DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Due to communications filed 8/6/26, the following is a final office action. Claims 1-3 and 19-24 are amended. Claims 4 and 6 are cancelled. Claims 1-3, 5, 7-24 are pending in this application and are rejected as follows. The previous rejection has been modified to reflect claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC $101
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C, 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (I.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly
more.
With regard to independent claim 1, this claim is directed to acquiring utilization status data and
calculating an incentive for a MaaS-related operator based on the utilization status data constitute
collecting, and analyzing and evaluating information, which falls into the "Mental Processes" and
"Organizing Human Activity" categories, an abstract idea. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea. Furthermore, claim 1 does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The
additional elements of a data utilization device, "a data valve calculation device", "processing circuitry" and “data provision device” are recited at a high level of generality and performs generic computer functions. The claim does not recite any improvement to computer technology or other technical field. The mere nominal recitation of these generic elements does not take the claim out of the methods of "Organizing Human Activity" or "Mental Processes" grouping. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea. Finally, claim 1 does not recite an inventive concept. The additional elements are well-understood, routine, and conventional, and merely implement the abstract idea using generic components. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
As per independent claim 2, this claim recites collecting utilization status data and calculating an
incentive for a MaaS operator based on that data which constitutes collecting and analyzing information
and economic evaluation, which falls into the "Mental Processes", and "Method of Organizing Human
Activities" grouping, an abstract idea. The additional elements including a data utilization device, a data value calculation device, processing circuitry and “data provision device” are generic computer components performing routine functions and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide an inventive concept.
As per independent claim 3, this claim recites acquiring utilization status data regarding use of
provided data associated with movement of a moving object, which constitutes collecting and analyzing
information, and falls into the "Mental Processes", and "Method of Organizing Human Activities"
grouping, an abstract idea. The additional elements including a data utilization device, a data distribution management device, processing circuitry, and “data provision device” are generic computer components performing routine data acquisition functions and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide an inventive concept.
As per dependent claim 5, this claim recites adjusting an incentive based on freshness
associated with provided data, which constitutes data evaluation and calculation, and falls into the
"Mental Processes", and "Method of Organizing Human Activities" grouping, an abstract idea. The
additional elements including a data value calculation device and processing circuitry are generic
computer components performing routine data acquisition functions and do not integrate the abstract
idea into a practical application or provide an inventive concept.
As per dependent claim 7, this claim recites calculating a data usage fee for utilizing a database
based on utilization status data, which constitutes economic calculation and pricing determination, and
falls into the "Method of Organizing Human Activities" grouping, an abstract idea. The additional
elements including processing circuitry are generic computer components performing routine data
acquisition functions and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide an
inventive concept.
As per dependent claim 8, this claim recites tracking movement of a moving object using
railway-related usage data provided by a MaaS-related operator, which constitutes collecting and
analyzing transportation usage information, and falls into the "Method of Organizing Human Activities"
and "Mental Processes" grouping, an abstract idea. The additional elements including an operator is and
movement data does not add any technical improvement or practical application, and do not integrate
the abstract idea into a practical application or provide an inventive concept.
As per dependent claim 9, this claim recites that provided data includes congestion information
that is congestion in a railway facility, which constitutes collecting and evaluating transportation
condition information and falls into the "Mental Processes", and "Method of Organizing Human
Activities" grouping, an abstract idea. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a
practical application or provide an inventive concept.
As per dependent claim 10, this claim recites calculating an incentive based on utilization status
data and train car congestion information, which constitutes data analysis and evaluation of
transportation conditions, and falls into the "Mental Processes", and "Method of Organizing Human
Activities" grouping, an abstract idea. The additional elements including a processing circuitry of a data
value calculation device and congestion information are generic computer components performing
routine data acquisition functions and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or
provide an inventive concept.
As per dependent claim 11, this claim recites calculating an incentive based on utilization status
data and freshness of congestion information, which constitutes data analysis and evaluation of
transportation conditions, and falls into the "Mental Processes", and "Method of Organizing Human
Activities" grouping, an abstract idea. The additional elements including a processing circuitry of a data
value calculation device and congestion information are generic computer components performing
routine data acquisition functions and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or
provide an inventive concept.
As per dependent claim 12, this claim recites using provider data including railway operation
management information forma MaaS-related operator, which constitutes collecting and analyzing
operational information and falls into the "Mental Processes", and "Method of Organizing Human
Activities" grouping, an abstract idea. The additional elements including a railway operator and
operational management data does not amount to technical improvement or practical application, are
generic computer components performing routine data acquisition functions and do not integrate the
abstract idea into a practical application or provide an inventive concept.
As per dependent claim 13, this claim recites using provider data from a MaaS-related operator,
and sensor-acquired data from a relay facility, which constitutes collecting and analyzing operational
information and falls into the "Mental Processes", and "Method of Organizing Human Activities"
grouping, an abstract idea. The additional elements including a railway operator and sensor data
acquisition does not amount to technical improvement or practical application, are generic computer
components performing routine data acquisition functions and do not integrate the abstract idea into a
practical application or provide an inventive concept.
As per dependent claim 14, this claim recites generating evaluation data regarding utilization
data or a from a MaaS-related operator, and calculating an incentive based on utilization status data and
the evaluation data, which constitutes information evaluation and economic decision making, and falls
into the "Mental Processes", and "Method of Organizing Human Activities" grouping, an abstract idea.
The additional elements including a data utilization device and a data value calculation device does not
amount to technical improvement or practical application, are generic computer components performing routine data acquisition functions and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical
application or provide an inventive concept.
As per dependent claim 15, this claim recites generating evaluation data regarding utilization
data or a from a MaaS-related operator, and calculating an incentive based on utilization status data and
the evaluation data, which constitutes information evaluation and economic decision making, and falls
into the "Mental Processes", and "Method of Organizing Human Activities" grouping, an abstract idea.
The additional elements including a data utilization device and a data value calculation device does not
amount to technical improvement or practical application, are generic computer components
performing routine data acquisition functions and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical
application or provide an inventive concept.
As per dependent claim 16, this claim recites generating utilization data from provider data of
multiple MaaS-related operators, and calculating incentives for each MaaS-related operator based on
utilization status data and contribution rates, and calculating an incentive based on utilization status
data and the evaluation data, which constitutes collecting and analyzing information evaluation and
economic decision making, and falls into the "Mental Processes", and "Method of Organizing Human
Activities" grouping, an abstract idea. The additional elements including a generic processing circuitry
and a data value calculation device are generic computer components performing routine data
acquisition functions and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide an
inventive concept.
As per dependent claim 17, this claim recites determining a contribution rate for each MaaS-
related operator based on utilization purpose of utilization data and a data utilization device, which
constitutes data analysis and evaluation for allocation purposes, and falls into the "Mental Processes",
and "Method of Organizing Human Activities" grouping, an abstract idea. The additional elements
including processing circuitry of a data value calculation device is a generic computer component
performing routine data acquisition functions and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical
application or provide an inventive concept.
As per dependent claim 18, this claim recites setting a lower limit of an incentive for utilization
data and transmitting the utilization data upon user acceptance of the incentive threshold which
constitutes economic decision making and conditional information exchange, and falls into the "Mental
Processes", and "Method of Organizing Human Activities" grouping, an abstract idea. The additional
elements including processing circuitry is a generic computer component performing routine data
acquisition functions and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide an
inventive concept.
With regard to independent claim 19, this claim is directed to acquiring utilization status data
and calculating an incentive for a MaaS-related operator based on the utilization status data constitute
collecting, and analyzing and evaluating information, which falls into the "Mental Processes" and
"Organizing Human Activity" categories, an abstract idea. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Furthermore, claim 19 does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The
additional elements of a “data utilization device” , "a data valve calculation device" and "processing circuitry" and “data provision device” are recited at a high level of generality and performs generic computer functions. The claim does not recite any improvement to computer technology or other technical field. The mere nominal recitation of these generic elements does not take the claim out of the methods of "Organizing Human Activity" or "Mental Processes" grouping. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea. Finally, claim 19 does not recite an inventive concept. The additional elements are well-understood, routine, and conventional, and merely implement the abstract idea using generic components. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
As per independent claim 20, this claim recites collecting utilization status data and calculating
an incentive for a MaaS operator based on that data which constitutes collecting and analyzing
information and economic evaluation, which falls into the "Mental Processes", and "Method of
Organizing Human Activities" grouping, an abstract idea. The additional elements including a data utilization device, a data value calculation device and processing circuitry, and data provision device are generic computer components performing routine functions and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide an inventive concept.
