DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 06/12/2025 and 05/27/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3,6-9, 11-14 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chou et al., (US 2017/0347122 A1) referred to as CHOU hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, CHOU shows a decoding method comprising:
calculating a predicted value of a first coefficient of a first node included in a first tree structure of a current coding unit by using an inter prediction scheme referring to a reference coding unit (Paragraph [0135] discusses inter prediction of a set of residuals (coefficients) in a hierarchical system using reference units. See also paragraphs [0138], [0140]–[0141], [0172], [0290], [0348] for support.);
obtaining a residual value of the first coefficient from a bitstream (Paragraph [0077] describes obtaining and reconstructing residual values from received information from the bitstream compressed data.);
calculating the first coefficient, based on the predicted value and the residual value (Paragraphs [076], [092], [113], [255]);
performing inverse hierarchical transform on the first coefficient (Paragraphs [0135]–[0141], [0158]–[0169], [0205]–[0214], [0230], [0255] all disclose this operation.);
and calculating an attribute value of a three-dimensional point included in the current coding unit, based on a result of the inverse hierarchical transform (Paragraphs [0102], [0103], [0113]–[0117], [0205]–[0214], [0255] all disclose reconstruction of 3D points from inverse RAHT operations.).
Regarding claim 2, CHOU shows the limitations as per Claim 1 above, wherein the inverse hierarchical transform is inverse transform of hierarchical transform applied to two coefficients of two nodes that are adjacent in order to calculate a coefficient of an upper node positioned above the two nodes (Paragraphs [0175]-[0184]).
Regarding claim 3, CHOU shows the limitations as per Claim 1 above, wherein in the calculating of the predicted value (See, for example, the inter-frame / motion-compensated prediction discussion in Paragraphs [0073]–[0077], [0290], [0348], [0361]), a second node included in a second tree structure of the reference coding unit is referred to (The reference clearly discloses reference nodes [second nodes] in hierarchical tree structures for point cloud representation, especially the octtree / hierarchical organization used for RAHT and inverse RAHT. See Paragraphs [0121]–[0125], [0140]–[0141], [0158]–[0169], [0205]–[0214].), and a second position of the second node in the second tree structure is same as a first position of the first node in the first tree structure (The examiner interpretation is the octtree hierarchy and use of geometry data to determine hierarchical decomposition, it is analogous to if not the same as explicit same-position node mapping. Relevant disclosure includes (Paragraphs [0121]–[0125], [0133], [0331]–[0334].).
Regarding claim 6, CHOU shows the limitations as per Claim 2 above, wherein in the hierarchical transform, a value of a low-frequency component and a value of a high-frequency component are generated, the low-frequency component corresponds to the first coefficient, and the value of the high-frequency component is not inter predicted (Paragraphs
[0140]–[0151], [0157], [0175]–[0184]).
Regarding claim 7, CHOU shows the limitations as per Claim 1 above, further comprising:
storing the first coefficient in a buffer memory in order to calculate a predicted value of a coefficient of another node (Paragraphs [0060–[0061], [0064], [0080]–[0081] teach storing reconstructed point cloud attributes in a reference frame buffer for later motion-compensated prediction of subsequent frames, which is being interpreted as being analogous to storing a coefficient in buffer memory for later prediction of another node’s coefficient.).
Regarding claim 8, CHOU shows the limitations as per Claim 1 above, further comprising:
obtaining a quantized value generated by quantizing the first coefficient;
and storing the quantized value in a buffer memory without inverse-quantizing the quantized value, in order to calculate a predicted value of another node (Paragraphs [0057]–[0058], [0077], [0212]–[0217], [0233]–[0241] teach quantizing transform coefficients, transmitting them in encoded form, and later inverse quantizing them for reconstruction, which is the closest functional analogue to storing a quantized value in buffer memory before inverse quantization for later predictive use.).
Regarding claim 9, CHOU shows the limitations as per Claim 1 above, wherein the referring is performed per node (Paragraphs [0135]–[0141], [0195]–[0202], [0205]–[0214] disclose operating group-by-group and level-by-level through the hierarchy, acting node-like, which is being interpreted as being referred to per node.).
Regarding claim 11, CHOU shows the limitations as per Claim 1 above, wherein in the calculating of the predicted value, the predicted value is calculated when at least one of a total number of three-dimensional points included in the current coding unit, an arrangement of the three-dimensional points, a density of the three-dimensional points, or a depth of the first node in the first tree structure satisfies a predetermined condition (Paragraphs [0121]–[0127], [0136]–[0140], [0177], [0220], [0274], [0318], [0341], [0343]–[0349] use occupancy counts, density, hierarchy levels, and partitions to guide RAHT and scalability.).
Regarding claim 12, CHOU shows the limitations as per Claim 11 above, wherein when the condition is satisfied, the first coefficient is stored in a buffer memory in order to calculate a predicted value of a coefficient of another node (Paragraphs [0060–[0061], [0064], [0080]–[0081] teach storing reconstructed point cloud attributes in a reference frame buffer for later motion-compensated prediction of subsequent frames, which is being interpreted as being analogous to storing a coefficient in buffer memory for later prediction of another node’s coefficient.).
Regarding claim 13, CHOU shows the limitations as per Claim 1 above, wherein in the calculating of the predicted value, the predicted value is calculated by performing motion compensation on the reference coding unit, and referring to the reference coding unit that has been motion compensated (Paragraphs [0073]–[0077], [0092]–[0095], [0138], [0290], [0348], [0361] discusses expressly the same concept if not the same words.).
