DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 30, 2025, November 26, 2025, and November 26, 2025 were all filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Rejection mailed on October 10, 2025. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22, 29, 36, and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koerner et al. US 2017/0259486 in view of Akkapeddi et al. US 2011/0262668.
Regarding Claim 22, Koerner et al. discloses a container (container 10) comprising an open top, a closed bottom, and a wall portion between the open top and the closed bottom (‘486, FIG. 3A) (‘486, Paragraph [0036]). The wall portion comprises an outer surface and an inner surface, an outer layer (first layer 40) comprising a polyethylene terephthalate (PET) material, an inner layer (third layer 44) comprising the PET material (‘486, Paragraphs [0005], [0021], and [0044]-[0045]), and an intermediate layer (second layer 42) between the outer and inner layers, the intermediate layer (second layer 42 comprising an additive of active oxygen scavengers) (‘486, Paragraph [0005]) comprising a mixture of the PET material and an active oxygen scavenger material (‘486, Paragraphs [0005], [0041], and [0043]-[0044]). wherein the intermediate layer (second layer 42) comprises an upper end that is below the open top (‘486, FIG. 3A). The active oxygen scavenger material additive is between about 0.5 wt% to about 5.0 wt% of the container (‘486, Paragraphs [0005] and [0030]), which overlaps the claimed active oxygen scavenger material additive concentration of less than about 1.0 wt% of the container. Where the claimed oxygen scavenger material concentration of the container overlaps oxygen scavenger material concentrations disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.). Furthermore, Koerner et al. discloses a positive correlation between the oxygen scavenger material concentration with respect to the oxygen ingress wherein including more of the oxygen scavenger material inhibits oxygen ingress better than containers that include less of the scavenger (‘486, Paragraph [0031]). Differences in the concentration of the oxygen scavenger material in the container will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such oxygen scavenger material concentration in the container is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). One of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the concentration of oxygen scavenger material blended with the polyethylene terephthalate in the intermediate barrier layer of the food and beverage container based upon the desired degree of inhibition of oxygen ingress. Koerner et al. also discloses the container (container 10) is at least partially filled with a food item (‘486, Paragraph [0041]). The active oxygen scavenger forms a physical barrier resisting ingress of oxygen into the food item (‘486, FIG. 3A) (‘486, Paragraphs [0021], [0031], [0048], [0056]).
Further regarding Claim 22, Koerner et al. discloses a multilayered polyethylene terephthalate (PET) food or beverage container (‘486, Paragraph [0019]) comprising one or more active oxygen scavengers (‘486, Paragraphs [0043] and [0073]). However, Koerner et al. is silent regarding the active oxygen scavenger material comprising polytetramethylene ether glycol (PTMEG).
Akkapeddi et al. discloses a multilayer plastic container, preforms, and articles of manufacture providing a barrier to oxygen and other gases permeating through the layers of the container/preform wall (‘668, Paragraph [0001]) wherein an oxygen scavenger is incorporated into a multilayer plastic structure to remove oxygen initially present and/or generated from inside of the package and to retard the passage of exterior oxygen into the package in an active barrier layer (‘668, Paragraph [0005]) wherein polyamides or blends thereof are regarded as excellent passive barriers having the capability of becoming an active barrier layer, i.e. an oxygen scavenging layer upon mixture with a transition metal (‘668, Paragraph [0029]) wherein a polyester TPU comprising polytetramethylene ether glycol (PTMEG) is used as an adhesion promoting agent (‘668, Paragraph [0051]). The multilayered container is a food or beverage container (‘668, Paragraph [0063]) wherein the adhesion promoting additives are incorporated into the multilayered PET containers (‘668, Paragraph [0083]).
