DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1–19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1–20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,363,257 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the novel feature of the available samples being less than 4 in either the top or left reference sample set is the novel feature in both sets of claims such that one skilled in the art would interpret the instant claims to be obvious in view of the reference patent.
Claims 1–19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1–20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,973,936 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the novel feature of the available samples being less than 4 in either the top or left reference sample set is the novel feature in both sets of claims such that one skilled in the art would interpret the instant claims to be obvious in view of the reference patent.
Claims 1–19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1–20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,537,939 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the novel feature of the available samples being less than 4 in either the top or left reference sample set is the novel feature in both sets of claims such that one skilled in the art would interpret the instant claims to be obvious in view of the reference patent.
Claims 1–19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1–19 of copending Application No. 19/236,428. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the novel feature of the available samples being less than 4 in either the top or left reference sample set is the novel feature in both sets of claims such that one skilled in the art would interpret the instant claims to be obvious in view of the reference patent.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Recommendation on Allowable Subject Matter
Examiner notes the feature Applicant avers as inventive in Applicant’s Specification is described in paragraphs [0114] and [0153]–[0155] of Applicant’s published Specification. In those paragraphs, Applicant explains that when the number of available reference samples is less than 4, e.g. 2, then a default linear parameter is chosen rather than padding the samples up to 4. It is not clear from Applicant’s claims that this particular feature is explicitly claimed. Examiner notes this is the second child case in the family and third application overall. To expedite prosecution and to perhaps achieve a stronger patent, Examiner recommends Applicant claim narrower subject matter to further draw a distinction over the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Specifically, claim 19 is drawn to a different category of invention than claim 7 and thus the CRM claim of claim 19 fails to further limit the scope of the method claim (claim 7) upon which it depends and/or does not include all the limitations of the parent claim. MPEP 2114 (“[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does,” citing Hewlett-Packard Co. V. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original)). Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al., “Algorithm description for Versatile Video Coding and Test Model 5 (VTM 5), JVET-N1002-v2, 14th Meeting: Geneva, CH, March 2019 (herein “Chen”) and Choi et al., “CE3: Reduced number of reference samples for CCLM parameter calculation (CE3-1.4.1 and CE3-1.4.2),” JVET-N0228, 14th Meeting: Geneva, CH, March 2019.
Regarding claim 1, the combination of Chen and Choi teaches or suggests a method for a colour component prediction (Choi, Title: teaches the publication is drawn to cross component prediction), applied to decoder, comprising: determining a first reference sample set corresponding to a colour component to be predicted of a coding block in a video picture (The skilled artisan recognizes this as a feature of cross component prediction (CCP; also known as cross-component linear model (CCLM)); Chen, Section 3.3.2 (page 19) teaches selecting a set of reference samples); when a number of available samples in the first reference sample set is equal to 0, taking a preset component value as a prediction value corresponding to the colour component to be predicted (Choi, Section 6: teaches “If both numSampL and numSampT are equal to 0,” then “predSamples[x][y] = 1 << (BitDepthc – 1”; see original claim 5 wherein Applicant explains this is what Applicant means here), comprising: determining the preset component value based on a bit depth of the video picture; wherein the preset component value is 1<<(BitDepth-1), and the BitDepth is a bit depth of the colour component to be predicted (Choi, Section 6: teaches “If both numSampL and numSampT are equal to 0,” then “predSamples[x][y] = 1 << (BitDepthc – 1”); when a number of the available samples in the first reference sample set is greater than or equal to 4, obtaining a second reference sample set based on the first reference sample set (Chen, Section 3.3.2 (page 19): teaches the reference samples are “at most four neighbouring samples” and teaches the four samples are selected based on position): when a number of available samples in the second reference sample set is equal to a preset number (Chen, Section 3.3.2 (page 19): teaches the reference samples are “at most four neighbouring samples” and teaches the four samples are selected based on position), determining a model parameter of a prediction model according to the second reference sample set, wherein the prediction model is used to implement a prediction processing of the colour component to be predicted to obtain a prediction value corresponding to the colour component to be predicted (Chen, Section 3.3.2 (page 19): teaches alpha and beta parameters of the linear model calculated based on the reference sample set; Examiner notes Choi’s teaching of CCLM also teaches this feature; Chen, Section 3.3.2 (page 19): teaches the prediction of the chroma component predc is based on the alpha and beta parameters; Examiner notes Choi’s teaching of CCLM also teaches this feature).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by Chen, with those of Choi, because both references are drawn to the same field of endeavor such that one wishing to incorporate cross-component prediction such as CCLM would be led to their relevant teachings, because Chen is simply describing in prose what the pseudocode found in Choi is describing, and because such a combination is a mere combination of prior art constraints of the CCLM algorithm taught by the prior art and combined using known methods to produce the predictable result of a more constrained CCLM algorithm that reduces computational complexity. This rationale applies to all combinations of Chen and Choi used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Chen and Choi teaches or suggests the method of claim 1, wherein the preset number is 4 (see treatment of claim 1); and wherein the determining the first reference sample set corresponding to the colour component to be predicted of the coding block in the video picture comprises: acquiring reference samples neighboring at least one side of the coding block, wherein the at least one side comprises a left side of the coding block and/or a top side of the coding block; and determining the first reference sample set corresponding to the colour component to be predicted based on the reference samples (Chen, Section 3.3.2 (page 19): teaches LM, LM-A, and LM-L modes which look to the above and/or left neighboring samples as reference samples).