing the patient-reported responses to generate at least one score indicative of reported mental health of the patient (Banerjee: ¶¶ [0014]-[0015] “therapist application may use the responses from the user to score each of the assessment tools and generate a score”; FIGS. 1-9);
determining that the at least one score satisfies a criterion maintained by the virtual health system (Banerjee: abstract; ¶¶ [0014]-[0015] The AI uses a patient’s scores as a criterion to determine a particular treatment plan (i.e., score satisfies a criterion); FIGS. 1-9);
transmitting, in response to the determination and via a messaging engine, a notification to a provider associated with the patient (Banerjee: abstract; ¶¶ [0014]-[0015] The AI uses a patient’s scores as a criterion to determine a particular treatment plan (i.e., score satisfies a criterion) which is displayed on the therapist’s device (i.e., notification to a provider); FIGS. 1-9);
storing, in a patient profile maintained by the virtual health system, the at least one score in combination with data describing at least one feature comprising (Banerjee: abstract; ¶¶ [0014]-[0015] “score/report of the user taking the one or more assessment tools may be stored in a private database for later use as a baseline for the user at the time the user took the assessment tools”; FIGS. 1-9):
outputting information to the provider based on an association detected between the at least one feature and improved patient health (Banerjee: abstract; ¶¶ [0079] “application 320 may also recommend in a displayed list on the therapist client device 340 one or more intervention solutions, based on one or more of the user supplied information, social media user information 440, screening questionnaire, one or more assessment tools and/or analyzed one or more video sessions, to the therapist”; FIGS. 1-9).
Banerjee does not appear to explicitly teach the following:
at least one feature comprising (i) a service length of a corresponding virtual-health service, (ii) an appointment frequency of the virtual-health service, (iii) a provider assignment associated with the virtual-health service, and (iv) at least one patient or provider review or satisfaction survey related to the virtual-health service; and
outputting information to the provider based on an association detected between the at least one feature and improved patient health or well-being or between the at least one feature and the mental health survey.
Thompson, however, teaches the following:
at least one feature comprising (i) a service length of a corresponding virtual-health service, (ii) an appointment frequency of the virtual-health service, (iii) a provider assignment associated with the virtual-health service; and (iv) at least one patient or provider review or satisfaction survey related to the virtual-health service (Thompson: abstract; ¶¶ [0047] “records the length of time of a session that the patient is with the wellness professional and after the patient is finished communicating with the wellness professional, stores the session time information, the rate of the wellness professional and the diagnosis by the wellness professional for the patient”, [0155] “current serious mental illness known, having associated scores”; FIGS. 1-14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the system and method for user to obtain virtual healthcare service, as taught by Thompson, with the method of providing online mental-health care, as taught by Banerjee, with the motivation of remotely connecting wellness professionals with patients to improve healthcare efficiency (Thompson: ¶¶ [0002]-[0017]).
Banerjee and Thompson do not appear to explicitly teach the following:
outputting information to the provider based on an association detected between the at least one feature and improved patient health or well-being or between the at least one feature and the mental health survey.
Moturu, however, teaches the following:
outputting information to the provider based on an association detected between the at least one feature and improved patient health or well-being or between the at least one feature and the mental health survey (Moturu: abstract; ¶¶ [0074] “receiving feedback from the individual pertaining to the therapeutic entity” and “in-application survey includes the duration of the period of communication, prompts the user to rate effectiveness of the communication, allows the user to rate how he/she felt before, during, and after the period of communication, and allows the individual to provide customized text feedback regarding other aspects of communication with the therapeutic entity”; FIGS. 1-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the method for providing psychological therapy to an individual, as taught by Moturu, with the system and method for user to obtain virtual healthcare service, as taught by Thompson, with the method of providing online mental-health care, as taught by Banerjee, with the motivation of facilitating detection and treatment of mental disorders (Moturu: ¶¶ [0003]-[0006]).
CLAIM 2
Banerjee teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the mental health survey comprises a standardized self-report mental health assessment (Banerjee: abstract; ¶¶ [0068] “screening questionnaire may be standard”; FIGS. 1-9).