With regard to independent claim 21, this claim is directed to acquiring utilization status data
and calculating an incentive for a MaaS-related operator based on the utilization status data constitute
collecting, and analyzing and evaluating information, which falls into the "Mental Processes" and
"Organizing Human Activity" categories, an abstract idea. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Furthermore, claim 21 does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The
additional elements of a data utilization device, "a data valve calculation device", "processing circuitry" and “data provision device” are recited at a high level of generality and performs generic computer functions. The claim does not recite any improvement to computer technology or other technical field. The mere nominal recitation of these generic elements does not take the claim out of the methods of "Organizing Human Activity" or "Mental Processes" grouping. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea. Finally, claim 21 does not recite an inventive concept. The additional elements are well-understood, routine, and conventional, and merely implement the abstract idea using generic components. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
With regard to independent claim 22, this claim is directed to acquiring utilization status data
and calculating an incentive for a MaaS-related operator based on the utilization status data constitute
collecting, and analyzing and evaluating information, which falls into the "Mental Processes" and
"Organizing Human Activity" categories, an abstract idea. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea. Furthermore, claim 22 does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The
additional elements of data utilization device, "a data valve calculation device", "processing circuitry" and “data provision device” are recited at a high level of generality and performs generic computer functions. The claim does not recite any improvement to computer technology or other technical field. The mere nominal recitation of these generic elements does not take the claim out of the methods of "Organizing Human Activity" or "Mental Processes" grouping. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea. Finally, claim 22 does not recite an inventive concept. The additional elements are well-understood, routine, and conventional, and merely implement the abstract idea using generic components. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
As per independent claim 23, this claim recites collecting utilization status data and calculating
an incentive for a MaaS operator based on that data which constitutes collecting and analyzing
information and economic evaluation, which falls into the "Mental Processes", and "Method of
Organizing Human Activities" grouping, an abstract idea. The additional elements including a data utilization device, data value calculation device, processing circuitry and “data provision device” are generic computer components performing routine functions and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide an inventive concept.
With regard to independent claim 24, this claim is directed to acquiring utilization status data
and calculating an incentive for a MaaS-related operator based on the utilization status data constitute
collecting, and analyzing and evaluating information, which falls into the "Mental Processes" and
"Organizing Human Activity" categories, an abstract idea. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea. Furthermore, claim 24 does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The
additional elements of a data utilization device, "a data valve calculation device" "processing circuitry" and “data provision device” are recited at a high level of generality and performs generic computer functions. The claim does not recite any improvement to computer technology or other technical field. The mere nominal recitation of these generic elements does not take the claim out of the methods of "Organizing Human Activity" or "Mental Processes" grouping. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea. Finally, claim 24 does not recite an inventive concept. The additional elements are well-understood, routine, and conventional, and merely implement the abstract idea using generic components. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of
rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same
under either status.
set forth in this Office action:
set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention
as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in
the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was
made.
Claim(s) ) 1-3, 7, 14-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marshall (US 20100241501 A1), and further in view of Flake et al (US 2008/0103900 A1).
As per claim 1, Marshall discloses:
a data distribution management device, ([0338], "The coordination of images and data generated from
cameras and devices at remote locations may be preferably transmitted to a central station for prompt
viewing by organizations such as law enforcement.. A law enforcement agency, or other entity
responsible for homeland security, bail bondsmen, neighborhood watch groups and other crime
prevention participants, becomes aware of a need to monitor a particular location in a coordinated
fashion to avoid inefficiency by ensuring the coordinated distribution of assets");
the data distribution management device comprising processing circuitry to:
acquire utilization status data indicating a utilization status in a data utilization device of utilization data
including at least part of provided data, (Abstract: "Methods and systems for altering behavior in a variety of applications include recording information associated with an event related to a particular activity or field"; [0338] "a type of coordination of technology involves a system for rewarding participation in monitoring for criminal, terrorist or other illegal and illicit activity Individuals enrolled in the program may be preferably tracked, such as by GPS units in vehicles or by other tracking devices on persons, and establish time-sensitive connections with wireless communication devices, such as cellular telephones, that can receive messages that may assist in the coordination of the performance of tasks and activities a threat may be detected against a particular building, facility (e.g. dams, bridges, rail-yards, highways) or historic artifact (e.g., the Liberty Bell). An administrator. may direct a message to the communication devices of all of the approved individuals within the system may request the individuals to activate their cameras and engage in any number of activities to collect visual or other data. For example, the individuals may be requested to travel during certain hours in a certain zone near a building, facility or artifact to which an alert pertains, or may be requested to direct vehicles and other craft toward specified locations or directions at specified times Points may also be awarded based on the length of time an individual participates in the program, the frequency with which the person performs the requested tasks and activities, the importance of the tasks and activities, the degree of effectiveness or reliability of individuals, special qualifications or capabilities possessed by individuals who contribute those capabilities and other factors The leveraging of existing fleets of vehicles, such as trucks and taxi fleets and delivery vehicle fleets, may be enrolled as a group in such a program");
in compliance with a usage restriction that is provided by a mobility as a service (MaaS)-related operator the utilization status data including information indicating gain corresponding to a revenue or a profit obtained by the data utilization device by utilizing the utilization data, and the provided data corresponding to movement of a moving object, ([0208] A legal services provider or legal service plan provider may offer a legal services plan designed to protect businesses and generate higher membership levels. Such a service will provide, for consideration set at the beginning of a defined period of providing the service, services as needed within specified parameters. The consideration may be a fixed fee, a periodic fee, or a fee calculated based on agreed factors. The service will customarily be provided for a defined period of time. In one variation, early adopters may be provided benefits in such areas as term, pricing, and other benefits based on later adopters. For example, businesses that enter into contracts for such services within a defined time period after introduction of the service may receive benefits based on later contracts and revenue of the provider. By way of specific example, if a business enters into a contract to receive such services in the first six months of the business, and the business meets revenue projections in the following six months, the business will receive reduced prices, term extensions, and/or other benefits. Other steps taken by companies to secure the personal data of their customers may be a factor and may provide enhanced benefits to companies that comply with identity theft-related standards for protecting personal information of customers, employees, and others);
transmit the utilization status data corresponding to the provided data to a data value
calculation device including processing circuitry that calculates a value associated with an incentive for the MaaS-related operator for providing the provided data based on the utilization status data, (Abstract: "determining a status of the event in connection with a rewards algorithm, calculating reward information in accordance with the rewards algorithm, and storing the calculated reward information"); and
transmit incentive information indicating the calculated value, (Abstract: “determining a status of the event in connection with a rewards algorithm, calculating reward information in accordance with the rewards algorithm, and storing the calculated reward information. A recipient is notified in accordance with a notification algorithm of the calculated reward information. Incentives may be provided for participation in services plans, including professional services plans such as legal plans, adoption and use of types of funds, accounts and funds transfers, use of online services, and numerous other services; ([0011] Incentive rewards may be provided as to transfers of assets of any type, including money, between and among individuals, businesses, and others. Incentives may be provided for a transfer using a particular intermediary. Both the sender and recipient of a transfer may be provided with incentives, such as for the use of particular financial service providers; [0028] a reward may be provided to a shipper or recipient or payer if an item capable of being tracked such as by referencing a bar code, postal code, zip code or other identifier, is randomly selected);
Marshall does not disclose the following limitations, however, Flake disclose:
providing the incentive to a data provision device of the MaaS-related operator, (Flake et al (US 20080103900 A1): [0060] The exchange provides a call back to the winning data broker(s) letting them know what information they provided was deemed valuable, and what amount they will be paid for that information; [0046] When all transactions have occurred in the exchange (see below), a call back is provided to the publisher broker stating whether and how many ads were displayed, what the publisher broker can expect in terms of a payment, and which incremental attributes about the user were filled, for instance, by a data broker (see below). [0016] FIG. 5 illustrates a flowchart of the operation of user or a user data broker to provide potentially valuable information according to embodiments of the present invention);
wherein the incentive is provided to the MaaS-related operator according to the calculated value, (
Claim 1 of Flake et al shows “automatically generating a benefit for each user as a function of the quantifiable value of the information provided by each user”; Claim 6 of Flake et al shows: “sharing revenue to each user as a function of the quantifiable value of the information provided by each user.”).
It would have been obvious to modify Marshall (US 2010/0241501 A1) in view of Flake et al (US 2008/0103900 A1) to calculate and communicate incentives to MaaS operators based on the value of their provided movement data, because US 2008/0103900 A1 teaches rewarding information providers according to the quantified value of their contributions. Applying this known incentive technique to Marshall would predictably encourage MaaS operators to provide useful data, thereby increasing data availability and promoting participation in the data distribution system.
