DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the species restriction in the reply filed on 9/9/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “It is Applicant's position that the identified species are not independent or distinct inventions as alleged by the Examiner in the Restriction Requirement. The identified groups of figures are directed to closely related embodiments that share common features. Moreover, Applicant respectfully asserts there is no search and/or examination burden for the identified species as alleged by the Examiner in the Restriction Requirement because the identified species are merely variations of one another and/or share common features.” This is not found persuasive because a person having ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize that the complexity of these variable drive systems and integration with overall engine structure means that the different means for performing similar functions cannot simply be interchanged between the engines. Doing so requires a completely different structural design, which is illustrated by the fact that the prior art does not disclose these varying embodiments in individual references, and each embodiment would necessitate a different base reference.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zheng (CN103850809A).
Regarding claim 1, Zheng teaches a rotation coupler for an internal combustion engine (Figures 18-21, and preceding Figures illustrating engine), the rotation coupler comprising: a ring gear (32) configured to rotate about a first axis (its central axis); an input pinion gear (31 of 20) configured to transfer rotation of a crankshaft of the internal combustion engine to the ring gear to cause the ring gear to rotate about the first axis, wherein the input pinion gear is eccentrically movable relative to the first axis; and an output pinion gear (31 of 24) configured to transfer rotation of the ring gear about the first axis to a flywheel (via flange 11, not shown in Figures 18-21, but described and illustrated previously and referenced throughout the Specification [See "Picture 18 is the invention in second flywheel end offset axis driver schematic perspective." also]) of the internal combustion engine (Paragraphs 0068-0072).
Regarding claim 2, Zheng discloses the invention of claim 1 as discussed above, and Zheng teaches that the input pinion gear is configured to rotate about a second axis, and wherein the second axis is eccentrically movable relative to the first axis based on a position of the crankshaft (See Figures 19-21 for illustration of the different eccentrically movable axes).
Regarding claim 3, Zheng discloses the invention of claim 2 as discussed above, and Zheng teaches that eccentric movement of the second axis relative to the first axis corresponds with eccentric movement of the crankshaft associated with a variable compression ratio of the internal combustion engine (Paragraph 0071; Figures 19-21).
Regarding claim 4, Zheng discloses the invention of claim 1 as discussed above, and Zheng teaches that the output pinion gear is configured to rotate about a third axis, and wherein the third axis is fixed relative to the first axis (Paragraphs 0068-0072; Figures 19-21 [fixed distance]).
Regarding claim 5, Zheng discloses the invention of claim 1 as discussed above, and Zheng teaches that the input pinion gear and the output pinion gear have a same diameter so that the output pinion gear rotates at a same angular velocity as the input pinion gear (Paragraphs 0068 and 0070; Figure 19).
Regarding claim 6, Zheng discloses the invention of claim 1 as discussed above, and Zheng teaches that the ring gear comprises a plurality of inner teeth, wherein the input pinion gear comprises a first plurality of outer teeth, wherein the output pinion gear comprises a second plurality of outer teeth, and wherein the first plurality of outer teeth and the second plurality of outer teeth are configured to mesh with the plurality of inner teeth (Figures 18-19).
Regarding claim 7, Zheng discloses the invention of claim 1 as discussed above, and Zheng teaches that the input pinion gear and the output pinion gear are configured to rotate within the ring gear (Figures 18-19).
Regarding claim 8, Zheng teaches an internal combustion engine (Figures 18-21, and preceding Figures illustrating engine), comprising: a crankshaft (5/20) configured to rotate about a first axis (203/204), wherein the first axis is eccentrically movable relative to a second axis (of 32) (See Figures 18-21); a flywheel configured to rotate about a third axis (205); and a rotation coupler (32) configured to transfer rotation of the crankshaft about the first axis to the flywheel, wherein the rotation coupler comprises: a ring gear (See inner teeth of 32 in Figure 18) configured to rotate about the second axis; an input gear (31) coupled with the crankshaft and configured to rotate about the first axis, wherein the input gear is further configured to transfer the rotation of the crankshaft to the ring gear to cause the ring gear to rotate about the second axis; and an output gear (33) coupled with the flywheel and configured to rotate about the third axis, wherein the output gear is further configured to transfer rotation of the ring gear about the second axis to the flywheel (Paragraphs 0068-0072; Figures 18-21).
