DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the non-provisional application filed on 06/11/2025. Claims 1-7 are pending. Claim 1 is independent.
Claim Interpretation
Currently, none of the claims are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Teaque (US Pub. No.: 2007/0213634).
Regarding claims 1, 2, and 4-6, Teaque discloses [claim 1] a lymphangiogenesis inducing device comprising: a puncture member (114, Fig. 1B) comprising a distal end portion (distal end of 114, Fig. 1B and Para. [0063], 114 include a sharpened distal end) configured to puncture living tissue, and a through hole (central lumen or through hole of 114, Fig. 1B and also see 3C) penetrating the puncture member along a central axis and extending from the distal end portion toward a proximal end (see Figs. 1B, 2B, and 3C); and a rod-shaped body (101, Fig. 5A and 5B) inserted into the through hole and configured to be moved so as to protrude from the distal end portion (Para. [0035] and also see Fig. 3C), wherein: the rod-shaped body comprises a shaft portion (shaft or tube portion of 101, Fig. 4A), and a wound imparting structure (barbs 108, Figs 5A and 5B) comprising at least one protrusion (barbs 108, Figs. 5A and 5B) located on the shaft portion and configured to impart a wound to the living tissue (Paras. [0035] and[0036], the barbs 108 are fully capable to impart a wound to the living tissue because they are configured to cut tissue), the at least one protrusion has a protruding height from the shaft portion that increases when the at least one protrusion transitions from a state in which the at least one protrusion is located in the through hole to a state in which the at least one protrusion is located outside the through hole (Paras. [0034]-[0036] and also see Figs. 3C and 3B as an illustrative example), and the at least one protrusion protrudes in a direction perpendicular to the central axis when in the state in which the at least one protrusion is outside the through hole (Fig. 5B and Para. [0035], the barbs are perpendicular to the central axis because they are perpendicular to outer surface 106 of 101); [claim 2] wherein: the at least one protrusion is folded inward when in the state in which the at least one protrusion is located in the through hole (Paras. [0034]-[0036] and also see Figs. 3C and 3B as an illustrative example), and opens outward and protrudes in the direction perpendicular to the central axis when in the state in which the at least one protrusion is outside the through hole (Fig. 5B and Para. [0035], the barbs are perpendicular to the central axis because they are perpendicular to outer surface 106 of 101); [claim 4] wherein: the at least one protrusion comprises a plurality of protrusions that protrude in directions perpendicular to the central axis when in the state in which the protrusions are located outside the through hole (Fig. 5B); [claim 5] wherein: the plurality of protrusions comprises protrusions located at different axial positions and different circumferential positions of the shaft portion (Fig. 5B); [claim 6] wherein: the protrusions are folded inward when in the state in which the protrusions are located in the through hole (Paras. [0034]-[0036] and also see Figs. 3C and 3B as an illustrative example), and open outward and protrude in directions perpendicular to the central axis when in the state in which the protrusions are outside the through hole(Fig. 5B and Para. [0035], the barbs are perpendicular to the central axis because they are perpendicular to outer surface 106 of 101).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brugge (US Pub. No.: 2005/0256426) in view of Gilbert (US Pub. No.: 2020/0305851).
Regarding claim 1, Brugge discloses a device (10, the device 10 of Brugge is fully capable to serve as a lymphangiogenesis inducing device because it is for piercing through tissue with the bristles) comprising: a puncture member (12, Fig. 1) comprising a distal end portion (20, Fig. 1-1B and Para. [0027]) configured to puncture living tissue, and a through hole (central lumen or through hole of 12, Figs. 1-1B) penetrating the puncture member along a central axis and extending from the distal end portion toward a proximal end; and a rod-shaped body (22, Figs. 1-1B) inserted into the through hole and configured to be moved so as to protrude from the distal end portion, wherein: the rod-shaped body comprises a shaft portion (shaft portion of 22, Figs. 1-1B) , and a wound imparting structure (bristles 22a, Figs. 1-1B and Para. [0029]) comprising at least one protrusion (bristles 22a, Figs. 1-1B and Para. [0029]) located on the shaft portion and configured to impart a wound to the living tissue. However, Brugge does not disclose that the at least one protrusion has a protruding height from the shaft portion that increases when the at least one protrusion transitions from a state in which the at least one protrusion is located in the through hole to a state in which the at least one protrusion is located outside the through hole, and the at least one protrusion protrudes in a direction perpendicular to the central axis when in the state in which the at least one protrusion is outside the through hole.
Gilbert teaches, in the same field of endeavor (tissue sampling), at least one protrusion (bristles, Fig. 3B) has a protruding height from the shaft portion that increases when the at least one protrusion transitions from a state in which the at least one protrusion is located in the through hole (Fig. 2B) to a state in which the at least one protrusion is located outside the through hole (Fig. 3B), and the at least one protrusion protrudes in a direction perpendicular to the central axis when in the state in which the at least one protrusion is outside the through hole (Figs. 3B and 10A and Paras. [0077] and [0081]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Brugge to include the at least one protrusion has a protruding height from the shaft portion that increases when the at least one protrusion transitions from a state in which the at least one protrusion is located in the through hole to a state in which the at least one protrusion is located outside the through hole, and the at least one protrusion protrudes in a direction perpendicular to the central axis when in the state in which the at least one protrusion is outside the through hole as taught by Gilbert in order to minimize the radial delivery profile of the overall device to facilitate the insertion of the device while maximizing the overall radial deployed profile of the protrusion.
Regarding claim 2, Gilbert discloses that the at least one protrusion is folded inward when in the state in which the at least one protrusion is located in the through hole (Fig. 2B), and opens outward and protrudes in the direction perpendicular to the central axis when in the state in which the at least one protrusion is outside the through hole (Figs. 3B and 10A and Paras. [0077] and [0081]).
Regarding claim 3, Gilbert discloses that the at least one protrusion is folded inward toward a proximal end of the rod-shaped body when in the state in which the at least one protrusion is located in the through hole (Fig. 2 and Para. [0077]), and opens outward and protrudes in the direction perpendicular to the central axis when in the state in which the at least one protrusion is outside the through hole (Figs. 3B and 10A and Paras. [0077] and [0081]).
Regarding claim 4, Gilbert discloses that the at least one protrusion comprises a plurality of protrusions that protrude in directions perpendicular to the central axis when in the state in which the protrusions are located outside the through hole (Figs. 3B and 10A and Paras. [0077] and [0081]).
Regarding claim 5, Brugge discloses that the plurality of protrusions comprises protrusions located at different axial positions and different circumferential positions of the shaft portion (Figs. 1-1B).
Regarding claim 6, Gilbert discloses that the protrusions are folded inward when in the state in which the protrusions are located in the through hole (Fig. 2 and Para. [0077]), and open outward and protrude in directions perpendicular to the central axis when in the state in which the protrusions are outside the through hole (Figs. 3B and 10A and Paras. [0077] and [0081]).
Regarding claim 7, Gilbert discloses that the protrusions are folded inward toward a proximal end of the rod-shaped body when in the state in which the protrusions are located in the through hole (Fig. 2 and Para. [0077]), and open outward and protrude in directions perpendicular to the central axis when in the state in which the protrusions are outside the through hole (Figs. 3B and 10A and Paras. [0077] and [0081]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20140039346 A1 Gillespie; Alexandra J. discloses a device having bristles for collecting tissue sample.
US 20150065915 A1 Jafri; Farrukh M. discloses an endobrush with receptable
US 5713369 A Tao; Liang-Che et al. discloses an uterine endometrial tissue sample brush
/JING RUI OU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771