DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 43 recites the limitation “wherein the active oxygen scavenger material consists essentially of PTMEG” in lines 1-2. The disclosure at the time of filing only provides support for the broader embodiment of the second material comprises active oxygen scavengers such as for example butadiene, PTMEG-PET copolymer, and nylon (Specification, Paragraph [0056]). The disclosure at the time of filing only mentions one embodiment of the active oxygen scavenger comprising PTMEG-PET copolymer. However, the disclosure at the time of filing never provides adequate written description support for any embodiment wherein the active oxygen scavenger material consists essentially of PTMEG. Therefore, this limitation constitutes new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22, 29, 36, and 42-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koerner et al. US 2017/0259486 in view of Akkapeddi et al. US 2011/0262668.
Regarding Claim 22, Koerner et al. discloses a container (container 10) comprising an open top, a closed bottom, and a wall portion between the open top and the closed bottom (‘486, FIG. 3A) (‘486, Paragraph [0036]). The wall portion comprises an outer surface and an inner surface, an outer layer (first layer 40) comprising a polyethylene terephthalate (PET) material, an inner layer (third layer 44) comprising the PET material (‘486, Paragraphs [0005], [0021], and [0044]-[0045]), and an intermediate layer (second layer 42) between the outer and inner layers, the intermediate layer (second layer 42 comprising an additive of active oxygen scavengers) (‘486, Paragraph [0005]) comprising a mixture of the PET material and an active oxygen scavenger material (‘486, Paragraphs [0005], [0041], and [0043]-[0044]). wherein the intermediate layer (second layer 42) comprises an upper end that is below the open top (‘486, FIG. 3A). The active oxygen scavenger material additive is between about 0.5 wt% to about 5.0 wt% of the container (‘486, Paragraphs [0005] and [0030]), which overlaps the claimed active oxygen scavenger material additive concentration of less than about 1.0 wt% of the container. Where the claimed oxygen scavenger material concentration of the container overlaps oxygen scavenger material concentrations disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.). Furthermore, Koerner et al. discloses a positive correlation between the oxygen scavenger material concentration with respect to the oxygen ingress wherein including more of the oxygen scavenger material inhibits oxygen ingress better than containers that include less of the scavenger (‘486, Paragraph [0031]). Differences in the concentration of the oxygen scavenger material in the container will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such oxygen scavenger material concentration in the container is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). One of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the concentration of oxygen scavenger material blended with the polyethylene terephthalate in the intermediate barrier layer of the food and beverage container based upon the desired degree of inhibition of oxygen ingress. Koerner et al. also discloses the container (container 10) is at least partially filled with a food item (‘486, Paragraph [0041]). The active oxygen scavenger forms a physical barrier resisting ingress of oxygen into the food item (‘486, FIG. 3A) (‘486, Paragraphs [0021], [0031], [0048], [0056]). Koerner et al. also discloses a neck finish region (neck 12) extending from the open top to a location above the upper end of the intermediate layer (second layer 42) (‘486, FIG. 3A) (‘486, Paragraph [0041]) wherein the neck finish region is free of the active oxygen scavenger material (neck finish does not have the additive present wherein the additive that is not present is one or more active oxygen scavengers) (‘486, Paragraphs [0023] and [0043]).
Further regarding Claim 22, Koerner et al. discloses a multilayered polyethylene terephthalate (PET) food or beverage container (‘486, Paragraph [0019]) comprising one or more active oxygen scavengers (‘486, Paragraphs [0043] and [0073]). However, Koerner et al. is silent regarding the active oxygen scavenger material comprising polytetramethylene ether glycol (PTMEG).
Akkapeddi et al. discloses a multilayer plastic container, preforms, and articles of manufacture providing a barrier to oxygen and other gases permeating through the layers of the container/preform wall (‘668, Paragraph [0001]) wherein an oxygen scavenger is incorporated into a multilayer plastic structure to remove oxygen initially present and/or generated from inside of the package and to retard the passage of exterior oxygen into the package in an active barrier layer (‘668, Paragraph [0005]) wherein polyamides or blends thereof are regarded as excellent passive barriers having the capability of becoming an active barrier layer, i.e. an oxygen scavenging layer upon mixture with a transition metal (‘668, Paragraph [0029]) wherein a polyester TPU comprising polytetramethylene ether glycol (PTMEG) is used as an adhesion promoting agent (‘668, Paragraph [0051]). The multilayered container is a food or beverage container (‘668, Paragraph [0063]) wherein the adhesion promoting additives are incorporated into the multilayered PET containers (‘668, Paragraph [0083]).