As per claim 2, Marshall discloses:
a data value calculation device, the data value calculation device comprising processing circuitry to
calculate a value associated with an incentive for a mobility as a service (MaaS)-related operator for providing provided data, ([0005] "In a method and system of the invention, an event is recorded. The event is the item to be influenced, and may relate to a wide variety of events. An individual, account, business, or other information may be associated with the event. A status of the event is determined. If the event is to be considered in an awards or incentive algorithm, the status information is provided to the algorithm. Using the algorithm, rewards or incentive information, such as a point value, is determined. This value may then be stored, and added to an account of an individual, group, business, or other organization. The methods and systems of the invention provide incentive programs for the reward of points and other forms of credits to alter or influence, encourage and otherwise affect behaviors of individuals and/or businesses");
based on utilization status data indicating a utilization status in a data utilization device of utilization
data including at least part of the provided data that is provided by the MaaS-related operator and
corresponds to movement of a moving object, ([0338] "Individuals enrolled in the program may be
preferably tracked, such as by GPS units in vehicles or by other tracking devices on persons Points may
also be awarded based on the length of time an individual participates in the program, the frequency
with which the person performs the requested tasks and activities, the importance of the tasks and
activities, the degree of effectiveness or reliability of individuals, special qualifications or capabilities
possessed by individuals who contribute those capabilities and other factors.. The leveraging of existing
fleets of vehicles, such as trucks and taxi fleets and delivery vehicle fleets, may be enrolled as a group in
such a program");
in compliance with a usage restriction that is provided by a mobility as a service (MaaS)-related operator the utilization status data including information indicating gain corresponding to a revenue or a profit obtained by the data utilization device by utilizing the utilization data, and the provided data corresponding to movement of a moving object, ([0208] A legal services provider or legal service plan provider may offer a legal services plan designed to protect businesses and generate higher membership levels. Such a service will provide, for consideration set at the beginning of a defined period of providing the service, services as needed within specified parameters. The consideration may be a fixed fee, a periodic fee, or a fee calculated based on agreed factors. The service will customarily be provided for a defined period of time. In one variation, early adopters may be provided benefits in such areas as term, pricing, and other benefits based on later adopters. For example, businesses that enter into contracts for such services within a defined time period after introduction of the service may receive benefits based on later contracts and revenue of the provider. By way of specific example, if a business enters into a contract to receive such services in the first six months of the business, and the business meets revenue projections in the following six months, the business will receive reduced prices, term extensions, and/or other benefits. Other steps taken by companies to secure the personal data of their customers may be a factor and may provide enhanced benefits to companies that comply with identity theft-related standards for protecting personal information of customers, employees, and others);
to transmit incentive information indicating the calculated value, (Abstract: “determining a status of the event in connection with a rewards algorithm, calculating reward information in accordance with the rewards algorithm, and storing the calculated reward information. A recipient is notified in accordance with a notification algorithm of the calculated reward information. Incentives may be provided for participation in services plans, including professional services plans such as legal plans, adoption and use of types of funds, accounts and funds transfers, use of online services, and numerous other services; ([0011] Incentive rewards may be provided as to transfers of assets of any type, including money, between and among individuals, businesses, and others. Incentives may be provided for a transfer using a particular intermediary. Both the sender and recipient of a transfer may be provided with incentives, such as for the use of particular financial service providers; [0028] a reward may be provided to a shipper or recipient or payer if an item capable of being tracked such as by referencing a bar code, postal code, zip code or other identifier, is randomly selected);
Marshall does not disclose the following limitations, however, Flake disclose:
providing the incentive to a data provision device of the MaaS-related operator, (Flake et al (US 20080103900 A1): [0060] The exchange provides a call back to the winning data broker(s) letting them know what information they provided was deemed valuable, and what amount they will be paid for that information; [0046] When all transactions have occurred in the exchange (see below), a call back is provided to the publisher broker stating whether and how many ads were displayed, what the publisher broker can expect in terms of a payment, and which incremental attributes about the user were filled, for instance, by a data broker (see below). [0016] FIG. 5 illustrates a flowchart of the operation of user or a user data broker to provide potentially valuable information according to embodiments of the present invention);
wherein the incentive is provided to the MaaS-related operator according to the calculated value, (
Claim 1 of Flake et al shows “automatically generating a benefit for each user as a function of the quantifiable value of the information provided by each user”; Claim 6 of Flake et al shows: “sharing revenue to each user as a function of the quantifiable value of the information provided by each user.”).
It would have been obvious to modify Marshall (US 2010/0241501 A1) in view of Flake et al (US 2008/0103900 A1) to calculate and communicate incentives to MaaS operators based on the value of their provided movement data, because US 2008/0103900 A1 teaches rewarding information providers according to the quantified value of their contributions. Applying this known incentive technique to Marshall would predictably encourage MaaS operators to provide useful data, thereby increasing data availability and promoting participation in the data distribution system.
As per claim 3, Marshall discloses:
A data distribution management system comprising a data distribution management device and a data
value calculation device, ([0338], "The coordination of images and data generated from cameras and
devices at remote locations may be preferably transmitted to a central station for prompt viewing by
organizations such as law enforcement... A law enforcement agency, or other entity responsible for
homeland security, bail bondsmen, neighborhood watch groups and other crime prevention
participants, becomes aware of a need to monitor a particular location in a coordinated fashion to avoid
inefficiency by ensuring the coordinated distribution of assets"); ([0005] In a method and system of the
invention, an event is recorded. The event is the item to be influenced, and may relate to a wide variety
of events. An individual, account, business, or other information may be associated with the event. A
status of the event is determined. If the event is to be considered in an awards or incentive algorithm,
the status information is provided to the algorithm. Using the algorithm, rewards or incentive
information, such as a point value, is determined. This value may then be stored, and added to an
account of an individual, group, business, or other organization. The methods and systems of the
invention provide incentive programs for the reward of points and other forms of credits to alter or
influence, encourage and otherwise affect behaviors of individuals and/or businesses));
the data distribution management device comprising processing circuitry to acquire utilization status
data indicating a utilization status in a data utilization device of utilization data including at least part of
provided data that is provided, (Abstract: "Methods and systems for altering behavior in a variety of
applications include recording information associated with an event related to a particular activity or
field"; [0338] "a type of coordination of technology involves a system for rewarding participation in
monitoring for criminal, terrorist or other illegal and illicit activity Individuals enrolled in the program
may be preferably tracked, such as by GPS units in vehicles or by other tracking devices on persons, and
establish time-sensitive connections with wireless communication devices, such as cellular telephones,
that can receive messages that may assist in the coordination of the performance of tasks and
activities. a threat may be detected against a particular building, facility (e.g. dams, bridges, rail-yards,
highways) or historic artifact (e.g., the Liberty Bell). An administrator may direct a message to the
communication devices of all of the approved individuals within the system may request the
individuals to activate their cameras and engage in any number of activities to collect visual or other
data. For example, the individuals may be requested to travel during certain hours in a certain zone near
a building, facility or artifact to which an alert pertains, or may be requested to direct vehicles and other
craft toward specified locations or directions at specified times Points may also be awarded based on
the length of time an individual participates in the program, the frequency with which the person
performs the requested tasks and activities, the importance of the tasks and activities, the degree of
effectiveness or reliability of individuals, special qualifications or capabilities possessed by individuals
who contribute those capabilities and other factors The leveraging of existing fleets of vehicles, such as
trucks and taxi fleets and delivery vehicle fleets, may be enrolled as a group in such a program");
in compliance with a usage restriction that is provided by a mobility as a service (MaaS)-related operator the utilization status data including information indicating gain corresponding to a revenue or a profit obtained by the data utilization device by utilizing the utilization data, and the provided data corresponding to movement of a moving object, ([0208] A legal services provider or legal service plan provider may offer a legal services plan designed to protect businesses and generate higher membership levels. Such a service will provide, for consideration set at the beginning of a defined period of providing the service, services as needed within specified parameters. The consideration may be a fixed fee, a periodic fee, or a fee calculated based on agreed factors. The service will customarily be provided for a defined period of time. In one variation, early adopters may be provided benefits in such areas as term, pricing, and other benefits based on later adopters. For example, businesses that enter into contracts for such services within a defined time period after introduction of the service may receive benefits based on later contracts and revenue of the provider. By way of specific example, if a business enters into a contract to receive such services in the first six months of the business, and the business meets revenue projections in the following six months, the business will receive reduced prices, term extensions, and/or other benefits. Other steps taken by companies to secure the personal data of their customers may be a factor and may provide enhanced benefits to companies that comply with identity theft-related standards for protecting personal information of customers, employees, and others);
the data value calculation device comprising processing circuitry to calculate a value associated with an incentive for the MaaS- related operator for providing the provided data based on the utilization status data, ([0005] "In a method and system of the invention, an event is recorded. The event is the item to be
influenced, and may relate to a wide variety of events. An individual, account, business, or other
information may be associated with the event. A status of the event is determined. If the event is to be
considered in an awards or incentive algorithm, the status information is provided to the algorithm.
