DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The office action is in response to the claims filed on August 20, 2026 for the application filed June 12, 2025 which claims priority to a provisional application filed on October 1, 2020. Claims 1-13 and 15-22 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “wherein the sensor is of an infrared type, an electromagnetic type, an acoustic wave type, a visual image type, or a pressure sensing type” while independent claim 1 recites “an inductive sensor comprising a coil” as the sensor type. It is therefore unclear as to what the whether the sensor is an inductive sensor comprising a coil type, an infrared type, an electromagnetic type, an acoustic wave type, a visual image type, or a pressure sensing type, rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dein (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0317002).
Regarding claim 15, Dien discloses a surgical needle counting system for an operating room (Paragraph [0064]), comprising:
a counting apparatus (Paragraph [0064], container 200 is configured to identify and count a surgical sharp object, such as a needle 205 or other sharp object, such as a scalpel blade 210. Also see figs. 2A-2D and 12A-12D.);
a removable collecting enclosure positioned at an exit of the counting apparatus (Paragraph [0066], After the surgical sharp object (e.g., needle) is identified, the horizontal platform 240 opens like a trap door to allow the counted needle 205 to fall by gravity into the lower chamber 235 of the container. …lower chamber 235 will be separated from the remainder of the container and discarded at the end of the operation. Also see figs. 2A-2D and 12A-12D.);
wherein the counting apparatus includes a sensor for sensing a surgical needle when the surgical needle is dropped into the counting apparatus, the counting apparatus being configured for storing a number of counted surgical needles (Paragraph [0066], camera 215 within the sterile case 217 detects the needle 205 or scalpel blade 210 dropped into the chute 230 after it is released from needle holder 225 and lands on the horizontal platform 240. The sharp object is then identified and counted, and the system introduces this information into a database which contains a record of the number and type of sharp objects counted into the operation.);
wherein the counting apparatus includes a camera configured to take a picture inside of the counting apparatus after the surgical needle is dropped into the counting apparatus, wherein a processor is configured to perform image recognition on the picture to determine the number of counted surgical needles (Paragraph [0064], As the presence of the dropped needle is sensed by a sensor (not shown), camera 215 enclosed within a sterile case 217 is activated to capture image data, e.g., in the form of a video or multiple still photos, as the sharp object slides down the incline 220. Camera 215 may be capable of capturing image data at many frames per second, which allows for identification of the shape of the particular needle 205, and in some embodiments, characteristics such as the texture, shape, or color of the associated suture 207. The image data obtained by the camera is compared by the system (e.g., in computer memory) to data representing the items that have been registered and counted as present at the operation. After identifying the surgical sharp object, the system counts the discarded item out of the operation (e.g., “checked out”). Paragraph [0066], camera 215 within the sterile case 217 detects the needle 205 or scalpel blade 210 dropped into the chute 230 after it is released from needle holder 225 and lands on the horizontal platform 240. The sharp object is then identified and counted, and the system introduces this information into a database which contains a record of the number and type of sharp objects counted into the operation. Also see paragraphs [0065] and [0067].)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-12 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dein (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0317002) in view of Japuntich (U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0080223).
Regarding claim 1, Dein discloses a surgical needle counting system for an operating room (Paragraph [0064]), comprising:
a counting apparatus (Paragraph [0064], container 200 is configured to identify and count a surgical sharp object, such as a needle 205 or other sharp object, such as a scalpel blade 210. Also see figs. 2A-2D and 12A-12D.);
a removable collecting enclosure positioned at an exit of the counting apparatus (Paragraph [0066], After the surgical sharp object (e.g., needle) is identified, the horizontal platform 240 opens like a trap door to allow the counted needle 205 to fall by gravity into the lower chamber 235 of the container. …lower chamber 235 will be separated from the remainder of the container and discarded at the end of the operation. Also see figs. 2A-2D and 12A-12D.);
wherein the counting apparatus includes an Paragraph [0066], camera 215 within the sterile case 217 detects the needle 205 or scalpel blade 210 dropped into the chute 230 after it is released from needle holder 225 and lands on the horizontal platform 240. The sharp object is then identified and counted, and the system introduces this information into a database which contains a record of the number and type of sharp objects counted into the operation.).