Both Koerner et al. and Akkapeddi et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of multilayered polyethylene terephthalate (PET) food or beverage containers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the multilayered PET food or beverage container of Koerner et al. and incorporate into the active oxygen scavenger material polytetramethylene ether glycol (PTMEG) as taught by Akkapeddi et al. since the selection of a known material (PTMEG) based on its suitability for its intended use (as a component of a multilayered PET food or beverage container) supports a prima facie obviousness determination in view of Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 29, Koerner et al. discloses a container (container 10) comprising an open top, a closed bottom, and a wall portion between the open top and the closed bottom (‘486, FIG. 3A) (‘486, Paragraph [0036]). The wall portion comprises an outer surface and an inner surface, an outer layer (first layer 40) comprising a polyethylene terephthalate (PET) material, an inner layer (third layer 44) comprising the PET material (‘486, Paragraphs [0005], [0021], and [0044]-[0045]), and an intermediate layer (second layer 42) between the outer and inner layers, the intermediate layer (second layer 42 comprising an additive of active oxygen scavengers) (‘486, Paragraph [0005]) comprising a mixture of the PET material and an active oxygen scavenger material (‘486, Paragraphs [0005], [0041], and [0043]-[0044]). wherein the intermediate layer (second layer 42) comprises an upper end that is below the open top (‘486, FIG. 3A). The active oxygen scavenger material additive is between about 0.5 wt% to about 5.0 wt% of the container (‘486, Paragraphs [0005] and [0030]), which overlaps the claimed active oxygen scavenger material additive concentration of less than about 1.0 wt% of the container. Where the claimed oxygen scavenger material concentration of the container overlaps oxygen scavenger material concentrations disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.). Furthermore, Koerner et al. discloses a positive correlation between the oxygen scavenger material concentration with respect to the oxygen ingress wherein including more of the oxygen scavenger material inhibits oxygen ingress better than containers that include less of the scavenger (‘486, Paragraph [0031]). Differences in the concentration of the oxygen scavenger material in the container will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such oxygen scavenger material concentration in the container is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). One of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the concentration of oxygen scavenger material blended with the polyethylene terephthalate in the intermediate barrier layer of the food and beverage container based upon the desired degree of inhibition of oxygen ingress. Koerner et al. also discloses the container (container 10) is at least partially filled with a food item (‘486, Paragraph [0041]). The active oxygen scavenger reacts with oxygen from the food item (‘486, Paragraph [0030]). Koerner et al. also discloses the container (container 10) is at least partially filled with a food item (‘486, Paragraph [0041]). The active oxygen scavenger forms a physical barrier resisting ingress of oxygen into the food item (‘486, FIG. 3A) (‘486, Paragraphs [0021], [0031], [0048], [0056]). Koerner et al. also discloses a neck finish region (neck 12) extending from the open top to a location above the upper end of the intermediate layer (second layer 42) (‘486, FIG. 3A) (‘486, Paragraph [0041]) wherein the neck finish region is free of the active oxygen scavenger material (neck finish does not have the additive present wherein the additive that is not present is one or more active oxygen scavengers) (‘486, Paragraphs [0023] and [0043]).
Further regarding Claim 29, Koerner et al. discloses a multilayered polyethylene terephthalate (PET) food or beverage container (‘486, Paragraph [0019]) comprising one or more active oxygen scavengers (‘486, Paragraphs [0043] and [0073]). However, Koerner et al. is silent regarding the active oxygen scavenger material comprising polytetramethylene ether glycol (PTMEG).
