DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 12/15/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 202223365106 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment and Arguments
Applicant’s amendment and arguments, filed 4/20/2026, have been reviewed and considered. Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7 and 9 have been amended and claim 2 has been canceled. Therefore, claims 1 and 3-9 are currently pending. Note that the applicant’s amendment to the specification and the addition of figure 4 has caused a new matter objection as appears below. Applicant’s amendment to claim 9 is considered sufficient in overcoming the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claim 9 by LIU et al. (CN 213896438 U). However, the remaining prior art rejections of the previous Office Action have NOT been overcome for the reasons addressed below.
In response to the applicant’s amendment (and corresponding arguments) to claim 1, please note that the newly added last paragraph of claim 1 is considered purely functional language containing no further limiting structure. Unlike independent claim 9 which is claiming a steam iron, independent claim 1 is claiming a downflow water diverter for functional use with a steam iron (preamble). Accordingly, the prior art does not have to disclose the claimed function thereof (claim 1), but rather only has to be capable of performing the claimed function. Even though the downflow water diverter (108) of LIU et al. (CN 213896438 U) is used to divide water into different vaporization channels (110) of a vaporization structure (100) of a steam iron, since the downflow water diverter (108) of LIU discloses all the structure as claimed by the applicant, the downflow water diverter (108) of LIU is considered fully capable of performing the claimed function if incorporated into a steam iron having a heated base plate. Similarly, downflow water diverter (19) of EATON et al. (US 3,881,265) contains all the structure as claimed by the applicant and is therefore, also considered fully capable of providing the claimed function. For example, note that the guide tube (23) of EATON can be disconnected from the spray nozzle (24) and be directed downward to the base plate (11).
Regardless, in relation to independent claims 1 and 9, given the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, EATON discloses the claimed function. EATON discloses the downflow water diverter (19) being configured such that a first part of water from the water collection chamber (48; interpreted as including recess 48 within 47 and the recess above 47 as shown in figure 3a) directly flows down to a base plate (11; includes steam generating chamber) of the steam iron (10) from the first outlet port (44) (through use of tube 22 and valve 26), and a second part of water from the water collection chamber (48; interpreted as including recess 48 within 47 and the recess above 47 as shown in figure 3a) flows from the second outlet port (43) into the guide tube (23) to be guided to a predetermined area of the base plate identified as a region of highest temperature, thereby precisely directing water flow toward the region of highest temperature to control thermal uniformity of the base plate (by spraying of the water from the sprayer 23 to the surface of the material to be ironed wherein the entire base plate is guided across the surface of the material with the water thereon during ironing).
Regarding the amendment and corresponding arguments in relation to claim 4, note that the recitation, “the guiding protrusion (14) is oriented toward the identified region of highest temperature to provide a visual or mechanical reference for aligning the bending direction of the guide tube (2) with the guiding protrusion (14) during installation, thereby ensuring that the second part of water is accurately directed toward the identified region of highest temperature” is considered purely functional language containing no further limiting structure. Since the guiding protrusion (P1 or P2; note representation within prior art rejection) of EATON discloses all the structure as claimed by the applicant, the guiding protrusion of EATON is considered fully capable of performing the claimed function. Even though both P1 and P2 of EATON are annular, each has a downward inclination, thus being capable of performing the claimed function since the base plate (11) is located downwardly. This Office Action is a Final Rejection.
Specification and Drawings
The amendment filed 4/20/2026 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. Please note that new figure 4 introduces material that is not supported by the original disclosure. Note that figure 4 shows a particular size, shape and style of the iron (3) that is not supported by the original disclose. Similarly, the particular size, shape, style and location of the base plate (300) is not supported by the originally disclosure. Additionally, the representations of both the water discharge unit (400) and diverter (1) are also new matter based on each’s location, size and positional relationship between other iron components.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LIU et al. (CN 213896438 U).
Regarding claims 1, LIU discloses a downflow water diverter (108) included within a steam iron (refer to “Technical Field” section and throughout the Specification), comprising: a diverter body (body of 108; Fig. 6), wherein a central part of the diverter body is provided with a water collection chamber (note interior of 1082, 1087 as shown in figure 4), an inlet port (1083) interconnected with the water collection chamber is disposed at an upper end of the diverter body, and at least two outlet ports (first interpretation: openings at upper ends of pipe sections 1088, 1088 that allow water to flow into pipe sections 1088, 1088) (second interpretation: 1089, 1089) interconnected with the water collection chamber are disposed at a lower end of the diverter body (Figures 1, 4 and 6). LIU discloses the downflow water diverter (108) further comprises a guide tube (one of 1089; note that this is based on first interpretation of the two outlet ports as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above), the outlet ports comprise a first outlet port and a second outlet port, the guide tube (1089) is arranged at the lower end of the diverter body and is interconnected with the second outlet port (note that each outlet port has a guide tube 1089) (Fig. 6). Note that the final paragraph of claim 1 is considered purely functional containing no further limiting structure. Since the downflow water diverter (108) of LIU discloses all the structure as claimed by the applicant, the downflow water diverter (108) of LIU is considered fully capable of providing the claimed function if incorporated into a steam iron having a heated base plate.
