DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Arguments filed 9/16/2026
Applicant’s Amendment obviates the claim objection of record.
Applicant’s Amendment is seen to significantly change the scope of the claim, necessitating new consideration over prior art. Upon consideration:
Amended Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-10 and new claim 20 are seen to be further taught by previously cited Adams (US 5422199), Gao (20220278419), Beylich (US 20140287282), and Batschied (US 6742682), as described in the updated rejection below.
Amended claim 8 is seen to be allowable over prior art.
New Claims 11-19 are seen to be allowable over prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Adams et al (US 5422199).
Regarding claim 1, Adams (FIGs 1-3) discloses “A valve apparatus for a housing of an electronic or electrical device (FIG 1), the valve apparatus comprising a housing device (30, 40, 46) having a connection portion (30) for connecting to a component (16) and a surrounding portion (area that houses 40/46), wherein the housing device comprises a gas passage opening (bottom opening/passage through 30/46) extending from the connection portion to the surrounding portion counter to an assembly direction (assembles by downward insertion, flow is upward from 52) for pressure compensation or for reducing a positive pressure (understood to occur by virtue of acting as a vent),
wherein the valve apparatus comprises a cover (32, 36, 38, 19) for the gas passage opening (caps it), which extends approximately orthogonally to the assembly direction (extends radially via 36) and has at least one gas opening (32) orthogonal to the assembly direction (see FIG 2, open radially out) configured to vent gas to space directly above the housing device (32 vents directly above 40 area into 44, see FIG 2);
and a membrane (46, 50) arranged in the gas passage opening for pressure compensation or for reducing a positive pressure (porous disc understood to also act as flow restriction).”
Regarding claim 2, Adams (FIGs 1-3) discloses “wherein the cover is integrally connected to the housing device (cover is a monolithic piece of the housing device, as it is part of the housing device in claim 1).”
Regarding claim 3, Adams (FIGs 1-3) discloses “wherein the housing device comprises a membrane receiving portion (at 48) to which the membrane is connected, wherein the membrane is connected to the membrane receiving portion on the connection side (bottom side) and thus counter to the assembly direction (location of 46 understood to occur by inserting 46 upward, opposite of downward assembly direction).”
Regarding claim 4, Adams (FIGs 1-3) discloses “wherein the membrane receiving portion (48) is formed as an inner sheath wall of the housing device (see FIG 2) and comprises a membrane receiving surface (surface that contacts 46), wherein the membrane receiving surface faces in the assembly direction (annular shoulder faces down) and thus towards a connection side (see FIG 2).”
Regarding claim 6, Adams (FIGs 1-3) discloses “wherein the at least one or more gas passage openings (32) extend approximately orthogonally to the assembly direction (extends radially out), so that gas can escape from the valve apparatus orthogonally to the assembly direction (through 32, in/out of the page compared to vertical assembly direction).”
Regarding claim 7, Adams (FIGs 1-3) discloses “wherein a seal (40) is arranged on an outer casing wall of the housing device for sealing the valve apparatus against a component (16).”
Regarding claim 20, Adams (FIGs 1-3) discloses “wherein a seal (40) is arranged on an outer casing wall of the housing device for sealing the valve apparatus against a component.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams in view of Gao et al (US 20220278419).
Adams is silent regarding “wherein the membrane is welded to the membrane receiving surface.”
However, Gao (FIGs 3a-b) teaches a pressure relief component for a car battery (analogous to Adams) where a membrane 330 is circumferentially attached to an annular surface of a housing 310 (see FIG 4, attached via an outer annular surface) by welding (para 29).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date, to modify the assembly of Adams with a circumferential face weld as taught by Gao, such that the combination teaches ““wherein the membrane is welded to the membrane receiving surface”, as applying a known means for assembling components meant for rigid placement (as necessitated by Adams) would be withing routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams in view of Gao and Beylich et al (US 20140287282).
Regarding claim 9, Adams (FIGs 1-3) discloses “A method for producing a valve apparatus according to claim 1, comprising the following steps:
producing an integral unit consisting of a housing device (30, 40, 46), a cover (32, 36, 38, 19), and a retaining web (34) extending radially outward in a transition region between the housing device and the cover (see FIG 3) …; and
applying a connection portion of a membrane (outer circumference of 46), which faces counter to an assembly direction (upward, relative to downward assembly direction) and thus towards the surrounding, onto a membrane receiving surface of a membrane receiving portion (annular wall at 48 that abuts 46) of the housing device, which faces in the assembly direction (faces down),…”.
Adams is silent regarding “[applying the membrane to the membrane receiving surface] by means of welding”.
However, Gao (FIGs 3a-b) teaches a pressure relief component for a car battery (analogous to Adams) where a membrane 330 is circumferentially attached to an annular surface of a housing 310 (see FIG 4, attached via an outer annular surface) by welding (para 29).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date, to modify the assembly of Adams with a circumferential face weld as taught by Gao, such that the combination teaches “[applying the membrane to the membrane receiving surface] by means of welding”, as applying a known means for assembling components meant for rigid placement (as necessitated by Adams) would be withing routine skill in the art.
Adams is further silent regarding “[producing an integral unit consisting of a housing device, cover, and retaining web] by means of a single-component injection molding process”.
However, Beylich teaches a valve housing arrangement for a car battery (analogous to Adams) where the housing can be formed as an injection-molded part (para 17).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date, to modify the construction of Adams to include “[producing an integral unit consisting of a housing device and cover by means of a single-component injection molding process]”, as taught by Beylich, as applying a known means for fabricating integral components (as necessitated by Adams) would be withing routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams/Beylich/Gao in view of Batschied et al (US 6742682).
Regarding claim 10, Adams is further silent regarding “wherein the integral unit consisting of the housing device and the cover and a seal molded onto the housing device is produced by way of a two-component injection molding process.”
However, Batscheid (FIGs 1-3) teaches a piston “housing” 12 having a seal (structurally analogous to Adams) where the seal is molded onto the housing by two-component injection molding (Column 4 lines 5-7).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date, to modify the assembly of Adams/Beylich/Gao with “wherein the integral unit consisting of the housing device and the cover and a seal molded onto the housing device is produced by way of a two-component injection molding process”, to provide an integral seal and known means for assembling the seal, as is desired in Adams.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-17 and 19 are allowed.
Claims 8 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 8, Adams is silent regarding “wherein the housing device has a rectangular cross-section when viewed from above.”
Modifying Adams in this manner is clearly nonobvious as Adams is screw-threaded into the component.
Regarding claim 11, Adams is silent regarding “a retaining web extending radially outward in a transition region between the housing device and the cover configured to act as a stop against the housing of an electronic or electrical device”. In Adams web 34 does not act as a stop in the component.
It would not be obvious to modify Adams without undue hindsight reasoning.
Claims 12-17 and 19 are allowed by virtue of their dependency on claim 11.
Regarding claim 18, Adams is silent regarding “wherein the at least one gas opening is above a retaining web extending radially outward in a transition region between the housing device and the cover.” IN Adams the web 34 axially spans 32, such that 32 cannot be above 34.
It would not be obvious to modify Adams without undue hindsight reasoning.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK C WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753