Akkapeddi et al. discloses a multilayer plastic container, preforms, and articles of manufacture providing a barrier to oxygen and other gases permeating through the layers of the container/preform wall (‘668, Paragraph [0001]) wherein an oxygen scavenger is incorporated into a multilayer plastic structure to remove oxygen initially present and/or generated from inside of the package and to retard the passage of exterior oxygen into the package in an active barrier layer (‘668, Paragraph [0005]) wherein polyamides or blends thereof are regarded as excellent passive barriers having the capability of becoming an active barrier layer, i.e. an oxygen scavenging layer upon mixture with a transition metal (‘668, Paragraph [0029]) wherein a polyester TPU comprising polytetramethylene ether glycol (PTMEG) is used as an adhesion promoting agent (‘668, Paragraph [0051]). The multilayered container is a food or beverage container (‘668, Paragraph [0063]) wherein the adhesion promoting additives are incorporated into the multilayered PET containers (‘668, Paragraph [0083]).
Both Koerner et al. and Akkapeddi et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of multilayered polyethylene terephthalate (PET) food or beverage containers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the multilayered PET food or beverage container of Koerner et al. and incorporate into the active oxygen scavenger material polytetramethylene ether glycol (PTMEG) as taught by Akkapeddi et al. since the selection of a known material (PTMEG) based on its suitability for its intended use (as a component of a multilayered PET food or beverage container) supports a prima facie obviousness determination in view of Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 36, Koerner et al. discloses a container (container 10) comprising an open top, a closed bottom, and a wall portion between the open top and the closed bottom (‘486, FIG. 3A) (‘486, Paragraph [0036]). The wall portion comprises an outer surface and an inner surface, an outer layer (first layer 40) comprising a polyethylene terephthalate (PET) material, an inner layer (third layer 44) comprising the PET material (‘486, Paragraphs [0005], [0021], and [0044]-[0045]), and an intermediate layer (second layer 42) between the outer and inner layers, the intermediate layer (second layer 42 comprising an additive of active oxygen scavengers) (‘486, Paragraph [0005]) comprising a mixture of the PET material and an active oxygen scavenger material (‘486, Paragraphs [0005], [0041], and [0043]-[0044]). wherein the intermediate layer (second layer 42) comprises an upper end that is below the open top (‘486, FIG. 3A). The active oxygen scavenger material additive is between about 0.5 wt% to about 5.0 wt% of the container (‘486, Paragraphs [0005] and [0030]), which overlaps the claimed active oxygen scavenger material additive concentration of less than about 1.0 wt% of the container. Where the claimed oxygen scavenger material concentration of the container overlaps oxygen scavenger material concentrations disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.). Furthermore, Koerner et al. discloses a positive correlation between the oxygen scavenger material concentration with respect to the oxygen ingress wherein including more of the oxygen scavenger material inhibits oxygen ingress better than containers that include less of the scavenger (‘486, Paragraph [0031]). Differences in the concentration of the oxygen scavenger material in the container will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such oxygen scavenger material concentration in the container is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). One of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the concentration of oxygen scavenger material blended with the polyethylene terephthalate in the intermediate barrier layer of the food and beverage container based upon the desired degree of inhibition of oxygen ingress. Koerner et al. also discloses the container (container 10) is at least partially filled with a food item (‘486, Paragraph [0041]). The active oxygen scavenger forms a physical barrier resisting ingress of oxygen into the food item (‘486, FIG. 3A) (‘486, Paragraphs [0021], [0031], [0048], [0056]). The active oxygen scavenger reacts with oxygen from the food item (‘486, Paragraph [0030]). Koerner et al. also discloses the container (container 10) is at least partially filled with a food item (‘486, Paragraph [0041]). The active oxygen scavenger forms a physical barrier resisting ingress of oxygen into the food item (‘486, FIG. 3A) (‘486, Paragraphs [0021], [0031], [0048], [0056]). Koerner et al. also discloses a neck finish region (neck 12) extending from the open top to a location above the upper end of the intermediate layer (second layer 42) (‘486, FIG. 3A) (‘486, Paragraph [0041]) wherein the neck finish region is free of the active oxygen scavenger material (neck finish does not have the additive present wherein the additive that is not present is one or more active oxygen scavengers) (‘486, Paragraphs [0023] and [0043]).
Further regarding Claim 36, Koerner et al. discloses a multilayered polyethylene terephthalate (PET) food or beverage container (‘486, Paragraph [0019]) comprising one or more active oxygen scavengers (‘486, Paragraphs [0043] and [0073]). However, Koerner et al. is silent regarding the active oxygen scavenger material comprising polytetramethylene ether glycol (PTMEG).