Using the algorithm, rewards or incentive information, such as a point value, is determined. This value
may then be stored, and added to an account of an individual, group, business, or other organization.
The methods and systems of the invention provide incentive programs for the reward of points and
other forms of credits to alter or influence, encourage and otherwise affect behaviors of individuals
and/or businesses");
wherein the processing circuitry of the data distribution management device transmits the utilization
status data as data corresponding to the provided data to the data value calculation device.
([0005] "In a method and system of the invention, an event is recorded. The event is the item to be
influenced, and may relate to a wide variety of events. An individual, account, business, or other
information may be associated with the event. A status of the event is determined. If the event is to be
considered in an awards or incentive algorithm, the status information is provided to the algorithm.
Using the algorithm, rewards or incentive information, such as a point value, is determined. This value
may then be stored, and added to an account of an individual, group, business, or other organization").
and transmit incentive information indicating the calculated value, (Abstract: “determining a status of the event in connection with a rewards algorithm, calculating reward information in accordance with the rewards algorithm, and storing the calculated reward information. A recipient is notified in accordance with a notification algorithm of the calculated reward information. Incentives may be provided for participation in services plans, including professional services plans such as legal plans, adoption and use of types of funds, accounts and funds transfers, use of online services, and numerous other services; ([0011] Incentive rewards may be provided as to transfers of assets of any type, including money, between and among individuals, businesses, and others. Incentives may be provided for a transfer using a particular intermediary. Both the sender and recipient of a transfer may be provided with incentives, such as for the use of particular financial service providers; [0028] a reward may be provided to a shipper or recipient or payer if an item capable of being tracked such as by referencing a bar code, postal code, zip code or other identifier, is randomly selected);
Marshall does not disclose the following limitations, however, Flake disclose:
wherein the incentive is provided to the MaaS-related operator according to the calculated value, (
Claim 1 of Flake et al shows “automatically generating a benefit for each user as a function of the quantifiable value of the information provided by each user”; Claim 6 of Flake et al shows: “sharing revenue to each user as a function of the quantifiable value of the information provided by each user.”).
It would have been obvious to modify Marshall (US 2010/0241501 A1) in view of Flake et al (US 2008/0103900 A1) to calculate and communicate incentives to MaaS operators based on the value of their provided movement data, because US 2008/0103900 A1 teaches rewarding information providers according to the quantified value of their contributions. Applying this known incentive technique to Marshall would predictably encourage MaaS operators to provide useful data, thereby increasing data availability and promoting participation in the data distribution system.
As per claim 7, Marshall discloses:
wherein the processing circuitry of the data value calculation device calculates a data usage fee for the
data utilization device for utilizing the utilization data based on the utilization status data.
([0010] "Either the payee may receive some value not otherwise available, or avoid a cost that the
payee may otherwise incur. The value may include any item of value, and the cost may include a cost of
any kind, including those set forth herein. The cost may be the loss of something of value available only
on condition of complying with the conditions").
As per claim 14, Marshall discloses:
wherein the data utilization device generates evaluation data indicating at least one of evaluation of the
utilization data and evaluation of the MaaS-related operator providing the provided data, and wherein
the processing circuitry of the data value calculation device calculates the incentive based on the
utilization status data and the evaluation data, ([0338] "Individuals enrolled in the program may be
preferably tracked, such as by GPS units in vehicles or by other tracking devices on persons Points may
also be awarded based on the length of time an individual participates in the program, the frequency
with which the person performs the requested tasks and activities, the importance of the tasks and
activities, the degree of effectiveness or reliability of individuals, special qualifications or capabilities
possessed by individuals who contribute those capabilities and other factors. The leveraging of existing
fleets of vehicles, such as trucks and taxi fleets and delivery vehicle fleets, may be enrolled as a group in
such a program");
As per claim 15, Marshall discloses:
wherein when there are a plurality of MaaS-related operators, each being the MaaS-related operator,
the processing circuitry of the data distribution management device acquires the provided data from
each MaaS-related operator of the plurality of MaaS-related operators; and transmits, with regard to
each MaaS-related operator of the plurality of MaaS-related operators, evaluation data indicating at
least one of evaluation of utilization data corresponding to each MaaS-related operator and evaluation
of each MaaS-related operator to the data utilization device, receives data indicating a data provision
request generated in the data utilization device based on the transmitted evaluation data, and
([0338] "Individuals enrolled in the program may be preferably tracked, such as by GPS units in vehicles
or by other tracking devices on persons Points may also be awarded based on the length of time an
individual participates in the program, the frequency with which the person performs the requested
tasks and activities, the importance of the tasks and activities, the degree of effectiveness or reliability
of individuals, special qualifications or capabilities possessed by individuals who contribute those
capabilities and other factors The leveraging of existing fleets of vehicles, such as trucks and taxi fleets
and delivery vehicle fleets, may be enrolled as a group in such a program");
transmits utilization data corresponding to the data provision request indicated by the
received data to the data utilization device, ([0338] "a type of coordination of technology involves a
system for rewarding participation in monitoring for criminal, terrorist or other illegal and illicit
activity Individuals enrolled in the program may be preferably tracked, such as by GPS units in vehicles
or by other tracking devices on persons, and establish time-sensitive connections with wireless
communication devices, such as cellular telephones, that can receive messages that may assist in the
coordination of the performance of tasks and activities a threat may be detected against a particular
building, facility (e.g. dams, bridges, rail-yards, highways) or historic artifact (e.g., the Liberty Bell). An
administrator. may direct a message to the communication devices of all of the approved individuals
within the system may request the individuals to activate their cameras and engage in any number of
activities to collect visual or other data. For example, the individuals may be requested to travel during
certain hours in a certain zone near a building, facility or artifact to which an alert pertains, or may be
requested to direct vehicles and other craft toward specified locations or directions at specified
times Points may also be awarded based on the length of time an individual participates in the
program, the frequency with which the person performs the requested tasks and activities, the
importance of the tasks and activities, the degree of effectiveness or reliability of individuals, special
qualifications or capabilities possessed by individuals who contribute those capabilities and other
factors The leveraging of existing fleets of vehicles, such as trucks and taxi fleets and delivery vehicle
fleets, may be enrolled as a group in such a program").
As per claim 16, Marshall discloses:
wherein when there are a plurality of MaaS-related operators, each being the MaaS-related operator,
([0338] "Individuals enrolled in the program may be preferably tracked, such as by GPS units in vehicles
or by other tracking devices on persons");
the utilization data is data generated using the provided data acquired from each MaaS-related operator
of the plurality of MaaS-related operators, and the processing circuitry of the data value calculation
device calculates an incentive for each MaaS-related operator of the plurality of MaaS-related operators
based on the utilization status data and a contribution rate to the utilization data of each MaaS-related
operator of the plurality of MaaS-related operators, ([0338] "Individuals enrolled in the program may be
preferably tracked, such as by GPS units in vehicles or by other tracking devices on persons Points may
also be awarded based on the length of time an individual participates in the program, the frequency
with which the person performs the requested tasks and activities, the importance of the tasks and
activities, the degree of effectiveness or reliability of individuals, special qualifications or capabilities
possessed by individuals who contribute those capabilities and other factors The leveraging of existing
fleets of vehicles, such as trucks and taxi fleets and delivery vehicle fleets, may be enrolled as a group in
such a program");
As per claim 17, Marshall discloses:
wherein the processing circuitry of the data value calculation device determines a contribution rate
corresponding to each MaaS-related operator of the plurality of MaaS-related operators according to a
utilization purpose of the utilization data in the data utilization device, (([0338] "Individuals enrolled in
the program may be preferably tracked, such as by GPS units in vehicles or by other tracking devices on
persons Points may also be awarded based on the length of time an individual participates in the
program, the frequency with which the person performs the requested tasks and activities, the
importance of the tasks and activities, the degree of effectiveness or reliability of individuals, special
qualifications or capabilities possessed by individuals who contribute those capabilities and other
factors The leveraging of existing fleets of vehicles, such as trucks and taxi fleets and delivery vehicle
fleets, may be enrolled as a group in such a program").
As per claim 18, Marshall discloses:
wherein a lower limit of an incentive corresponding to the utilization data is set for the utilization data,
and wherein the processing circuitry of the data distribution management device transmits the
utilization data to the data utilization device when a user of the data utilization device accepts the lower
limit of the incentive corresponding to the utilization data, ([0355] "Points may be awarded to the lower
level employees depending on the accuracy and quality of the suggestion or information and/or a
change in the status quo leading up to the reporting incident").
