This application is a continuation of Application No. 18/115,260, filed February 28, 2023 (now U.S. Patent No. 12,353,550 B2, issued July 8, 2025). This application has been examined. Claims 1-20 are pending.
The Group and/or Art Unit location of your application in the PTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Group Art Unit 2175.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Double Patenting
4. The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
5. Claims 1-20 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 in Patent No. 12,353,550. See details below:
Summary of claim correspondence (detailed analysis follows):
Instant claim(s)
’550 patent claim(s) relied upon
Basis
1
1
Anticipation (genus/species)
2
2
Anticipation (genus/species)
3
1 and 4 (incl. 3)
Obviousness
4
1 and 5 (incl. 3)
Obviousness
5
1 and 6 (incl. 3)
Obviousness
6
1 and 7 (incl. 3)
Obviousness
7
1, 8 and 9
Obviousness
8
1
Anticipation (genus/species)
9
1 and 8
Obviousness (category)
10
1, 2 and 8
Obviousness
11
1, 8 and 10
Obviousness
12
1, 8 and 11
Obviousness
13
1, 8 and 12
Obviousness
14
1, 8 and 13
Obviousness
15
1, 8 and 9
Obviousness
16
1 and 8
Obviousness
17
1 and 8
Obviousness
18
1, 2 and 8
Obviousness
19
1, 4 (incl. 3) and 8 (or 8 and 10)
Obviousness
20
1, 6 (incl. 3) and 8 (or 8 and 12)
Obviousness
Regarding claim 1,
’550 claim 1 recites a method for operating a storage system that includes a server - the identical preamble of instant claim 1 - comprising “storing an operating system image from a trusted source into a boot volume for the server, wherein the server contains a storage processing unit connected to control backend storage and provides the boot volume to the server and wherein storing the operating system image comprises the storage processing unit downloading the operating system image from a cloud-based management service for the storage system,” and “storing one or more component images from the trusted source in the boot volume, the components being selected according to a desired configuration of the storage system, wherein storing the component images comprises the storage processing unit downloading the component images from a cloud-based management service for the storage system.” These limitations read on instant “downloading, by a storage processing unit from a remote management service, an operating system image in a boot volume and one or more component images in the boot volume, the component images being selected according to a desired configuration of the storage system,” a cloud-based management service being a species of a remote management service. ’550 claim 1 further recites “after storing the component images, booting the server from the boot volume, the server installing components from the component images while booting” and “after booting the server, taking a snapshot of the boot volume,” which read on instant “generating a snapshot of the boot volume after storing the component images and booting the server from the boot volume.” ’550 claim 1 further recites, verbatim, “configuring the storage system to promote the snapshot to be the boot volume before every reboot of the server,” adding only “whereby the server always reboots to a known operable state.” ’550 claim 1 is narrower than instant claim 1 in every respect in which the two differ (trusted source; SPU contained in the server and connected to control backend storage; cloud-based rather than any remote service; server installing components while booting; whereby clause). Instant claim 1 is therefore a genus of which ’550 claim 1 is a species, and instant claim 1 is anticipated by ’550 claim 1. See In re Goodman, 11 F.3d at 1053; Eli Lilly & Co. v. Barr Labs., Inc., 251 F.3d 955, 971 (Fed. Cir. 2001) (“a later genus claim limitation is anticipated by, and therefore not patentably distinct from, an earlier species claim”).
Regarding claim 2,
’550 claim 2 (depending from ’550 claim 1) recites “a user of the storage system contacting the cloud-based management service and selecting the component images based on the desired configuration of the storage system.” A method in which the user performs this contacting and selecting necessarily “allow[s] a user of the storage system to contact the remote management service and select the component images based on the desired configuration of the storage system,” and the cloud-based service is a species of the remote service. Instant claim 2 is anticipated by ’550 claim 2.
Regarding claim 3,
’550 claim 1 recites every limitation of instant claim 1, as set forth above, but recites a single post-boot snapshot rather than “a reboot process that includes: selecting a selected snapshot from among a first snapshot, a second snapshot, and a third snapshot; and promoting the selected snapshot to be the boot volume for the server.” ’550 claim 4, which incorporates ’550 claim 3, recites “a reboot process that includes: selecting a selected snapshot from among the first snapshot, the second snapshot, and the third snapshot; and the SPU promoting the selected snapshot to be the boot volume for the server,” where, per ’550 claim 3, the first snapshot is taken of the boot volume containing the operating system image, the second snapshot is taken after the component images are written, and the third snapshot is taken after the server boots - the third snapshot thus corresponding to the post-boot snapshot of ’550 claim 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the three-snapshot reboot selection of ’550 claim 4 in the method of ’550 claim 1, because both claims are directed to the same storage-processing-unit boot-volume method, ’550 claim 4 merely adds selectable earlier rollback points (operating-system-only and pre-boot customized states) to the same post-boot snapshot, and doing so yields the predictable result of permitting the server to be rolled back to any of those known states. As noted in the § 112(b) rejection above, the relationship between claim 3’s three snapshots and claim 1’s “the snapshot” is unclear; the rejection applies under either reading because the third snapshot of ’550 claim 4 is the post-boot snapshot and the first and second snapshots are additional snapshots of the same boot volume.
Regarding claim 4,
’550 claim 5 (incorporating ’550 claim 3) recites “configuring the SPU to promote the third snapshot to be the boot volume for each rebooting of the server, whereby the server reboots to a known operable state,” which is substantively verbatim to instant “promoting the third snapshot to be the boot volume for each rebooting of the server, whereby the server reboots to a known operable state.” Instant claim 4 would have been obvious over ’550 claims 1 and 5 for the reasons given for claim 3, ’550 claim 1 likewise reciting promotion of the post-boot snapshot “before every reboot of the server, whereby the server always reboots to a known operable state.”
Regarding claim 5,
’550 claim 6 (incorporating ’550 claim 3) recites “an update process that includes: the SPU promoting the first snapshot to be the boot volume; the SPU writing into the boot volume updated components selected according to the desired configuration of the storage system; after writing the components, the SPU taking a fourth snapshot of the boot volume and booting the server from the boot volume; and after booting the server, the SPU taking a fifth snapshot of the boot volume.” These steps correspond one-for-one to instant “an update process that includes: promoting the first snapshot to be the boot volume; writing, into the boot volume, updated components selected according to the desired configuration of the storage system; after writing the components, generating a fourth snapshot of the boot volume and booting the server from the boot volume; and after booting the server, generating a fifth snapshot of the boot volume,” differing only in that ’550 claim 6 identifies the SPU as the actor. Instant claim 5 would have been obvious over ’550 claims 1 and 6 for the reasons given for claim 3 (including the first, second, and third snapshots of ’550 claim 3 in the method of ’550 claim 1 and adding the update process of ’550 claim 6 to that same method).