Akkapeddi et al. discloses a multilayer plastic container, preforms, and articles of manufacture providing a barrier to oxygen and other gases permeating through the layers of the container/preform wall (‘668, Paragraph [0001]) wherein an oxygen scavenger is incorporated into a multilayer plastic structure to remove oxygen initially present and/or generated from inside of the package and to retard the passage of exterior oxygen into the package in an active barrier layer (‘668, Paragraph [0005]) wherein polyamides or blends thereof are regarded as excellent passive barriers having the capability of becoming an active barrier layer, i.e. an oxygen scavenging layer upon mixture with a transition metal (‘668, Paragraph [0029]) wherein a polyester TPU comprising polytetramethylene ether glycol (PTMEG) is used as an adhesion promoting agent (‘668, Paragraph [0051]). The multilayered container is a food or beverage container (‘668, Paragraph [0063]) wherein the adhesion promoting additives are incorporated into the multilayered PET containers (‘668, Paragraph [0083]).
Both Koerner et al. and Akkapeddi et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of multilayered polyethylene terephthalate (PET) food or beverage containers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the multilayered PET food or beverage container of Koerner et al. and incorporate into the active oxygen scavenger material polytetramethylene ether glycol (PTMEG) as taught by Akkapeddi et al. since the selection of a known material (PTMEG) based on its suitability for its intended use (as a component of a multilayered PET food or beverage container) supports a prima facie obviousness determination in view of Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 42, Koerner et al. discloses the active oxygen scavenger material additive is between about 0.5 wt% to about 5.0 wt% of the container (‘486, Paragraphs [0005] and [0030]), which overlaps the claimed active oxygen scavenger material additive concentration of 0.05 wt% - 0.5 wt% of the container. Where the claimed oxygen scavenger material concentration of the container overlaps oxygen scavenger material concentrations disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.). Furthermore, Koerner et al. discloses a positive correlation between the oxygen scavenger material concentration with respect to the oxygen ingress wherein including more of the oxygen scavenger material inhibits oxygen ingress better than containers that include less of the scavenger (‘486, Paragraph [0031]). Differences in the concentration of the oxygen scavenger material in the container will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such oxygen scavenger material concentration in the container is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). One of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the concentration of oxygen scavenger material blended with the polyethylene terephthalate in the intermediate barrier layer of the food and beverage container based upon the desired degree of inhibition of oxygen ingress.
Regarding Claim 43, Koerner et al. discloses the intermediate layer (second layer 42) consisting of PET and one or more additives (‘486, Paragraph [0044]) wherein the one or more additives is one or more active oxygen scavengers (‘486, Paragraphs [0043] and [0050]). The disclosure of the intermediate layer consisting of one or more additives of one or more active oxygen scavengers encompasses an embodiment wherein the intermediate layer is made of only one oxygen scavenger additive. Akkapeddi et al. discloses the active oxygen scavenger to be PTMEG (‘668, Paragraph [0051]).
Claims 23, 30, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koerner et al. US 2017/0259486 in view of Akkapeddi et al. US 2011/0262668 as applied to claim 22, 29, or 36 above in further view of Frerichs et al. US 2019/0152105.
Regarding Claims 23, 30, and 37, Koerner et al. modified with Akkapeddi et al. is silent regarding the active oxygen scavenger being biased toward a center line of the container.
Frerichs et al. discloses an injection molded container having a multilayer wall structure used for storing food products wherein the injection molded container is made of polyethylene terephthalate (PET) (‘105, Paragraph [0001]) wherein the multilayer container comprises an inner layer, an outer layer, and a barrier layer wherein the barrier layer is biased toward the inside surface or outside surface such that the inner layer and the outer layer have different thicknesses (‘105, Paragraph [0003]) wherein when the barrier layer is biased toward the inner surface and/or upper surface, i.e. the outer layer is thicker than the inner layer, the relatively greater thickness of the outer layer allows for lettering or other symbols to be etched onto the outer surface and/or lower surface without penetrating into or through the barrier layer to ensure that the barrier layer remains intact to help prevent the permeation of oxygen or other gasses into the container through the barrier layer (‘105, Paragraph [0077]) wherein the barrier layer comprises an active barrier component of an oxygen scavenging material (‘105, Paragraph [0067]).