As per claim 19, Marshall discloses:
acquiring utilization status data indicating a utilization status in a data utilization device of utilization
data including at least part of provided data, ([0338] "a type of
coordination of technology involves a system for rewarding participation in monitoring for criminal,
terrorist or other illegal and illicit activity. Individuals enrolled in the program may be preferably
tracked, such as by GPS units in vehicles or by other tracking devices on persons, and establish time-
sensitive connections with wireless communication devices, such as cellular telephones, that can receive
messages that may assist in the coordination of the performance of tasks and activities a threat may be
detected against a particular building, facility (e.g. dams, bridges, rail-yards, highways) or historic artifact
(e.g., the Liberty Bell). An administrator may direct a message to the communication devices of all of
the approved individuals within the system may request the individuals to activate their cameras and
engage in any number of activities to collect visual or other data. For example, the individuals may be
requested to travel during certain hours in a certain zone near a building, facility or artifact to which an
alert pertains, or may be requested to direct vehicles and other craft toward specified locations or
directions at specified times Points may also be awarded based on the length of time an individual
participates in the program, the frequency with which the person performs the requested tasks and
activities, the importance of the tasks and activities, the degree of effectiveness or reliability of
individuals, special qualifications or capabilities possessed by individuals who contribute those
capabilities and other factors The leveraging of existing fleets of vehicles, such as trucks and taxi fleets
and delivery vehicle fleets, may be enrolled as a group in such a program");
in compliance with a usage restriction that is provided by a mobility as a service (MaaS)-related operator the utilization status data including information indicating gain corresponding to a revenue or a profit obtained by the data utilization device by utilizing the utilization data, and the provided data corresponding to movement of a moving object, ([0208] A legal services provider or legal service plan provider may offer a legal services plan designed to protect businesses and generate higher membership levels. Such a service will provide, for consideration set at the beginning of a defined period of providing the service, services as needed within specified parameters. The consideration may be a fixed fee, a periodic fee, or a fee calculated based on agreed factors. The service will customarily be provided for a defined period of time. In one variation, early adopters may be provided benefits in such areas as term, pricing, and other benefits based on later adopters. For example, businesses that enter into contracts for such services within a defined time period after introduction of the service may receive benefits based on later contracts and revenue of the provider. By way of specific example, if a business enters into a contract to receive such services in the first six months of the business, and the business meets revenue projections in the following six months, the business will receive reduced prices, term extensions, and/or other benefits. Other steps taken by companies to secure the personal data of their customers may be a factor and may provide enhanced benefits to companies that comply with identity theft-related standards for protecting personal information of customers, employees, and others);
transmitting the utilization status data as data corresponding to the provided data to a data value
calculation device including processing circuitry that calculates an incentive for the MaaS-related
operator for providing the provided data based on the utilization status data, by the computer, ([0005]
"In a method and system of the invention, an event is recorded. The event is the item to be influenced,
and may relate to a wide variety of events. An individual, account, business, or other information may
be associated with the event. A status of the event is determined. If the event is to be considered in an
awards or incentive algorithm, the status information is provided to the algorithm. Using the algorithm,
rewards or incentive information, such as a point value, is determined. This value may then be stored,
and added to an account of an individual, group, business, or other organization. The methods and
systems of the invention provide incentive programs for the reward of points and other forms of credits
to alter or influence, encourage and otherwise affect behaviors of individuals and/or businesses").
Marshall does not disclose the following limitations, however, Flake disclose:
providing the incentive to a data provision device of the MaaS-related operator, (Flake et al (US 20080103900 A1): [0060] The exchange provides a call back to the winning data broker(s) letting them know what information they provided was deemed valuable, and what amount they will be paid for that information; [0046] When all transactions have occurred in the exchange (see below), a call back is provided to the publisher broker stating whether and how many ads were displayed, what the publisher broker can expect in terms of a payment, and which incremental attributes about the user were filled, for instance, by a data broker (see below). [0016] FIG. 5 illustrates a flowchart of the operation of user or a user data broker to provide potentially valuable information according to embodiments of the present invention);
wherein the incentive is provided to the MaaS-related operator according to the calculated value, (
Claim 1 of Flake et al shows “automatically generating a benefit for each user as a function of the quantifiable value of the information provided by each user”; Claim 6 of Flake et al shows: “sharing revenue to each user as a function of the quantifiable value of the information provided by each user.”).
It would have been obvious to modify Marshall (US 2010/0241501 A1) in view of Flake et al (US 2008/0103900 A1) to calculate and communicate incentives to MaaS operators based on the value of their provided movement data, because US 2008/0103900 A1 teaches rewarding information providers according to the quantified value of their contributions. Applying this known incentive technique to Marshall would predictably encourage MaaS operators to provide useful data, thereby increasing data availability and promoting participation in the data distribution system.
As per claim 20, Marshall discloses:
calculating a value associated with an incentive for a mobility as a service (MaaS)-related operator for providing provided data, ([0338] "a type of coordination of technology involves a system for rewarding participation in monitoring for criminal, terrorist or other illegal and illicit activity Individuals enrolled in the program may be preferably tracked, such as by GPS units in vehicles or by other tracking devices on persons, and establish time-sensitive connections with wireless communication devices, such as cellular telephones, that can receive messages that may assist in the coordination of the performance of tasks and activities a threat may be detected against a particular building, facility (e.g. dams, bridges, rail-yards, highways) or historic artifact (e.g., the Liberty Bell). An administrator may direct a message to the communication devices of all of the approved individuals within the system may request the individuals to activate their cameras and engage in any number of activities to collect visual or other data. For example, the individuals may be requested to travel during certain hours in a certain zone near a building, facility or artifact to which an alert pertains, or may be requested to direct vehicles and other craft toward specified locations or directions at specified times Points may also be awarded based on the length of time an individual participates in the program, the frequency with which the person performs the requested tasks and activities, the importance of the tasks and activities, the degree of effectiveness or reliability of individuals, special qualifications or capabilities possessed by individuals who contribute those capabilities and other factors The leveraging of existing fleets of vehicles, such as trucks and taxi fleets and delivery vehicle fleets, may be enrolled as a group in such a program");
in compliance with a usage restriction that is provided by a mobility as a service (MaaS)-related operator the utilization status data including information indicating gain corresponding to a revenue or a profit obtained by the data utilization device by utilizing the utilization data, and the provided data corresponding to movement of a moving object, ([0208] A legal services provider or legal service plan provider may offer a legal services plan designed to protect businesses and generate higher membership levels. Such a service will provide, for consideration set at the beginning of a defined period of providing the service, services as needed within specified parameters. The consideration may be a fixed fee, a periodic fee, or a fee calculated based on agreed factors. The service will customarily be provided for a defined period of time. In one variation, early adopters may be provided benefits in such areas as term, pricing, and other benefits based on later adopters. For example, businesses that enter into contracts for such services within a defined time period after introduction of the service may receive benefits based on later contracts and revenue of the provider. By way of specific example, if a business enters into a contract to receive such services in the first six months of the business, and the business meets revenue projections in the following six months, the business will receive reduced prices, term extensions, and/or other benefits. Other steps taken by companies to secure the personal data of their customers may be a factor and may provide enhanced benefits to companies that comply with identity theft-related standards for protecting personal information of customers, employees, and others);
Marshall does not disclose the following limitations, however, Flake disclose:
providing the incentive to a data provision device of the MaaS-related operator, (Flake et al (US 20080103900 A1): [0060] The exchange provides a call back to the winning data broker(s) letting them know what information they provided was deemed valuable, and what amount they will be paid for that information; [0046] When all transactions have occurred in the exchange (see below), a call back is provided to the publisher broker stating whether and how many ads were displayed, what the publisher broker can expect in terms of a payment, and which incremental attributes about the user were filled, for instance, by a data broker (see below). [0016] FIG. 5 illustrates a flowchart of the operation of user or a user data broker to provide potentially valuable information according to embodiments of the present invention);
wherein the incentive is provided to the MaaS-related operator according to the calculated value, (
Claim 1 of Flake et al shows “automatically generating a benefit for each user as a function of the quantifiable value of the information provided by each user”; Claim 6 of Flake et al shows: “sharing revenue to each user as a function of the quantifiable value of the information provided by each user.”).
It would have been obvious to modify Marshall (US 2010/0241501 A1) in view of Flake et al (US 2008/0103900 A1) to calculate and communicate incentives to MaaS operators based on the value of their provided movement data, because US 2008/0103900 A1 teaches rewarding information providers according to the quantified value of their contributions. Applying this known incentive technique to Marshall would predictably encourage MaaS operators to provide useful data, thereby increasing data availability and promoting participation in the data distribution system.