Dien further discloses using inductive detection for marking or identifying a surgical needle as it is counted (Paragraph [0103]) but does not appear to explicitly disclose that the sensor is an inductive sensor comprising a coil for sensing a surgical needle by detecting a change in impedance of the coil when the surgical needle is dropped into the counting apparatus.
Japuntich teaches that it was old and well known in the art of sharps containers at the time of the filing to provide a sharps counting container that includes an inductive sensor comprising a coil for sensing a surgical needle by detecting a change in impedance of the coil when the surgical needle is dropped into the sharps counting container (Japuntich, claim 23, A medical device comprising: a medical waste container configured to receive one or more medical waste items deposited therein; a sensor associated with the waste container for sensing a state of the waste container and for generating a signal representative thereof... Claim 30, The medical device of claim 23, wherein the state of the waste container is representative of one or more of the following:… a count of medical waste items deposited in the waste container… Claim 31, The medical device of claim 23, wherein the sensor comprises at least one of the following:… an inductance sensor… Also see paragraphs [0033], [0066] and [0070] and Figs. 2 and 10. Inductive sensors used for detection/counting of metallic objects are construed as including a coil for detecting a change in impedance of the coil (i.e. by generating eddy currents when the metallic object enters the field of the inductive sensor and detecting the resulting changes of the coil’s impedance).).
Dien discloses the use of a sensor Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of sharps containers at the time of the filing to modify the counting apparatus of Dien to include an inductive sensor comprising a coil for sensing a surgical needle by detecting a change in impedance of the coil when the surgical needle is dropped into the counting apparatus, as taught by Japuntich, as this is merely a simple substitution of the sensor of Dien for the inductive sensor comprising a coil for detecting changes in impedance of Japuntich to obtain the predictable result of a count of surgical needles dropped in the apparatus.
.
Regarding claim 2, Dein further discloses wherein once a needle is sensed as having been deposited in the counting apparatus, the deposited needle count is increased by one and a visible or audible signal is provided (Paragraph [0066], camera 215 within the sterile case 217 detects the needle 205 or scalpel blade 210 dropped into the chute 230 after it is released from needle holder 225 and lands on the horizontal platform 240. The sharp object is then identified and counted, and the system introduces this information into a database which contains a record of the number and type of sharp objects counted into the operation. Paragraph [0068], input/output hardware or communication links with other components of a system to report results (e.g., a display unit, or automated speech confirmation of a counted or identified item.).
Regarding claim 3, Dein further discloses wherein once a needle is sensed as having been deposited in the counting apparatus, the deposited needle count is increased by one and stored in an electronic memory to track total needle usage for an operation (Paragraph [0066], camera 215 within the sterile case 217 detects the needle 205 or scalpel blade 210 dropped into the chute 230 after it is released from needle holder 225 and lands on the horizontal platform 240. The sharp object is then identified and counted, and the system introduces this information into a database which contains a record of the number and type of sharp objects counted into the operation.).
Regarding claim 4, Dein further discloses wherein wireless or near field communication is used to provide an updated count to a registered mobile device in the operating room (Paragraph [0120], The identifying information 1505 is transmitted via cable or wirelessly to the central processing unit 1510. The information 1505 is time-stamped indicating whether or not the sponge 1520, or sharp objects 1515 were present at any particular time during the operation. The information is then transmitted to a display unit 1550, such as a flat panel LED or plasma monitor. The information is then displayed for all pertinent personnel present at the operation to see. Paragraph [0131], The display units of the subject invention can be any convenient type of monitor operatively coupled to a CPU and can be of any convenient size suitable to allow visualization by key operating room personnel. The display unit can be free-standing; e.g., can be placed on a table, or it can be mounted to a stand or a wall in any convenient location.).
Regarding claim 5, Dein further discloses wherein a deposited needle count is transmitted to a secure remote database for tracking and storing an operation’s needle usage (Paragraph [0066], camera 215 within the sterile case 217 detects the needle 205 or scalpel blade 210 dropped into the chute 230 after it is released from needle holder 225 and lands on the horizontal platform 240. The sharp object is then identified and counted, and the system introduces this information into a database which contains a record of the number and type of sharp objects counted into the operation. Also see paragraphs [0126], [0130] and [0141].).
