DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-8, 10, 11, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0068600 by Kim et al. (“Kim”) in view of Korean Pub. No. KR 20060037754 by Yoo (“Yoo”).
As to claim 1, Kim discloses a display device (Kim, display device 1, Figure 1), comprising:
a panel (Kim, panel 20, Figure 1) configured to include a plurality of RGB groups (Kim, The panel 20 may include at least one transparent substrate, and a plurality of gate lines and a plurality of source lines may be disposed on the transparent substrate to intersect each other. A plurality of pixels may be defined at intersection points of the plurality of gate lines and the plurality of source lines. Figure 1, ¶ [0018]); and,
a source driver (Kim, source driver 13, Figure 1) configured to supply a data voltage to the panel (Kim, The source driver 13 may output the source voltage
V
S
based on a control signal transmitted by the timing controller 11 to drive the plurality of source lines. Figure 1, ¶ [0021]); and
a timing controller (Kim, timing controller 11, Figure 1) configured to supply a control signal to the source driver (Kim, The timing controller 11 may receive image data transferred from an external source, may generate image data based on a control signal transferred from an external source or the like. The timing controller 11 may generate a signal for controlling the gate driver 12 and the source driver 13 to provide signals to a plurality of gate lines and a plurality of source lines. Figure 1, ¶ [0019]),
wherein the source driver is configured to:
receive error test information for testing an error of data from the timing controller (Kim, With reference to FIG. 3, the timing controller 110 may include a control logic 111 and a scrambler 112. The control logic 111 may generate data required for driving source lines by the source driver 120 or may receive the data described above from an external source. According to an example embodiment, when the display driving device 100 is operated in a test mode, the control logic 111 may output test data BERT DATA for checking a bit error rate. Figure 3, ¶ [0026])(Kim, The receiver 121 may receive randomized test data from the timing controller 110, and the descrambler 122 may derandomize the randomized test data to extract test data BERT DATA. Figure 3, ¶ [0030]),
obtain error information based on error test information for testing an error of data (Kim, The source driver 120 may evaluate periodicity of the test data received from the timing controller 110, and may count aperiodicity occurrences, which indicate a bit error, to measure a bit error rate (BER). In an example embodiment, the bit error rate may be measured in an interface included in the source driver 120 to intermediate communications between the source driver 120 and the timing controller 110. Figure 3, ¶ [0025])(Kim, The error detector 124 may count aperiodicity occurrences, which indicate a bit error is present whenever the aperiodicity is detected in pixel data PIXEL DATA, and may determine that abnormal conditions occur in the source driver 120 when a number of a counted bit error is greater than a predetermined threshold number. When a single display driving device 100 includes a plurality of source drivers 120, each source driver 120 individually checks a bit error to check whether abnormal conditions occur. Figure 3, ¶ [0031]),
receive an RGB information set from the timing controller (Kim, The RGB decoder 123 may calculate pixel data PIXEL DATA corresponding to a source voltage to be supplied to each pixel using test data BERT DATA. In this case, pixel data PIXEL DATA may have predetermined periodicity in a manner similar to test data BERT DATA. Figure 3, ¶ [0026 and 0030]), and
supply the data voltage to each of the plurality of RGB groups constituting the panel based on the RGB information set (Kim, The source driver 13 may output the source voltage
V
S
based on a control signal transmitted by the timing controller 11 to drive the plurality of source lines. Figure 1, ¶ [0021])(Kim, Pixel data PIXEL DATA may have a value for determining a source voltage to be input to a plurality of RGB pixels included in a display panel. As an example embodiment, a single unit pixel in the display panel may include at least three sub-pixels, and each of the three sub-pixels may radiate red light, green light, and blue light, respectively. Pixel data PIXEL DATA may have a value for independently determining sizes of the source voltage to be input to the three sub-pixels. As an example embodiment, a size of a source voltage to be input to each sub-pixel may be determined by a value of pixel data PIXEL DATA, which is within a range of 0 to 255. ¶ [0032]),
wherein the timing controller is configured to:
receive the error information from the source driver (Kim, As a result of bit error rate measuring, in the case in which a specific source driver 120 is determined to be defective or operating under abnormal conditions, for example, a locking defect or the like occur in the source driver 120 during operations of the display driving device 100, a state of a source driver 120 corresponding thereto may be required to be provided to the timing controller 110. ¶ [0047]),
wherein the panel is configured to display an image corresponding the error information (Kim, The error detector 124 may count aperiodicity occurrences, which indicate a bit error is present whenever the aperiodicity is detected in pixel data PIXEL DATA, and may determine that abnormal conditions occur in the source driver 120 when a number of a counted bit error is greater than a predetermined threshold number. When a single display driving device 100 includes a plurality of source drivers 120, each source driver 120 individually checks a bit error to check whether abnormal conditions occur. Figure 3, ¶ [0031]) (Kim, The source driver 13 may output the source voltage
V
S
based on a control signal transmitted by the timing controller 11 to drive the plurality of source lines. Figure 1, ¶ [0021]).