As per claim 21, Marshall discloses:
acquiring utilization status data indicating a utilization status in a data utilization
device of utilization data including at least part of provided data, (Abstract: "Methods and systems for altering behavior in a variety of applications include recording information associated with an event related to a particular activity or field"; [0338] "a type of coordination of technology involves a system for rewarding participation in monitoring for criminal, terrorist or other illegal and illicit activity Individuals enrolled in the program may be preferably tracked, such as by GPS units in vehicles or by other tracking devices on persons, and establish time-sensitive connections with wireless communication devices, such as cellular telephones, that can receive messages that may assist in the coordination of the performance of tasks and activities, a threat may be detected against a particular building, facility (e.g. dams, bridges, rail-yards, highways) or historic artifact (e.g., the Liberty Bell). An administrator may direct a message to the communication devices of all of the approved individuals within the system may request the individuals to activate their cameras and engage in any number of activities to collect visual or other data. For example, the individuals may be requested to travel during certain hours in a certain zone near a building, facility or artifact to which an alert pertains, or may be requested to direct vehicles and other craft toward specified locations or directions at specified times Points may also be awarded based on the length of time an individual participates in the program, the frequency with which the person performs the requested tasks and activities, the importance of the tasks and activities, the degree of effectiveness or reliability of individuals, special qualifications or capabilities possessed by individuals who contribute those capabilities and other factors.. The leveraging of existing fleets of vehicles, such as trucks and taxi fleets and delivery vehicle fleets, may be enrolled as a group in such a program");
in compliance with a usage restriction that is provided by a mobility as a service (MaaS)-related operator the utilization status data including information indicating gain corresponding to a revenue or a profit obtained by the data utilization device by utilizing the utilization data, and the provided data corresponding to movement of a moving object, ([0208] A legal services provider or legal service plan provider may offer a legal services plan designed to protect businesses and generate higher membership levels. Such a service will provide, for consideration set at the beginning of a defined period of providing the service, services as needed within specified parameters. The consideration may be a fixed fee, a periodic fee, or a fee calculated based on agreed factors. The service will customarily be provided for a defined period of time. In one variation, early adopters may be provided benefits in such areas as term, pricing, and other benefits based on later adopters. For example, businesses that enter into contracts for such services within a defined time period after introduction of the service may receive benefits based on later contracts and revenue of the provider. By way of specific example, if a business enters into a contract to receive such services in the first six months of the business, and the business meets revenue projections in the following six months, the business will receive reduced prices, term extensions, and/or other benefits. Other steps taken by companies to secure the personal data of their customers may be a factor and may provide enhanced benefits to companies that comply with identity theft-related standards for protecting personal information of customers, employees, and others);
calculating an incentive for the MaaS-related operator for providing the provided data based on the
utilization status data, by a second computer, ([0383] "Points may also be awarded based on the length
of time an individual participates in the program, the frequency with which the person performs the
requested tasks and activities, the importance of the tasks and activities, the degree of effectiveness or
reliability of individuals, special qualifications or capabilities possessed by individuals who contribute
those capabilities and other factors... The leveraging of existing fleets of vehicles, such as trucks and taxi
fleets and delivery vehicle fleets, may be enrolled as a group in such a program"); and
transmitting the utilization status data as data corresponding to the provided data to the second
computer, by the first computer, ([0005] "In a method and system of the invention, an event is
recorded. The event is the item to be influenced, and may relate to a wide variety of events. An
individual, account, business, or other information may be associated with the event. A status of the
event is determined. If the event is to be considered in an awards or incentive algorithm, the status
information is provided to the algorithm. Using the algorithm, rewards or incentive information, such as
a point value, is determined. This value may then be stored, and added to an account of an individual,
group, business, or other organization").
Marshall does not disclose the following limitations, however, Flake disclose:
wherein the incentive is provided to the MaaS-related operator according to the calculated value, (
Claim 1 of Flake et al shows “automatically generating a benefit for each user as a function of the quantifiable value of the information provided by each user”; Claim 6 of Flake et al shows: “sharing revenue to each user as a function of the quantifiable value of the information provided by each user.”).
It would have been obvious to modify Marshall (US 2010/0241501 A1) in view of Flake et al (US 2008/0103900 A1) to calculate and communicate incentives to MaaS operators based on the value of their provided movement data, because US 2008/0103900 A1 teaches rewarding information providers according to the quantified value of their contributions. Applying this known incentive technique to Marshall would predictably encourage MaaS operators to provide useful data, thereby increasing data availability and promoting participation in the data distribution system.
As per claim 22, Marshall discloses:
a utilization status data acquisition process of acquiring utilization status data indicating a utilization
status in a data utilization device of utilization data including at least part of provided data, (Abstract: "Methods and systems for altering behavior in a variety of applications include
recording information associated with an event related to a particular activity or field"; [0338] "a type of
coordination of technology involves a system for rewarding participation in monitoring for criminal,
terrorist or other illegal and illicit activity Individuals enrolled in the program may be preferably
tracked, such as by GPS units in vehicles or by other tracking devices on persons, and establish time-
sensitive connections with wireless communication devices, such as cellular telephones, that can receive
messages that may assist in the coordination of the performance of tasks and activities a threat may be
detected against a particular building, facility (e.g. dams, bridges, rail-yards, highways) or historic artifact
(e.g., the Liberty Bell). An administrator may direct a message to the communication devices of all of
the approved individuals within the system may request the individuals to activate their cameras and
engage in any number of activities to collect visual or other data. For example, the individuals may be
requested to travel during certain hours in a certain zone near a building, facility or artifact to which an
alert pertains, or may be requested to direct vehicles and other craft toward specified locations or
directions at specified times Points may also be awarded based on the length of time an individual
participates in the program, the frequency with which the person performs the requested tasks and
activities, the importance of the tasks and activities, the degree of effectiveness or reliability of
individuals, special qualifications or capabilities possessed by individuals who contribute those
capabilities and other factors The leveraging of existing fleets of vehicles, such as trucks and taxi fleets
and delivery vehicle fleets, may be enrolled as a group in such a program");
in compliance with a usage restriction that is provided by a mobility as a service (MaaS)-related operator the utilization status data including information indicating gain corresponding to a revenue or a profit obtained by the data utilization device by utilizing the utilization data, and the provided data corresponding to movement of a moving object, ([0208] A legal services provider or legal service plan provider may offer a legal services plan designed to protect businesses and generate higher membership levels. Such a service will provide, for consideration set at the beginning of a defined period of providing the service, services as needed within specified parameters. The consideration may be a fixed fee, a periodic fee, or a fee calculated based on agreed factors. The service will customarily be provided for a defined period of time. In one variation, early adopters may be provided benefits in such areas as term, pricing, and other benefits based on later adopters. For example, businesses that enter into contracts for such services within a defined time period after introduction of the service may receive benefits based on later contracts and revenue of the provider. By way of specific example, if a business enters into a contract to receive such services in the first six months of the business, and the business meets revenue projections in the following six months, the business will receive reduced prices, term extensions, and/or other benefits. Other steps taken by companies to secure the personal data of their customers may be a factor and may provide enhanced benefits to companies that comply with identity theft-related standards for protecting personal information of customers, employees, and others);
a utilization status data transmission process of transmitting the utilization status data as data
corresponding to the provided data to a data value calculation device that executes an incentive
calculation process of calculating an incentive for the MaaS-related operator for providing the provided
data based on the utilization status data, ([0005] "In a method and system of the invention, an event is
recorded. The event is the item to be influenced, and may relate to a wide variety of events. An
individual, account, business, or other information may be associated with the event. A status of the
event is determined. If the event is to be considered in an awards or incentive algorithm, the status
information is provided to the algorithm. Using the algorithm, rewards or incentive information, such as
a point value, is determined. This value may then be stored, and added to an account of an individual,
group, business, or other organization");
Marshall does not disclose the following limitations, however, Flake disclose:
an incentive information transmission process of transmitting incentive information indicating the calculated value to a data provision device of the MaaS-related operator, wherein the incentive is provided to the MaaS-related operator according to the calculated value, ( [0060] The exchange provides a call back to the winning data broker(s) letting them know what information they provided was deemed valuable, and what amount they will be paid for that information; [0046] When all transactions have occurred in the exchange (see below), a call back is provided to the publisher broker stating whether and how many ads were displayed, what the publisher broker can expect in terms of a payment, and which incremental attributes about the user were filled, for instance, by a data broker (see below). [0016] FIG. 5 illustrates a flowchart of the operation of user or a user data broker to provide potentially valuable information according to embodiments of the present invention;
Claim 1 of Flake et al shows “automatically generating a benefit for each user as a function of the quantifiable value of the information provided by each user”; Claim 6 of Flake et al shows: “sharing revenue to each user as a function of the quantifiable value of the information provided by each user.”).
