DETAILED ACTION
This is the first Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-7 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to, because the recitation “wherein one or more of the plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) provided on the underside surface of the lighting strip” lacks antecedent basis. Please amend the claim to say “wherein one or more of the plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) is provided on an underside surface of the lighting strip so to direct light downwardly toward the glue board and cause luminescence on the glue board.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seetharam et al. (US 20220295774 A1), hereafter referred to as “Seetharam”.
Regarding claim 1, Seetharam discloses a flying insect trap (figs. 6-9; abstract) comprising:
a housing (104; fig. 9) having at least one window (paragraph [0067]) configured to allow ingress of flying insects (paragraph [0067]);
a glue board (62, 64, 66; fig. 9; see also figs. 6A-7G) positioned within the housing and visible through the window (fig. 9), the glue board comprising:
a substrate (62);
an adhesive layer (66) applied to the substrate (paragraphs [0050]-[0051]); and
fluorescent photoluminescent pigment (66; paragraphs [0052]-[0055]) incorporated within the adhesive layer (paragraphs [0052]-[0055]); and
a light source (102) positioned to illuminate the glue board (fig. 9 and paragraph [0066]) and configured to emit light that activates the fluorescent photoluminescent pigment to cause the glue board to emit visible light substantially simultaneously with illumination by the light source (paragraphs [0052] and [0062]), thereby attracting flying insects to the adhesive layer (paragraphs [0052] and [0062]).
Regarding claim 2, Seetharam discloses the flying insect trap of claim 1, and further discloses that the fluorescent photoluminescent pigment (66) comprises fluorescent organic pigments (paragraph [0054], e.g., teaching optical brightening agents).
Regarding claim 3, Seetharam discloses the flying insect trap of claim 1, and further discloses that the fluorescent photoluminescent pigment (66) is directly mixed into the adhesive layer (paragraph [0057]).
Regarding claim 4, Seetharam discloses the flying insect trap of claim 1, and further discloses that the light source comprises a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) (120; paragraph [0066]).
Regarding claim 6, Seetharam discloses the flying insect trap of claim 4, and further discloses that the plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) (120) are configured to emit light in a wavelength range of 300-700 nanometers (paragraph [0066]).
Regarding claim 7, Seetharam discloses the flying insect trap of claim 6, and further discloses that one or more of the plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) provided on the underside surface of the lighting strip (102; fig. 9) are configured to direct light downwardly toward the glue board and cause luminescence of the glue board (paragraph [0066]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seetharam as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Preuschl (US 20140027800 A1), hereafter referred to as “Preuschl”.
Regarding claim 5, Seetharam teaches the flying insect trap of claim 4, and further teaches wherein the plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) are provided on a lighting strip (102) having an upper surface and an underside surface (fig. 9), and whereby one or more of the plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) are provided on the underside surface of the lighting strip (fig. 9 and paragraph [0066]), but does not explicitly teach that one or more of the plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) are provided on the upper surface of the lighting strip.
Preuschl teaches a lighting strip with one or more of a plurality of light emitting diodes (13) provided on both the upper surface and underside surface of the lighting strip (paragraphs [0026] and [0030]; see also fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the trap of Seetharam to include that one or more of the plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) are provided on the upper surface of the lighting strip, as taught by Preushl, in order to increase the attracting effect of the trap.
Conclusion
The cited prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure. The references have many of the elements in the applicant’s disclosure and claims.
/H.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3643
/JACK W KEITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3646