Regarding claim 6,
’550 claim 1 recites “the server installing components from the component images while booting,” and ’550 claim 7 recites “wherein the component images comprise one or more image of one or more applications being installed for execution by the server,” which is substantively verbatim to instant “wherein the component images comprise one or more images of one or more applications being installed for execution by the server.” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use application images, as recited in ’550 claim 7, as the component images of ’550 claim 1, since ’550 claim 1 already requires the server to install components from those images and application images are the type of component expressly claimed for the same SPU boot-volume method. Instant claim 6 would have been obvious over ’550 claims 1 and 7.
Regarding claim 7,
’550 claim 9 recites that “the storage processing unit performs the first process in response to initialization of the server and in response to updating the operating system,” where the “first process” of ’550 claim 8 begins with “writing an operating system image for the server into the boot volume” and then “writing into the boot volume components.” ’550 claim 1 recites that this storing of the operating system image and component images “comprises the storage processing unit downloading” them from the management service. Updating the operating system held in the boot volume is an update of the boot volume. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the storage processing unit of ’550 claim 1 to perform its downloading “in response to initialization of the server and in response to updating the boot volume,” as ’550 claim 9 recites for the same storage processing unit’s boot-volume-population process, yielding the predictable result that the boot volume is populated both at first initialization and whenever its contents are updated. Instant claim 7 would have been obvious over ’550 claims 1, 8, and 9.
Regarding claim 8,
’550 claim 1 expressly recites that the storage processing unit downloads the operating system image and the component images “from a cloud-based management service for the storage system,” meeting instant “wherein the remote management service is a cloud-based service.” Instant claim 8 is anticipated by ’550 claim 1.
Regarding claim 9,
Instant claim 9 recites “a system comprising one or more processors to” perform the same three operations recited in instant claim 1: download, by a storage processing unit from a remote management service, an operating system image and component images selected according to a desired configuration into a boot volume; generate a snapshot of the boot volume after storing the component images and booting a server from the boot volume; and configure the storage system to promote the snapshot to be the boot volume before every reboot of a server. ’550 claim 1 recites each of these operations, as mapped for instant claim 1 above, but in method form. ’550 claim 8 claims the same storage processing unit in apparatus form - “a storage processing unit connected to the backend storage device, the storage processing unit providing a boot volume to the server, the storage processing unit being configured to execute a first process” of writing the operating system image and components into the boot volume and taking snapshots of the boot volume before and after booting the server. Construed in light of the ’550 disclosure, the claimed storage processing unit includes a processing system 130 having “one or more microprocessors or CPUs 132 and memory 134,” with a management module 141 that “may download an OS image to a virtual boot volume, add components to the boot volume, and automatically take or promote snapshots of boot volumes” (’550 patent, col. 4, ll. 19-37). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim the method of ’550 claim 1 as a system comprising one or more processors - the processor(s) of the storage processing unit claimed in apparatus form in ’550 claim 8 - configured to carry out the recited operations, because recasting a processor-performed method as a system of processors configured to perform the same operations does not change the operative steps and yields only the predictable result of the same boot-volume provisioning and snapshot promotion. Instant claim 9 is otherwise broader than ’550 claim 1 (remote rather than cloud-based service; no trusted source; no installing-while-booting limitation). Instant claim 9 would have been obvious over ’550 claims 1 and 8.
Regarding claim 10,
Instant claim 10 recites that the one or more processors are further to “allow a user of the storage system to contact the remote management service and select the one or more component images based on the desired configuration of the storage system,” which corresponds to ’550 claim 2 as set forth for instant claim 2. Instant claim 10 would have been obvious over ’550 claims 1, 2, and 8 for the reasons given for claims 2 and 9.
Regarding claim 11,
’550 claim 10 (depending from ’550 claim 8) recites that “the storage processing unit is configured to perform a second process for a reboot of the server, the second process comprising: selecting a selected snapshot from among the first snapshot, the second snapshot, and the third snapshot; and promoting the selected snapshot to be the boot volume for the rebooting of the server,” which corresponds to instant “cause a reboot process that includes: selecting a selected snapshot from among a first snapshot, a second snapshot, and a third snapshot; and promoting the selected snapshot to be the boot volume for the server.” Instant claim 11 would have been obvious over ’550 claims 1, 8, and 10 for the reasons given for claims 3 and 9, ’550 claim 10 being directed to the very storage processing unit relied upon for instant claim 9.
Regarding claim 12,
’550 claim 11 (depending from ’550 claim 8) recites a second process for a reboot of the server “comprising promoting the third snapshot to be the boot volume for the rebooting of the server, whereby the server reboots to a known operable state,” corresponding to instant “promote the third snapshot to be the boot volume for each rebooting of the server, whereby the server reboots to a known operable state.” To the extent ’550 claim 11 recites “a reboot” rather than “each rebooting,” ’550 claim 1 recites promotion “before every reboot of the server,” and ’550 claim 5 recites promotion of the third snapshot “for each rebooting of the server.” Instant claim 12 would have been obvious over ’550 claims 1, 8, and 11 for the reasons given for claims 4 and 9.
Regarding claim 13,
’550 claim 12 (depending from ’550 claim 8) recites a second process for an update of the components comprising “promoting the first snapshot to be the boot volume; writing into the boot volume updated components selected according to the desired configuration of the storage system; after writing the components, taking a fourth snapshot of the boot volume and booting the server from the boot volume; and after booting the server, taking a fifth snapshot of the boot volume,” which corresponds one-for-one to the update process of instant claim 13. Instant claim 13 would have been obvious over ’550 claims 1, 8, and 12 for the reasons given for claims 5 and 9.
Regarding claim 14,
’550 claim 13 (depending from ’550 claim 8) recites “wherein the components comprise one or more image of one or more applications being installed for execution by the server,” corresponding to instant “wherein the component images comprise one or more images of one or more applications being installed for execution by the server.” Instant claim 14 would have been obvious over ’550 claims 1, 8, and 13 for the reasons given for claims 6 and 9.
Regarding claim 15,
’550 claim 9 (depending from ’550 claim 8) recites that “the storage processing unit performs the first process in response to initialization of the server and in response to updating the operating system.” Instant claim 15 would have been obvious over ’550 claims 1, 8, and 9 for the reasons given for claims 7 and 9.