Kim does not expressly teach
wherein the timing controller is configured to:
convert the error information into an identification code, and
generate the RGB information set matching the converted identification code,
Yoo teaches a display and driving method configured to
wherein the timing controller is configured to:
convert the error information into an identification code (Yoo, a detection code input device connected to a specific input/output terminal of the control device; an error detector which received an error detection signal from the detection code input unit and determines whether an input signal is in error and outputs error data; and an error code output unit configured to transfer error data output from the error detector to the controller. Page 1, Claims lines 5-7), and
generate the RGB information set matching the converted identification code (Yoo, error detection unit for detecting an error of the control unit and outputting error data corresponding to the detected error: (a) detecting an error of the controller and outputting error data; and (b) displaying an error message corresponding to the error data on the display unit. Page 1, Claims lines 13-14), The RGB information is generated as the error message which will be displayed.
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim’s error detection to include Yoo’s error detection and display because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Kim’s error detection as modified by Yoo’s error detection and display is known to yield a predictable result of providing feedback to the user of a display condition since the error is displayed to the user when the functionality is faulty. Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated including in Kim’s error detection the ability to do Yoo’s error detection and display since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Thus, Kim, as modified by Yoo, teaches the error converted into display data for display on the display device.
As to claim 6, Kim, as modified by Yoo, teaches the display device wherein the error information is a Bit Error Rate or an error type (Kim, The source driver 120 may evaluate periodicity of the test data received from the timing controller 110, and may count aperiodicity occurrences, which indicate a bit error, to measure a bit error rate (BER). In an example embodiment, the bit error rate may be measured in an interface included in the source driver 120 to intermediate communications between the source driver 120 and the timing controller 110. Figure 3, ¶ [0025]).
As to claim 7, Kim, as modified by Yoo, teaches the display device wherein the error information is expressed as either a number, a string of numbers, a letter, or a string (Yoo, error detection unit for detecting an error of the control unit and outputting error data corresponding to the detected error: (a) detecting an error of the controller and outputting error data; and (b) displaying an error message corresponding to the error data on the display unit. Page 1, Claims lines 13-14) (Kim, The error detector 124 may count aperiodicity occurrences, which indicate a bit error is present whenever the aperiodicity is detected in pixel data PIXEL DATA, and may determine that abnormal conditions occur in the source driver 120 when a number of a counted bit error is greater than a predetermined threshold number. ¶ [0031]). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 8, Kim, as modified by Yoo, teaches the display device wherein the source driver further comprises an error detection circuit configured to detect the error information from the error test information (Kim, The error detector 124 may count aperiodicity occurrences, which indicate a bit error is present whenever the aperiodicity is detected in pixel data PIXEL DATA, and may determine that abnormal conditions occur in the source driver 120 when a number of a counted bit error is greater than a predetermined threshold number. ¶ [0031]).
