DETAILED ACTION
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ishida et al [US 2021/0243873 A1] who teaches a lighting control device controls illumination of a lighting device using a plurality of light sources. The lighting control device includes a processing unit that executes processing related to control on the illumination. The processing unit acquires direction designation information for designating at least one illumination direction to which the lighting device illuminates, acquires light source information indicating a plurality of light source irradiation directions that are irradiation directions of the plurality of light sources, and based on (i) at least one designated illumination direction that is the at least one illumination direction designated by the direction designation information and (ii) the plurality of light source irradiation directions, causes part of the plurality of light sources to illuminate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James et al [US 2022/0193280 A1].
In regards to claim 1. James discloses a system (Fig. 1-11, 10) comprising:
a controller (Fig. 4-5, 48 & Paragraph [0077]) configured to modify (Paragraph [0072]) an operation of a light emitting diode (LED) (Fig. 1, 18 and 20) assembly,
the controller (Fig. 4-5, 48 & Paragraph [0077]) comprising:
at least one processor (Fig. 4-5, 48 & Paragraph [0077]);
at least one LED driver (Fig. 4-5, 48 & Paragraph [0077]) configured to electrically coupled to at least one LED of the LED assembly (Fig. 4-5, 18 and 20), wherein at least one reflector (Fig. 1-5, 42 & Paragraph [0076]) disposed at a front portion of the LED assembly (Fig. 4-5, 18 and 20) surrounds the at least one LED (Fig. 4-5, 18 and 20); and
a fan driver (Fig. 4-5, 48 & Paragraph [0077]) configured to electrically couple with a fan (Fig. 4-5, 44) of the LED assembly (Fig. 4-5, 18 and 20), wherein an upper housing (Fig. 2, 14) surrounds the fan (Fig. 4-5, 44) and extends from a rear portion of the LED assembly (Fig. 4-5, 18 and 20) towards the front portion (Fig. 1, 10), and wherein at least one vent (Fig. 1, 22) of the LED assembly is in fluid communication (Fig. 5, 22 with 44) with the upper housing (Fig. 2, 14),
wherein the at least one processor (Fig. 4-5, 48 & Paragraph [0077]) is configured to receive external commands (Paragraph [0072]) to:
modify (Paragraph [0072]), utilizing the at least one LED driver (Fig. 4-5, 48 & Paragraph [0077]), an optical output of the at least one LED of the LED assembly (Fig. 1, 18 and 20) based on the external commands (Paragraph [0072]); and
modify, utilizing the fan driver (Fig. 4-5, 48 & Paragraph [0077]), a speed of the fan based on the external commands (Paragraph [0072]).
James does not specify explicitly a shroud
James discloses Fig. 12-14, an upper housing 14 (Paragraph [0100-102])
It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of James in Fig. 12-14 with Fig 1-11 to disclose or teach a shroud which its cover for purpose of protecting the circuit and improve the light sterilizer as disclosed by James (Paragraph [0089]).
In regards to claim 2. James discloses the system of claim 1, wherein: the controller further comprises a wired communication interface (Paragraph [0033]) configured to provide, via communications received by the wired communication interface (Paragraph [0033]), the external commands (Fig. 1, 26) to the at least one processor (Fig. 4-5, 48 & Paragraph [0077]), wherein the wired communication interface (Paragraph [0033 & 0012 & 0037 & 0068-70]) is configured to electrically couple with electrical connections disposed at one or more sides of the LED assembly (Paragraph [0069]).
In regards to claim 7. James discloses the system of claim 1, wherein: the controller further comprises a wireless communication interface (Fig. 1, 26 and 12) configured to provide, via communications (Paragraph [0072]) received by the wireless communication interface (Fig. 1, 26 and 12), the external commands to the at least one processor (Fig. 4-5, 48 & Paragraph [0077]).
In regards to claim 8. James discloses the system of claim 7, wherein the wireless communication interface comprises one or more of a Wi-Fi interface (Paragraph [0037-38]), a Bluetooth interface, a cellular network interface, and a near field communication (NFC) interface.
