DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Both claims 25 and 26 recite “wherein with respect to the second direction” when describing widths W21 and W22. This is confusing, because claim 22 sets forth the widths W21 and W22 with respect to the first direction. It appears as though widths W21 and W22 should be described with respect to the first direction. For examination purposes, the confusing claim language will be interpreted as --wherein with respect to the first direction--.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 6-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 6-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,353,157 (“the patent”) in view of Okada et al. (JP 2009-053582; “Okada”).
Regarding outstanding claim 1, claim 1 of the patent claims an image forming apparatus comprising:
a rotatable image bearing member configured to bear a toner image;
an image forming portion including a developing device for developing an electrostatic image with toner and configured to form the toner image on the image bearing member;
a transfer portion configured to transfer the toner image from the image bearing member onto a recording material;
a cleaning blade configured to remove the toner from the image bearing member; and
a controller configured to carry out control so as to execute a predetermined operation in which a predetermined toner image which is not to be transferred onto the recording material is formed on the image bearing member and then is removed from the image bearing member by the cleaning blade, wherein at least in a predetermined range of a leading end portion of the predetermined toner image with respect to a first direction which is a surface movement direction of the image bearing member, when the predetermined toner image is viewed per unit area of 1 mm in each of the first direction and a second direction, which is a widthwise direction of the image bearing member perpendicular to the first direction, the predetermined toner image includes a plurality of print portions extending along a predetermined direction and formed at different positions with respect to the second direction, and the predetermined direction forms an angle of 300 or less between itself and the first direction.
Claim 1 of the patent fails to claim wherein at least in the predetermined range, each print portion is a line-shaped toner band formed substantially continuously over a substantially whole region with respect to the first direction.
Okada teaches a similar image forming apparatus, wherein at least in a predetermined range (area shown in Fig. 7) of a leading end portion of a predetermined toner image with respect to a first direction (upward in Fig. 7), when the predetermined toner image is viewed per unit area of 1 mm (see “Note” below) in each of the first direction and a second direction (rightward in Fig. 7), which is a widthwise direction of the image bearing member perpendicular to the first direction (see also Fig. 1), the predetermined toner image includes a plurality of print portions (i.e., a plurality of black lines shown in Fig. 7) extending along a predetermined direction (upward in Fig. 7) and formed at different positions with respect to the second direction (see Fig. 7), and the predetermined direction forms an angle of 30° or less between itself and the first direction (the predetermined direction is parallel to the first direction, i.e., an angle of 0°) (Note: Fig. 7 of Okada shows a resolution of 600 dpi, or 600 dots per linear inch. This translates to approximately 24 dots per linear millimeter. Therefore, an area of 1 mm is represented by an area approximately 24 dots by 24 dots in Fig. 6, which is larger than that which is shown in the enlarged area of Fig. 6.).
Okada also teaches wherein at least in the predetermined range, each print portion is a line-shaped toner band formed substantially continuously over a substantially whole region (that which lies under each print portion) with respect to the first direction (see Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to claim wherein at least in the predetermined range, each print portion is a line-shaped toner band formed substantially continuously over a substantially whole region with respect to the first direction. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide an image forming apparatus that can efficiently release degraded toner from a developing device to an electrostatic latent image carrier (Okada [0079]).
Other outstanding claims clearly correlate to the patent claims as follows:
Outstanding claim
2
3
4
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
Patent claim
2
3
4
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
1
15
16
Claims 18-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,353,157 (“the patent”) in view of Okada (JP 2009-053582) and Saito (US 2022/0091543).
Regarding outstanding claim 18, claim 17 of the patent claims an image forming apparatus comprising:
a rotatable image bearing member configured to bear a toner image;
an image forming portion including a developing device for developing an electrostatic image with toner and configured to form the toner image on the image bearing member;
a transfer portion configured to transfer the toner image from the image bearing member onto a recording material;
a cleaning blade configured to remove the toner from the image bearing member; and
a controller configured to carry out control so as to execute a first operation in which a first toner image which is not to be transferred onto the recording material is formed on the image bearing member and then is removed from the image bearing member by the cleaning blade, and so as to execute a second operation in which a second toner image which is not to be transferred onto the recording material is formed on the image bearing member and then is removed from the image bearing member by the cleaning blade,
wherein at least in a predetermined range of a leading end portion of the first toner image with respect to a first direction which is a surface movement direction of the image bearing member, when the first toner image is viewed per unit area of 1 mm in each of the first direction and a second direction which is a widthwise direction of the image bearing member perpendicular to the first direction, the first toner image includes a plurality of first print portions extending along a first predetermined direction and formed at different positions with respect to the second direction, and the first predetermined direction forms an angle of 30° or less between itself and the first direction, wherein
Claim 17 of the patent fails to claim the lined-through limitations above.