Regarding claim 9, Dein further discloses wherein the counting apparatus is configured to track a number of needles and needle types that have been introduced into a sterile operating field for potential use and stores and provides an introduced needle metric to a mobile device application (Paragraph [0064], The image data obtained by the camera is compared by the system (e.g., in computer memory) to data representing the items that have been registered and counted as present at the operation. After identifying the surgical sharp object, the system counts the discarded item out of the operation (e.g., “checked out”). Paragraph [0068], one or more containers for identification and disposal of a surgical sharp object. Paragraph [0060], The container may also include a display unit for displaying identifying information of the surgical sharp object, as well as additional derived information, such as the current counts of the number and type of items that have been placed in the container. Also see paragraph [0088]. Paragraph [0120], the identifying information 1505 is transmitted via cable or wirelessly to the central processing unit 1510.).
Regarding claim 10, Dein further discloses wherein the counting apparatus is configured to reconcile the deposited needle count with the introduced needle metric (Paragraph [0064], The image data obtained by the camera is compared by the system (e.g., in computer memory) to data representing the items that have been registered and counted as present at the operation. After identifying the surgical sharp object, the system counts the discarded item out of the operation (e.g., “checked out”). Paragraph [0060], The container may also include a display unit for displaying identifying information of the surgical sharp object, as well as additional derived information, such as the current counts of the number and type of items that have been placed in the container. Also see figs. 16-18.).
Regarding claim 11, Dein further discloses wherein the sensor is of an infrared type, an electromagnetic type, an acoustic wave type, a visual image type, or a pressure sensing type (Paragraphs [0059] and [0081]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 12, Dein further discloses wherein the removable collecting enclosure comprises a magnet attached to a bottom surface (Paragraph [0067], horizontal platform 240 at the bottom of the disposal container… which can incorporate a magnet 245. Also see paragraph [0036].).
Regarding claim 18, Dein further discloses wherein the removable collecting enclosure includes a magnet in a base portion for attracting needles deposited therein (Paragraph [0067], horizontal platform 240 at the bottom of the disposal container… which can incorporate a magnet 245… which limits motion of the counted items. Also see paragraph [0036].).
Regarding claim 19, Dein further discloses wherein the sensor comprises multiple sensors, wherein the system includes logic for preventing double counting of a needle based on signals provided by the multiple sensors (Paragraph [0059], The container may include a synchronizing sensor for detecting the presence of a surgical item to be identified, and determining when an object is in position to be evaluated. The synchronizing sensor can be any suitable sensor, such as an optical or magnetic sensor, where the sensor can trigger image acquisition and processing by the imaging device of the container. Paragraph [0114], the system is configured to identify a given sharp object as it enters the disposal unit, and/or the system is configured to account for the time-stamped, counted status of the previously discarded sharp items present in container 1255. Therefore, manual recounts of the previously counted discarded sharp objects 1235 are not necessary, which improves surgical staff safety.).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dein (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0317002) in view of Japuntich (U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0080223) and Cowand (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0173287).
Regarding claim 7, Dein further discloses wherein a deposited needle count is transmitted to a remote database (Paragraphs [0066] and [0141]), but does not appear to explicitly disclose where a local deposited needle count is maintained in case of communication failure or failure of a user interface device, wherein upon restoration of communication or the user interface device, the local deposited needle count is transmitted to the remote database.
Cowand teaches that it was old and well known in the art of healthcare data communication at the time of the filing where a local medical data is maintained in case of communication failure or failure of a user interface device, wherein upon restoration of communication or the user interface device, the local medical data is transmitted to the remote database (Cowand, paragraph [0037], Under normal operating conditions, MCK will not store any records locally, but rather will immediately upload all records to central server 150 and then delete any local copy. In the event of a communication failure between MCK and central server 150, MCK will store data in a local database until communication with the central server 150 is restored. Once communication is restored, all local copies will be deleted. Also see paragraph [0030].) to ensure that all records are maintained in the heavily secured central database (Cowand, paragraph [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of healthcare data communication at the time of the filing to modify the system of Dein such that a local deposited needle count is maintained in case of communication failure or failure of a user interface device, wherein upon restoration of communication or the user interface device, the local deposited needle count is transmitted to the remote database, as taught by Cowand, in order to ensure that all records are maintained in the heavily secured central database.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dein (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0317002) in view of Japuntich (U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0080223) and Jaber et al. (Int. Pub. No. WO2017/035474).