In regards to claim 12. James discloses the system of claim 1, wherein: the controller further comprises a user interface (Fig. 1, 26) configured to provide, via user interaction with the user interface (Fig. 1, 26), the external commands to the at least one processor (Fig. 4-5, 48 & Paragraph [0077]).
Claims 3-6, 9-11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James et al [US 2022/0193280 A1] in view of Chemel et al [US 2020/0267810 A1]
In regards to claim 3. James discloses the system of claim 2,
James does not specify wherein the wired communication interface comprises a digital multiplex (DMX) interface, and wherein the external commands comprise DMX commands.
Chemel discloses wherein the wired communication interface comprises a digital multiplex (DMX) interface, and wherein the external commands comprise DMX commands (Paragraph [0233]).
It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of Chemel with James to discloses or teach wherein the wired communication interface comprises a digital multiplex (DMX) interface, and wherein the external commands comprise DMX commands for purpose of improvement in the design of modular lighting systems may include advanced dimming and sensing capabilities disclosed by Chemel (Paragraph [0496]).
In regards to claim 4. James discloses the system of claim 2,
James does not specify wherein the LED assembly is organized into an array of LED assemblies to form a LED panel, and wherein: the at least one processor of one of the LED assemblies is configured to communicate with the at least one processor of another one of the LED assemblies utilizing the wired communication interface.
Chemel discloses wherein the LED assembly (Chemel Fig. 3, 36 3602) is organized into an array of LED assemblies to form a LED panel (Chemel Fig. 30, 3002), and wherein: the at least one processor (Chemel Fig. 21a, 112 and 2108) of one of the LED assemblies (Chemel Fig. 21a, 2102) is configured to communicate with the at least one processor (Chemel Fig. 21a, 112 and 2108) of another one of the LED assemblies (Chemel Fig. 3, 36 3608) utilizing the wired communication interface (Chemel Paragraph [0195]).
It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of Chemel with James to discloses or teach wherein the LED assembly is organized into an array of LED assemblies to form a LED panel for purpose of improvement in the design of modular lighting systems may include advanced dimming and sensing capabilities disclosed by Chemel (Paragraph [0496]).
In regards to claim 5. James in view of Chemel discloses the system of claim 4, wherein: the at least one processor (Chemel Fig. 21a, 112 and 2108) of the one of the LED assemblies (Chemel Fig. 21a, 2102) is configured to forward the external commands (Chemel: Fig. 48, 4802) to the at least one processor (Chemel Fig. 21a, 112 and 2108) of the other one of the LED assemblies (Chemel Fig. 21a, 2102) utilizing the wired communication interface (Chemel Paragraph [0195]).
In regards to claim 6. James in view of Chemel discloses the system of claim 4, wherein: the at least one processor (Chemel Fig. 21a, 112 and 2108) of the one of the LED assemblies (Chemel Fig. 21a, 2102) is configured to direct operation of the at least one processor (Chemel Fig. 21a, 112 and 2108) of the other one of the LED assemblies (Chemel Fig. 21a, 2102) based on the external commands (Chemel: Fig. 48, 4802) utilizing the wired communication interface (Chemel Paragraph [0195]).
In regards to claim 9. James discloses the system of claim 7,
James does not specify wherein the LED assembly is organized into an array of LED assemblies to form a LED panel, and wherein: the at least one processor of one of the LED assemblies is configured to communicate with the at least one processor of another one of the LED assemblies utilizing the wireless communication interface.
Chemel discloses wherein the LED assembly (Chemel Fig. 3, 36 3602) is organized into an array of LED assemblies to form a LED panel (Chemel Fig. 30, 3002), and wherein: the at least one processor (Chemel Fig. 21a, 112 and 2108) of one of the LED assemblies (Chemel Fig. 21a, 2102) is configured to communicate with the at least one processor (Chemel Fig. 21a, 112 and 2108) of another one of the LED assemblies (Chemel Fig. 21a, 2102 & Paragraph [0072-74]) utilizing the wireless communication interface (Chemel Paragraph [0195]).
