DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant should note that the large number of references in the attached IDS have been considered by the examiner in the same manner as other documents in Office search files are considered by the examiner while conducting a search of the prior art in a proper field of search. See MPEP 609.05(b). Applicant is requested to point out any particular references in the IDS which they believe may be of particular relevance to the instant claimed invention in response to this office action.
Drawings
The Applicant is reminded to carefully review the drawing figures and the accompanying specification to ensure that all reference numerals present in the drawing figures are defined within the specification.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: prior to allowance, Applicant should update the first paragraph of the specification to indicate the present status of all applications referred to therein.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Faltys et al. (U.S. 2011/0190849). Faltys discloses a system for treating chronic inflammation in a subject, the system comprising: an implantable microstimulator configured to apply a low duty-cycle stimulation to a vagus nerve (“an implantable microstimulator configured for implantation around a cervical portion of a vagus nerve to modulate inflammation by applying low duty-cycle stimulation to the vagus nerve”, paragraph [0043]); and a controller adapted to set a dose regimen, wherein the dose regimen comprises a plurality of electrical stimulations to the vagus nerve that are separated by an off period of at least 4 hours (“The Dose Interval may be set by changing the duration between Doses (e.g. 12, 24, 48 hours).”, paragraph [0119]), wherein each electrical stimulation comprises less than 100 supra-threshold pulses (where zero is included in the range of “less than 100 supra-threshold pulses”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huston et al. (U.S. 2009/0143831) in view of Whitehurst et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,167,751). Huston discloses a system for treating chronic inflammation in a subject, the system comprising: an implantable stimulator configured to apply a low duty-cycle stimulation to a vagus nerve (“These methods, systems and devices typically stimulate all or a portion of a patient's inflammatory reflex (e.g., the vagus nerve), to inhibit inflammation, pro-inflammatory cytokine production or release, or the pro-inflammatory cytokine cascade. For example, the inhibitory stimulation described herein includes extremely low duty-cycle stimulation, such as stimulation of the vagus nerve at levels that do not provoke other non-immune, biological effects mediated by the vagus nerve (e.g., blood pressure, heart rate, etc.).”, paragraph [0013]); and a controller adapted to set a dose regimen, wherein the dose regimen comprises a plurality of electrical stimulations to the vagus nerve that are separated by an off period of at least 4 hours (“The off-time before the vagus nerve is re-stimulated may be from about 2 hours to about 48 hours.”, paragraph [0017]), wherein each electrical stimulation comprises less than 100 supra-threshold pulses (where zero is included in the range of “less than 100 supra-threshold pulses” and paragraph of Huston teaches that the signal ‘on’ time can be from 1 to 120 seconds, and the signal controller can set the frequency of stimulation to be between 0.1 and 30 Hz. Thus, for a 1 second signal on time, 30 pulses would be delivered, which is less than 100 pulses.). However, Huston fails to explicitly disclose that the stimulator is a microstimulator. Whitehurst teaches a microstimulator (see column 3, lines 12-19) to stimulate the vagus nerve (see column 2, lines 49-52), which provides the advantage of being capable of implantation with a minimal surgical procedure (see column 2, lines 49-52). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Huston to utilize a microstimulator as the stimulator, as taught by Whitehurst, in order to minimize the surgical trauma caused by implantation of the stimulator.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 8,788,034. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim of the present application is anticipated by claim 1 of the patent.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,211,410. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim of the present application is anticipated by claim 1 of the patent.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,849,286. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim of the present application is anticipated by claim 1 of the patent.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,357,826. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim of the present application is anticipated by claim 1 of the patent.
Conclusion
/TAMMIE K MARLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796