Abstract of the Disclosure
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it does not adequately describe the embodiment of the invention claimed. Please amend by adding a few more descriptive sentences. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-8, 11-14 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu (U. S. Patent No. 6,176,736) in view of Liu (U. S. Patent No. 6,280,145).
As to claim 1, Hsu discloses view an electrically powered device kit (FIG.’s 1-6, Abstract, the components of Hsu’s ceiling fan and lamp attachment mechanism form a kit) comprising:
an electrically powered device 40 (FIG.’s 1 & 2, col. 2, ll. 20-25);
an elongate down-rod 42 (col. 2, ll. 38-40) configured for attachment to the electrically powered device (as shown);
a mating member 41 (col. 2, ln. 37, conical suspending member forms recited mating member) coupled to the elongate down-rod 42;
a mounting bracket 31 (col. 2, ll. 24-40) configured to be attached to a ceiling (bracket 31 is capable of mounting to a ceiling surface via intermediate structure shown), wherein the mounting bracket 31 comprises a receiving portion 311, 312, 314 (formed by structures at sides and lower end opening of bracket 31) configured to interface with the mating member 41 to support the electrically powered device 40 from the mounting bracket 31 (as shown), wherein the receiving portion 311, 312, 314 comprises a hollow center (surrounding sides 311) and a perimeter opening 313 (col. 2, ln. 25, notch forms recited opening) sized to accommodate insertion of a portion of the elongate down-rod 42 into the hollow center while the mating member 41 passes above the perimeter opening (shown best in FIG. 3), and wherein the receiving portion is configured to interface with the mating member 41 to inhibit axial rotation of the elongate down-rod relative to the mounting bracket 31 (as shown when installed, parts are secured against rotation);
first electrical contacts mounted to the mating member 41 (FIG. 5, ends of wires 43 are contacts);
first electrical wires 43 (col. 2, ln. 42), wherein each of the first electrical wires 43 is connected to a respective one of the first electrical contacts (as shown and described);
second electrical contacts 318 (col. 2, ln. 56, terminals 316 connected to conducting members 318) mounted to the receiving portion of the mounting bracket 31 (as shown); and
second electrical wires 321 (col. 2, ln. 54), wherein each of the second electrical wires 321 is connected to a respective one of the second electrical contacts 318 (as shown best in FIG. 3),
wherein the first electrical contacts and the second electrical contacts 318 are configured to interface to electrically connect the second electrical wires 321 to the first electrical wires 43 for a range of different mounted orientations of the mounting bracket 31 relative to a vertical orientation of the elongate down-rod 42 (intended result limitation broadly met due to the inherent length of the wires with respect to the bracket 31 and suspending member 41).
Hsu is silent as to receiving portion configured to interface with the mating member while accommodating different tilted orientations of the elongate down-rod relative to the mounting bracket to accommodate vertical alignment of the elongate down-rod when the ceiling is not horizontal. While Hsu does not explicitly disclose this arrangement, the mating member 41 has a conical surface which would allow for some tilting of the down rod while maintaining vertical alignment by gravity. Furter to this point, Liu teaches a ceiling fan suspending arrangement that is designed to tilt with respect to down-rod 30 to accommodate a non-horizontal ceiling installation (FIG. 6, col. 2, ll. 40-60, inter alia). With this in mind, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to adapt the receiving portion so that it is configured to interface with the mating member accommodating different tilted orientations of the down-rod to maintain vertical alignment when mounting the electrical device to a non-horizontal ceiling surface as taught by Liu (Abstract).
As to claim 2, Hsu further discloses the mating member 41 and the receiving portion 311, 312, 314 comprise complementarily shaped interfacing portions 312, 411 (col. 2, ll. 40-50, surfaces surrounding projection 312 and groove 411 form recited complementarily shaped portions).
As to claim 4, Hsu further discloses the receiving portion 311, 312, 314 is configured to interfere with gravity-influenced passage of the mating member 41 entirely through the hollow center of the receiving portion (col. 2, ll. 37-45, as shown and described, since mating member 41 hangs from bracket 31).
As to claim 5, Hsu further discloses the mating member 41 is further configured to be lowered against the receiving portion 311, 312, 314 to mount the mating member 41 to the receiving portion (shown best in FIG. 4).