Regarding claim 5, LIU discloses the inlet port (1083; Fig. 6) being formed as a gradually constricted tapered structure (note the tapered structure of the inlet port as shown in figures 4-5).
Regarding claim 6, LIU discloses an annular protrusion (1082) being provided circumferentially on the outer sidewall of the diverter body (Figures 4 and 6).
Regarding claim 7, LIU discloses a positioning groove (1084) being provided circumferentially on the outer sidewall of the diverter body (Figures 4 and 6).
Regarding claim 8, LIU discloses the diverter body (body of 108) being connectable to a water discharge unit (water tank 202) of the steam iron which discharges the water (note embodiment seven as described in specification) (Fig. 7).
Claim(s) 1, 3-4 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EATON et al. (US 3,881,265).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, EATON discloses a downflow water diverter (19) included within a steam iron (10), comprising: a diverter body (40), wherein a central part of the diverter body is provided with a water collection chamber (48; interpreted as including recess 48 within 47 and the recess above 47 as shown in figure 3a), an inlet port (45) interconnected with the water collection chamber is disposed at an upper end (refer to figure below) of the diverter body, and at least two outlet ports (43, 44) interconnected with the water collection chamber are disposed at a lower end (refer to figure below) of the diverter body (40) (Figures 3a and 3b) (also note figures 1, 2 and 6). EATON discloses the downflow water diverter (19) further comprises a guide tube (23), the outlet ports comprise a first outlet port (44) and a second outlet port (43), the guide tube (23) is arranged (connected) at the lower end of the diverter body and is interconnected with the second outlet port (43) (Fig. 2). Additionally, EATON discloses the downflow water diverter (19) being configured such that a first part of water from the water collection chamber (48; interpreted as including recess 48 within 47 and the recess above 47 as shown in figure 3a) directly flows down to a base plate (11; includes steam generating chamber) of the steam iron (10) from the first outlet port (44) (through use of tube 22 and valve 26), and a second part of water from the water collection chamber (48; interpreted as including recess 48 within 47 and the recess above 47 as shown in figure 3a) flows from the second outlet port (43) into the guide tube (23) to be guided to a predetermined area of the base plate identified as a region of highest temperature, thereby precisely directing water flow toward the region of highest temperature to control thermal uniformity of the base plate (by spraying of the water from the sprayer 23 to the surface of the material to be ironed wherein the entire base plate is guided across the surface of the material with the water thereon during ironing).
Regarding claim 3, EATON discloses the guide tube (23) being configured with an L-shaped bend (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, EATON discloses a guiding protrusion (either P1 or P2 as shown in the representation above) is formed on an outer sidewall of the diverter body towards a bending direction of the guide tube (note that each of the protrusions P1, P2 is “annular” around the diverter body and therefore extend in all outward directions) (Figures 2, 3a and 3b). Note that the recitation, “the guiding protrusion (14) is oriented toward the identified region of highest temperature to provide a visual or mechanical reference for aligning the bending direction of the guide tube (2) with the guiding protrusion (14) during installation, thereby ensuring that the second part of water is accurately directed toward the identified region of highest temperature” is considered purely functional language containing no further limiting structure. Since the guiding protrusion (P1 or P2) of EATON discloses all the structure as claimed by the applicant, the guiding protrusion of EATON is considered fully capable of performing the claimed function. Even though both P1 and P2 of EATON are annular, each has a downward inclination, thus being capable of performing the claimed function since the base plate (11) is located downwardly.
Regarding claim 6, EATON discloses an annular protrusion (either P1 or P2 as shown in the representation above) is provided circumferentially on the outer sidewall of the diverter body (Figures 3a and 3b).
Regarding claim 7, EATON discloses a positioning groove (G; refer to representation above) is provided circumferentially on the outer sidewall of the diverter body (Figures 3a and 3b).
Regarding claim 8, EATON discloses the diverter body (40) being connectable (through 21 or 23) to a water discharge unit (18 or 24) of the steam iron (10) (Fig. 1).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NED
/NATHAN E DURHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732