It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of Chemel with James to discloses or teach wherein the LED assembly is organized into an array of LED assemblies to form a LED panel and wherein: the at least one processor of one of the LED assemblies is configured to communicate with the at least one processor of another one of the LED assemblies utilizing the wireless communication interface for purpose of improvement in the design of modular lighting systems may include advanced dimming and sensing capabilities disclosed by Chemel (Paragraph [0496]).
In regards to claim 10. James in view of Chemel discloses the system of claim 9, wherein: the at least one processor (Chemel Fig. 21a, 112 and 2108) of the one of the LED assemblies (Chemel Fig. 21a, 2102) is configured to forward the external commands (Chemel: Fig. 48, 4802) to the at least one processor (Chemel Fig. 21a, 112 and 2108) of the other one of the LED assemblies (Chemel Fig. 21a, 2102) utilizing the wireless communication interface (Chemel Paragraph [0195]).
In regards to claim 11. James in view of Chemel discloses the system of claim 9, wherein: the at least one processor (Chemel Fig. 21a, 112 and 2108) of the one of the LED assemblies (Chemel Fig. 21a, 2102) is configured to direct operation of the at least one processor (Chemel Fig. 21a, 112 and 2108) of the other one of the LED assemblies (Chemel Fig. 21a, 2102) based on the external commands (Chemel: Fig. 48, 4802) utilizing the wireless communication interface (Chemel Paragraph [0195]).
In regards to claim 13. James discloses the system of claim 12,
James does not specify wherein: the controller further comprises a wired communication interface configured to electrically couple with electrical connections disposed at one or more sides of the LED assembly, the LED assembly is organized into an array of LED assemblies to form a LED panel, and the at least one processor of one of the LED assemblies is configured to communicate with the at least one processor of another one of the LED assemblies utilizing the wired communication interface.
Chemel discloses wherein: the controller (Chemel Fig. 21a, 112 and 2108) further comprises a wired communication interface (Paragraph [0548 & 0195]) configured to electrically couple with electrical connections (Paragraph [0548]) disposed at one or more sides of the LED assembly (Chemel Fig. 36 3602 to 3609), the LED assembly is organized into an array of LED assemblies to form a LED panel (Chemel Fig. 30, 3002), and the at least one processor (Chemel Fig. 21a, 112 and 2108) of one of the LED assemblies (Chemel Fig. 36 3602 to 3609) is configured to communicate (Paragraph [0548 & 0195]) with the at least one processor (Chemel Fig. 21a, 112 and 2108) of another one of the LED assemblies (Chemel Fig. 36 3602 to 3609) utilizing the wired communication interface (Paragraph [0548 & 0195]).
It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of Chemel with James to discloses or teach the controller further comprises a wired communication interface configured to electrically couple with electrical connections disposed at one or more sides of the LED assembly, the LED assembly is organized into an array of LED assemblies to form a LED panel, and the at least one processor of one of the LED assemblies is configured to communicate with the at least one processor of another one of the LED assemblies utilizing the wired communication interface for purpose of improvement in the design of modular lighting systems may include advanced dimming and sensing capabilities disclosed by Chemel (Paragraph [0496]).
In regards to claim 14. James in view of Chemel discloses the system of claim 13, wherein: the at least one processor (Chemel Fig. 21a, 112 and 2108) of the one of the LED assemblies (Chemel Fig. 36 3602 to 3609) is configured to forward the external commands (Chemel: Fig. 48, 4802) to the at least one processor (Chemel Fig. 21a, 112 and 2108) of the other one of the LED assemblies (Chemel Fig. 36 3602 to 3609) utilizing the wired communication interface (Paragraph [0548 & 0195]).
In regards to claim 15. James in view of Chemel discloses the system of claim 13, wherein: the at least one processor (Chemel Fig. 21a, 112 and 2108) of the one of the LED assemblies (Chemel Fig. 36 3602 to 3609) is configured to direct operation of the at least one processor (Chemel Fig. 21a, 112 and 2108) of the other one of the LED assemblies (Chemel Fig. 36 3602 to 3609) based on the external commands (Chemel: Fig. 48, 4802) utilizing the wired communication interface (Paragraph [0548 & 0195]).
Conclusion
WEI (VICTOR) CHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2844
/WEI (VICTOR) Y CHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845