DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy of foreign patent application number 202510494553.5, filed in China on April 18, 2025, has been received and made of record.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (lDS) submitted on July 28, 2026, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and is being considered by the Examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “wherein a surface of the circuit board r facing the lens…”. The inclusion of the “r” appears to be a typographical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2009/0128681 to Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a camera module defining an optical axis direction and comprising a voice coil motor comprising a base (e.g., figs. 2 and 3, at least elements 20, 23 and 30), a lens connected to the base (e.g., figs. 2 and 3, element 21), a bracket located at a bottom of the base (e.g., figs. 2 and 3, element 30), wherein the bracket is integrally formed with the base (e.g., figs. 2 and 3), a filter connected to a side of the bracket facing away from the lens (e.g., figs. 2 and 3, element 31; [0024]), a circuit board connected to the bracket and located on a side of the filter facing away from the lens (e.g., figs. 2 and 3, at least element 60b; [0029-30]), wherein the circuit board comprises a recess (e.g., figs. 2 and 3, element 101), and an imaging sensor arranged in the recess (e.g., figs. 2 and 3, element 41; [0029]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching the camera module further comprising a first protrusion (e.g., figs. 2 and 3, portion of element 30), wherein the first protrusion extends from the side of bracket facing away from the lens toward the circuit board, the first protrusion is spaced apart from the circuit board, the filter is connected to a side of the first protrusion facing the circuit board (e.g., figs. 2 and 3, portion of element 30 associated with filter 31).
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 4 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 2, supra) including teaching wherein the first protrusion is annular and surrounds the optical axis direction (e.g., figs. 2 and 3, are side-sectional views).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 6 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching the camera module further comprising a first element (e.g., figs. 2, 3 and 5, element 51; [0038]), wherein the first element is arranged at a corner of the circuit board (e.g., fig. 5), and along the optical axis direction, a projection of the filter on the circuit board is separated from a projection of the first element on the circuit board (e.g., figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 7 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching wherein a surface of the circuit board r facing the lens is located between the lens and a surface of the imaging sensor facing the lens, or the surface of the imaging sensor facing the lens is flush with the surface of the image sensor facing the lens (e.g., figs. 2 and 3; [0046], [0059]).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 8 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching wherein along the optical axis direction, the recess penetrates a portion of the circuit board (e.g., figs. 2 and 3, when the circuit board is interpreted to comprise elements 60b and 60a).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 9 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching wherein along the optical axis direction, the recess extends through the circuit board (e.g., figs. 2 and 3, extends through element 60b; [0043]), the camera module further comprises an outer protective plate (e.g., figs. 2 and 3, element 60a), the outer protective plate is connected to a side of the circuit board facing away from the filter (e.g., figs. 2 and 3), the imaging sensor is connected to the outer protective plate (e.g., figs. 2 and 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim.
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 3 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 2, supra) except for being found by the Examiner to expressly disclose wherein a height of the first protrusion along the optical axis direction is adjustable.
Nevertheless, Kim teaches the bracket of the base and first protrusion having an identifiable thickness (e.g., figs. 2 and 3, element 30). Kim is not found to address the placement of the filter in relation to the bracket of the base and the first protrusion or the size of the bracket and first protrusion. However, given the available locations of placement and thicknesses of the bracket, a height of the first protrusion along the optical axis direction is considered merely an obvious matter of design choice, i.e., adjustable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to have adjusted the height of the first protrusion along the optical axis direction when manufacturing, in order to account for any minimal angles of light refraction (mediums refract passing light) caused by the type and material of filter being employed, or is adjusted in order to minimize the amount of material used when manufacturing.
The Examiner notes that the instant disclosure is not found to teach or disclose structure that actively adjusts a height of the first protrusion (see paragraph [0019] of the specification).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0267767 to Choi et al. (hereinafter “Choi”).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 5 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 1, supra) except for being found by the Examiner to expressly disclose wherein along the optical axis direction, the filter covered an entirety of the recess, and a projection of the imaging sensor is located on the circuit board within a projection of the filter on the circuit board.
Nevertheless, Choi teaches a similar camera module wherein, along an optical axis direction, a filter covers an entirety of an area above an image sensor, and a projection of the imaging sensor is located on the circuit board within a projection of the filter on the circuit board (e.g., fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the features as taught by Choi into the camera module as taught by Kim in order to reduce unwanted stray light reflected off the surfaces where the filter meets the bracket from being redirected onto the sensor.
Claims 11-14 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2013/0308048 to Park et al. (hereinafter “Park”).
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches an electronic device comprising a camera module comprising a voice coil motor comprising a base (e.g., figs. 2 and 3, at least elements 20, 23 and 30), a lens connected to the base (e.g., figs. 2 and 3, element 21), a bracket located at a bottom of the base (e.g., figs. 2 and 3, element 30), wherein the bracket is integrally formed with the base (e.g., figs. 2 and 3), a filter connected to a side of the bracket facing away from the lens (e.g., figs. 2 and 3, element 31; [0024]), a circuit board connected to the bracket and located on a side of the filter facing away from the lens (e.g., figs. 2 and 3, at least element 60b; [0029-30]), wherein the circuit board comprises a recess (e.g., figs. 2 and 3, element 101), and an imaging sensor arranged in the recess (e.g., figs. 2 and 3, element 41; [0029]). Kim, however, has not been found by the Examiner to expressly disclose the electronic device comprising a housing, and the camera module in the housing defining an optical axis direction.