As to claim 10, Kim discloses a display device (Kim, display device 1, Figure 1), comprising:
a panel (Kim, panel 20, Figure 1) configured to include a plurality of RGB groups (Kim, The panel 20 may include at least one transparent substrate, and a plurality of gate lines and a plurality of source lines may be disposed on the transparent substrate to intersect each other. A plurality of pixels may be defined at intersection points of the plurality of gate lines and the plurality of source lines. Figure 1, ¶ [0018]); and
a source driver (Kim, source driver 13, Figure 1) configured to:
receive error test information for testing an error of data from a timing controller (Kim, With reference to FIG. 3, the timing controller 110 may include a control logic 111 and a scrambler 112. The control logic 111 may generate data required for driving source lines by the source driver 120 or may receive the data described above from an external source. According to an example embodiment, when the display driving device 100 is operated in a test mode, the control logic 111 may output test data BERT DATA for checking a bit error rate. Figure 3, ¶ [0026])(Kim, The receiver 121 may receive randomized test data from the timing controller 110, and the descrambler 122 may derandomize the randomized test data to extract test data BERT DATA. Figure 3, ¶ [0030]),
obtain error information based on error test information for testing an error of data (Kim, The source driver 120 may evaluate periodicity of the test data received from the timing controller 110, and may count aperiodicity occurrences, which indicate a bit error, to measure a bit error rate (BER). In an example embodiment, the bit error rate may be measured in an interface included in the source driver 120 to intermediate communications between the source driver 120 and the timing controller 110. Figure 3, ¶ [0025])(Kim, The error detector 124 may count aperiodicity occurrences, which indicate a bit error is present whenever the aperiodicity is detected in pixel data PIXEL DATA, and may determine that abnormal conditions occur in the source driver 120 when a number of a counted bit error is greater than a predetermined threshold number. When a single display driving device 100 includes a plurality of source drivers 120, each source driver 120 individually checks a bit error to check whether abnormal conditions occur. Figure 3, ¶ [0031]),
supply a data voltage to each of the plurality of RGB groups constituting the panel based on the RGB information set (Kim, The source driver 13 may output the source voltage
V
S
based on a control signal transmitted by the timing controller 11 to drive the plurality of source lines. Figure 1, ¶ [0021])(Kim, Pixel data PIXEL DATA may have a value for determining a source voltage to be input to a plurality of RGB pixels included in a display panel. As an example embodiment, a single unit pixel in the display panel may include at least three sub-pixels, and each of the three sub-pixels may radiate red light, green light, and blue light, respectively. Pixel data PIXEL DATA may have a value for independently determining sizes of the source voltage to be input to the three sub-pixels. As an example embodiment, a size of a source voltage to be input to each sub-pixel may be determined by a value of pixel data PIXEL DATA, which is within a range of 0 to 255. ¶ [0032]),
wherein the panel is configured to display an image corresponding the error information (Kim, The error detector 124 may count aperiodicity occurrences, which indicate a bit error is present whenever the aperiodicity is detected in pixel data PIXEL DATA, and may determine that abnormal conditions occur in the source driver 120 when a number of a counted bit error is greater than a predetermined threshold number. When a single display driving device 100 includes a plurality of source drivers 120, each source driver 120 individually checks a bit error to check whether abnormal conditions occur. Figure 3, ¶ [0031]) (Kim, The source driver 13 may output the source voltage
V
S
based on a control signal transmitted by the timing controller 11 to drive the plurality of source lines. Figure 1, ¶ [0021]).
Kim does not expressly teach
convert the error information into an identification code,
generate an RGB information set matching the identification code,
Yoo teaches a display and driving method configured to
convert the error information into an identification code (Yoo, a detection code input device connected to a specific input/output terminal of the control device; an error detector which received an error detection signal from the detection code input unit and determines whether an input signal is in error and outputs error data; and an error code output unit configured to transfer error data output from the error detector to the controller. Page 1, Claims lines 5-7), and
generate an RGB information set matching the identification code (Yoo, error detection unit for detecting an error of the control unit and outputting error data corresponding to the detected error: (a) detecting an error of the controller and outputting error data; and (b) displaying an error message corresponding to the error data on the display unit. Page 1, Claims lines 13-14), The RGB information is generated as the error message which will be displayed.
