This Office action is in response to communications filed on 6/12/2025.
Claims 1-9 are pending.
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitations recite "receive an operation request for a device of the one or more devices to capture an image data from the communication terminal." The limitation, as recited, could be interpreted in two different ways: (1) the operation request is received from the communication terminal and (2) the capturing is performed at the communication terminal. Therefore, the scope of the claim is indefinite. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as receiving the operation request from the communication terminal.
Regarding claims 2-7, the limitations invoke, by reference, all of the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claims 2-7 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 9, the limitations recite features similar in scope to those of claim 1. Therefore, claim 9 is rejected for similar reasons as those set forth in the rejection of claim 1, above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(2) as being anticipated by Woo et al. (US 20230127695 A1, hereinafter Woo).
Regarding claim 1, Woo discloses a management system for managing an event executed between a communication terminal used by a user and one or more devices, the management system comprising circuitry (¶[0071]; Fig. 2D; Fig. 3B, ¶[0054], "users joining the meeting hosted by the application backend") configured to:
acquire access information for accessing storage that is accessible by the user (¶[0045], "obtain an artifact token. Application 106 may also submit artifact token request 210 to an artifact token server"; ¶[0048], "Artifact token 218 may include authenticated identity 117 of user 102 and as many of permissions 116 as are needed to perform the requested operation 217"; ¶[0044], "Request operation 217 may identify an operation of cloud service 214 such as file upload operation"; ¶[0050], "application 106 provides active user token 114 to application backend 232 where it is stored in user token store 231");
receive an operation request for a device of the one or more devices to capture an image data from the communication terminal (¶[0011], "user may setup the meeting to be automatically recorded, and for the meeting application to automatically upload the recording to the scheduling user's cloud storage folder"); and
upload, to the storage, the image data acquired by the device according to the operation request, using the access information (¶[0055], "the application backend requesting authorization to upload a recording of the meeting to the user's cloud storage folder. This is an example of authorization based on an active user token. As illustrated, meeting 204 has ended, causing meeting recording 321 to be finalized. In some configurations, application backend 232 may request authorization before invoking file upload operation 213. For example, application backend 232 may submit upload authorization request 322 containing active user token 314A and operation identifier 315 to authorization module 212 of cloud service 214"; ¶[0056], "the application backend uploading the recording of the meeting to the user's cloud storage folder").
Regarding claim 2, Woo discloses the management system of claim 1, wherein the circuitry generates operation information associated with operation identification information (¶[0071]; ¶[0044], "Request operation 217 may identify an operation of cloud service 214") and
the access information (¶[0071]; ¶[0045], "obtain an artifact token. Application 106 may also submit artifact token request 210 to an artifact token server"; ¶[0048], "Artifact token 218 may include authenticated identity 117 of user 102 and as many of permissions 116 as are needed to perform the requested operation 217"),
the operation identification information identifying a device operation corresponding to the operation request (¶[0044], "Request operation 217 may identify an operation of cloud service 214"),
the access information being associated with the user and used to access storage (¶[0048], "Artifact token 218 may include authenticated identity 117 of user 102 and as many of permissions 116 as are needed to perform the requested operation 217").
Regarding claim 3, Woo discloses the management system of claim 1, wherein the one or more devices is not authenticated by the user that performs an operation instruction (¶[0054], "Application backend 232 stores active user tokens 314A-C in user token store 231, enabling application backend 232 to access cloud services on behalf of users 102, 302B, and 302C during meeting 204" (i.e., the user did not authenticate the backend, the backend authenticated itself with the token)).
Regarding claim 4, Woo discloses the management system of claim 1, wherein the circuitry performs authentication processing for the user, thereby acquiring the access information for an authenticated user (¶[0035], "In the process of performing the login request 104, application 106 uses secure token server 110 to authenticate login credentials 105. Secure token server 110 is responsible for issuing, validating, renewing and cancelling security tokens"; ¶[0036], "Secure token server 110 authenticates the identity of user 102 from login credentials 105. If user 102 can be authenticated, secure token server 110 generates active user token 114").
Regarding claim 5, Woo discloses the management system of claim 1, wherein the access information is an authorization token (¶[0048], "Artifact token 218 may include authenticated identity 117 of user 102 and as many of permissions 116 as are needed to perform the requested operation 217").
Regarding claim 6, Woo discloses the management system of claim 1, wherein the storage is online storage (¶[0055], "cloud storage folder").