Regarding claim 8, Dein further discloses wherein the deposited needle count for the removable collecting enclosure is transmitted to a remote database (Paragraph [0141], Finally, an electronic digital record of the count generated by the invention can be entered into an electronic database for the operation and kept for future medical and medico-legal reference. Also see paragraph [0066].), but does not appear to explicitly disclose, wherein when a deposited needle count threshold is reached, the counting apparatus provides an audible or visual signal to replace the removable collecting enclosure with another.
Jaber teaches that it was old and well known in the art of sharps containment and tracking at the time of the filing wherein when a deposited needle count threshold is reached, the counting apparatus provides an audible or visual signal to replace the removable collecting enclosure with another (Jaber, paragraph [0052], The alert system 51 may include an audio output 64 and/or a display 40. The audio output 64, e.g., a speaker, may emit an audio alert, such as a chime, beep, verbal information, and the like, in response to receiving a full signal S70 from the controller 68 that indicates the counted quantity of sharps BBx disposed in the container 45 being the maximum quantity. Likewise, the display 40 may present text 42 (FIG. 2), a blinking light, blinking display characters, and the like, in response to receiving a full signal S70 from the controller 68.Also see paragraphs [0049]-[0051].) to inhibit or otherwise prevent additional sharps from being inserted when a maximum quantity of sharps in the container is reached (Jaber, paragraph [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of sharps containment and tracking at the time of the filing to modify the system of Dein such that when a deposited needle count threshold is reached, the counting apparatus provides an audible or visual signal to replace the removable collecting enclosure with another, as taught by Jaber, in order to inhibit or otherwise prevent additional sharps from being inserted when a maximum quantity of sharps in the container is reached.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dein (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0317002) in view of Japuntich (U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0080223) and Zhang (Int. Pub. No. WO2015/110056)
Regarding claim 13, Dein does not appear to explicitly disclose, but Zhang teaches that it was old and well known in the art of sharps counting devices to provide a hub for wirelessly charging the counting apparatus (Zhang, paragraph 19, The sensor 5, the counter 4, the display 3 and/or the speaker 6 are all connected to the power source 7 via a power switch 8, the counter 4 is connected to the sensor 5, the display 3 and/or the speaker 6, respectively, as shown in FIG. The power source 7 can be a wireless or wired charging battery, so that the power can be used independently of the power supply, or can be used while charging, and of course, the AC power can be directly used.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of sharps counting devices at the time of the filing to modify the system of Dein to include provide a hub for wirelessly charging the counting apparatus, as taught by Zhang, in order to allow the counting apparatus to be use independently from a power supply.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dein (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0317002) in view of Japuntich (U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0080223) and Berning (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0013191).
Regarding claim 16, Dein further discloses a user interface (Figs. 16-18), but does not appear to explicitly disclose a user interface for receipt of a manual count adjustment.
Berning teaches that it was old and well known in the art of needle counting at the time of the filing to provide a user interface for receipt of a manual count adjustment (Berning, paragraph [0096], In some embodiments, the user may utilize the user interface on the touch screen device 16 to adjust the initial quantity 24 of the at least one surgical needle. Paragraph [0101], After at least one of the at least one surgical needle 26 exiting the surgical field (at step 1104), methods may include the touch screen device 16 receiving a manual input 84 (at step 1106). The manual input 84 may include a manual final quantity 86 of the at least one surgical needle 26.) to augment current manual surgical item counting practices (Berning, paragraph [0082]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of needle counting at the time of the filing to modify the user interface of Dein allow for receipt of a manual count adjustment, as taught by Berning, in order to all the system to augment current manual surgical item counting practices.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dein (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0317002) in view of Japuntich (U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0080223) and Tsui (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0253055).
Regarding claim 17, Dein does not appear to explicitly disclose, but Tsui teaches that it was old and well known in the art of containers at the time of the filing wherein the removable collecting enclosure is collapsible, expandable, and self-sealing, wherein the removable collecting enclosure is configured for expansion in the operating room prior to connection to the counting apparatus, wherein said self-sealing is configured to prevent needles therein from exposure including when the removable collecting enclosure is dropped (Paragraph [0004], expanded for use and collapsed to a compact state for storage or transport. Paragraph [0006], A lid removably engages the top shell tier to seal the collapsible insert container within a volume enclosed by the lid and the shell. Paragraph [0068], he respective shells 17/17′, 52, and 118 of the illustrated containers, the top tier, bottom tier, and/or middle tier may be rigid and composed of polypropylene, the flexible tiers being a thermoplastic elastomer overmolded onto the polypropylene.) to make the container convenient for storage and transportation (Tsui, paragraph [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of containers at the time of the invention to modify the removable collecting enclosure of Dein to be collapsible, expandable, and self-sealing and configured for expansion in the operating room prior to connection to the counting apparatus, wherein said self-sealing is configured to prevent needles therein from exposure including when the removable collecting enclosure is dropped, as taught by Tsui, in order to make the enclosure convenient for storage and transportation.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dein (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0317002) in view of Japuntich (U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0080223) and Finnestad et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0155400).