Regarding claim 16,
’550 claim 1 recites downloading “from a cloud-based management service for the storage system,” meeting instant “wherein the remote management service is a cloud-based service.” Instant claim 16 would have been obvious over ’550 claims 1 and 8 for the reasons given for claims 8 and 9.
Regarding claim 17,
instant claim 17 recites “a processor comprising one or more logical units to configure a storage system to promote a snapshot of a boot volume to be the boot volume before every reboot of a server, wherein the snapshot is generated after storing one or more component images and booting the server from the boot volume, wherein the component images are selected from an operating system image downloaded by a storage processing unit from a remote management service.” ’550 claim 1 recites “configuring the storage system to promote the snapshot to be the boot volume before every reboot of the server,” where the snapshot is taken “after booting the server,” which in turn occurs “after storing the component images,” and where both the operating system image and the component images are downloaded by the storage processing unit from a cloud-based management service, the components “being selected according to a desired configuration of the storage system.” As set forth in the § 112(b) rejection above, the phrase “selected from an operating system image downloaded by a storage processing unit” is ambiguous; for purposes of this rejection it is given its broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with parallel claims 1 and 9 and the specification (¶¶ [0028]-[0029]), i.e., that the component images are selected and are downloaded, together with the operating system image, by the storage processing unit from the remote management service - which ’550 claim 1 recites. Regarding the claimed processor comprising one or more logical units, it would have been obvious to claim the operations of ’550 claim 1 as performed by a processor having logical units - the CPU(s) 132 of the storage processing unit claimed in apparatus form in ’550 claim 8, which execute management module 141 to download the OS image, add components, and take or promote boot-volume snapshots (’550 patent, col. 4, ll. 19-37) - for the reasons given for claim 9. Instant claim 17 would have been obvious over ’550 claims 1 and 8. Should claim 17 be amended to require that the component images be extracted from within the operating system image itself, this rejection will be reconsidered in light of the amended language.
Regarding claim 18,
Instant claim 18 recites that the logical units are further to “allow a user of the storage system to contact the remote management service and select the component images based on a desired configuration of the storage system,” which corresponds to ’550 claim 2 as set forth for instant claim 2. Instant claim 18 would have been obvious over ’550 claims 1, 2, and 8 for the reasons given for claims 2 and 17.
Regarding claim 19,
Instant claim 19 recites that the logical units are further to “cause a reboot process that includes: selecting a selected snapshot from among a first snapshot, a second snapshot, and a third snapshot; and promoting the selected snapshot to be the boot volume for the server,” which corresponds to ’550 claim 4 (incorporating ’550 claim 3) and, in apparatus form, to ’550 claim 10, as set forth for instant claims 3 and 11. Instant claim 19 would have been obvious over ’550 claims 1, 4, and 8 (or, alternatively, ’550 claims 1, 8, and 10) for the reasons given for claims 3, 11, and 17.
Regarding claim 20,
Instant claim 20 recites that the logical units are further to cause the same update process recited in instant claim 5 (promoting the first snapshot; writing updated components selected according to the desired configuration; generating a fourth snapshot and booting; generating a fifth snapshot after booting), which corresponds to ’550 claim 6 (incorporating ’550 claim 3) and, in apparatus form, to ’550 claim 12, as set forth for instant claims 5 and 13. Instant claim 20 would have been obvious over ’550 claims 1, 6, and 8 (or, alternatively, ’550 claims 1, 8, and 12) for the reasons given for claims 5, 13, and 17.
Because the ’550 patent and the instant application appear to be commonly owned (the instant application being a continuation of Application No. 18/115,260), this rejection may be overcome by the timely filing of a terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c), together with a complete reply, as explained above. Applicant is reminded that the nonstatutory double patenting rejection is independent of, and would not be overcome by, any amendment or argument that overcomes the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 below, unless the amendment renders the claims patentably distinct from claims 1-13 of the ’550 patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 3-5, 11-13, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 (and its counterparts, claims 9 and 17) recites generating and, in step (c), promoting “the snapshot” (a single, specific, previously-introduced snapshot) to be the boot volume before every reboot of the server. Claim 3 (dependent from claim 1), however, introduces for the first time “a first snapshot, a second snapshot, and a third snapshot” without reciting any antecedent relationship between this newly-introduced set of three snapshots and “the snapshot” already generated and promoted in claim 1. It is unclear whether claim 3’s three snapshots are the same as, include, or are wholly distinct from claim 1’s “the snapshot.” This ambiguity is compounded by claim 4, which recites “promoting the third snapshot to be the boot volume for each rebooting of the server, whereby the server reboots to a known operable state” - language that restates the very function already performed by “the snapshot” in claim 1(c), strongly suggesting the third snapshot of claims 3-4 is intended to be the same snapshot recited in claim 1, but the claims do not say so. A person of ordinary skill in the art cannot determine the metes and bounds of the claim with reasonable certainty. Claims 5, 11-13, and 19-20 depend from or otherwise incorporate this ambiguous antecedent and are rejected for the same reason. Clarification is suggested, e.g., by reciting that the snapshot of claim 1 is the third snapshot of claim 3, or by adopting consistent snapshot terminology across the independent and dependent claims.
Claims 17-20 are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as indefinite. Claim 17 recites “wherein the component images are selected from an operating system image downloaded by a storage processing unit from a remote management service.” As written, this phrase is amenable to being read as reciting that the component images are extracted from, or are a subset of, a single downloaded operating system image - which is inconsistent with the parallel recitation in claims 1 and 9 (“downloading … an operating system image in a boot volume and one or more component images in the boot volume, the component images being selected according to a desired configuration”), and inconsistent with the supporting disclosure (e.g., ¶¶ [0028]-[0029], describing component images 196 as separate script/configuration files distinct from base operating system images 194). It is unclear whether “selected from” was intended to mean “downloaded together with” or whether the component images are genuinely derived from within the OS image itself. Claim 17 is additionally indefinite because it is unclear whether the claimed “processor” (preamble) is the same component as, is a sub-component of, or is separate from the “storage processing unit” recited in the body of the claim as the entity that performs the downloading - no antecedent or structural relationship between the two is recited. Claims 18-20 depend from claim 17 and are rejected for incorporating the same ambiguity. Clarification is required.
Applicant’s attention is directed to the recitation “one or more logical units” in claim 17. Under the three-prong analysis of MPEP § 2181(I), (1) “unit” is a well-recognized nonce term readily substitutable for “means,” (2) it is modified only by the functional recitation “to configure a storage system to promote a snapshot …,” and (3) the modifier “logical” does not by itself impart sufficiently definite structure to a person of ordinary skill in the art. Claim 17 is accordingly presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Corresponding structure appears to be disclosed at ¶¶ [0018]-[0021] and [0036] of the specification (processing system 130 / management module 141, i.e., a processor executing stored program instructions), which the Examiner finds sufficient to avoid a further 112(b) rejection for lack of corresponding structure. This claim construction is noted for the record and is applied in the prior-art rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watkins et al., (“Watkins”) (U.S. Pub No. 2010/0287365) in view of Campbell et al., (U.S. Pub No. 2010/0205421) (“Campbell”).