Regarding claim 7, Woo discloses the management system of claim 1, wherein the circuitry receives the operation request for a specific device specified by the user (¶[0055], "requesting authorization to upload a recording of the meeting to the user's cloud storage folder").
Regarding claim 8, Woo discloses a communication system (¶[0071] and Figs. 1A to Fig. 6) comprising:
a management system configured to manage an event executed between a communication terminal used by a user and one or more devices (¶[0071]; Fig. 2D; Fig. 3B, ¶[0054], "users joining the meeting hosted by the application backend"); and
a communication terminal including communication terminal circuitry configured to transmit an operation request for a device of the one or more devices to capture an image data to the management system (¶[0011], "user may setup the meeting to be automatically recorded, and for the meeting application to automatically upload the recording to the scheduling user's cloud storage folder"), wherein the management system includes:
circuitry configured to: acquire access information for accessing storage that is accessible by the user (¶[0045], "obtain an artifact token. Application 106 may also submit artifact token request 210 to an artifact token server"; ¶[0048], "Artifact token 218 may include authenticated identity 117 of user 102 and as many of permissions 116 as are needed to perform the requested operation 217"; ¶[0044], "Request operation 217 may identify an operation of cloud service 214 such as file upload operation"; ¶[0050], "application 106 provides active user token 114 to application backend 232 where it is stored in user token store 231"); and
upload, to the storage, the image data acquired by the device according to the operation request, using the access information (¶[0055], "the application backend requesting authorization to upload a recording of the meeting to the user's cloud storage folder. This is an example of authorization based on an active user token. As illustrated, meeting 204 has ended, causing meeting recording 321 to be finalized. In some configurations, application backend 232 may request authorization before invoking file upload operation 213. For example, application backend 232 may submit upload authorization request 322 containing active user token 314A and operation identifier 315 to authorization module 212 of cloud service 214"; ¶[0056], "the application backend uploading the recording of the meeting to the user's cloud storage folder").
Regarding claim 9, Woo discloses an information processing method of managing an event executed between a communication terminal used by a user and one or more devices (¶[0071]; Fig. 2D; Fig. 3B, ¶[0054], "users joining the meeting hosted by the application backend"; ¶[0017], "methods"), the information processing method comprising:
acquiring access information for accessing storage that is accessible by the user (¶[0045], "obtain an artifact token. Application 106 may also submit artifact token request 210 to an artifact token server"; ¶[0048], "Artifact token 218 may include authenticated identity 117 of user 102 and as many of permissions 116 as are needed to perform the requested operation 217"; ¶[0044], "Request operation 217 may identify an operation of cloud service 214 such as file upload operation"; ¶[0050], "application 106 provides active user token 114 to application backend 232 where it is stored in user token store 231");
receiving an operation request for a device of the one or more devices to capture an image data from the communication terminal (¶[0011], "user may setup the meeting to be automatically recorded, and for the meeting application to automatically upload the recording to the scheduling user's cloud storage folder"); and
uploading, to the storage, the image data acquired by the device according to the operation request, using the access information (¶[0055], "the application backend requesting authorization to upload a recording of the meeting to the user's cloud storage folder. This is an example of authorization based on an active user token. As illustrated, meeting 204 has ended, causing meeting recording 321 to be finalized. In some configurations, application backend 232 may request authorization before invoking file upload operation 213. For example, application backend 232 may submit upload authorization request 322 containing active user token 314A and operation identifier 315 to authorization module 212 of cloud service 214"; ¶[0056], "the application backend uploading the recording of the meeting to the user's cloud storage folder").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (WO 2021169863 A1, hereinafter Cheng).
Regarding claim 1, Cheng discloses a management system for managing an event executed between a communication terminal used by a user and one or more devices, the management system comprising circuitry (page 10 ¶16 to page 11, ¶1; page 10, ¶11, "the system architecture may include terminal devices 501 and 502, a network 503, and a server 504. The network 503 is used to provide a medium for communication links between the terminal devices 501 and 502 and the server 504") configured to:
acquire access information for accessing storage that is accessible by the user (page 8, ¶2, "Determine a storage address"; page 4, ¶1, "users can access the storage data at any time");
receive an operation request for a device of the one or more devices to capture an image data from the communication terminal (page 8, ¶6, conference participant who sends a recording instructions; page 3, ¶9-12, "receive multimedia data streams sent by users […] based on the multimedia data stream sent by the participant users, generate storage data of the multimedia conference"); and
upload, to the storage, the image data acquired by the device according to the operation request, using the access information (page 3, ¶12, "generate storage data" from the "multimedia data stream"; page 3, ¶11, may be a "video stream"; page 3, ¶18, "Store the stored data in the cloud"; page 8, ¶3, "Here, the storage address can be the address where the data is stored in the cloud").