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim’s error detection to include Yoo’s error detection and display because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Kim’s error detection as modified by Yoo’s error detection and display is known to yield a predictable result of providing feedback to the user of a display condition since the error is displayed to the user when the functionality is faulty. Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated including in Kim’s error detection the ability to do Yoo’s error detection and display since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Thus, Kim, as modified by Yoo, teaches the error converted into display data for display on the display device.
As to claim 11, Kim discloses a method for displaying the status of a display device (Kim, display device 1, Figure 1) including a panel (Kim, panel 20, Figure 1) including a plurality of RGB groups(Kim, The panel 20 may include at least one transparent substrate, and a plurality of gate lines and a plurality of source lines may be disposed on the transparent substrate to intersect each other. A plurality of pixels may be defined at intersection points of the plurality of gate lines and the plurality of source lines. Figure 1, ¶ [0018]), a source driver (Kim, source driver 13, Figure 1) and a timing controller (Kim, timing controller 11, Figure 1), the method comprising:
obtaining, by the source driver, error information based on error test information for testing an error of data transmitted from the timing controller (Kim, The source driver 120 may evaluate periodicity of the test data received from the timing controller 110, and may count aperiodicity occurrences, which indicate a bit error, to measure a bit error rate (BER). In an example embodiment, the bit error rate may be measured in an interface included in the source driver 120 to intermediate communications between the source driver 120 and the timing controller 110. Figure 3, ¶ [0025])(Kim, The error detector 124 may count aperiodicity occurrences, which indicate a bit error is present whenever the aperiodicity is detected in pixel data PIXEL DATA, and may determine that abnormal conditions occur in the source driver 120 when a number of a counted bit error is greater than a predetermined threshold number. When a single display driving device 100 includes a plurality of source drivers 120, each source driver 120 individually checks a bit error to check whether abnormal conditions occur. Figure 3, ¶ [0031]);
supplying, by the source driver, a data voltage to each of the plurality of RGB groups constituting the panel based on the RGB information set transmitted from the timing controller (Kim, The source driver 13 may output the source voltage
V
S
based on a control signal transmitted by the timing controller 11 to drive the plurality of source lines. Figure 1, ¶ [0021])(Kim, Pixel data PIXEL DATA may have a value for determining a source voltage to be input to a plurality of RGB pixels included in a display panel. As an example embodiment, a single unit pixel in the display panel may include at least three sub-pixels, and each of the three sub-pixels may radiate red light, green light, and blue light, respectively. Pixel data PIXEL DATA may have a value for independently determining sizes of the source voltage to be input to the three sub-pixels. As an example embodiment, a size of a source voltage to be input to each sub-pixel may be determined by a value of pixel data PIXEL DATA, which is within a range of 0 to 255. ¶ [0032]); and
displaying, by the panel, an image corresponding the identification code based on the data voltage (Kim, The error detector 124 may count aperiodicity occurrences, which indicate a bit error is present whenever the aperiodicity is detected in pixel data PIXEL DATA, and may determine that abnormal conditions occur in the source driver 120 when a number of a counted bit error is greater than a predetermined threshold number. When a single display driving device 100 includes a plurality of source drivers 120, each source driver 120 individually checks a bit error to check whether abnormal conditions occur. Figure 3, ¶ [0031]) (Kim, The source driver 13 may output the source voltage
V
S
based on a control signal transmitted by the timing controller 11 to drive the plurality of source lines. Figure 1, ¶ [0021]).
Kim does not expressly teach
converting, by the timing controller, the error information transmitted from the source driver into an identification code;
generating, by the timing controller, a RGB information set matching the converted identification code;
Yoo teaches a display and driving method configured to
converting, by the timing controller, the error information transmitted from the source driver into an identification code (Yoo, a detection code input device connected to a specific input/output terminal of the control device; an error detector which received an error detection signal from the detection code input unit and determines whether an input signal is in error and outputs error data; and an error code output unit configured to transfer error data output from the error detector to the controller. Page 1, Claims lines 5-7), and
generating, by the timing controller, a RGB information set matching the converted identification code (Yoo, error detection unit for detecting an error of the control unit and outputting error data corresponding to the detected error: (a) detecting an error of the controller and outputting error data; and (b) displaying an error message corresponding to the error data on the display unit. Page 1, Claims lines 13-14), The RGB information is generated as the error message which will be displayed.