In order to expedite and avoid piecemeal prosecution, the following rejection is made to the extent that the claims are understood, by considering those elements which are understood and interpreting their function in a manner which is consistent with the recited goals of the claims, and then applying the best available art.
The examiner relies on the entire teachings of Watkins and Campbell references; the applicant should carefully consider the entire teachings of the above-mentioned references to better understand the examiner’s position.
Regarding claim 1,
Watkins teaches a method for operating a storage system that includes a server - a blade computer system 110 in which application server 120 is coupled through switching fabric 134 to RAID controller 140, which is coupled through switching fabric 136 to storage controllers 150/152 and storage pool 160 (Watkins ¶¶ [0010]-[0012], [0014], [0016]; Fig. 1), and a method of deploying a boot image to that server (Watkins ¶¶ [0024]-[0030]; Fig. 3; claim 1) - the method comprising:
downloading, by a storage processing unit from a remote management service, an operating system image in a boot volume - Watkins’ RAID controller 140 “comprises logic to implement at least one RAID implementation 142,” input/output resources 144 including “an out of band management port,” and a memory module 146 “on which a boot module application 148 executes” (Watkins ¶ [0013]); RAID controller 140 services the server’s I/O requests to storage pool 160 through storage controllers 150/152 (Watkins ¶ [0016]) and is therefore a storage processing unit. Watkins teaches “enabling the boot module 148 in the RAID controller 142 to obtain a boot image for at least one application server 120 from a remote management server via the out-of-band communication link . . . and to store the boot image in a logical volume in the storage pool 160. Once the boot image is stored in a logical volume, a server 120 can boot from the boot image” (Watkins ¶ [0018]). In Fig. 3, boot management module 262 of the remote management server transmits the boot image (operation 340); “[a]t operation 345 the RAID controller receives the boot image from the remote server,” and “[a]t operation 355 the boot image is stored in the logical volume created for the boot image” (Watkins ¶¶ [0024], [0027]-[0028]; Fig. 3; see also claim 1: “transmitting a boot image from the remote management server to the RAID controller via the out-of-band communication link; storing the boot image in the first logical volume”). The remote management server hosting boot management module 262 and boot image repository 264 (Watkins ¶¶ [0019], [0022], [0024]; Fig. 2) reads on the remote management service; the logical volume, whose ownership RAID controller 140 assigns to server 120 (Watkins ¶ [0029]; claim 5, “passing a pointer to the logical volume from the RAID controller to the diskless server”), reads on the boot volume; and the boot image, from which “[t]he server 120 would boot in a normal fashion” (Watkins ¶ [0029]), reads on an operating system image. Watkins further teaches that the boot image is retrieved from “a repository of approved boot images” (Watkins claims 3, 10, 16; ¶ [0027], boot image repository 264), i.e., the image is selected from a set of available images;
generating a snapshot of the boot volume after storing [the image] and booting the server from the boot volume - after the boot image is stored (operation 355) and ownership of the logical volume is assigned to server 120 (operation 360), “[a]t operation 365 the boot management module 262 initiates a boot operation for a server 120,” and “[t]he server 120 would boot in a normal fashion using the boot image in the logical volume” (Watkins ¶ [0029]); Watkins then teaches that “the RAID controller 140 may generate one or more snapshots of the boot image (operation 370) which can be stored in additional logical volumes 166, 168, in the storage pool 160 (operation 375)” (Watkins ¶ [0030]; Fig. 3; see also claim 6, “generating a snapshot of the logical volume; and storing the snapshot in a memory module,” depending from claim 1, which ends with the server booting from the boot image).
Watkins does not teach (i) one or more component images in the boot volume, the component images being selected according to a desired configuration of the storage system, as content distinct from the operating system image; (ii) consequently, that the snapshot is generated after storing such component images; or (iii) configuring the storage system to promote the snapshot to be the boot volume before every reboot of the server - Watkins stores its snapshots in additional logical volumes 166, 168 (¶ [0030]) but does not teach booting from them. In addition, Watkins ¶ [0030] and Fig. 3 do not expressly state that operation 370 follows the server-side boot of operation 365 (Fig. 3 draws operation 370 below operation 360 in the RAID-controller column).
In the same field of endeavor, Campbell teaches each missing feature. As to (i), Campbell teaches bootable snapshots “each snapshot containing an operating system, applications, and computer system configuration settings” (Campbell Abstract; claims 1, 16, 21), in which “all of the operating system and application files are included in the snapshot. . . . The user can be allowed to select specifically which files are in each snapshot” (Campbell ¶ [0049]), and “[d]ifferent snapshots can contain different program applications or even different operating systems” (Campbell ¶ [0022]).
