DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-7 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
claim 1, line 3, “flying insects the base having a recess floor surface” should read “flying insects, the base having a recess floor surface”,
claim 1, line 4, “the cabinet comprising a base and cover plate” should read “the cabinet comprising the base and the cover plate”,
claim 1, line 10, “the glue board the light source being” should read “the glue board, the light source being”,
claim 7 is objected to, because the recitation “wherein one or more of the plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) provided on the underside surface of the lighting strip” lacks antecedent basis. Please amend the claim to say “wherein one or more of the plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) is provided on an underside surface of the lighting strip so to direct light downwardly toward the glue board and cause luminescence on the glue board.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greening et al. (US 20130312314 A1), hereafter referred to as “Greening” in view of Seetharam et al. (US 20220295774 A1), hereafter referred to as “Seetharam”.
Regarding claim 1, Greening teaches flying insect trap (10; figs. 1-7) comprising:
a cabinet (20; figs. 1-3) comprising a base (24) and a cover plate (22), the cover plate having at least one window (25, 26, 27) configured to allow ingress of flying insects (paragraph [0096] and fig. 1), the base having a recessed floor surface (fig. 6 showing a recessed portion where 40 is inserted);
a glue board (40) positioned within the cabinet (fig. 3) comprising the base and the cover plate (fig. 3), the cover plate and visible through the window (fig. 3), the glue board comprising:
a substrate (402; paragraph [0112], in view of paragraph [0016] of the instant specification);
an adhesive layer (404) applied to the substrate (paragraph [0099]); and
and
a light source (30, 32, 34, 36) disposed beneath an underside surface of the cover plate (figs. 1-3) and positioned to illuminate the glue board (fig. 3), but does not explicitly teach a fluorescent photoluminescent pigment incorporated within the adhesive layer; and
the light source being configured to emit light that activates the fluorescent photoluminescent pigment to cause the glue board to emit visible light substantially simultaneously with illumination by the light source, thereby attracting flying insects to the adhesive layer.
Seetharam teaches a flying insect trap (figs. 6-9; abstract) including fluorescent photoluminescent pigment (66; paragraphs [0052]-[0055]) incorporated within an adhesive layer (66; paragraphs [0052]-[0055]), and a light source (102) positioned to illuminate a glue board (62, 64, 66; fig. 9 and paragraph [0066]) and configured to emit light that activates the fluorescent photoluminescent pigment to cause the glue board to emit visible light substantially simultaneously with illumination by the light source (paragraphs [0052] and [0062]), thereby attracting flying insects to the adhesive layer (paragraphs [0052] and [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the trap of Greening to include fluorescent photoluminescent pigment incorporated within the adhesive layer, and the light source being configured to emit light that activates the fluorescent photoluminescent pigment to cause the glue board to emit visible light substantially simultaneously with illumination by the light source, thereby attracting flying insects to the adhesive layer, as taught by Seetharam, in order to improve the attracting and repelling effect by creating a broader, combined spectrum from a narrow-band LED source, which can be turned to match specific insects visual sensitivity (claim 1 and paragraphs [0031]-[0033] of Seetharam).
Regarding claim 2, Greening in view of Seetharam teaches the flying insect trap of claim 1, and Seetharam further teaches that the fluorescent photoluminescent pigment (66) comprises fluorescent organic pigments (paragraph [0054], e.g., teaching optical brightening agents).
Regarding claim 3, Greening in view of Seetharam teaches the flying insect trap of claim 1, and Seetharam further teaches that the fluorescent photoluminescent pigment (66) is directly mixed into the adhesive layer (paragraph [0057]).
Regarding claim 4, Greening in view of Seetharam teaches the flying insect trap of claim 1, and Greening further teaches that the light source (32, 34, 26) comprises a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) (paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claim 6, Greening in view of Seetharam teaches the flying insect trap of claim 4, and Greening further teaches that the plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) (32, 34, 26) are configured to emit light in a wavelength range of 300-700 nanometers (claim 20).
Regarding claim 7, Greening in view of Seetharam teaches the flying insect trap of claim 6, but does not explicitly teach that one or more of the plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) provided on an underside surface of a lighting strip are configured to direct light downwardly toward the glue board and cause luminescence of the glue board.
Seetharam further teaches that one or more of the plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) provided on an underside surface of a lighting strip (102; fig. 9) are configured to direct light downwardly toward the glue board and cause luminescence of the glue board (paragraph [0066]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the trap of Greening in view of Seetharam, such that one or more of the plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) provided on an underside surface of a lighting strip are configured to direct light downwardly toward the glue board and cause luminescence of the glue board, as further taught by Seetharam, in order to improve the irradiation of the fluorescent surface to further improve the attracting effect (paragraph [0066] of Seetharam).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greening in view of Seetharam as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Preuschl (US 20140027800 A1), hereafter referred to as “Preuschl”.
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings of Greening in view of Seetharam teaches the flying insect trap of claim 4, and further teaches wherein the plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) (30, 32, 34, 36 of Greening) are provided on a lighting strip (102 as relied on Seetharam) having an upper surface and an underside surface (fig. 9 of Seetharam), and whereby one or more of the plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) are provided on the underside surface of the lighting strip (fig. 9 and paragraph [0066] of Seetharam), but does not explicitly teach that one or more of the plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) are provided on the upper surface of the lighting strip.
Preuschl teaches a lighting strip with one or more of a plurality of light emitting diodes (13) provided on both the upper surface and underside surface of the lighting strip (paragraphs [0026] and [0030]; see also fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the trap of Greening in view of Seetharam to include that one or more of the plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) are provided on the upper surface of the lighting strip, as taught by Preushl, in order to increase the attracting effect of the trap.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/17/2026 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. As shown in the rejection above, Greening in view of Seetharam teaching each and every limitation of claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3643
/MARISA V CONLON/Examiner, Art Unit 3643