Okada teaches a similar image forming apparatus, wherein at least in a predetermined range (area shown in Fig. 7), each first print portion (each black line shown in Fig. 7) is a line-shaped toner band formed substantially continuously over a substantially whole region (that which lies under each print portion) with respect to the first direction (upward in Fig. 7).
Saito teaches a similar image forming apparatus having a controller that executes an operation in which a toner image 200 (hereinafter “second toner image” to be consistent with the claim terminology; Fig. 2) which is not to be transferred onto a recording material is formed on an image bearing member 8 and then is removed from the image bearing member by a cleaning blade 21 (Fig. 1 [0028]). Further, when the second toner image is viewed per unit area of 1 mm in each of a first direction (Z direction) and second direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 3B), the second toner image includes a plurality of second print portions (portions formed of four consecutive dots; Fig. 3B [0032]) extending along a second predetermined direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 3B) and formed at different positions with respect to the first Z direction (see Fig. 3B), and the second predetermined direction forms an angle of 30° or less between itself and the second direction (the second predetermined direction is parallel to the second direction, i.e., an angle of 0°). Note: Saito’s resolution is 600 dpi, or 600 dots per linear inch ([0032]). This translates to approximately 24 dots per linear millimeter. Therefore, an area of 1 mm is represented by an area approximately 24 dots by 24 dots in Fig. 3B. Because the toner image 200 is 8 mm in the Z direction (see Fig. 3A), we know the pattern in 3B continues in the Z direction for at least an entire mm.
Saito further teaches wherein at least in the predetermined range, each second print portion is a line-shaped toner band formed substantially continuously over a substantially whole region with respect to the second direction (see Fig. 3B).
Based on the teachings of Okada and Saito, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify claim 17 of the patent to include the missing limitations. One would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide an image forming apparatus that can efficiently release degraded toner from a developing device to an electrostatic latent image carrier (Okada [0079]), and to better lubricate a cleaning edge of the cleaning blade while preventing the occurrence of back surface soiling (Saito [0028]).
Other outstanding claims clearly correlate to the patent claims as follows:
Outstanding claim
19
20
21
22
Patent claim
18
19
20
21
Regarding outstanding claims 23-24, the modified patent claims an image forming apparatus according to claim 21, but fails to claim wherein with respect to the second direction, the widths W11 and W12 satisfy the following relationships:
1/10 ≤ W21/W22 < 3/5 (claim 23)
1/5 ≤ W21/W22 < 2/5 (claim 24).
Okada teaches these limitations in Fig. 7: W21/W22 = 2/6 = 1/3, which meets both claimed ranges.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the claims of the patent to include these limitations. One would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide an image forming apparatus that can efficiently release degraded toner from a developing device to an electrostatic latent image carrier (Okada [0079]).
Regarding outstanding claims 25-26 as best understood, the modified patent claims an image forming apparatus according to claim 22, but fails to claim wherein with respect to the second direction, the widths W21 and W22 satisfy the following relationships:
1/10 ≤ W21/W22 < 3/5 (claim 25)
1/5 ≤ W1/W2 < 2/5 (claim 26).
Saito teaches these limitations in Fig. 3B: W21/W22 = 1/3, which meets both claimed ranges.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the claims of the patent to include these limitations. One would have been motivated to make this modification in order to better lubricate a cleaning edge of the cleaning blade while preventing the occurrence of back surface soiling (Saito [0028]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-11, 14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada (JP 2009-053582).