Both modified Koerner et al. and Frerichs et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of multilayered food or beverage containers comprising an inner layer and an outer layer made of polyethylene terephthalate as well as an intermediate barrier layer comprising an active oxygen scavenging material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the multilayered food or beverage container of modified Koerner et al. and bias the oxygen scavenger barrier toward a center line of the container as taught by Frerichs et al. in order to allow for lettering or other symbols to be etched onto the outer surface and/or lower surface of the container without penetrating into or through the barrier layer to ensure that the barrier layer remains intact to help prevent the permeation of oxygen or other gasses into the container through the barrier layer (‘105, Paragraph [0077]). Furthermore, the configuration of the oxygen scavenger within the container is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed oxygen scavenger was significant in view of In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (MPEP § 2144.04.IV.B.). Frerichs et al. teaches that there was known utility in the multilayered food and beverage container art to construct a polyethylene based container with a barrier layer containing an oxygen scavenger to be biased towards a center line of the container.
Double Patenting
Claims 22-23, 29-30, 36-37,and 42-43 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-29 of U.S. Patent No. 12,397,491. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because independent Claims 1 and 18-20 of the ‘491 patent recite a more narrow scope of independent Claims 22, 29, and 36 of the instant application wherein independent Claims 1 and 18-20 of the ‘491 patent reads on independent Claims 22, 29, and 36 of the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Examiner notes that the previous Double Patenting rejections have been updated to include newly presented Claim 43 and have otherwise been maintained herein.
Examiner notes that a new new matter rejection under 35 USC 112(a) has been made herein.
Applicant's arguments filed July 21, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on Page 9 of the Remarks that independent Claims 22, 29, and 36 have each been amended to include that the container includes a neck finish region extending from the open top to a location above the upper end of the intermediate layer wherein the neck finish region is free of the active oxygen scavenger material which allows the neck finish region where threads are formed and mechanical strength is therefore required to be made from pure PET. Applicant asserts that Koerner is silent regarding the use of PTMEG as the scavenger and does not disclose or make obvious a container having a defined neck finish region extending from the open top to a location above the upper end of the intermediate layer wherein the neck finish region is free of the active oxygen scavenger material.
Examiner first notes that none of the claims require the neck finish region to be made from pure PET. Claims 22, 29, and 36 only require the neck finish region to be free of the active oxygen scavenger material. However, the claims do not recite the material of the neck finish region to be PET or that the neck finish region is made from pure PET. Additionally, Koerner et al. discloses a neck finish region (neck 12) extending from the open top to a location above the upper end of the intermediate layer (second layer 42) (‘486, FIG. 3A) (‘486, Paragraph [0041]) wherein the neck finish region is free of the active oxygen scavenger material (neck finish does not have the additive present wherein the additive that is not present is one or more active oxygen scavengers) (‘486, Paragraphs [0023] and [0043]). With respect to applicant’s argument that Koerner is silent regarding the use of PTMEG as the scavenger, Examiner notes that Claims 22, 29, and 36 are rejected over the combination of the primary reference of Koerner modified with the secondary reference of Akkapeddi et al. The secondary reference of Akkapeddi et al. is being relied upon to render obvious the use of PTMEG as an active oxygen scavenger in a preform used to make a multilayered food or beverage container such as that disclosed by Koerner et al. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Therefore, these arguments are not found persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
York et al. US 2013/0056466 discloses a container comprising an open top, a closed bottom, a wall portion between the open top and the closed bottom wherein the wall portion comprises an outer surface and an inner surface, an outer layer, and inner layer, and an intermediate layer between the outer and inner layers (skin material 222) wherein the intermediate layer (core material 223) comprises a barrier material (‘466, Paragraph [0113]) wherein the intermediate layer (core material 223) comprises an upper end that is below the open top and a neck finish region (flange 135) extending from the open top to a location above the upper end of the intermediate layer (core material 223) wherein the neck finish region (flange 135) is free of the barrier material (‘466, FIG. 16A) (‘466, Paragraph [0114]).
/ERICSON M LACHICA/Examiner, Art Unit 1792