Regarding claim 14, CHOU shows the limitations as per Claim 13 above, further comprising:
storing the attribute value calculated in the buffer memory in order to calculate a predicted value of a coefficient of another node (Paragraphs [0060–[0061], [0064], [0080]–[0081] teach storing reconstructed point cloud attributes in a reference frame buffer for later motion-compensated prediction of subsequent frames, which is being interpreted as being analogous to storing a coefficient in buffer memory for later prediction of another node’s coefficient.).
Regarding Claim 16, CHOU shows a decoding method comprising:
calculating a predicted value of a first coefficient of a first node included in a current coding unit by using an inter prediction scheme that refers to a reference coding unit (Paragraph [0135] discusses inter prediction of a set of residuals (coefficients) in a hierarchical system using reference units. See also paragraphs [0138], [0140]–[0141], [0172], [0290], [0348] for support.);
obtaining a residual value of the first coefficient from a bitstream (Paragraph [0077] describes obtaining and reconstructing residual values from received information from the bitstream compressed data.);
calculating the first coefficient, based on the predicted value and the residual value (Paragraphs [076], [092], [113], [255]);
and performing an inverse transform process on the first coefficient to calculate an attribute value of a three-dimensional point included in the current coding unit (Paragraphs [0135]–[0141], [0158]–[0169], [0205]–[0214], [0230], [0255] all disclose this operation.), wherein the first coefficient is generated by a transform process executed by an encoding device, the transform process transforming the attribute value into the first coefficient (Paragraphs [0102], [0103], [0113]–[0117], [0205]–[0214], [0255] all disclose reconstruction of 3D points from inverse RAHT operations.).
Regarding Claim 17, CHOU shows an encoding method (Paragraphs [0107]–[0112], [0194]–[0203], [0337]–[0350]) comprising:
performing hierarchical transform on an attribute value of a three-dimensional point included in a current coding unit to calculate a first coefficient of a first node included in a first tree structure of the current coding unit (Paragraphs [0135]–[0141], [0142]–[0153], [0194]–[0203]);
calculating a predicted value of the first coefficient by using an inter prediction scheme referring to a reference coding unit (Paragraphs [0135], [0138], [0073]–[0077], [0290], [0348], [0361]);
calculating a residual value that is a difference between the first coefficient and the predicted value (Paragraphs [0076], [0135], [0230], [0250], [0255]);
and generating a bitstream including the residual value (Paragraphs [0071], [0078], [0112], [0255], [0339], [0350]).
Regarding Claim 18, CHOU shows a decoding device (Paragraphs [0080]–[0098], [0327]–[0335], [0352]–[0367])comprising:
a processor (Paragraphs [0039]-[0040]);
and a memory, wherein using the memory (Paragraphs [0039]-[0040]), the processor:
calculates a predicted value of a first coefficient of a first node included in a first tree structure of a current coding unit by using an inter prediction scheme referring to a reference coding unit (Paragraph [0135] discusses inter prediction of a set of residuals (coefficients) in a hierarchical system using reference units. See also paragraphs [0138], [0140]–[0141], [0172], [0290], [0348] for support.);
obtains a residual value of the first coefficient from a bitstream (Paragraph [0077] describes obtaining and reconstructing residual values from received information from the bitstream compressed data.);
calculates the first coefficient, based on the predicted value and the residual value (Paragraphs [076], [092], [113], [255]);
performs inverse hierarchical transform on the first coefficient (Paragraphs [0135]–[0141], [0158]–[0169], [0205]–[0214], [0230], [0255] all disclose this operation.);
and calculates an attribute value of a three-dimensional point included in the current coding unit, based on a result of the inverse hierarchical transform (Paragraphs [0102], [0103], [0113]–[0117], [0205]–[0214], [0255] all disclose reconstruction of 3D points from inverse RAHT operations.).
Regarding Claim 19, CHOU shows an encoding device comprising:
a processor (Paragraphs [0039]-[0040]);
and a memory, wherein using the memory (Paragraphs [0039]-[0040]), the processor:
performs hierarchical transform on an attribute value of a three-dimensional point included in a current coding unit to calculate a first coefficient of a first node included in a first tree structure of the current coding unit (Paragraphs [0135]–[0141], [0142]–[0153], [0194]–[0203]);
calculates a predicted value of the first coefficient by using an inter prediction scheme referring to a reference coding unit (Paragraphs [0135], [0138], [0073]–[0077], [0290], [0348], [0361]);
calculates a residual value that is a difference between the first coefficient and the predicted value (Paragraphs [0076], [0135], [0230], [0250], [0255]);
and generates a bitstream including the residual value (Paragraphs [0071], [0078], [0112], [0255], [0339], [0350]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOU in view of A. L. Souto and R. L. de Queiroz, "On Predictive RAHT For Dynamic Point Cloud Coding," 2020 IEEE International Conference on Image Processing (ICIP), Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates, 2020, pp. 2701-2705, doi: 10.1109/ICIP40778.2020.9191205. referred to as SOUTO hereinafter.
Regarding claim 5, CHOU shows the limitations as per Claim 3 above, further discussing Morton code however failing to specifically disclose but SOUTO does disclose wherein the first position and the second position are represented by a Morton code (Sections 4.1 and 4.2).
Both CHOU and SOUTO are analogous to that of the claimed invention in that they are in the RAHT field.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHOU in the spirit of SOUTO because it provides, “the use of a low computational cost zero-motion-vector (ZMV) approach as an alternative for performance improvement of intra-frame predictive RAHT for attribute coding of dynamic PCs.” (Page 2702, 1. Introduction)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 10 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the Notice of Reference Cited (PTO-892) for relevant references noted but not used in this Action.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
JUSTIN W. RIDER
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2486
/Justin W Rider/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2486