Nevertheless, Park teaches a similar electronic device including a housing (e.g., figs. 2 and 3, element 130; [0047]) for covering a camera module in the housing defining an optical axis direction (e.g., figs. 2 and 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the housing as taught by Park with the teachings of Kim in order to provide a protective cover for elements of the camera module.
Regarding claim 12, Kim and Park teach all of the limitations of claim 12 (see the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 11, supra) including teaching the electronic device further comprising a first protrusion (‘681 – e.g., figs. 2 and 3, portion of element 30), wherein the first protrusion extends from the side of bracket facing away from the lens toward the circuit board, the first protrusion is spaced apart from the circuit board, the filter is connected to a side of the first protrusion facing the circuit board (‘681 – e.g., figs. 2 and 3, portion of element 30 associated with filter 31).
Regarding claim 13, Kim and Park teach all of the limitations of claim 13 (see the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 12, supra) except for being found by the Examiner to expressly disclose wherein a height of the first protrusion along the optical axis direction is adjustable.
Nevertheless, Kim teaches the bracket of the base and first protrusion having an identifiable thickness (e.g., figs. 2 and 3, element 30; also see fig. 3 of Park). Kim is not found to address the placement of the filter in relation to the bracket of the base and the first protrusion or the size of the bracket and first protrusion. However, given the available locations of placement and thicknesses of the bracket, a height of the first protrusion along the optical axis direction is considered merely an obvious matter of design choice, i.e., adjustable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to have adjusted the height of the first protrusion along the optical axis direction when manufacturing, in order to account for any minimal angles of light refraction (mediums refract passing light) caused by the type and material of filter being employed, or is adjusted in order to minimize the amount of material used when manufacturing.
The Examiner notes that the instant disclosure is not found to teach or disclose structure that actively adjusts a height of the first protrusion (see paragraph [0019] of the specification).
Regarding claim 14, Kim and Park teach all of the limitations of claim 14 (see the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 12, supra) including teaching wherein the first protrusion is annular and surrounds the optical axis direction (‘681 – e.g., figs. 2 and 3, are side-sectional views; also see fig. 2 of Park).
Regarding claim 16, Kim and Park teach all of the limitations of claim 16 (see the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 11, supra) including teaching the camera module further comprising a first element (‘681 – e.g., figs. 2, 3 and 5, element 51; [0038]), wherein the first element is arranged at a corner of the circuit board (‘681 – e.g., fig. 5), and along the optical axis direction, a projection of the filter on the circuit board is separated from a projection of the first element on the circuit board (‘681 – e.g., figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 17, Kim and Park teach all of the limitations of claim 17 (see the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 11, supra) including teaching wherein a surface of the circuit board r facing the lens is located between the lens and a surface of the imaging sensor facing the lens, or the surface of the imaging sensor facing the lens is flush with the surface of the image sensor facing the lens (‘681 – e.g., figs. 2 and 3; [0046], [0059]).
Regarding claim 18, Kim and Park teach all of the limitations of claim 18 (see the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 11, supra) including teaching wherein along the optical axis direction, the recess penetrates a portion of the circuit board (‘681 – e.g., figs. 2 and 3, when the circuit board is interpreted to comprise elements 60b and 60a).
Regarding claim 19, Kim and Park teach all of the limitations of claim 19 (see the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 11, supra) including teaching wherein along the optical axis direction, the recess extends through the circuit board (‘681 – e.g., figs. 2 and 3, extends through element 60b; [0043]), the camera module further comprises an outer protective plate (‘681 – e.g., figs. 2 and 3, element 60a), the outer protective plate is connected to a side of the circuit board facing away from the filter (‘681 – e.g., figs. 2 and 3), the imaging sensor is connected to the outer protective plate (‘681 – e.g., figs. 2 and 3).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Park in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0267767 to Choi et al. (hereinafter “Choi”).
Regarding claim 15, Kim and Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 15 (see the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 11, supra) except for being found by the Examiner to expressly disclose wherein along the optical axis direction, the filter covered an entirety of the recess, and a projection of the imaging sensor on the circuit board is located within a projection of the filter on the circuit board.
Nevertheless, Choi teaches a similar camera module wherein, along an optical axis direction, a filter covers an entirety of an area above an image sensor, and a projection of the imaging sensor on the circuit board is located within a projection of the filter on the circuit board (e.g., fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the features as taught by Choi into the electronic device as taught by Kim and Park in order to reduce unwanted stray light reflected off the surfaces where the filter meets the bracket from being redirected onto the sensor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2009/0278978 to Suzuki teaches a similar electronic device and camera module.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0293063 to Lee et al. teaches a similar electronic device and camera module.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0155775 to Kim et al. teaches a similar electronic device and camera module, including a recessed image sensor.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2012/0018830 to Lin et al. teaches a similar electronic device in which an image sensor in a recess is surrounded by an insulating material that has a shielding effect to prevent electromagnetic interference (EMI).
U.S. Patent No. 9,413,933 to Yu et al. teaches a similar electronic device and camera module, including providing electronic components on the circuit board.
U.S. Patent No. 9,241,097 to Tam teaches a similar electronic device and camera module, including providing electronic components on the circuit board.
U.S. Patent No. 12,010,417 to Wang et al. teaches a similar electronic device and camera module, including providing electronic components on the circuit board.
U.S. Patent No. 12/677,053 to Chou teaches a similar electronic device and camera module, that includes an adhesive surrounding the image sensor.
Contact
/GARY C VIEAUX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638