CLAIM 3
Banerjee and Thompson do not appear to explicitly teach the method of claim 1, wherein the criterion comprises a threshold score value.
Moturu, however, teaches wherein the criterion comprises a threshold score value (Moturu: abstract; ¶¶ [0047] “survey dataset can include responses to surveys configured to assess severity of mental health state in an individual along a spectrum” and “survey dataset can include quantitative scores of the individual for one or more subsets of surveys for each of the set of time points”, [0065] “analysis of a mental health state of the individual, Block S140 can include generating comparisons between different threshold conditions and one or more of: components of the log of use dataset, components of the supplementary dataset, components of the survey dataset”; FIGS. 1-13).
The motivation to include the teachings of Moturu with the teachings of Banerjee and Thompson is the same as that of claim 1 above and is incorporated herein.
CLAIM 4
Banerjee teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting the notification through at least one communication channel selected from an in-application alert, an e-mail message, and a text message (Banerjee: abstract; ¶¶ [0051] “a therapist 360 using a therapist mobile mental-health application 320 (therapist application) running on a therapist client device 340”, [0071]-[0072] “a warning message (and possibly the problematic social media user information 440) may be sent to the therapist 360 suggesting that an immediate intervention with the user 350 may be needed”; FIGS. 1-9).
CLAIM 7
Banerjee does not appear to explicitly teach the method of claim 1, wherein the information output to the provider comprises a recommendation to reassign the patient to a different provider.
Thompson, however, teaches wherein the information output to the provider comprises a recommendation to reassign the patient to a different provider (Thompson: abstract; ¶¶ [0008]-[0009] “match the patient to a specialist and/or another wellness professional to share in collaborative care on behalf of the patient”; FIGS. 1-14).
The motivation to include the teachings of Thompson with the teachings of Banerjee is the same as that of claim 1 above and is incorporated herein.
CLAIM 8
Banerjee does not appear to explicitly teach the method of claim 1, wherein the information output to the provider comprises a recommendation to assign an additional provider to the patient.
Thompson, however, teaches wherein the information output to the provider comprises a recommendation to assign an additional provider to the patient (Thompson: abstract; ¶¶ [0008]-[0009] “match the patient to a specialist and/or another wellness professional to share in collaborative care on behalf of the patient”; FIGS. 1-14).
The motivation to include the teachings of Thompson with the teachings of Banerjee is the same as that of claim 1 above and is incorporated herein.
CLAIM 9
Banerjee teaches the method of claim 1, wherein storing the at least one score comprises updating a record in the patient profile that is accessible to the provider through the virtual health system (Banerjee: abstract; ¶¶ [0014]-[0015], [0048] “receive input communication in the form of structured and/or unstructured data feeds, event streams, event updates”, [0070]; FIGS. 1-9).
CLAIM 10
Banerjee teaches at least one processor; and a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to: (Banerjee: abstract; ¶¶ [0002] “coupled to a network, and each comprising at least one processor executing specific computer-executable instructions within a memory”, [0032]-[0034]; FIGS. 1-5).
The remainder of claim 10 repeats substantially the same limitations as those in claim 1. As such, the remainder of claim 10 is rejected for substantially the same reasons given for claim 1 and are incorporated herein.
CLAIM 11-13
Claims 11-13 repeat substantially the same limitations as those in claims 2-4. As such, claims 11-13 are rejected for substantially the same reasons given for claims 2-4 and are incorporated herein.
CLAIMS 16-18
Claims 16-18 repeat substantially the same limitations as those in claims 7-9. As such, claims 16-18 are rejected for substantially the same reasons given for claims 7-9 and are incorporated herein.
CLAIMS 19-20
Claims 19-20 repeat substantially the same limitations as those in claim 1. As such, claims 19-20 are rejected for substantially the same reasons given for claim 1 and are incorporated herein.
4.2. Claims 5-6 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banerjee et al. (US 2019/00206518), in view of Thompson (US 2015/0154721), in view of Moturu et al. (2016/0140320), and further in view of Mason et al. (US 11282608).
CLAIM 5
Banerjee, Thompson and Moturu do not appear to explicitly teach the method of claim 1, wherein the information output to the provider comprises a recommendation to modify an appointment frequency for the patient.