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim’s error detection to include Yoo’s error detection and display because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Kim’s error detection as modified by Yoo’s error detection and display is known to yield a predictable result of providing feedback to the user of a display condition since the error is displayed to the user when the functionality is faulty. Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated including in Kim’s error detection the ability to do Yoo’s error detection and display since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Thus, Kim, as modified by Yoo, teaches the error converted into display data for display on the display device.
As to claim 16, Kim, as modified by Yoo, teaches the method wherein the error information is a Bit Error Rate or an error type (Kim, The source driver 120 may evaluate periodicity of the test data received from the timing controller 110, and may count aperiodicity occurrences, which indicate a bit error, to measure a bit error rate (BER). In an example embodiment, the bit error rate may be measured in an interface included in the source driver 120 to intermediate communications between the source driver 120 and the timing controller 110. Figure 3, ¶ [0025]).
As to claim 17, Kim, as modified by Yoo, teaches the method wherein the error information is expressed as either a number, a string of numbers, a letter, or a string (Yoo, error detection unit for detecting an error of the control unit and outputting error data corresponding to the detected error: (a) detecting an error of the controller and outputting error data; and (b) displaying an error message corresponding to the error data on the display unit. Page 1, Claims lines 13-14) (Kim, The error detector 124 may count aperiodicity occurrences, which indicate a bit error is present whenever the aperiodicity is detected in pixel data PIXEL DATA, and may determine that abnormal conditions occur in the source driver 120 when a number of a counted bit error is greater than a predetermined threshold number. ¶ [0031]). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 11.
As to claim 18, Kim, as modified by Yoo, teaches the method wherein the source driver further comprises an error detection circuit configured to detect the error information from the error test information (Kim, The error detector 124 may count aperiodicity occurrences, which indicate a bit error is present whenever the aperiodicity is detected in pixel data PIXEL DATA, and may determine that abnormal conditions occur in the source driver 120 when a number of a counted bit error is greater than a predetermined threshold number. ¶ [0031]).
Claims 2-5, 12-15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0068600 by Kim et al. (“Kim”), in view of Korean Pub. No. KR 20060037754 A by Yoo (“Yoo”), and in further view of U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0231270 by Dykes et al. (“Dykes”).
As to claim 2, Kim, as modified by Yoo, does not expressly teach the display device wherein the identification code includes a plurality of Morse code sets, each Morse code set includes a plurality of Morse codes.
Dykes teaches a display system with pixel information defined by an identification code wherein the identification code includes a plurality of Morse code sets, each Morse code set includes a plurality of Morse codes (Dykes, In the embodiment of FIG. 1A, each pixel of each two-dimensional array in the sequence represents a different alpha-numeric character. Thus for example, the sequence of black and white squares appearing in the bottom right hand corner pixel 112 of the arrays, here designated as pixel 120, represents the number 1 expressed in Morse code, while the sequence of black and white squares appearing in the top right hand corner pixel 112 of the arrays, here designated as pixel 122, represents the character A expressed in Morse code. Figure 1A, ¶ [0045]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim’s pixel data to include Dykes’ Morse code encoded pixel data because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Kim’s pixel data as modified by Dykes’ Morse code encoded pixel data is known to yield a predictable result of providing a pixel data to a display device since this provides a data format for presenting to a user. Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated including in Kim’s pixel data the ability to do Dykes’ Morse code encoded pixel data since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Thus, Kim, as modified by Yoo and Dykes, teaches the pixel data expressed in Morse code.
As to claim 3, Kim, as modified by Yoo and Dykes, teaches the display device wherein each of the Morse code sets includes at least one of a first Morse code or a second Morse code (Dykes, In the embodiment of FIG. 1A, each pixel of each two-dimensional array in the sequence represents a different alpha-numeric character. Thus for example, the sequence of black and white squares appearing in the bottom right hand corner pixel 112 of the arrays, here designated as pixel 120, represents the number 1 expressed in Morse code, while the sequence of black and white squares appearing in the top right hand corner pixel 112 of the arrays, here designated as pixel 122, represents the character A expressed in Morse code. Figure 1A, ¶ [0045]). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 2.