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Chen and Choi teaches or suggests the method of claim 1, wherein the determining the first reference sample set corresponding to the colour component to be predicted of the coding block in the video picture comprises: acquiring reference samples in a reference row and/or a reference column neighboring the coding block, wherein the reference row comprises a row neighboring a top side and a top-right side of the coding block, and the reference column comprises a column neighboring a left side and a bottom-left side of the coding block; and determining the first reference sample set corresponding to the colour component to be predicted based on the reference samples (Examiner notes the claim covers the scenarios depicted in Applicant’s Figs. 6B and 6C, wherein Fig. 6B shows a left column’s reference samples including H + W samples and wherein Fig. 6C shows a top row’s reference samples including W + H samples; Equivalently, Chen, Section 3.3.2 (page 19): teaches for the LM-L (left) mode H’ = H + W and for the LM-A (above) mode W’ = W + H).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Chen and Choi teaches or suggests the method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the second reference sample set based on the first reference sample set comprises: determining positions of samples based on sample positions corresponding to neighbouring reference samples in the first reference sample set; and determining, from the first reference sample set, available samples corresponding to the positions of the samples according to the determined positions of the samples, and determining the second reference sample set based on the determined available samples, wherein the number of the available samples in the second reference sample set is less than or equal to the preset number (Chen, Section 3.3.2 (page 19): teaches the reference samples are “at most four neighbouring samples” and teaches the four samples are selected based on position; Chen, Section 3.3.2 (page 19): teaches the limitation that of the larger set of available reference samples, four neighboring reference samples are chosen based on their positions).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Chen and Choi teaches or suggests the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: for each sample in the coding block, performing prediction value filling on the colour component to be predicted of each sample by using the preset component value (Choi, Section 6: teaches “If both numSampL and numSampT are equal to 0,” then “predSamples[x][y] = 1 << (BitDepthc – 1”; Examiner notes the prediction samples are iterated through [x][y] and the prediction samples are filled in those positions).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Chen and Choi teaches or suggests the method of claim 1, wherein after obtaining the prediction model corresponding to the colour component to be predicted according to the model parameter, the method further comprises: performing a prediction processing on the colour component to be predicted of each sample in the coding block based on the prediction model, to obtain a prediction value corresponding to a colour component to be predicted of each sample (Chen, Section 3.3.2 (page 19): teaches the prediction of the chroma component predC is applied to each sample (i, j) in the coding block).
Claim 7 lists the same elements as claim 1, but is drawn to the corresponding encoding method rather than the decoding method. Because the skilled artisan knows the encoding and decoding processes are reciprocal in nature, the rationale for the rejection of claim 1 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 8 lists the same elements as claim 2, but is drawn to the corresponding encoding method rather than the decoding method. Because the skilled artisan knows the encoding and decoding processes are reciprocal in nature, the rationale for the rejection of claim 2 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 9 lists the same elements as claim 3, but is drawn to the corresponding encoding method rather than the decoding method. Because the skilled artisan knows the encoding and decoding processes are reciprocal in nature, the rationale for the rejection of claim 3 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 10 lists the same elements as claim 4, but is drawn to the corresponding encoding method rather than the decoding method. Because the skilled artisan knows the encoding and decoding processes are reciprocal in nature, the rationale for the rejection of claim 4 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 11 lists the same elements as claim 5, but is drawn to the corresponding encoding method rather than the decoding method. Because the skilled artisan knows the encoding and decoding processes are reciprocal in nature, the rationale for the rejection of claim 5 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 12 lists the same elements as claim 6, but is drawn to the corresponding encoding method rather than the decoding method. Because the skilled artisan knows the encoding and decoding processes are reciprocal in nature, the rationale for the rejection of claim 6 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 13 lists the same elements as claim 1, but is drawn to an apparatus rather than the method. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 1 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 14 lists the same elements as claim 2, but is drawn to an apparatus rather than the method. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 2 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 15 lists the same elements as claim 3, but is drawn to an apparatus rather than the method. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 3 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 16 lists the same elements as claim 4, but is drawn to an apparatus rather than the method. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 4 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 17 lists the same elements as claim 5, but is drawn to an apparatus rather than the method. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 5 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 18 lists the same elements as claim 6, but is drawn to an apparatus rather than the method. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 6 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 19 lists the same elements as claim 7, but is drawn to a CRM rather than the method. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 7 applies to the instant claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Choi et al., “CE3-related: Reduced number of reference samples for CCLM parameter calculation,” JVET-M0219-v2, 13th Meeting, Marrakech, MA, January 2019. The publication teaches limiting a number of reference samples used in CCLM to 4 samples (Section 1 and Table 1).
Wang et al., “CE3-related: Modified linear model derivation for CCLM modes,” JVET-M0274, 13th Meeting, Marrakech, MA, January 2019. The publication teaches limiting a number of reference samples used in CCLM to 4 samples (Section 2).
Galpin (US 2021/0051342 A1) teaches that when sample sets are unavailable, the references are padded according to some default process for setting their values (¶ 0064).
Ahn (US 2021/0243457 A1) teaches when both top and left samples are not available, the reference sample is set to a default value (¶ 0239).
/MICHAEL J HESS/Examiner, Art Unit 2481