Mason, however, teaches wherein the information output to the provider comprises a recommendation to modify an appointment frequency for the patient (Mason: abstract “artificial intelligence engine being configured to use at least one machine learning model to, using the treatment data, generate at least one of a treatment scheduling output prediction and an appointment output”; col. 7, lns. 48-64 “provide, to a healthcare provider, one or more recommendations” and “treatment data may include various aspects of the treatment plan, including one or more treatment schedules, one or more appointments, other suitable aspects of the treatment plan, or a combination thereof. A treatment schedule may define a cadence, interval, or frequency for the user to perform various aspects of the treatment plan. For example, a treatment schedule associated with the treatment plan may define, for a period, a number of treatment sessions during which the user is indicated to perform one or more exercises defined by the treatment plan. An appointment associated with the treatment plan may define a day and time when the healthcare provider will assess or schedule an assessment of the user's progress, perform one or more examination procedures on the user, evaluate and/or modify the various aspects of the treatment plan”; col. 9, lns. 4-14 “modify…one or more aspects of the treatment plan”; FIGS. 1-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the method and system for using AI and machine learning to provide appointment modification recommendations to a healthcare provider during a telemedicine session, as taught by Mason, with the method for providing psychological therapy to an individual, as taught by Moturu, with the system and method for user to obtain virtual healthcare service, as taught by Thompson, with the method of providing online mental-health care, as taught by Banerjee, with the motivation of facilitating telemedicine (Mason: ¶¶ col. 15, ln. 38-col. 17, ln. 54).
CLAIM 6
Banerjee, Thompson and Moturu do not appear to explicitly teach the method of claim 1, wherein the information output to the provider comprises a recommendation to modify a session length for the patient.
Mason, however, teaches wherein the information output to the provider comprises a recommendation to modify a session length for the patient (Mason: abstract “artificial intelligence engine being configured to use at least one machine learning model to, using the treatment data, generate at least one of a treatment scheduling output prediction and an appointment output”; col. 7, lns. 48-64 “provide, to a healthcare provider, one or more recommendations” and “treatment data may include various aspects of the treatment plan, including one or more treatment schedules, one or more appointments, other suitable aspects of the treatment plan, or a combination thereof. A treatment schedule may define a cadence, interval, or frequency for the user to perform various aspects of the treatment plan. For example, a treatment schedule associated with the treatment plan may define, for a period, a number of treatment sessions during which the user is indicated to perform one or more exercises defined by the treatment plan. An appointment associated with the treatment plan may define a day and time when the healthcare provider will assess or schedule an assessment of the user's progress, perform one or more examination procedures on the user, evaluate and/or modify the various aspects of the treatment plan”; col. 9, lns. 4-14 “modify…one or more aspects of the treatment plan”; FIGS. 1-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the method and system for using AI and machine learning to provide appointment modification recommendations to a healthcare provider during a telemedicine session, as taught by Mason, with the method for providing psychological therapy to an individual, as taught by Moturu, with the system and method for user to obtain virtual healthcare service, as taught by Thompson, with the method of providing online mental-health care, as taught by Banerjee, with the motivation of facilitating telemedicine (Mason: ¶¶ col. 15, ln. 38-col. 17, ln. 54).
CLAIMS 14-15
Claims 14-15 repeat substantially the same limitations as those in claims 5-6. As such, claims 14-15 are rejected for substantially the same reasons given for claims 5-6 and are incorporated herein.
Relevant Non-Cited Prior Art
5. The following discovered prior art was not cited in this rejection but may be relevant:
Zielinski et al. (US 2014/0288951) – Internet System For Connecting Healthcare Providers And Patients
Jones et al. (US 2015/0324532) – Virtual Mental Health Platform
Williamson (US 2012/0141962) – Systems And Methods For Matching A Patient With A Mental Healthcare Provider
Schoenberg )US 2010/0222649) – Remote Medical Servicing
Potter (US 2017/0004269) – Systems And Methods For Estimating Mental Health Assessment Results
Conclusion
/MICHAEL TOMASZEWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3681