It would have been obvious to modify Marshall (US 2010/0241501 A1) in view of Flake et al (US 2008/0103900 A1) to calculate and communicate incentives to MaaS operators based on the value of their provided movement data, because US 2008/0103900 A1 teaches rewarding information providers according to the quantified value of their contributions. Applying this known incentive technique to Marshall would predictably encourage MaaS operators to provide useful data, thereby increasing data availability and promoting participation in the data distribution system.
As per claim 23, Marshall discloses:
execute an incentive calculation process of calculating a value associated with an incentive for a mobility as a service (MaaS)-related operator for providing provided data, based on utilization status data indicating a utilization status in a data utilization device of utilization data including at least part of the provided data that is provided by the MaaS-related operator and corresponds to movement of a moving object, (Abstract:"Methods and systems for altering behavior in a variety of applications include recording information associated with an event related to a particular activity or field"; [0338] "a type of coordination of technology involves a system for rewarding participation in monitoring for criminal, terrorist or other illegal and illicit activity Individuals enrolled in the program may be preferably tracked, such as by GPS units in vehicles or by other tracking devices on persons, and establish time-sensitive connections with wireless communication devices, such as cellular telephones, that can receive messages that may assist in the coordination of the performance of tasks and activities a threat may be detected against a particular building, facility (e.g. dams, bridges, rail-yards, highways) or historic artifact (e.g., the Liberty Bell). An administrator may direct a message to the communication devices of all of the approved individuals within the system may request the individuals to activate their cameras and engage in any number of activities to collect visual or other data. For example, the individuals may be requested to travel during certain hours in a certain zone near a building, facility or artifact to which an alert pertains or may be requested to direct vehicles and other craft toward specified locations or directions at specified times Points may also be awarded based on the length of time an individual participates in the program, the frequency with which the person performs the requested tasks and activities, the importance of the tasks and activities, the degree of effectiveness or reliability of individuals, special qualifications or capabilities possessed by individuals who contribute those capabilities and other factors The leveraging of existing fleets of vehicles, such as trucks and taxi fleets and delivery vehicle fleets, may be enrolled as a group in such a program");
in compliance with a usage restriction that is provided by a mobility as a service (MaaS)-related operator the utilization status data including information indicating gain corresponding to a revenue or a profit obtained by the data utilization device by utilizing the utilization data, and the provided data corresponding to movement of a moving object, ([0208] A legal services provider or legal service plan provider may offer a legal services plan designed to protect businesses and generate higher membership levels. Such a service will provide, for consideration set at the beginning of a defined period of providing the service, services as needed within specified parameters. The consideration may be a fixed fee, a periodic fee, or a fee calculated based on agreed factors. The service will customarily be provided for a defined period of time. In one variation, early adopters may be provided benefits in such areas as term, pricing, and other benefits based on later adopters. For example, businesses that enter into contracts for such services within a defined time period after introduction of the service may receive benefits based on later contracts and revenue of the provider. By way of specific example, if a business enters into a contract to receive such services in the first six months of the business, and the business meets revenue projections in the following six months, the business will receive reduced prices, term extensions, and/or other benefits. Other steps taken by companies to secure the personal data of their customers may be a factor and may provide enhanced benefits to companies that comply with identity theft-related standards for protecting personal information of customers, employees, and others);
Marshall does not disclose the following limitations, however, Flake disclose:
an incentive information transmission process of transmitting incentive information indicating the calculated value to a data provision device of the MaaS-related operator, wherein the incentive is provided to the MaaS-related operator according to the calculated value, ( [0060] The exchange provides a call back to the winning data broker(s) letting them know what information they provided was deemed valuable, and what amount they will be paid for that information; [0046] When all transactions have occurred in the exchange (see below), a call back is provided to the publisher broker stating whether and how many ads were displayed, what the publisher broker can expect in terms of a payment, and which incremental attributes about the user were filled, for instance, by a data broker (see below). [0016] FIG. 5 illustrates a flowchart of the operation of user or a user data broker to provide potentially valuable information according to embodiments of the present invention;
Claim 1 of Flake et al shows “automatically generating a benefit for each user as a function of the quantifiable value of the information provided by each user”; Claim 6 of Flake et al shows: “sharing revenue to each user as a function of the quantifiable value of the information provided by each user.”).
It would have been obvious to modify Marshall (US 2010/0241501 A1) in view of Flake et al (US 2008/0103900 A1) to calculate and communicate incentives to MaaS operators based on the value of their provided movement data, because US 2008/0103900 A1 teaches rewarding information providers according to the quantified value of their contributions. Applying this known incentive technique to Marshall would predictably encourage MaaS operators to provide useful data, thereby increasing data availability and promoting participation in the data distribution system.
As per claim 24, Marshall discloses:
Execute a utilization status data acquisition process of acquiring utilization status data indicating a
utilization status in a data utilization device of utilization data including at least part of provided data, (Abstract: "Methods and systems for altering behavior in a variety of applications include
recording information associated with an event related to a particular activity or field"; [0338] "a type of
coordination of technology involves a system for rewarding participation in monitoring for criminal,
terrorist or other illegal and illicit activity Individuals enrolled in the program may be preferably
tracked, such as by GPS units in vehicles or by other tracking devices on persons, and establish time-
sensitive connections with wireless communication devices, such as cellular telephones, that can receive
messages that may assist in the coordination of the performance of tasks and activities a threat may be
detected against a particular building, facility (e.g. dams, bridges, rail-yards, highways) or historic artifact
(e.g., the Liberty Bell). An administrator. may direct a message to the communication devices of all of
the approved individuals within the system may request the individuals to activate their cameras and
engage in any number of activities to collect visual or other data. For example, the individuals may be
requested to travel during certain hours in a certain zone near a building, facility or artifact to which an
alert pertains, or may be requested to direct vehicles and other craft toward specified locations or
directions at specified times Points may also be awarded based on the length of time an individual
participates in the program, the frequency with which the person performs the requested tasks and
activities, the importance of the tasks and activities, the degree of effectiveness or reliability of
individuals, special qualifications or capabilities possessed by individuals who contribute those
capabilities and other factors The leveraging of existing fleets of vehicles, such as trucks and taxi fleets
and delivery vehicle fleets, may be enrolled as a group in such a program");
in compliance with a usage restriction that is provided by a mobility as a service (MaaS)-related operator the utilization status data including information indicating gain corresponding to a revenue or a profit obtained by the data utilization device by utilizing the utilization data, and the provided data corresponding to movement of a moving object, ([0208] A legal services provider or legal service plan provider may offer a legal services plan designed to protect businesses and generate higher membership levels. Such a service will provide, for consideration set at the beginning of a defined period of providing the service, services as needed within specified parameters. The consideration may be a fixed fee, a periodic fee, or a fee calculated based on agreed factors. The service will customarily be provided for a defined period of time. In one variation, early adopters may be provided benefits in such areas as term, pricing, and other benefits based on later adopters. For example, businesses that enter into contracts for such services within a defined time period after introduction of the service may receive benefits based on later contracts and revenue of the provider. By way of specific example, if a business enters into a contract to receive such services in the first six months of the business, and the business meets revenue projections in the following six months, the business will receive reduced prices, term extensions, and/or other benefits. Other steps taken by companies to secure the personal data of their customers may be a factor and may provide enhanced benefits to companies that comply with identity theft-related standards for protecting personal information of customers, employees, and others);
causes a data value calculation device, which is a computer, to execute an incentive calculation process
of calculating an incentive for the MaaS-related operator for providing the provided data based on the
utilization status data, ([0383] "Points may also be awarded based on the length of time an individual
participates in the program, the frequency with which the person performs the requested tasks and
activities, the importance of the tasks and activities, the degree of effectiveness or reliability of
individuals, special qualifications or capabilities possessed by individuals who contribute those
capabilities and other factors. The leveraging of existing fleets of vehicles, such as trucks and taxi fleets
and delivery vehicle fleets, may be enrolled as a group in such a program");
wherein the data distribution management program further causes the data distribution management
device to execute a utilization status data transmission process of transmitting the utilization status
data as data corresponding to the provided data to the data value calculation device, ([0005] "In a
method and system of the invention, an event is recorded. The event is the item to be influenced, and
may relate to a wide variety of events. An individual, account, business, or other information may be
associated with the event. A status of the event is determined. If the event is to be considered in an
awards or incentive algorithm, the status information is provided to the algorithm. Using the algorithm,
rewards or incentive information, such as a point value, is determined. This value may then be stored,
and added to an account of an individual, group, business, or other organization");
Marshall does not disclose the following limitations, however, Flake disclose:
Wherein the incentive is provided to the MaaS-related operator according to the calculated value, ( [0060] The exchange provides a call back to the winning data broker(s) letting them know what information they provided was deemed valuable, and what amount they will be paid for that information; [0046] When all transactions have occurred in the exchange (see below), a call back is provided to the publisher broker stating whether and how many ads were displayed, what the publisher broker can expect in terms of a payment, and which incremental attributes about the user were filled, for instance, by a data broker (see below). [0016] FIG. 5 illustrates a flowchart of the operation of user or a user data broker to provide potentially valuable information according to embodiments of the present invention;
Claim 1 of Flake et al shows “automatically generating a benefit for each user as a function of the quantifiable value of the information provided by each user”; Claim 6 of Flake et al shows: “sharing revenue to each user as a function of the quantifiable value of the information provided by each user.”).