Regarding claim 20, Dein further discloses an intake funnel configured to guide a needle through the sensor and into the removable collecting enclosure (Paragraph [0064], The needle 205 is released and allowed to drop into the chute 230 and onto an incline 220. As the presence of the dropped needle is sensed by a sensor (not shown), camera 215 enclosed within a sterile case 217 is activated to capture image data, e.g., in the form of a video or multiple still photos, as the sharp object slides down the incline 220. Paragraph [0065], After dynamic automated shape recognition of the surgical sharp object as it slides down the incline 220, the counted item falls into the lower chamber 235 of the disposal device containing the previously counted and discarded items.).
Dein does not appear to explicitly disclose the intake funnel coated with hydro-phobic material .
Finnestad teaches that it was old and well known in the art of sharps containers at the time of the filing to provide an intake funnel coated with hydro-phobic material (Finnestad, paragraph [0020], In the molding process, the siloxane polymers migrate to and modify the exterior surfaces of the molded polyolefin part. Paragraph [0021], it has been discovered that modifying polyolefin parts using siloxane processing aids are particularly beneficial for a counterbalanced door of a medical waste disposal system. The resulting molded polyolefin part exhibits decreased surface energy, decreased warping and fatigue during reported use, and improved abrasion resistance. It follows that the coefficient of friction of the external surfaces of the door is also decreased. Paragraph [0022], The resulting decreased coefficient of friction of the polyolefin door promotes sliding or rolling of small sized sharps along the surface of the door and precludes the medical professional from physically contacting the medical waste disposal system. Paragraph [0023], The sharp slides off of the treated surface of the door 20 and descends into the medical waste receptacle 12.) to make the sharp more apt to slide or roll down the support surface by virtue of the reduced coefficient of friction of the door surface (Finnestad, paragraph [0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of sharps containers at the time of the filing to modify the intake funnel of Dein to be coated with hydro-phobic material, as taught by Finnestad, in order to make the needle more apt to slide or roll down the intake funnel by virtue of the reduced coefficient of friction of the intake funnel.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 21-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6, the closest prior art of record does not disclose, teach or suggest to transmit to a mobile device application and a backend database, the closed count and an identification of the new removable collecting enclosure when a new removable collecting enclosure is attached to the counting apparatus.
Regarding claim 21, the closest prior art of record does not disclose, teach or suggest wherein the inductive sensor further comprises a substantially cylindrical portion to which the coil is responsive, wherein the cylindrical portion is configured to receive the surgical needle as it is dropped into the counting apparatus.
Regarding claim 22, the closest prior art of record does not disclose, teach or suggest wherein the inductive sensor further comprises an oval-shaped opening to receive the surgical needle as it is dropped into the counting apparatus and an oval-shaped funnel to retain the coil.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed August 20, 2026 with respect to the objection of claim 6 has been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claim 6 as set forth in the previous action has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments filed August 20, 2026 with respect to the double patenting rejection of claims 1-20 has been fully considered and are persuasive. The double patenting rejection of claims 1-20 as set forth in the previous action has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments filed August 20, 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 2-4 under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) has been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 2-4 under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) as set forth in the previous action has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments filed August 20, 2026 with respect to claim 1 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments filed August 20, 2026 with respect to claim 15 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the camera of Dein performs imaging before the needle drops into the storage chamber and thus does not disclose taking a picture inside of the counting apparatus after the surgical needle is dropped into the counting apparatus.
In response, the counting apparatus of Dein is construed as including the chute and lower platform where needle is imaged after releasing the needle into the chute. The lower chamber is construed as the removable collecting enclosure.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEVIN C HEIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3686