Campbell teaches building such an image by first booting the system “including the operating system” (block 201), then at block 203 “the user sets the configuration of the machine. . . . This can include installing any desired software at the desired version, obtaining any updates or upgrades, configuring user settings for the applications . . . device drivers and any other user configurable settings. These settings then become the basis for the snapshot. Different users, for example, can establish different snapshots that are configured to best meet the needs of each user” (Campbell ¶ [0061]; Fig. 4) - i.e., application, driver, and settings components selected according to a desired configuration and written with the operating system into the bootable image. Campbell further teaches that such an image can be supplied from a remote source: “[a] new image can be prepared at the SI facilities and then distributed to all users using snapshots” (Campbell ¶ [0068]), and a replacement snapshot “can be stored locally or remotely” (Campbell ¶ [0074]). As to (ii), Campbell teaches that only after the system is booted (block 201) and the desired software is installed and configured (block 203) does the user, “having set a desired configuration . . . save[] the snapshot” (Campbell ¶ [0063]; block 207) - a snapshot generated after storing the component content and booting. As to (iii), Campbell teaches a “freeze mode” in which “the system boots to the same state at every reboot” (Campbell ¶ [0016]) and “a backup snapshot can be used to automatically restore the system to a certified state with every reboot” (Campbell ¶ [0078]). In Campbell’s Fig. 8 flow, the system boots into the default snapshot (blocks 351-357); “the inactive snapshot is restored to the condition of the newly booted active snapshot and at block 361, the inactive snapshot becomes the default snapshot”; on the next restart (blocks 363-365) “[w]hen the system boot[s] into the default snapshot, the default has switched to the other snapshot which was restored immediately after the last boot. Accordingly, the machine is in the same state as it was the last time it was booted” (Campbell ¶¶ [0086]-[0088]). Campbell teaches that “the operations of blocks 359 and 361 are performed before the user is granted access to the system” and are “programmed to proceed automatically” (Campbell ¶ [0089]), such that “the configuration of the machine is always returned to its original state after each reboot” (Campbell ¶ [0080]). The default snapshot that the interception machine code loads is set in advance by configuration (Campbell ¶ [0033], “load a default snapshot, based on previous configuration settings”; ¶ [0040], high level application used “to set defaults”; ¶ [0064], “the SI can set the default snapshot and lock out any further changes”), which reads on configuring the storage system to promote the snapshot to be the boot volume before every reboot of the server.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Watkins’ remotely deployed boot image to include Campbell’s configuration-selected application/driver/settings components (Campbell ¶¶ [0049], [0061]), to capture Watkins’ boot-volume snapshot (Watkins ¶ [0030]) after those components are installed and the server has booted as Campbell does (Campbell ¶¶ [0061], [0063]), and to configure Watkins’ RAID controller to promote that snapshot to be the boot volume before every reboot using Campbell’s freeze-mode technique (Campbell ¶¶ [0016], [0078], [0086]-[0089]). Watkins seeks to replace a “slow and expensive” manual boot process with automated remote deployment of boot images (Watkins ¶¶ [0017], [0031]), and Campbell identifies that a deployed system is thereafter degraded by malware, “user installed software or configuration settings,” and registry corruption, which are slow and expensive to repair (Campbell ¶¶ [0002]-[0004]), and teaches that freeze mode “ensures that upon restart, malicious code is erased” and returns the computer “to its certified and accredited baseline” (Campbell ¶ [0016]), and that re-imaging “can be done in minutes” rather than “four to twelve hours or more” (Campbell ¶ [0019]). The modification is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, and the use of a known technique to improve a similar system in the same way. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416-17 (2007); MPEP § 2143(I)(A), (C). One of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Watkins already generates and stores snapshots of the boot volume in additional logical volumes (Watkins ¶ [0030]) and Campbell’s promotion requires only selecting which stored snapshot is loaded as the active boot image at restart (Campbell ¶¶ [0033], [0086]-[0088]).
Regarding claim 2,
Watkins teaches that the remote management system 200 has a display 202, keyboard 210, mouse 214, and “any other device that allows the system 200 to receive input from a developer and/or a user” (Watkins ¶¶ [0019]-[0020]; Fig. 2), and that its boot management module 262 “retrieves a boot image from the boot image repository 264” (Watkins ¶ [0027]) of “approved boot images” (Watkins claim 3). Watkins does not teach allowing a user of the storage system to contact the remote management service and select the component images based on the desired configuration of the storage system. In the same field of endeavor, Campbell teaches that “[t]he user can be allowed to select specifically which files are in each snapshot” (Campbell ¶ [0049]); that “the user sets the configuration of the machine,” including “installing any desired software at the desired version” (Campbell ¶ [0061]); that the high level application allows “users to configure and organize snapshots” (Campbell ¶ [0040]); and that a System Integrator “logs on remotely” (block 223) to “remotely apply upgrades, updates, configuration changes, licensing changes and any other modifications” with “[a] new image . . . prepared at the SI facilities” (Campbell ¶¶ [0067]-[0068]; Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have Watkins’ user, at the remote management server (Watkins ¶ [0020]), select the components to be included in the deployed image according to the desired configuration as Campbell teaches (Campbell ¶¶ [0049], [0061]), for the reasons and with the reasonable expectation of success set forth for claim 1, and because doing so predictably tailors each deployed boot volume to “best meet the needs of each user” (Campbell ¶ [0061]). MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 3,
Watkins teaches generating “one or more snapshots of the boot image” stored in “additional logical volumes 166, 168” (Watkins ¶ [0030]; Fig. 1, volumes 164, 166, 168), i.e., multiple snapshots of the boot volume. Watkins does not teach a reboot process that includes: selecting a selected snapshot from among a first snapshot, a second snapshot, and a third snapshot; and promoting the selected snapshot to be the boot volume for the server. In the same field of endeavor, Campbell teaches a disk holding “three snapshots identified as alpha 111, beta 113, and gamma 115” (Campbell ¶ [0035]; Fig. 1), reading on the first, second, and third snapshots. On restart, Campbell’s interception machine code “will intercept the boot process and direct the boot loader to an appropriate snapshot,” and “will either load a default snapshot . . . or present a user with a list of snapshots from which to select,” causing the system to “‘swap’ and boot to the selected operating system” (Campbell ¶ [0033]). In the Fig. 3 flow, “the display can indicate that there are three available snapshots, alpha, beta, and gamma” (block 169), “a selection of one of the snapshots is received” (block 171), and “the selected snapshot is loaded” (block 175) (Campbell ¶¶ [0053]-[0055]; Fig. 3; claims 2, 4, 22) - i.e., selecting a snapshot from among the three and promoting it to be the boot volume. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Watkins’ multiple boot-volume snapshots with Campbell’s reboot-time selection among three snapshots, because Campbell teaches that choosing among snapshots allows the system to be “immediately . . . initiated back to an earlier configuration” when “problems arise” (Campbell ¶ [0020]), which is a known technique predictably improving recoverability of Watkins’ boot volume, with a reasonable expectation of success for the reasons set forth for claim 1. MPEP § 2143(I)(C). (As noted in the § 112(b) rejection above, the relationship between these three snapshots and “the snapshot” of claim 1 is unclear; this rejection applies under either reading, Campbell’s freeze-mode snapshot being one of the three stored snapshots.)