Regarding claim 2, Cheng discloses the management system of claim 1, wherein the circuitry generates operation information associated with operation identification information (page 8, ¶9, "transmit […] identification information corresponding to the stored data to the user ) and
the access information (page 8, ¶5, Associate the storage address with the user ID of the preset user),
the operation identification information identifying a device operation corresponding to the operation request (page 8, ¶9, "transmit […] identification information corresponding to the stored data to the user (i.e., it identifies that the data has been stored)),
the access information being associated with the user and used to access storage (page 8, ¶5, Associate the storage address with the user ID of the preset user; page 8, ¶8, The stored data can be determined by presetting the user ID of the user; page 8, ¶9, "transmit stored data information including address information indicating a storage address and identification information corresponding to the stored data to the user).
Regarding claim 3, Cheng discloses the management system of claim 1, wherein the one or more devices is not authenticated by the user that performs an operation instruction (In Cheng, there is no authentication for the one or more devices by the user).
Regarding claim 6, Cheng discloses the management system of claim 1, wherein the storage is online storage (page 8, ¶3, "Here, the storage address can be the address where the data is stored in the cloud").
Regarding claim 8, Cheng discloses a communication system comprising:
a management system configured to manage an event executed between a communication terminal used by a user and one or more devices (page 10, ¶11, "the system architecture may include terminal devices 501 and 502, a network 503, and a server 504. The network 503 is used to provide a medium for communication links between the terminal devices 501 and 502 and the server 504"); and
a communication terminal including communication terminal circuitry configured to transmit an operation request for a device of the one or more devices to capture an image data to the management system (page 8, ¶6, conference participant who sends a recording instructions; page 3, ¶9-12, "receive multimedia data streams sent by users […] based on the multimedia data stream sent by the participant users, generate storage data of the multimedia conference"), wherein the management system includes:
circuitry configured to: acquire access information for accessing storage that is accessible by the user (page 8, ¶2, "Determine a storage address"; page 4, ¶1, "users can access the storage data at any time";); and
upload, to the storage, the image data acquired by the device according to the operation request, using the access information (page 3, ¶12, "generate storage data" from the "multimedia data stream"; page 3, ¶11, may be a "video stream"; page 3, ¶18, "Store the stored data in the cloud"; page 8, ¶3, "Here, the storage address can be the address where the data is stored in the cloud").
Regarding claim 9, Cheng discloses an information processing method of managing an event executed between a communication terminal used by a user and one or more devices (abstract, "method"; page 10, ¶11, "the system architecture may include terminal devices 501 and 502, a network 503, and a server 504. The network 503 is used to provide a medium for communication links between the terminal devices 501 and 502 and the server 504"), the information processing method comprising:
acquiring access information for accessing storage that is accessible by the user (page 8, ¶2, "Determine a storage address"; page 4, ¶1, "users can access the storage data at any time";);
receiving an operation request for a device of the one or more devices to capture an image data from the communication terminal (page 8, ¶6, conference participant who sends a recording instructions; page 3, ¶9-12, "receive multimedia data streams sent by users […] based on the multimedia data stream sent by the participant users, generate storage data of the multimedia conference"); and
uploading, to the storage, the image data acquired by the device according to the operation request, using the access information (page 3, ¶12, "generate storage data" from the "multimedia data stream"; page 3, ¶11, may be a "video stream"; page 3, ¶18, "Store the stored data in the cloud"; page 8, ¶3, "Here, the storage address can be the address where the data is stored in the cloud").
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng (WO 2021169863 A1) in view of Kimball et al. (US 20210014287 A1, hereinafter Kimball).
Regarding claim 4, Cheng discloses the management system of claim 1, wherein the circuitry performs processing for the user, thereby acquiring the access information for a user (page 8, ¶2, "Determine a storage address"; page 8 ¶5, "Associate the storage address with the user ID").
Cheng does not disclose that the processing is authentication processing, and thereby the user is an authenticated user.