Regarding claim 1, Okada discloses an image forming apparatus (Fig. 1 [0022]) comprising:
a rotatable image bearing member 8 configured to bear a toner image (Fig. 1 [0036]);
an image forming portion (elements 1-5) including a developing device 4 for developing an electrostatic image with toner and configured to form the toner image on the image bearing member 8 (Fig. 1 [0034]);
a transfer portion 9 configured to transfer the toner image from the image bearing member 8 onto a recording material S (Fig. 1 [0038]);
a cleaning blade 83 configured to remove the toner from the image bearing member 8 (Fig. 1 [0039]); and
a controller (Cont; Fig. 4 [0032]) configured to carry out control so as to execute a predetermined operation (forced toner consumption mode; [0052]) in which a predetermined toner image (“line pattern” shown in Fig. 7; [0068]) which is not to be transferred onto the recording material S is formed on the image bearing member 8 and then is removed from the image bearing member 8 by the cleaning blade 83 ([0062]),
wherein at least in a predetermined range (area shown in Fig. 7) of a leading end portion of the predetermined toner image with respect to a first direction (upward in Fig. 7) see “Note” below) in each of the first direction and a second direction (rightward in Fig. 7), which is a widthwise direction of the image bearing member perpendicular to the first direction (see also Fig. 1), the predetermined toner image includes a plurality of print portions (i.e., a plurality of black lines shown in Fig. 7) extending along a predetermined direction (upward in Fig. 7) and formed at different positions with respect to the second direction (see Fig. 7), and the predetermined direction forms an angle of 30° or less between itself and the first direction (the predetermined direction is parallel to the first direction, i.e., an angle of 0°) (Note: Fig. 7 of Okada shows a resolution of 600 dpi, or 600 dots per linear inch. This translates to approximately 24 dots per linear millimeter. Therefore, an area of 1 mm is represented by an area approximately 24 dots by 24 dots in Fig. 6, which is larger than that which is shown in the enlarged area of Fig. 6.), and
wherein at least in the predetermined range, each print portion is a line-shaped toner band formed substantially continuously over a substantially whole region (that which lies under each print portion) with respect to the first direction (see Fig. 7).
Okada does not explicitly disclose the surface movement direction of the image bearing member. However, based on the configuration of the apparatus as shown in Fig. 1 and taking into consideration how any image would be transferred onto sheet S at transfer portion 9, the surface movement direction must be in either the up/down direction or the left/right direction of the sheet as shown in Fig. 7.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the predetermined toner image such that the plurality of print portions (i.e., lines) extend in the predetermined direction parallel to the first direction which is a surface movement direction of the image bearing member. Because the predetermined toner image is used to forcibly consume deteriorated toner ([0015]), one of ordinary skill would have recognized that this modification would yield the predictable result of efficiently releasing degraded toner ([0016]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Okada teaches an image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein at least in the predetermined range, the predetermined toner image includes a plurality of non-print portions (portions of pattern in Fig. 7 not including black lines) provided adjacent to the print portions, respectively, in the second direction at different positions and extending along the predetermined direction (see Fig. 7), and with respect to the second direction, a width Wa (two dots) of each of the print portions is narrower than a width Wb (6 dots) of each of the non-print portions (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, modified Okada teaches an image forming apparatus according to claim 2, wherein with respect to the second direction, the width Wa and the width Wb satisfy the following relationships:
1/10 ≤ Wa/Wb < 3/5
1/5 ≤ Wa/Wb < 2/5.
(See Fig. 7; Wa/Wb = 2/6 = 1/3, which meets both ranges of claims 3 and 4.)
Regarding claims 6-8, modified Okada teaches an image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein with respect to the second direction, a number of continuous dots of each print portion is two (as claimed in claim 8), which also satisfies claim 6 (four dots or less) and claim 7 (three dots or less) (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 9, modified Okada teaches an image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller executes the predetermined operation on the basis of an index value (i.e., forced consumption rate) correlating with a print ratio of the toner image formed on the image bearing member ([0067], also see Table 1 on p. 12 of the original JP document).
Regarding claim 10, modified Okada teaches an image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined direction and the first direction form an angle of 10° or less (the predetermined direction is parallel to the first direction, i.e., an angle of 0°; Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 11, modified Okada teaches an image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined direction is parallel to the first direction (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 14, modified Okada teaches an image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined range is a range from a leading end of the predetermined toner image with respect to the first direction to a position of 2 mm from the leading end toward a trailing end side of the predetermined toner image with respect to the first direction (the predetermined range can be selected such that the measurements of the area meet these limitations).
Regarding claim 17, modified Okada teaches an image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined toner image is formed over a substantially whole region of an image forming region with respect to the second direction (see Fig. 7).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada (JP 2009-053582) in view of Nonaka et al. (US 2003/0123907; “Nonaka”).