As to claim 4, Kim, as modified by Yoo and Dykes, teaches the display device wherein the first Morse code is a code that a RGB value corresponds to full white color or full black color, and wherein the second Morse code is a code that only a value of a specific subpixel among a R subpixel value, a G subpixel value, and a B subpixel value is 255, and values of remaining subpixels are 0 (Dykes, In the embodiment of FIG. 1A, each pixel of each two-dimensional array in the sequence represents a different alpha-numeric character. Thus for example, the sequence of black and white squares appearing in the bottom right hand corner pixel 112 of the arrays, here designated as pixel 120, represents the number 1 expressed in Morse code, while the sequence of black and white squares appearing in the top right hand corner pixel 112 of the arrays, here designated as pixel 122, represents the character A expressed in Morse code. Figure 1A, ¶ [0045]). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 2.
As to claim 5, Kim, as modified by Yoo, teaches the display device wherein each of the plurality of RGB groups includes a plurality of RGB channels and each of the plurality of RGB channels include a plurality of RGB pixels (Kim, The panel 20 may include at least one transparent substrate, and a plurality of gate lines and a plurality of source lines may be disposed on the transparent substrate to intersect each other. A plurality of pixels may be defined at intersection points of the plurality of gate lines and the plurality of source lines. Each pixel may include a transistor and a capacitor, and a gate electrode and a source electrode of the transistor may be connected to a gate line and a source line, respectively. Figure 1, ¶ [0018]),
each RGB information includes RGB values provided to each of the plurality of RGB pixels included in each of the plurality of RGB channels of each RGB group (Kim, The source driver 13 may output the source voltage
V
S
based on a control signal transmitted by the timing controller 11 to drive the plurality of source lines. Figure 1, ¶ [0021])(Kim, Pixel data PIXEL DATA may have a value for determining a source voltage to be input to a plurality of RGB pixels included in a display panel. As an example embodiment, a single unit pixel in the display panel may include at least three sub-pixels, and each of the three sub-pixels may radiate red light, green light, and blue light, respectively. Pixel data PIXEL DATA may have a value for independently determining sizes of the source voltage to be input to the three sub-pixels. As an example embodiment, a size of a source voltage to be input to each sub-pixel may be determined by a value of pixel data PIXEL DATA, which is within a range of 0 to 255. ¶ [0032]),
Kim, as modified by Yoo, does not expressly teach
wherein the RGB information set includes a plurality of RGB information matching a Morse code which each of the plurality of RGB groups represents,
Dykes teaches a display system with pixel information defined by an identification code wherein the RGB information set includes a plurality of RGB information matching a Morse code which each of the plurality of RGB groups represents (Dykes, In the embodiment of FIG. 1A, each pixel of each two-dimensional array in the sequence represents a different alpha-numeric character. Thus for example, the sequence of black and white squares appearing in the bottom right hand corner pixel 112 of the arrays, here designated as pixel 120, represents the number 1 expressed in Morse code, while the sequence of black and white squares appearing in the top right hand corner pixel 112 of the arrays, here designated as pixel 122, represents the character A expressed in Morse code. Figure 1A, ¶ [0045]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim’s pixel data to include Dykes’ Morse code encoded pixel data because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Kim’s pixel data as modified by Dykes’ Morse code encoded pixel data is known to yield a predictable result of providing a pixel data to a display device since this provides a data format for presenting to a user. Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated including in Kim’s pixel data the ability to do Dykes’ Morse code encoded pixel data since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Thus, Kim, as modified by Yoo and Dykes, teaches the pixel data expressed in Morse code.
As to claim 12, Kim, as modified by Yoo, does not expressly teach wherein the identification code includes a plurality of Morse code sets, each Morse code set includes a plurality of Morse codes.