Both Koerner et al. and Akkapeddi et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of multilayered polyethylene terephthalate (PET) food or beverage containers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the multilayered PET food or beverage container of Koerner et al. and incorporate into the active oxygen scavenger material polytetramethylene ether glycol (PTMEG) as taught by Akkapeddi et al. since the selection of a known material (PTMEG) based on its suitability for its intended use (as a component of a multilayered PET food or beverage container) supports a prima facie obviousness determination in view of Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 29, Koerner et al. discloses a container (container 10) comprising an open top, a closed bottom, and a wall portion between the open top and the closed bottom (‘486, FIG. 3A) (‘486, Paragraph [0036]). The wall portion comprises an outer surface and an inner surface, an outer layer (first layer 40) comprising a polyethylene terephthalate (PET) material, an inner layer (third layer 44) comprising the PET material (‘486, Paragraphs [0005], [0021], and [0044]-[0045]), and an intermediate layer (second layer 42) between the outer and inner layers, the intermediate layer (second layer 42 comprising an additive of active oxygen scavengers) (‘486, Paragraph [0005]) comprising a mixture of the PET material and an active oxygen scavenger material (‘486, Paragraphs [0005], [0041], and [0043]-[0044]). wherein the intermediate layer (second layer 42) comprises an upper end that is below the open top (‘486, FIG. 3A). The active oxygen scavenger material additive is between about 0.5 wt% to about 5.0 wt% of the container (‘486, Paragraphs [0005] and [0030]), which overlaps the claimed active oxygen scavenger material additive concentration of less than about 1.0 wt% of the container. Where the claimed oxygen scavenger material concentration of the container overlaps oxygen scavenger material concentrations disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.). Furthermore, Koerner et al. discloses a positive correlation between the oxygen scavenger material concentration with respect to the oxygen ingress wherein including more of the oxygen scavenger material inhibits oxygen ingress better than containers that include less of the scavenger (‘486, Paragraph [0031]). Differences in the concentration of the oxygen scavenger material in the container will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such oxygen scavenger material concentration in the container is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). One of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the concentration of oxygen scavenger material blended with the polyethylene terephthalate in the intermediate barrier layer of the food and beverage container based upon the desired degree of inhibition of oxygen ingress. Koerner et al. also discloses the container (container 10) is at least partially filled with a food item (‘486, Paragraph [0041]). The active oxygen scavenger reacts with oxygen from the food item (‘486, Paragraph [0030]).
Further regarding Claim 29, Koerner et al. discloses a multilayered polyethylene terephthalate (PET) food or beverage container (‘486, Paragraph [0019]) comprising one or more active oxygen scavengers (‘486, Paragraphs [0043] and [0073]). However, Koerner et al. is silent regarding the active oxygen scavenger material comprising polytetramethylene ether glycol (PTMEG).
Akkapeddi et al. discloses a multilayer plastic container, preforms, and articles of manufacture providing a barrier to oxygen and other gases permeating through the layers of the container/preform wall (‘668, Paragraph [0001]) wherein an oxygen scavenger is incorporated into a multilayer plastic structure to remove oxygen initially present and/or generated from inside of the package and to retard the passage of exterior oxygen into the package in an active barrier layer (‘668, Paragraph [0005]) wherein polyamides or blends thereof are regarded as excellent passive barriers having the capability of becoming an active barrier layer, i.e. an oxygen scavenging layer upon mixture with a transition metal (‘668, Paragraph [0029]) wherein a polyester TPU comprising polytetramethylene ether glycol (PTMEG) is used as an adhesion promoting agent (‘668, Paragraph [0051]). The multilayered container is a food or beverage container (‘668, Paragraph [0063]) wherein the adhesion promoting additives are incorporated into the multilayered PET containers (‘668, Paragraph [0083]).
Both Koerner et al. and Akkapeddi et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of multilayered polyethylene terephthalate (PET) food or beverage containers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the multilayered PET food or beverage container of Koerner et al. and incorporate into the active oxygen scavenger material polytetramethylene ether glycol (PTMEG) as taught by Akkapeddi et al. since the selection of a known material (PTMEG) based on its suitability for its intended use (as a component of a multilayered PET food or beverage container) supports a prima facie obviousness determination in view of Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 36, Koerner et al. discloses a container (container 10) comprising an open top, a closed bottom, and a wall portion between the open top and the closed bottom (‘486, FIG. 3A) (‘486, Paragraph [0036]). The wall portion comprises an outer surface and an inner surface, an outer layer (first layer 40) comprising a polyethylene terephthalate (PET) material, an inner layer (third layer 44) comprising the PET material (‘486, Paragraphs [0005], [0021], and [0044]-[0045]), and an intermediate layer (second layer 42) between the outer and inner layers, the intermediate layer (second layer 42 comprising an additive of active oxygen scavengers) (‘486, Paragraph [0005]) comprising a mixture of the PET material and an active oxygen scavenger material (‘486, Paragraphs [0005], [0041], and [0043]-[0044]). wherein the intermediate layer (second layer 42) comprises an upper end that is below the open top (‘486, FIG. 3A). The active oxygen scavenger material additive is between about 0.5 wt% to about 5.0 wt% of the container (‘486, Paragraphs [0005] and [0030]), which overlaps the claimed active oxygen scavenger material additive concentration of less than about 1.0 wt% of the container. Where the claimed oxygen scavenger material concentration of the container overlaps oxygen scavenger material concentrations disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.). Furthermore, Koerner et al. discloses a positive correlation between the oxygen scavenger material concentration with respect to the oxygen ingress wherein including more of the oxygen scavenger material inhibits oxygen ingress better than containers that include less of the scavenger (‘486, Paragraph [0031]). Differences in the concentration of the oxygen scavenger material in the container will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such oxygen scavenger material concentration in the container is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). One of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the concentration of oxygen scavenger material blended with the polyethylene terephthalate in the intermediate barrier layer of the food and beverage container based upon the desired degree of inhibition of oxygen ingress. Koerner et al. also discloses the container (container 10) is at least partially filled with a food item (‘486, Paragraph [0041]). The active oxygen scavenger forms a physical barrier resisting ingress of oxygen into the food item (‘486, FIG. 3A) (‘486, Paragraphs [0021], [0031], [0048], [0056]). The active oxygen scavenger reacts with oxygen from the food item (‘486, Paragraph [0030]).