It would have been obvious to modify Marshall (US 2010/0241501 A1) in view of Flake et al (US 2008/0103900 A1) to calculate and communicate incentives to MaaS operators based on the value of their provided movement data, because US 2008/0103900 A1 teaches rewarding information providers according to the quantified value of their contributions. Applying this known incentive technique to Marshall would predictably encourage MaaS operators to provide useful data, thereby increasing data availability and promoting participation in the data distribution system.
Claim(s) 5, 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marshall (US
20100241501 A1), and further in view of Flake et al (US 2008/0103900 A1), and further in view of Kondo (US 20130268148 A1).
As per claim 5, Marshall does not disclose:
wherein the provided data is associated with data indicating freshness of the provided data, and
wherein the processing circuitry of the data value calculation device calculates the incentive according
to the freshness of the provided data.
However, Kondo (US 20130268148 A1) discloses: ([0031] "Furthermore, when the train is in a stopping
state at a station, the on-board device 3 monitors fluctuations in the congestion rate (the boarding rate)
of each vehicle, calculates an alighting rate based on the lowest value of the congestion rate (the lowest
congestion rate during stop at the station), and transmits the alighting rate to the main server 1.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to
include the fluctuation in car congestion/utilization rate of Kondo in the incentive/reward system of
Marshall to incentivize a rail operator to provide more useful congestion information.
As per claim 8, Marshall does not disclose the following limitations, however, Kondo discloses:
wherein the MaaS-related operator is a railway operator, ([0007] "in a vehicle having a high congestion
degree, a wear amount of wheels increases, and also in this case, the frequency of the maintenance
work increases. Further, when a part of vehicles is congested, a required time until all passengers board
the vehicles increases, and a delay of the train may occur. Therefore, it is considered that it is desirable
for users and railway operators that the congestion degrees of respective vehicles of a train are
equalized");
wherein the provided data includes data indicating movement using a railway by the moving object,
(Kondo, ([0031] "After the train starts traveling (after having departed a station), the on-board device 3
installed in the train calculates a boarding rate (a congestion rate) of each vehicle at a predetermined
timing").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to
include data indicating movement by a railway operator, using a railway by the moving object car
including congestion/utilization rate of Kondo in the incentive/reward system of Marshall to incentivize
a rail operator to provide more useful congestion information.
As per claim 9, Marshall does not disclose:
wherein the provided data includes congestion information that is information about congestion in a
railway facility.
However, Kondo (US 20130268148 A1) discloses: ([0031] After the train starts traveling (after having
departed a station), the on-board device 3 installed in the train calculates a boarding rate (a congestion
rate) of each vehicle at a predetermined timing),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to
include data including congestion/utilization rate of Kondo in the incentive/reward system of Marshall
to incentivize a rail operator to provide more useful congestion information.
As per claim 10, Marshall does not disclose:
wherein the processing circuitry of the data value calculation device calculates the incentive based on
the utilization status data and information about whether the congestion information is information
indicating congestion for each train car.
However, Kondo (US 20130268148 A1) discloses: ([0031] "After the train starts traveling (after having
departed a station), the on-board device 3 installed in the train calculates a boarding rate (a congestion
rate) of each vehicle at a predetermined timing, and transmits the boarding rate to the main server 1 by
wireless communication... Furthermore, when the train is in a stopping state at a station, the on-board
device 3 monitors fluctuations in the congestion rate (the boarding rate) of each vehicle, calculates an
alighting rate based on the lowest value of the congestion rate (the lowest congestion rate during stop
at the station), and transmits the alighting rate to the main server 1. The alighting rate is information
indicating a difference between the boarding rate during travel and the boarding rate at a time when
the train has arrived at a station and alighting of users is complete. Specifically, the alighting rate is
information indicating how much the boarding rate at the time of arrival at a station has changed when
alighting of users is complete at the station. As the alighting rate increases, the boarding rate largely
decreases due to alighting of users at the station; [0033] When the main server 1 acquires the alighting
rate, the database 4 is updated based on the acquired alighting rate. Specifically, upon acquisition of the
alighting rate, the main server 1 collects various pieces of information to be registered in the records of
the database 4 together with the acquired alighting rate, that is, the information of time at a time when
having acquired the alighting rate (date, time, and weekday/holiday), the information of place (station,
platform, and vehicle), the information of train (train type and destination), and other pieces of
information (weather, temperature, and special day), and registers the information in the database 4
together with the alighting rate").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to
include the car congestion/utilization rate of Kondo in the incentive/reward system of Marshall to
incentivize a rail operator to provide more useful congestion information.
As per claim 11, Marshall does not disclose:
wherein the processing circuitry of the data value calculation device calculates the incentive based on
the utilization status data and information indicating freshness of the congestion information.
However, Kondo discloses: ([0031] "Furthermore, when the train is in a stopping state at a station, the
on-board device 3 monitors fluctuations in the congestion rate (the boarding rate) of each vehicle,
calculates an alighting rate based on the lowest value of the congestion rate (the lowest congestion rate
during stop at the station), and transmits the alighting rate to the main server 1").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to
include data including utilization rate of Kondo in the incentive/reward system of Marshall to incentivize
a rail operator to provide more useful congestion information.
As per claim 12, Marshall does not disclose:
wherein the MaaS-related operator is a railway operator, and wherein the provided data includes
information about operation management of a railway facility.
However, Kondo discloses: ([0007] "in a vehicle having a high congestion degree, a wear amount of
wheels increases, and also in this case, the frequency of the maintenance work increases. Further, when
a part of vehicles is congested, a required time until all passengers board the vehicles increases, and a
delay of the train may occur. Therefore, it is considered that it is desirable for users and railway
operators that the congestion degrees of respective vehicles of a train are equalized; [0031] "After the
train starts traveling (after having departed a station), the on-board device 3 installed in the train
calculates a boarding rate (a congestion rate) of each vehicle at a predetermined timing").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to
include operation management data including congestion/utilization rate of Kondo in the
incentive/reward system of Marshall to incentivize a rail operator to provide more useful congestion
information.
As per claim 13, Marshall does not disclose the following limitations, however, Kondo discloses:
wherein the MaaS-related operator is a railway operator, (Kondo [0007], "in a vehicle having a high
congestion degree, a wear amount of wheels increases, and also in this case, the frequency of the
maintenance work increases. Further, when a part of vehicles is congested, a required time until all
passengers board the vehicles increases, and a delay of the train may occur. Therefore, it is considered
that it is desirable for users and railway operators that the congestion degrees of respective vehicles of a
train are equalized);
wherein the provided data includes data acquired by a sensor provided in a railway facility, (Kondo
[0003], "estimating a congestion degree for each vehicle of a train by using an optical sensor installed
besides the rails and displaying guidance of boarding positions with respect to users waiting for the train
at the next arrival station".).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to
include data including congestion/utilization rate of Kondo in the incentive/reward system of Marshall
to incentivize a rail operator to provide more useful congestion information.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see arguments/remarks, filed 8/6/26, with respect to the 35 USC 112 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 112 rejection of claims 1-3, 19-24 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 8/6/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant amends claims to include “the utilization status data including information indicating gain corresponding to a revenue or a profit obtained by the data utilization device by utilizing the utilization data”; “calculates a value associated with and incentive”; and “transmit incentive information indicating the calculated value to a data provision device of the MaaS-related operator, wherein the incentive is provided to the MaaS-related operator according to the calculated value", to overcome the 101 rejection. However, the present claims still do not overcome the 35 USC 101 rejection. These limitations concern collecting and processing financial information, calculating an incentive, and communicating the result. The additional limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or recite significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Accordingly, the amendments do not overcome the § 101 rejection.
Applicant’s arguments, see arguments/remarks, filed 8/6/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 7-24 under Marshall (US 20100241501 A1), have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made further in view of Flake et al (US 2008/0103900 A1).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor, Nathan Uber can be reached on 571-270-3923. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is (703) 305-3900.
October 12, 2026
/AKIBA K ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3626