DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant elected Group I (claims 1-7) without traverse in the Reply filed 05/14/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/12/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tester 2007/0063847.
Regarding claim 1, Tester discloses a smart screening system, the system comprising: a latch (door 106) comprising: a latch body (body 302) ; and a latch arm (knob 304) positionable between an open position and a closed position [FIG 3A-3B] [019-25];an RFID tag (tag 102/104) mounted on the latch; and a screen (shield) comprising: a back screen between the RFID tag and the latch body [FIG 3A-3B]; wherein the front screen and the back screen enclose the RFID tag when the latch arm is in the closed position, and wherein the front screen and the back screen shield the RFID tag from RF signals when enclosed [FIG 3A-3B] [021-29].
However, Tester does not explicitly disclose a front screen mounted on the latch arm. Tester discloses different embodiments of where the shields can be placed, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the shield to best mode of the invention.
Regarding claim 2, Tester discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Tester further discloses an interrogator, the interrogator comprising: an antenna (antenna 114/116) to transmit an RF interrogation signal; and a receiver (reader 14) to retrieve information from the RFID tag [019].
Regarding claim 3, Tester discloses all of the limitations of claim 2. Tester further discloses the interrogator provides a readout status of the latch depending upon the retrieved information from the RFID tag [019-21].
Regarding claim 4, Tester discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Tester further discloses different embodiments of where the shields can be placed, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the shield to best mode of the invention.
Regarding claim 5, Tester discloses all of the limitations of claim 2. Tester further discloses the front screen is formed from an RF blocking material [21].
Regarding claim 6, Tester discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Tester further discloses comprising a second RFID tag (102-104) affixed to the latch [019-25].
Regarding claim 7, Tester discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Tester further discloses a cargo freight (users in the bathroom) latch [FIG 3A].
Conclusion
/ASIFA HABIB/Examiner, Art Unit 2876
/THIEN M LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876