Regarding claim 4,
Watkins teaches generating a snapshot of the boot volume after the boot image is stored and the server is booted (Watkins ¶¶ [0029]-[0030]), but does not teach promoting the third snapshot to be the boot volume for each rebooting of the server, whereby the server reboots to a known operable state. In the same field of endeavor, Campbell teaches that “[t]he tertiary snapshot can be a reference snapshot or a baseline snapshot” (Campbell ¶ [0076]); that “[a] machine operating in freeze mode can also contain a baseline snapshot,” and that after the baseline is replaced, “[w]hen the system is rebooted again it will boot into the new freeze mode baseline” (Campbell ¶ [0081]); that in freeze mode “the system boots to the same state at every reboot” and “at system restart the computer is returned to its certified and accredited baseline” (Campbell ¶ [0016]); that “[o]nce a computer is restarted, every bit of the snapshot is reverted to the certified and accredited software baseline” (Campbell ¶ [0017]); and that the restored state may be “a recent preferred state, a known valid state, a certified state, or an initial state” (Campbell ¶ [0015]) - reading on promoting the third snapshot for each rebooting whereby the server reboots to a known operable state. Campbell further teaches that which snapshot serves as the default is a configurable choice (Campbell ¶ [0064], “[t]he user can select the newly saved snapshot as the default, or another snapshot”; ¶ [0077], “the snapshot to be used as default . . . can all be made selectable options”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to designate the post-boot snapshot of the Watkins-Campbell combination (the third of the three snapshots of claim 3) as Campbell’s freeze-mode baseline promoted at every reboot, because the post-boot snapshot is the most complete known-good state of the provisioned server, and doing so predictably achieves the freeze-mode benefit of returning the machine to its certified baseline on each restart (Campbell ¶¶ [0016], [0080]), for the reasons and with the reasonable expectation of success set forth for claims 1 and 3. MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 5,
Watkins teaches writing an image into the boot volume (operation 355), booting the server from it (operation 365), and generating snapshots of the boot volume stored in additional logical volumes (operations 370-375) (Watkins ¶¶ [0028]-[0030]; Fig. 3; claim 6). Watkins does not teach an update process that includes: promoting the first snapshot to be the boot volume; writing, into the boot volume, updated components selected according to the desired configuration of the storage system; after writing the components, generating a fourth snapshot of the boot volume and booting the server from the boot volume; and after booting the server, generating a fifth snapshot of the boot volume. In the same field of endeavor, Campbell teaches an update process in which an administrator boots into a stored snapshot and then writes updated content: at block 225 “the SI can boot to another snapshot,” at block 227 “the default snapshot is replaced with a new image,” and at block 231 “the system is rebooted to the new image,” allowing “the SI to remotely apply upgrades, updates, configuration changes, licensing changes and any other modifications” (Campbell ¶¶ [0067]-[0068]; Fig. 5) - reading on promoting a stored (first) snapshot to be the boot volume and writing updated components into the boot volume. Campbell likewise teaches that “the SI can upload any desired upgrades, updates, new applications, and security patches and then refreeze the computer system. Upon reboot, the computer system is then loaded into the new accredited baseline” (Campbell ¶ [0018]), and that “[a]n administrator can boot into one of the freeze mode snapshots . . . and then replace the reference baseline snapshot” so that “[w]hen the system is rebooted again it will boot into the new freeze mode baseline” (Campbell ¶ [0081]). Campbell further teaches capturing snapshots around such changes - a snapshot “can be used to preserve a known working state of the machine before a significant software change” (Campbell ¶ [0066]), and a snapshot is saved after the configured system is booted (Campbell ¶¶ [0061], [0063]; Fig. 4, blocks 201-207) - and retaining multiple snapshots concurrently (Campbell ¶ [0035]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, when performing Campbell’s update process on the Watkins-Campbell boot volume, to apply the same snapshot discipline used for the initial provisioning - a snapshot after the (updated) components are written and a further snapshot after the server boots (Watkins ¶¶ [0028]-[0030]; Campbell ¶¶ [0061], [0063], [0066]) - yielding the claimed fourth and fifth snapshots, because doing so predictably preserves rollback points both before and after the updated components are first booted, for the reasons and with the reasonable expectation of success set forth for claim 1. MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 6,
Watkins teaches that application server 120 runs “one or more applications 128 and one or more operating systems 130” (Watkins ¶ [0012]; Fig. 1), but does not teach that the deployed image includes them, i.e., wherein the component images comprise one or more images of one or more applications being installed for execution by the server. In the same field of endeavor, Campbell teaches that each snapshot contains “an operating system, applications, and computer system configuration settings” (Campbell Abstract; claim 1), that “all of the operating system and application files are included in the snapshot” (Campbell ¶ [0049]), that the snapshot is built after “installing any desired software at the desired version” (Campbell ¶ [0061]), and that on boot “[t]he applications are loaded at block 179” (Campbell ¶ [0055]; Fig. 3; claim 1, “loading the operating system and applications of the one snapshot”). It would have been obvious to include such application images in the combined boot volume for the reasons, and with the reasonable expectation of success, set forth for claim 1, since Watkins’ application server exists to execute applications 128 (Watkins ¶¶ [0012], [0016]). MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 7,
Watkins teaches that the storage processing unit performs the downloading in response to initialization of the server: Watkins addresses the problem of “booting the first server in the system 110” (Watkins ¶ [0017]), the RAID controller obtains and stores the boot image so that “a server 120 can boot from the boot image” (Watkins ¶ [0018]), operations 310-355 precede and enable the initial boot of operation 365 (Watkins ¶¶ [0025]-[0029]; Fig. 3), and “the boot image can be retrieved and stored before the server 120 is powered up, or even before the server 120 is present in the system 110” (Watkins ¶ [0031]). Watkins does not teach performing the downloading in response to updating the boot volume. In the same field of endeavor, Campbell teaches that “[a] new image can be prepared at the SI facilities and then distributed to all users using snapshots,” the old default snapshot being replaced with the new one (Campbell ¶ [0068]; Fig. 5, block 227); that “the primary snapshot can be replaced locally or remotely with a new certified primary snapshot” (Campbell ¶ [0074]); that the SI “can upload any desired upgrades, updates, new applications, and security patches” (Campbell ¶ [0018]); and that “[r]eplacing the inactive snapshot provides an efficient way to upload a new image to many machines” (Campbell ¶ [0090]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have Watkins’ RAID controller also download the image from the remote management server when the boot volume is updated, as Campbell teaches, because Watkins already provides the out-of-band download path (Watkins ¶¶ [0018], [0031]) and reusing it for updates predictably delivers Campbell’s remote upgrades to diskless servers, for the reasons and with the reasonable expectation of success set forth for claim 1. MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 8,
Watkins teaches that the remote management server communicates with the RAID controller over an out-of-band link for which “an Ethernet link or an RS232 link may be used” (Watkins ¶ [0013]), that the management interface may operate “according to a high speed communication protocol such as, for example, an Ethernet protocol,” and that boot images are deployed “from a remote source such as a remote boot image server” (Watkins ¶ [0031]). Watkins does not expressly teach wherein the remote management service is a cloud-based service. Campbell teaches a communication device 265 by which the computer system “may also be coupled to a number of clients or servers via a conventional network infrastructure, including an intranet or the Internet” (Campbell ¶ [0095]), that a replacement snapshot “can be stored locally or remotely” (Campbell ¶ [0074]), and that a program “may be transferred from a remote computer to a requesting computer . . . via a communication link (e.g., a modem or network connection)” (Campbell ¶ [0099]); Campbell likewise does not use the term “cloud.” The Examiner takes Official Notice that, before the effective filing date, hosting a remote device/boot-image management server as a network-accessible cloud-based service was well known and conventional. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement Watkins’ remote management server, reachable over Ethernet/Internet networking (Watkins ¶¶ [0013], [0031]; Campbell ¶ [0095]), as a cloud-based service, as a routine hosting choice predictably yielding the same remote boot-image deployment. MPEP § 2143(I)(A). Applicant may traverse the Official Notice by specifically pointing out the supposed error, whereupon documentary evidence will be provided in the next Office action. MPEP § 2144.03.