Further regarding Claim 36, Koerner et al. discloses a multilayered polyethylene terephthalate (PET) food or beverage container (‘486, Paragraph [0019]) comprising one or more active oxygen scavengers (‘486, Paragraphs [0043] and [0073]). However, Koerner et al. is silent regarding the active oxygen scavenger material comprising polytetramethylene ether glycol (PTMEG).
Akkapeddi et al. discloses a multilayer plastic container, preforms, and articles of manufacture providing a barrier to oxygen and other gases permeating through the layers of the container/preform wall (‘668, Paragraph [0001]) wherein an oxygen scavenger is incorporated into a multilayer plastic structure to remove oxygen initially present and/or generated from inside of the package and to retard the passage of exterior oxygen into the package in an active barrier layer (‘668, Paragraph [0005]) wherein polyamides or blends thereof are regarded as excellent passive barriers having the capability of becoming an active barrier layer, i.e. an oxygen scavenging layer upon mixture with a transition metal (‘668, Paragraph [0029]) wherein a polyester TPU comprising polytetramethylene ether glycol (PTMEG) is used as an adhesion promoting agent (‘668, Paragraph [0051]). The multilayered container is a food or beverage container (‘668, Paragraph [0063]) wherein the adhesion promoting additives are incorporated into the multilayered PET containers (‘668, Paragraph [0083]).
Both Koerner et al. and Akkapeddi et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of multilayered polyethylene terephthalate (PET) food or beverage containers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the multilayered PET food or beverage container of Koerner et al. and incorporate into the active oxygen scavenger material polytetramethylene ether glycol (PTMEG) as taught by Akkapeddi et al. since the selection of a known material (PTMEG) based on its suitability for its intended use (as a component of a multilayered PET food or beverage container) supports a prima facie obviousness determination in view of Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 42, Koerner et al. discloses the active oxygen scavenger material additive is between about 0.5 wt% to about 5.0 wt% of the container (‘486, Paragraphs [0005] and [0030]), which overlaps the claimed active oxygen scavenger material additive concentration of 0.05 wt% - 0.5 wt% of the container. Where the claimed oxygen scavenger material concentration of the container overlaps oxygen scavenger material concentrations disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.). Furthermore, Koerner et al. discloses a positive correlation between the oxygen scavenger material concentration with respect to the oxygen ingress wherein including more of the oxygen scavenger material inhibits oxygen ingress better than containers that include less of the scavenger (‘486, Paragraph [0031]). Differences in the concentration of the oxygen scavenger material in the container will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such oxygen scavenger material concentration in the container is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). One of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the concentration of oxygen scavenger material blended with the polyethylene terephthalate in the intermediate barrier layer of the food and beverage container based upon the desired degree of inhibition of oxygen ingress.
Claims 23, 30, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koerner et al. US 2017/0259486 in view of Akkapeddi et al. US 2011/0262668 as applied to claim 22, 29, or 36 above in further view of Frerichs et al. US 2019/0152105.
Regarding Claims 23, 30, and 37, Koerner et al. modified with Akkapeddi et al. is silent regarding the active oxygen scavenger being biased toward a center line of the container.