Regarding claim 9, Zheng discloses the invention of claim 8 as discussed above, and Zheng teaches that the input gear is eccentrically movable relative to the second axis together with the crankshaft (See Figures 19-21 for illustration of the different eccentrically movable axes).
Regarding claim 10, Zheng discloses the invention of claim 8 as discussed above, and Zheng teaches that eccentric movement of the first axis relative to the second axis corresponds with eccentric movement of the crankshaft associated with a variable compression ratio of the internal combustion engine (Paragraph 0071; Figures 19-21).
Regarding claim 11, Zheng discloses the invention of claim 8 as discussed above, and Zheng teaches that the third axis is fixed relative to the second axis (Paragraphs 0068-0072; Figures 19-21 [fixed distance]).
Regarding claim 12, Zheng discloses the invention of claim 8 as discussed above, and Zheng teaches that the input gear and the output gear have a same diameter so that the output gear rotates at a same angular velocity as the input gear (Paragraphs 0068 and 0070; Figure 19).
Regarding claim 13, Zheng discloses the invention of claim 8 as discussed above, and Zheng teaches that the ring gear comprises a plurality of inner teeth, wherein the input gear comprises a first plurality of outer teeth, wherein the output gear comprises a second plurality of outer teeth, and wherein the first plurality of outer teeth and the second plurality of outer teeth are configured to mesh with the plurality of inner teeth (Figures 18-19).
Regarding claim 14, Zheng discloses the invention of claim 8 as discussed above, and Zheng teaches that the input gear and the output gear are configured to rotate within the ring gear (Figures 18-19).
Regarding claim 15, Zheng teaches a device (Figures 18-21), comprising: an input gear (31 of 20) configured to rotate about a first axis (203/204); a ring gear (32) configured to rotate about a second axis based on rotation of the input gear about the first axis, wherein the first axis is eccentrically movable relative to the second axis; and an output gear (31 of 24) configured to rotate about a third axis based on rotation of the ring gear about the second axis (Paragraphs 0068-0072; Figures 18-21).
Regarding claim 16, Zheng discloses the invention of claim 15 as discussed above, and Zheng teaches that the input gear is configured to couple with a crankshaft of an internal combustion engine (Paragraphs 0068-0072; Figures 18-21), and wherein eccentric movement of the first axis relative to the second axis corresponds with eccentric movement of the crankshaft associated with a variable compression ratio of the internal combustion engine (Paragraph 0071; Figures 19-21).
Regarding claim 17, Zheng discloses the invention of claim 16 as discussed above, and Zheng teaches that the output gear is configured to couple with a flywheel of the internal combustion engine (via flange 11, not shown in Figures 18-21, but described and illustrated previously and referenced throughout the Specification [See "Picture 18 is the invention in second flywheel end offset axis driver schematic perspective." also]).
Regarding claim 18, Zheng discloses the invention of claim 15 as discussed above, and Zheng teaches that the third axis is fixed relative to the second axis (Paragraphs 0068-0072; Figures 19-21 [fixed distance]).
Regarding claim 19, Zheng discloses the invention of claim 15 as discussed above, and Zheng teaches that the input gear and the output gear have a same diameter so that the output gear rotates at a same angular velocity as the input gear (Paragraphs 0068 and 0070; Figure 19).
Regarding claim 20, Zheng discloses the invention of claim 15 as discussed above, and Zheng teaches that the ring gear comprises a plurality of inner teeth, wherein the input gear comprises a first plurality of outer teeth, wherein the output gear comprises a second plurality of outer teeth, and wherein the first plurality of outer teeth and the second plurality of outer teeth are configured to mesh with the plurality of inner teeth (Figures 18-19).
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BR 102018002008-0 A2.
Regarding claims 1-20, Figures 4-5 and 13 of BR 102018002008-0 A2 illustrate the exact same embodiment elected for claims 1-20, and since applicant has not provided the necessary foreign priority documents to preclude this reference based on its published date of 8/20/2019, the reference is considered to anticipate the claims of 1-20 under 102(a)(1).
Conclusion
/KEVIN R STECKBAUER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747