DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/JP2024/002209 (filed on 01/25/2024). Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 02/06/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 08/07/2025 and 06/18/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered by the examiner. An initialed copy accompanies this Office Action.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 06/2/2025 have been considered.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, and 9-16 of copending Application No. 18/792,199 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application discloses a dispersion liquid comprises a quantum dot having a band gap pf 1.35 eV or less, a ligand, and a solvent (See claim 1) where the ligand is a compound having at least one functional group including carboxy group, a phospho group, a sulfonimide group and a sulfo group (See claim 4). The functional group is structurally same as the claimed ligand-containing compound; therefore, the pKa and molecular weight (Mw) of the functional group would be the same or substantially same as the claimed ligand-containing compound, i.e., pKa of 3 or less and Mw of 50 to 500. The reference application also discloses a content of quantum dot in a component obtained by removing the solvent and the ligand from the dispersion liquid is 50% by mass or more (See claim 9). The reference application further discloses that the dispersion useful as a photoelectric conversion layer for photodetection element and image sensor (See claims 13-16). The reference application anticipates the instant claimed invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 (and dependent claims 2-11) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, at lines 5-6, recites “a content of the quantum dots in a component obtained by removing the solvent and the ligand from the dispersion liquid is 50% by mass or more”. Since the dispersion liquid only comprises a quantum dot, a ligand, and a solvent, it is unclear what is the remaining less than 50 wt% of the component when solvent and ligand are removed. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claims 2-11 directly or indirectly depend from claim 1 and are indefinite based on their dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wo 2021002114 A1 (hereinafter Masashi).
Regarding claims 1-6, Masashi discloses a semiconductor quantum dot dispersion liquid comprises a ligand imparted to a surface of a semiconductor quantum dot dispersed in a solvent (See connecting unlabeled pages 9-10). Masashi discloses that the quantum dot can be binary or ternary semiconductor such as InAs, InGaAs, CuInS, CuInSe, CuInGaSe, InSb, HgTe, Ag2Se, and Ag2Te having a band gap of 0.5-2.0 eV, preferably 1.5 eV or less (See top of unlabeled page 5). Masashi further discloses that the ligand is a polydentate ligand containing a coordination portion including a carboxyl group, a sulfo group, a phosphor group and a phosphonic group (See bottom of unlabeled page 5 and middle of unlabeled page 6). The coordination portion of the ligand of Masashi is structurally same as the claimed ligand-containing compound; therefore, the pKa and molecular weight (Mw) of the coordination portion (i.e., a carboxyl group, a sulfo group, a phosphor group and a phosphonic group) would be the same or substantially same as the claimed ligand-containing compound, i.e., pKa of 3 or less and Mw of 50 to 500. It has been held that structurally similar compounds are generally expected to have similar properties (i.e., pKa and Mw). In re Gyurik, 596 F. 2d 1012,201 USPQ 552. Closely related homologues, analogs and isomers in chemistry may create a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Dillon USPQ 2d 1 897,1904 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Payne 203 USPQ 245 (CCPA 1979); In re Mills 126 USPQ 5 13 (CCPA 1960); In re Henze 85 USPQ 261 (CCPA 1950); In re Hass 60 USPQ 544 (CCPA 1944).
Regarding the limitation of “a content of the quantum dot in a component obtained by removing the solvent and the ligand from the dispersion liquid”, since the dispersion composition only contains three component and two components are removed, the only remaining component, i.e., quantum dot, has to be 50% by mass or more. In the instant case, Masashi discloses a step of filtering to remove impurities and a step of drying and removing of solvent from the dispersion (See bottom of unlabeled page 9). Thus, the remaining content would be at least 50% by mass of the quantum dot as claimed.
Regarding claim 7, Masashi discloses that the quantum dots having a high external quantum efficiency for light wavelength in the infrared region of 900 nm to 2,000 nm (See top of unlabeled page 5 and bottom of unlabeled page 3).
Regarding claims 8-9, Masashi discloses a photoelectric conversion film obtained by applying the dispersion liquid onto a substrate and drying (See unlabeled page 9).
Regarding claim 10, Masashi discloses the photoelectric conversion film useful as a photodetector (See bottom of unlabeled page 14; Test Examples 1-3).
Regarding claim 11, Masashi discloses the photoelectric conversion film useful as an image sensor (See bottom of unlabeled page 11).
The reference specifically or inherently meets each of the claimed limitations in their broadest interpretations. The reference is anticipatory.
In view of the foregoing, the above claims have failed to patentably distinguish over the applied art.
Conclusion
/KHANH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761