Claim Objections
Claims 1-7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 states the limitation, “a plurality of wings”. The limitation is objected to as the limitation should read “a plurality of rotary wings” as is described in the specification.
Claims 2-7 are objected to as above due to dependency on Claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Buchmueller et al. (US 9688404 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Buchmueller teaches a system for delivering a package, comprising: a first drone (Fig. 1 element 100) that includes a housing (Fig. 1 element 102); a second drone (Fig. 1 element 140) that includes a plurality of wings (Fig. 3 elements 372); a wire connecting the first drone and the second drone (Fig. 1 elements 151/152); and a wire control module that is configured to let out and take up the wire (Winch controller 234), wherein the second drone is configured to: be at least partially housed in a bottom of the housing of the first drone as the wire control module takes up the wire (Fig. 1 housing 102), and adjust an orientation of the second drone to align with a predetermined direction via an operation of the plurality of wings (“in an effort to maintain a relatively horizontal orientation for the platform 140 and/or the item 160, a controller similar to the payload controller 274 in FIG. 2 may control the horizontal and vertical thrust generators 372 and 373” Col. 7 line 65 – Col. 8 line 2).
Regarding Claim 2, Buchmueller teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 1 and further discloses the predetermined direction is determined based on a position of a receiving opening of the housing for at least partially housing the second drone (Shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 3, Buchmueller teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 2 and further discloses the bottom of the housing includes the receiving opening (Fig. 1 shows opening in the bottom of the housing).
Regarding Claim 4, Buchmueller teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 1 and further discloses the predetermined direction is determined based on a position of a receiving opening of an apparatus for receiving the second drone (Fig. 1 shows opening in the bottom of the housing for receiving the second drone).
Regarding Claim 5, Buchmueller teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 4 and further discloses the apparatus is disposed at one of a receiving location or a drone operation site (Fig. 1 shows opening in the bottom of the housing for receiving the second drone).
Regarding Claim 6, Buchmueller teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 5 and further discloses the apparatus (Fig. 1 shows opening in the bottom of the housing for receiving the second drone).
Regarding Claim 7, Buchmueller teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 1 and further discloses the predetermined direction is determined based on a position of a receiving opening for accepting the second drone (Fig. 1 shows opening in the bottom of the housing for receiving the second drone).
Conclusion
/E.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3644
/Nicholas McFall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644