Regarding claim 9,
Claim 9 recites a system comprising one or more processors to perform the operations of method claim 1. Watkins teaches such processors: “[t]he processor(s), when configured by the logic instructions to execute the methods recited herein, constitutes structure for performing the described methods” (Watkins ¶ [0009]; see also ¶ [0035]); RAID controller 140 has a memory module 146 “on which a boot module application 148 executes” (Watkins ¶ [0013]); and Watkins claims “at least one processor” and “a memory module . . . comprising logic instructions which, when executed by the processor, configure the processor to” carry out the boot-image deployment (Watkins claim 14). Watkins, as set forth for claim 1, teaches the one or more processors to download, by a storage processing unit from a remote management service, an operating system image into a boot volume (Watkins ¶¶ [0013], [0018], [0027]-[0028]; Fig. 3, operations 340-355) and to generate a snapshot of the boot volume after storing the image and booting a server (Watkins ¶¶ [0029]-[0030]; Fig. 3, operations 365-375). Watkins does not teach the component images . . . selected according to a desired configuration, the snapshot being generated after storing those component images, or to configure the storage system to promote the snapshot to be the boot volume before every reboot of a server. In the same field of endeavor, Campbell teaches these features, as set forth for claim 1 (Campbell Abstract; ¶¶ [0016], [0049], [0061], [0063], [0078], [0080], [0086]-[0089]), performed by “a processing means such as a microprocessor, controller, or DSP (digital signal processor) 252” executing instructions from main memory 254 (Campbell ¶¶ [0091]-[0092], [0098]; Fig. 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Watkins and Campbell for the reasons, and with the reasonable expectation of success, set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 10,
Watkins teaches a remote management system 200 through which “a developer and/or a user” provides input and whose boot management module 262 retrieves an image from boot image repository 264 (Watkins ¶¶ [0020], [0022], [0027]), but does not teach the processors to allow a user of the storage system to contact the remote management service and select the one or more component images based on the desired configuration of the storage system. In the same field of endeavor, Campbell teaches user selection of “which files are in each snapshot” (Campbell ¶ [0049]), user-set configuration including “installing any desired software at the desired version” (Campbell ¶ [0061]), and remote SI login to apply upgrades and configuration changes (Campbell ¶¶ [0067]-[0068]; Fig. 5, block 223). The combination would have been obvious for the reasons, and with the reasonable expectation of success, set forth for claims 1, 2, and 9.
Regarding claim 11,
Watkins teaches multiple boot-volume snapshots stored in “additional logical volumes 166, 168” (Watkins ¶ [0030]) but does not teach the processors to cause a reboot process that includes: selecting a selected snapshot from among a first snapshot, a second snapshot, and a third snapshot; and promoting the selected snapshot to be the boot volume for the server. In the same field of endeavor, Campbell teaches three snapshots “alpha 111, beta 113, and gamma 115” (Campbell ¶ [0035]; Fig. 1), interception at restart that presents “a list of snapshots from which to select” and boots the selected one (Campbell ¶ [0033]), and the Fig. 3 flow of displaying the three snapshots (block 169), receiving a selection (block 171), and loading the selected snapshot (block 175) (Campbell ¶¶ [0053]-[0055]). The combination would have been obvious for the reasons, and with the reasonable expectation of success, set forth for claims 1, 3, and 9.
Regarding claim 12,
Watkins teaches a post-boot snapshot of the boot volume (Watkins ¶¶ [0029]-[0030]) but does not teach the processors to promote the third snapshot to be the boot volume for each rebooting of the server, whereby the server reboots to a known operable state. In the same field of endeavor, Campbell teaches that “[t]he tertiary snapshot can be a reference snapshot or a baseline snapshot” (Campbell ¶ [0076]), that the freeze-mode machine reboots into the baseline (Campbell ¶ [0081]), that “the system boots to the same state at every reboot” (Campbell ¶ [0016]), and that the restored state is “a known valid state, a certified state, or an initial state” (Campbell ¶ [0015]). The combination would have been obvious for the reasons, and with the reasonable expectation of success, set forth for claims 1, 4, and 9.
Regarding claim 13,
Watkins teaches writing an image into the boot volume, booting the server, and snapshotting the boot volume (Watkins ¶¶ [0028]-[0030]; Fig. 3, operations 355-375), but does not teach the processors to cause an update process that includes: promoting the first snapshot to be the boot volume; writing, into the boot volume, updated components selected according to the desired configuration of the storage system; after writing the components, generating a fourth snapshot of the boot volume and booting the server from the boot volume; and after booting the server, generating a fifth snapshot of the boot volume. In the same field of endeavor, Campbell teaches booting into another snapshot, replacing the default with a new image, and rebooting to it to apply “upgrades, updates, configuration changes” (Campbell ¶¶ [0067]-[0068]; Fig. 5, blocks 225-231; see also ¶¶ [0018], [0081]), and capturing snapshots before a significant software change and after the configured system is booted (Campbell ¶¶ [0061], [0063], [0066]). The combination would have been obvious for the reasons, and with the reasonable expectation of success, set forth for claims 1, 5, and 9.
Regarding claim 14,
Watkins teaches an application server 120 that executes applications 128 (Watkins ¶ [0012]) but does not teach wherein the component images comprise one or more images of one or more applications being installed for execution by the server. In the same field of endeavor, Campbell teaches snapshots containing “an operating system, applications, and computer system configuration settings” (Campbell Abstract), in which “all of the operating system and application files are included” (Campbell ¶ [0049]) and whose applications are loaded at boot (Campbell ¶ [0055]; Fig. 3, block 179). The combination would have been obvious for the reasons, and with the reasonable expectation of success, set forth for claims 1, 6, and 9.