Regarding claim 12, modified Okada teaches an image forming apparatus according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the predetermined toner image is formed so as to include a first region in the predetermined range and a second region on a trailing end side thereof than the predetermined range with respect to the first direction, and a toner amount per the unit area of the second region is larger than a toner amount per the unit area of the first region.
Nonaka teaches a similar image forming apparatus that forms a predetermined toner image to forcibly consume toner ([0089]). Further, the predetermined toner image is formed so as to include a first region (region including checkered pattern image in Fig. 5) in a predetermined range (area shown in Fig. 5) and a second region (region including solid pattern image in Fig. 5) on a trailing end side thereof than the predetermined range with respect to a first direction (advance direction; [0014]), and a toner amount per the unit area of the second region is larger than a toner amount per the unit area of the first region (see Fig. 5 and [0084]).
Utilizing the teachings of Nonaka, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a solid belt pattern in a second region on a trailing end side of the first region including the pattern of Okada Fig. 7, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. In this case, the predictable result would be to provide a toner image that forcibly consumes deteriorated toner.
Regarding claim 13, modified Okada teaches an image forming apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the second region is formed of a solid image (Nonaka Fig. 5 and [0084]).
Claim(s) 18-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada (JP 2009-053582) in view of Saito (US 2022/0091543).
Regarding claim 18, Okada discloses an image forming apparatus (Fig. 1 [0022]) comprising:
a rotatable image bearing member 8 configured to bear a toner image (Fig. 1 [0036]);
an image forming portion (elements 1-5) including a developing device 4 for developing an electrostatic image with toner and configured to form the toner image on the image bearing member 8 (Fig. 1 [0034]);
a transfer portion 9 configured to transfer the toner image from the image bearing member 8 onto a recording material S (Fig. 1 [0038]);
a cleaning blade 83 configured to remove the toner from the image bearing member 8 (Fig. 1 [0039]); and
a controller (Cont; Fig. 4 [0032]) configured to carry out control so as to execute a first operation (forced toner consumption mode; [0052]) in which a first toner image (“line pattern” shown in Fig. 7; [0068]) which is not to be transferred onto the recording material S is formed on the image bearing member 8 and then is removed from the image bearing member 8 by the cleaning blade 83 ([0062]),
wherein at least in a predetermined range of a leading end portion of the first toner image with respect to a first direction (upward in Fig. 7) see “Note” below) in each of the first direction and a second direction (rightward in Fig. 7), which is a widthwise direction of the image bearing member perpendicular to the first direction (see also Fig. 1), the first toner image includes a plurality of first print portions (i.e., a plurality of black lines shown in Fig. 7) extending along a first predetermined direction (upward in Fig. 7) and formed at different positions with respect to the second direction (see Fig. 7), and the first predetermined direction forms an angle of 30° or less between itself and the first direction (the first predetermined direction is parallel to the first direction, i.e., an angle of 0°) (Note: Fig. 7 of Okada shows a resolution of 600 dpi, or 600 dots per linear inch. This translates to approximately 24 dots per linear millimeter. Therefore, an area of 1 mm is represented by an area approximately 24 dots by 24 dots in Fig. 6, which is larger than that which is shown in the enlarged area of Fig. 6.),
wherein at least in the predetermined range, each first print portion is a line-shaped toner band formed substantially continuously over a substantially whole region (that which lies under each print portion) with respect to the first direction (see Fig. 7),
Okada does not explicitly disclose: (1) the surface movement direction of the image bearing member, and (2) the controller executing a second operation with a second toner image and associated limitations.
As to point (1), based on the configuration of the apparatus as shown in Fig. 1 and taking into consideration how any image would be transferred onto sheet S at transfer portion 9, the surface movement direction must be in either the up/down direction or the left/right direction of the sheet as shown in Fig. 7.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the predetermined toner image such that the plurality of first print portions (i.e., lines) extend in the predetermined direction parallel to the first direction which is a surface movement direction of the image bearing member. Because the predetermined toner image is used to forcibly consume deteriorated toner ([0015]), one of ordinary skill would have recognized that this modification would yield the predictable result of efficiently releasing degraded toner ([0016]).