Dykes teaches a display system with pixel information defined by an identification code wherein the identification code includes a plurality of Morse code sets, each Morse code set includes a plurality of Morse codes (Dykes, In the embodiment of FIG. 1A, each pixel of each two-dimensional array in the sequence represents a different alpha-numeric character. Thus for example, the sequence of black and white squares appearing in the bottom right hand corner pixel 112 of the arrays, here designated as pixel 120, represents the number 1 expressed in Morse code, while the sequence of black and white squares appearing in the top right hand corner pixel 112 of the arrays, here designated as pixel 122, represents the character A expressed in Morse code. Figure 1A, ¶ [0045]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim’s pixel data to include Dykes’ Morse code encoded pixel data because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Kim’s pixel data as modified by Dykes’ Morse code encoded pixel data is known to yield a predictable result of providing a pixel data to a display device since this provides a data format for presenting to a user. Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated including in Kim’s pixel data the ability to do Dykes’ Morse code encoded pixel data since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Thus, Kim, as modified by Yoo and Dykes, teaches the pixel data expressed in Morse code.
As to claim 13, Kim, as modified by Yoo and Dykes, teaches the method wherein each of the Morse code sets includes at least one of a first Morse code or a second Morse code (Dykes, In the embodiment of FIG. 1A, each pixel of each two-dimensional array in the sequence represents a different alpha-numeric character. Thus for example, the sequence of black and white squares appearing in the bottom right hand corner pixel 112 of the arrays, here designated as pixel 120, represents the number 1 expressed in Morse code, while the sequence of black and white squares appearing in the top right hand corner pixel 112 of the arrays, here designated as pixel 122, represents the character A expressed in Morse code. Figure 1A, ¶ [0045]). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 12.
As to claim 14, Kim, as modified by Yoo and Dykes, teaches the method wherein the first Morse code is a code that a RGB value corresponds to full white color or full black color, and wherein the second Morse code is a code that only a value of a specific subpixel among a R subpixel value, a G subpixel value, and a B subpixel value is 255, and values of remaining subpixels are 0 (Dykes, In the embodiment of FIG. 1A, each pixel of each two-dimensional array in the sequence represents a different alpha-numeric character. Thus for example, the sequence of black and white squares appearing in the bottom right hand corner pixel 112 of the arrays, here designated as pixel 120, represents the number 1 expressed in Morse code, while the sequence of black and white squares appearing in the top right hand corner pixel 112 of the arrays, here designated as pixel 122, represents the character A expressed in Morse code. Figure 1A, ¶ [0045]). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 12.
As to claim 15, Kim, as modified by Yoo, teaches the method wherein each of the plurality of RGB groups includes a plurality of RGB channels and each of the plurality of RGB channels include a plurality of RGB pixels (Kim, The panel 20 may include at least one transparent substrate, and a plurality of gate lines and a plurality of source lines may be disposed on the transparent substrate to intersect each other. A plurality of pixels may be defined at intersection points of the plurality of gate lines and the plurality of source lines. Each pixel may include a transistor and a capacitor, and a gate electrode and a source electrode of the transistor may be connected to a gate line and a source line, respectively. Figure 1, ¶ [0018]),
each RGB information includes RGB values provided to each of the plurality of RGB pixels included in each of the plurality of RGB channels of each RGB group (Kim, The source driver 13 may output the source voltage
V
S
based on a control signal transmitted by the timing controller 11 to drive the plurality of source lines. Figure 1, ¶ [0021])(Kim, Pixel data PIXEL DATA may have a value for determining a source voltage to be input to a plurality of RGB pixels included in a display panel. As an example embodiment, a single unit pixel in the display panel may include at least three sub-pixels, and each of the three sub-pixels may radiate red light, green light, and blue light, respectively. Pixel data PIXEL DATA may have a value for independently determining sizes of the source voltage to be input to the three sub-pixels. As an example embodiment, a size of a source voltage to be input to each sub-pixel may be determined by a value of pixel data PIXEL DATA, which is within a range of 0 to 255. ¶ [0032]),
Kim, as modified by Yoo, does not expressly teach
wherein the RGB information set includes a plurality of RGB information matching a Morse code which each of the plurality of RGB groups represents,
Dykes teaches a display system with pixel information defined by an identification code wherein the RGB information set includes a plurality of RGB information matching a Morse code which each of the plurality of RGB groups represents (Dykes, In the embodiment of FIG. 1A, each pixel of each two-dimensional array in the sequence represents a different alpha-numeric character. Thus for example, the sequence of black and white squares appearing in the bottom right hand corner pixel 112 of the arrays, here designated as pixel 120, represents the number 1 expressed in Morse code, while the sequence of black and white squares appearing in the top right hand corner pixel 112 of the arrays, here designated as pixel 122, represents the character A expressed in Morse code. Figure 1A, ¶ [0045]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim’s pixel data to include Dykes’ Morse code encoded pixel data because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Kim’s pixel data as modified by Dykes’ Morse code encoded pixel data is known to yield a predictable result of providing a pixel data to a display device since this provides a data format for presenting to a user. Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated including in Kim’s pixel data the ability to do Dykes’ Morse code encoded pixel data since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Thus, Kim, as modified by Yoo and Dykes, teaches the pixel data expressed in Morse code.