Regarding claim 15,
Watkins teaches that the storage processing unit (RAID controller 140) performs the downloading in response to initialization of the server, the boot image being obtained so that the server can first boot and even “before the server 120 is powered up” (Watkins ¶¶ [0017]-[0018], [0031]; Fig. 3, operations 310-365). Watkins does not teach downloading in response to updating the boot volume. In the same field of endeavor, Campbell teaches replacing the boot snapshot with a new image prepared and distributed remotely (Campbell ¶¶ [0068], [0074], [0090]; Fig. 5, block 227). The combination would have been obvious for the reasons, and with the reasonable expectation of success, set forth for claims 1, 7, and 9.
Regarding claim 16,
Watkins teaches a remote management server reached over an Ethernet out-of-band link and deployment “from a remote source such as a remote boot image server” (Watkins ¶¶ [0013], [0031]), but does not expressly teach wherein the remote management service is a cloud-based service. Campbell teaches coupling to servers “via a conventional network infrastructure, including an intranet or the Internet” (Campbell ¶ [0095]) and snapshots stored “remotely” (Campbell ¶ [0074]). This limitation would have been obvious over the combination together with the Official Notice taken for claim 8, for the reasons set forth for claims 8 and 9.
Regarding claim 17,
Claim 17 recites a processor comprising one or more logical units (construed under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as noted above, the corresponding structure being a processor executing stored program instructions, and equivalents). Watkins teaches such structure: “logic may comprise circuitry,” “a finite state machine,” an “application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) or field programmable gate array (FPGA),” or “machine-readable instructions stored in a memory in combination with processing circuitry to execute such machine-readable instructions” (Watkins ¶ [0034]; see also ¶¶ [0009], [0035]; claim 14), including boot module 148 executing on RAID controller 140 (Watkins ¶ [0013]). Watkins teaches a snapshot of a boot volume generated after storing the image and booting the server from the boot volume (Watkins ¶¶ [0029]-[0030]; Fig. 3, operations 355-375), and an image downloaded by a storage processing unit from a remote management service (Watkins ¶¶ [0013], [0018], [0027]-[0028]; Fig. 3, operations 340-355). Watkins does not teach logical units to configure a storage system to promote a snapshot of a boot volume to be the boot volume before every reboot of a server, or wherein the snapshot is generated after storing one or more component images and wherein the component images are selected from an operating system image (interpreted, consistent with the § 112(b) rejection above and parallel claims 1 and 9, as component images selected and downloaded together with the operating system image). In the same field of endeavor, Campbell teaches freeze-mode promotion of a snapshot to be the boot image before every reboot (Campbell ¶¶ [0016], [0078], [0080], [0086]-[0089]; Fig. 8), performed by interception machine code and processor 252 (Campbell ¶¶ [0033]-[0034], [0091]; Fig. 9), and a bootable image in which configuration-selected applications, drivers, and settings are combined with the operating system and the snapshot is saved after booting and installing them (Campbell Abstract; ¶¶ [0049], [0061], [0063]; Fig. 4, blocks 201-207). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Watkins and Campbell for the reasons, and with the reasonable expectation of success, set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 18,
Watkins teaches a remote management system 200 receiving input from “a developer and/or a user” and retrieving images from boot image repository 264 (Watkins ¶¶ [0020], [0022], [0027]), but does not teach logical units to allow a user of the storage system to contact the remote management service and select the component images based on a desired configuration of the storage system. In the same field of endeavor, Campbell teaches user selection of snapshot contents and configuration (Campbell ¶¶ [0040], [0049], [0061]) and remote SI login to apply configuration changes (Campbell ¶¶ [0067]-[0068]; Fig. 5, block 223). The combination would have been obvious for the reasons, and with the reasonable expectation of success, set forth for claims 1, 2, and 17.
Regarding claim 19,
Watkins teaches multiple boot-volume snapshots in logical volumes 166, 168 (Watkins ¶ [0030]) but does not teach logical units to cause a reboot process that includes: selecting a selected snapshot from among a first snapshot, a second snapshot, and a third snapshot; and promoting the selected snapshot to be the boot volume for the server. In the same field of endeavor, Campbell teaches three snapshots alpha, beta, and gamma (Campbell ¶ [0035]; Fig. 1) and reboot-time display, selection, and loading of the selected snapshot (Campbell ¶¶ [0033], [0053]-[0055]; Fig. 3, blocks 169-175). The combination would have been obvious for the reasons, and with the reasonable expectation of success, set forth for claims 1, 3, and 17.
Regarding claim 20,
Watkins teaches writing an image to the boot volume, booting, and snapshotting (Watkins ¶¶ [0028]-[0030]; Fig. 3, operations 355-375), but does not teach logical units to cause an update process of promoting the first snapshot to be the boot volume, writing updated components selected according to the desired configuration, generating a fourth snapshot after writing and booting the server, and generating a fifth snapshot after booting. In the same field of endeavor, Campbell teaches booting into a stored snapshot, replacing the default with a new image, and rebooting to it (Campbell ¶¶ [0067]-[0068]; Fig. 5, blocks 225-231; see also ¶¶ [0018], [0081]), with snapshots captured around such changes (Campbell ¶¶ [0061], [0063], [0066]). The combination would have been obvious for the reasons, and with the reasonable expectation of success, set forth for claims 1, 5, and 17.
Examiner's note:
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passages as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent No. 6,205,450, discloses taking a disk snapshot and setting a virtual disk drive from a designated snapshot upon system restart.
U.S. Patent No. 10,509,646, discloses generating a file-system-volume snapshot prior to a software update and restoring the volume from that snapshot if the update renders the device inoperable.
U.S. Patent No. 8,606,892, discloses deploying applications/drivers onto a client device using an XML configuration file that determines which driver/application components to install, retrieved from a remote deployment server.
U.S. Patent No. 11,176,254, disclose automatic firmware rollback.
U.S. Patent No. 11,645,158, discloses automated rollback in virtualized computing environments.
U.S. Patent No. 11,822,950, discloses cloneless snapshot reversion.
Communications via Internet e-mail regarding this application, other than those under 35 U.S.C. 132 or which otherwise require a signature, may be used by the applicant and should be addressed to [raymond.phan@uspto.gov].
All Internet e-mail communications will be made of record in the application file. PTO employees do not engage in Internet communications where there exists a possibility that sensitive information could be identified or exchanged unless the record includes a properly signed express waiver of the confidentiality requirements of 35 U.S.C. 122. This is more clearly set forth in the Interim Internet Usage Policy published in the Official Gazette of the Patent and Trademark on February 25, 1997 at 1195 OG 89.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application should be directed to the TC 2100 central telephone number is (571) 272-2100.
/RAYMOND N PHAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175