Kimball discloses that processing may be authentication processing, and thereby the user is an authenticated user (¶[0070], "a software package such as an application running on client device 150, can programmatically make API calls directly to content management system 110 when a user provides authentication credentials, to read, write, create, delete, share, or otherwise manipulate content"; ¶[0102], "authenticate client device 150 via authentication service").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Cheng and Kimball to arrive at a system in which the processing is authentication processing, and thereby the user is an authenticated user.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would prevent malicious actors from accessing the storage functions.
Regarding claim 5, Cheng discloses the management system of claim 1.
Cheng does not disclose that the access information is an authorization token.
Kimball discloses that access information may be an authorization token (¶[0072], "client device 150 can act on behalf of the user without the user having physical access to client device 150, for example when client device 150 is a server"; ¶[0106], "content management system 110 (e.g., filesystem interface 202, authorization service 132, or content storage interface 206) can generate a token that verifies or indicates that client device 150 is authorized to access, update, download, or upload a requested content item. The token can include a device identifier associated with client device 150, an account identifier associated with a user account authenticated or authorized at client device 150, a session identifier associated with an authorized session at client device 150, a view context, an encryption key, access permissions to identified content item(s), etc. [...] content storage interface 206) can send the token(s) to client device 150, and client device 150 can provide the token to content management system 110 when requesting content item revisions and/or updates to filesystem 148"; ¶[0107], " client device 150 can send to content storage interface 206 a request to upload a content item to content storage 142. The request can include the token and the content item to be uploaded. Content storage interface 206 can use the token to authorize a query to storage index 210 to check if the content item already exists on content storage 142, and/or authorize the upload of the content item to content storage 142").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Cheng and Kimball to arrive at a system in which the access information is an authorization token.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would prevent malicious actors from accessing the storage functions.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng (WO 2021169863 A1) in view of Wyss (US 20070297577 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Cheng discloses the management system of claim 1, wherein the circuitry receives the operation request for a specific device (page 3, ¶19, " recording instruction of the multimedia conference The storage data of the meeting can then be stored in the cloud").
Cheng does not disclose that the specific device is specified by the user.
Wyss discloses that the device is specified by the user (¶[0026], "Recording Server 26 receiving a notification to record a specified communication (stage 202). The notification may be received simultaneously as a communication is processed, or may occur before or after depending upon the operator's recording needs. In the illustrative embodiment, the notification includes information identifying the communication to be recorded as well as a set of configuration options. This identifying information may include the agent station on which the communication to be recorded will take place, a secure device fingerprint, a unique communication identifier, or any other identifier known to one of skill in the art. Additionally, the configurations options may include, but are in no way limited to, the amount of each communication to record, the method of storage for the communication, a selected recording format, and/or a storage location").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Cheng and Wyss to arrive at a system in which the specific device is specified by the user.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would provide a user with the freedom to select a storage location that best suits the user's needs.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 10785450 B1, which discloses " it is determined that at least one recording threshold criteria is met. In some embodiments, a recording threshold criteria can be determined by the conference server 150 based on a request from a participant who is unable to attend. For example, a user 130E that cannot attend the conference session may reply to an invitation to the conference session by email with a request for the recording of the conference session. The request can be written in a body of a reply email and can be parsed by the conferences management server 150. Conference management server 150, based on the request for the recording of the conference session from the user 150, determines that the recording threshold criteria is met and starts the recording of the conference session" (col. 1, lines 27-40).
US 20160269449 A1, which discloses "meeting publishing system 310 identifies a request to record a meeting. This request may be initiated by a conferencing system that acts as a centralized service to manage a meeting between a plurality of participants and one or more end devices, may be initiated by the recording system responsible for recording the meeting, or may be initiated based on request to record a communication between a pool of existing communication participants. In response to the record request, meeting publishing system identifies meeting properties from meeting property sources 314. Meeting property sources 314 may comprise the conferencing system that manages the communication between the participants, the client devices used by the participants in the meeting, a database associated with the participants in the meeting, or some other property source, including combinations thereof. The properties retrieved from meeting property source 314 may include information about the participants in the meeting, the topic and content of the meeting, or any other similar property associated with the meeting" (¶[0035]).
US 20110173270 A1, which discloses "The update request may include a request to alter some aspect of the desktop recording that has been transmitted and stored in the data repository. For example, the update request may inquire whether the user wishes to delete the entire desktop recording, delete any portion of the desktop recording, change the content of the desktop recording, or change the storage location in the data repository of the desktop recording" (¶[0049]).
/BORIS D GRIJALVA LOBOS/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2496