As to point (2), Saito teaches a similar image forming apparatus having a controller that executes an operation in which a toner image 200 (hereinafter “second toner image” to be consistent with the claim terminology; Fig. 2) which is not to be transferred onto a recording material is formed on an image bearing member 8 and then is removed from the image bearing member by a cleaning blade 21 (Fig. 1 [0028]). Further, when the second toner image is viewed per unit area of 1 mm in each of a first direction (Z direction) and second direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 3B), the second toner image includes a plurality of second print portions (portions formed of four consecutive dots; Fig. 3B [0032]) extending along a second predetermined direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 3B) and formed at different positions with respect to the first Z direction (see Fig. 3B), and the second predetermined direction forms an angle of 30° or less between itself and the second direction (the second predetermined direction is parallel to the second direction, i.e., an angle of 0°). Note: Saito’s resolution is 600 dpi, or 600 dots per linear inch ([0032]). This translates to approximately 24 dots per linear millimeter. Therefore, an area of 1 mm is represented by an area approximately 24 dots by 24 dots in Fig. 3B. Because the toner image 200 is 8 mm in the Z direction (see Fig. 3A), we know the pattern in 3B continues in the Z direction for at least an entire mm.
Further, at least in the predetermined range, each second print portion is a line-shaped toner band formed substantially continuously over a substantially whole region (that which lies under each second print portion) with respect to the second direction (see Fig. 3B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Okada and configure the controller such that it executes an operation in which a second toner image which is not to be transferred onto the recording material is formed on the image bearing member and then is removed from the image bearing member by the cleaning blade, and when the second toner image is viewed per unit area of 1 mm in each of the first direction and second direction, the second toner image includes a plurality of second print portions extending along a second predetermined direction and formed at different positions with respect to the first direction, and the second predetermined direction forms an angle of 30° or less between itself and the second direction, as taught by Saito. One would have been motivated to make this modification in order to better lubricate a cleaning edge of the cleaning blade while preventing the occurrence of back surface soiling (Saito [0028]).
Regarding claim 19, modified Okada teaches an image forming apparatus according to claim 18, wherein the first toner image is a toner image formed for refreshing the toner in the developing device (Okada [0049-0052]), and the second toner image is a toner image for being supplied to a contact portion of the cleaning blade (Saito [0028]).
Regarding claim 20, modified Okada teaches an image forming apparatus according to claim 18, wherein the first operation is executed on the basis of a first index (i.e., forced consumption rate) value correlating with a print ratio of the toner image formed on the image bearing member (see Okada [0067], also see Table 1 on p. 12 of the original JP document), and the second operation is executed on the basis of a second index value correlating with a number of image-formed sheets (i.e., every one sheet when printing an image on two or more sheets) irrespective of the first index value (Saito [0027]).
Regarding claim 21, modified Okada teaches an image forming apparatus according to claim 18, wherein (see Okada) at least in the predetermined range, the first toner image includes a plurality of first non-print portions (portions of pattern in Fig. 7 not including black lines) provided adjacent to the first print portions, respectively, in the second direction at different positions and extending along the first predetermined direction (see Fig. 7), and with respect to the second direction, a width W11 (two dots) of each of the first print portions is narrower than a width W12 (6 dots) of each of the first non-print portions (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 22, modified Okada teaches an image forming apparatus according to claim 18, wherein (see Saito) the second toner image 200 includes a plurality of second non-print portions (portions of white dots between black dots in Fig. 3B) provided adjacent to the second print portions, respectively, in the first Z direction at different positions and extending along the second predetermined direction (Fig. 3B), and with respect to the first Z direction, a width W21 of each of the second print portions (1 dot) is narrower than a width W22 of each of the second non-print portions (3 dots) (see Fig. 3B).
Regarding claims 23-24, modified Okada teaches an image forming apparatus according to claim 21, wherein with respect to the second direction, the widths W11 and W12 satisfy the following relationships:
1/10 ≤ W11/W12 < 3/5
1/5 ≤ W11/W12 < 2/5
(see Okada Fig. 7, where W11/W12 = 2/6 = 1/3, which meets both claimed ranges).
Regarding claims 25-26 as best understood, modified Okada teaches an image forming apparatus according to claim 22, wherein with respect to the second direction (i.e., the first direction), the widths W21 and W22 satisfy the following relationships:
1/10 ≤ W21/W22 < 3/5
1/5 ≤ W1/W2 < 2/5
(see Saito Fig. 3B, where W21/W22 = 1/3, which meets both claimed ranges).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is cited as related art.
Conclusion
/CARLA J THERRIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852