Frerichs et al. discloses an injection molded container having a multilayer wall structure used for storing food products wherein the injection molded container is made of polyethylene terephthalate (PET) (‘105, Paragraph [0001]) wherein the multilayer container comprises an inner layer, an outer layer, and a barrier layer wherein the barrier layer is biased toward the inside surface or outside surface such that the inner layer and the outer layer have different thicknesses (‘105, Paragraph [0003]) wherein when the barrier layer is biased toward the inner surface and/or upper surface, i.e. the outer layer is thicker than the inner layer, the relatively greater thickness of the outer layer allows for lettering or other symbols to be etched onto the outer surface and/or lower surface without penetrating into or through the barrier layer to ensure that the barrier layer remains intact to help prevent the permeation of oxygen or other gasses into the container through the barrier layer (‘105, Paragraph [0077]) wherein the barrier layer comprises an active barrier component of an oxygen scavenging material (‘105, Paragraph [0067]).
Both modified Koerner et al. and Frerichs et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of multilayered food or beverage containers comprising an inner layer and an outer layer made of polyethylene terephthalate as well as an intermediate barrier layer comprising an active oxygen scavenging material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the multilayered food or beverage container of modified Koerner et al. and bias the oxygen scavenger barrier toward a center line of the container as taught by Frerichs et al. in order to allow for lettering or other symbols to be etched onto the outer surface and/or lower surface of the container without penetrating into or through the barrier layer to ensure that the barrier layer remains intact to help prevent the permeation of oxygen or other gasses into the container through the barrier layer (‘105, Paragraph [0077]). Furthermore, the configuration of the oxygen scavenger within the container is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed oxygen scavenger was significant in view of In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (MPEP § 2144.04.IV.B.). Frerichs et al. teaches that there was known utility in the multilayered food and beverage container art to construct a polyethylene based container with a barrier layer containing an oxygen scavenger to be biased towards a center line of the container.
Double Patenting
Claims 22-23, 29-30, 36-37,and 42 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-29 of U.S. Patent No. 12,397,491. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because independent Claims 1 and 18-20 of the ‘491 patent recite a more narrow scope of independent Claims 22, 29, and 36 of the instant application wherein independent Claims 1 and 18-20 of the ‘491 patent reads on independent Claims 22, 29, and 36 of the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Examiner notes that the previous Claim Objections have been withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Examiner notes that the previous Double Patenting rejections have been maintained herein.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the obviousness rejections of Claims 22-23, 29-30, 36-37, and 42 under 35 USC 103(a) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The current rejection relies upon the combination of Koerner et al. modified with Akkapeddi et al., which was necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ferrari US 2016/0207242 discloses polyester polymers used to make polyester bottles using preform blow processes (‘242, Paragraph [0148]) wherein the polyester comprises glycol co-monomers of poly tetramethylene ether glycol (‘242, Paragraphs [0153]-[0155]).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon and previously cited in the Office Action mailed October 10, 2025 is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Schmidt et al. US 2002/0037377 discloses an oxygen scavenging polymer and multilayer article packaging made therefrom for holding oxygen sensitive products which polymers are used in a relatively low weight percent amount of the enhanced scavenging polymer for cost efficiency (‘377, Paragraph [0002]).
Akkapeddi et al. US 2016/0222205 discloses a plastic container comprising polymers and compounds capable of reacting with oxygen egressing and ingressing through walls of the plastic container (‘205, Paragraph [0002]) wherein the container is a soft drink container (‘205, Paragraph [0017]) made from a blend of PET with PTMEG to make an oxygen scavenging bottle (‘205, Paragraph [0084]) wherein the PTMEG is 0.5 wt% of the PET bottle (‘205, Paragraph [0085]) wherein PTMEG is also used as a chain extending agent to control the IV of the PET by preventing PET chain degradation in the molten state in the presence of the polyether component (‘205, Paragraph [0040]) wherein the chain extending agent is from about 0.05 wt% to about 5.0 wt% of the PET (‘205, Paragraph [0047]).
Schmitz et al. US 2014/0251857 discloses a multilayer plastic container with oxygen scavenging properties and methods of controlling the oxygen scavenging incubation period, the container comprising an outer layer comprising CPET, an inner layer, and at least one middle layer interposed therebetween wherein the middle layer includes a blend of a polymer consisting essentially of PET, at least one oxygen scavenging component, and at least one catalyst transition metal up to about 3% by weight.
Frisk US 5,804,236 discloses a food and beverage container (‘236, Column 3, lines 60-62) comprising a plurality of layers comprising an oxygen barrier layer juxtaposed between a modified polymer material and the exterior of the package (‘236, FIG. 2) (‘236, Column 8, lines 2-12) wherein additional layers have enhanced barrier properties to prevent the ingress and egress of various gases including oxygen (‘236, Column 8, lines 13-19) wherein at least one layer comprises a polymer material integrated with an oxygen scavenging agent between 0.01% and 1.0% weight of the container.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERICSON M LACHICA/Examiner, Art Unit 1792