As to claim 20, Kim, as modified by Yoo and Dykes, teaches the method wherein the plurality of RGB channels included in each RGB group are arranged in column form (Kim, The panel 20 may include at least one transparent substrate, and a plurality of gate lines and a plurality of source lines may be disposed on the transparent substrate to intersect each other. A plurality of pixels may be defined at intersection points of the plurality of gate lines and the plurality of source lines. Figure 1, ¶ [0018]). The source and gate lines are arranged in columns and rows to define the display panel.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0068600 by Kim et al. (“Kim”), in view of Korean Pub. No. KR 20060037754 A by Yoo (“Yoo”), and in further view of U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0165051 by Kim et al. (“Kim051”).
As to claim 9, Kim, as modified by Yoo, does not expressly teach the display device wherein the error detection circuit detects the error information through a parity check or a cyclic redundancy check (CRC).
Specifically, Kim teaches the bit error rate (BER) detection and not the methods cited in the claim.
Kim051 teaches a display system wherein the error detection circuit detects the error information through a parity check or a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) (Kim051, The multi display system 1000 may be implemented to correct the error of the image occurred during transmission between the source device and the display apparatus or between the display apparatuses according to various error detection methods which are verified previously such as a parity bit, a checksum, and cyclic redundancy checks (CRC), and the processor 130 may determine whether or not the error has occurred in the image data using the various error detection methods described above. ¶ [0059]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim’s BER detection to include Kim051’s various error detection methods because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Kim’s BER detection and Kim051’s various error detection methods perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being providing an error detection for a display device. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself – that is in the substitution of Kim’s BER detection by replacing it with Kim051’s various error detection methods. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Thus, Kim, as modified by Yoo and Kim051, teaches the error detection as a parity bit check or cyclic redundancy checks (CRC).
As to claim 19, Kim, as modified by Yoo, does not expressly teach the method wherein the step of obtaining the error information includes detecting the error information through a parity check or a cyclic redundancy check (CRC).
Specifically, Kim teaches the bit error rate (BER) detection and not the methods cited in the claim.
Kim051 teaches a display system wherein the step of obtaining the error information includes detecting the error information through a parity check or a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) (Kim051, The multi display system 1000 may be implemented to correct the error of the image occurred during transmission between the source device and the display apparatus or between the display apparatuses according to various error detection methods which are verified previously such as a parity bit, a checksum, and cyclic redundancy checks (CRC), and the processor 130 may determine whether or not the error has occurred in the image data using the various error detection methods described above. ¶ [0059]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim’s BER detection to include Kim051’s various error detection methods because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Kim’s BER detection and Kim051’s various error detection methods perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being providing an error detection for a display device. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself – that is in the substitution of Kim’s BER detection by replacing it with Kim051’s various error detection methods. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Thus, Kim, as modified by Yoo and Kim051, teaches the error detection as a parity bit check or cyclic redundancy checks (CRC).
Conclusion
/BRENT D CASTIAUX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623