As to claim 6, upon modification, Hsu further discloses one of the mating member 41 or the receiving portion comprises a protrusion 312 (col. 2, ln. 26); and the other of the mating member or the receiving portion comprises a groove 411 (col. 2, ln. 44) configured to interface with and accommodate the protrusion to inhibit axial rotation of the elongate down-rod 41 relative to the mounting bracket 31 and accommodate different tilted orientations of the elongate down-rod 42 relative to the mounting bracket 31 (upon Liu modification as shown, by virtue of its mounting arrangement, the down rod would be free to move in different tilted orientations).
As to claim 7, upon modification, Hsu further discloses one of the mating member 41 or the receiving portion comprises a protrusion 312 (col. 2, ln. 26); and the other of the mating member or the receiving portion comprises a groove 411 (col. 2, ln. 44) configured to interface with and accommodate the protrusion to inhibit axial rotation of the elongate down-rod 41 relative to the mounting bracket 31 and accommodate different tilted orientations of the elongate down-rod 42 relative to the mounting bracket 31 (and upon Liu modification as shown, by virtue of its mounting arrangement, the down rod would be free to move in different tilted orientations). However, only one of each protrusion and groove is taught by the applied art __not plural protrusions and grooves as claimed. However, this is simply duplicating known working elements, the projections and grooves. It has been held that the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. Since the protrusions/groove are used to provide keyed mating engagement for the mating member and bracket, having duplicate protrusions/grooves would only produce an expected redundancy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the claimed invention to duplicate the protrusion/grooves in order to provide redundancy and secure engagement between the member and bracket accrodingly. See MPEP § 2144.04 (VI)(B).
As to claim 8, Hsu further discloses the electrically powered device comprises a ceiling fan, a lighting fixture 40 (col. 2, ln. 21, lamp), or a combination of a ceiling fan with a lighting fixture.
As to claim 11, Hsu further discloses the mating member 41 has an interior cavity configured to receive an upper end portion of the elongated down-rod 42 (FIG. 4, rod 42 is shown threaded into suspending member 41 indicating an interior bore or cavity).
As to claim 12, Hsu is discussed above but is silent as to the mating member and the elongated down-rod are constructed as a single component. However, forming the mating member and down-rod components integrally would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art in order to simplify construction and/or installation of the components since it has been commonly held that forming components integrally requires only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04 (V)A1.
As to claim 13, Hsu further discloses the second electrical wires 321 have a length that accommodates different configurations of the elongate down-rod 42 with different lengths to facilitate selection of a vertical distance between the mating member 41 and the electrically powered device 40 during installation of the electrically powered device 40 (FIG. 2, wires 321 are depicted with slack having additional length indicating the capability accommodating different configuration in the manner claimed depending upon the length desired for a given installation)2.
As to claim 14, Hsu further discloses the mounting bracket 31 is configured for retention of an excess length of the second electrical wires 321 when the vertical distance between the mating member 41 and the electrically powered device 40 results an excess length of the second electrical wires 321 (FIG. 4, showing additional length of wire 321 contained within bracket 31 providing capability for retention of excess length of wire).
As to claim 17, Hsu further discloses the second electrical wires 43, 321 (second and first wires when connected) extend through the elongate down-rod 42 to the electrically powered device 40 (FIG. 5, as shown).3
As to claim 18, Hsu further discloses the mounting bracket 31 and the mating member 41 are configured that, when the mating member 41 is positioned against the receiving portion in a proper alignment, the effect of gravity on the electrically powered device 40, the elongate down-rod 42, and the mating member 41 tends to keep the first electrical contacts and the second electrical contacts 318 in electrical contact (when installed and connected as shown in FIG. 5 by gravity effects pressing down on member 41 against electrical conductors).
As to claim 19, Hsu further discloses a canopy 32 (col. 3, ln. 6) mountable to the mounting bracket 31 and configured to enclose the mounting bracket 31 and the mating member 41 while interfaced with the receiving portion of the mounting bracket 31 (FIG. 2, as shown).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu (U. S. Patent No. 6,176,736) in view of Liu (U. S. Patent No. 6,280,145) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Wang (U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0263224).
As to claim 3, the applied art is discussed above but is silent as to the complementarily shaped interfacing portions comprise spherical surfaces. To this point, Wang teaches a ceiling fan mount having a spherical ball member received in mounting bracket 12, the member and bracket each having complementary spherical surfaces 20, 27 (FIG. 1, para. 0027). With this in mind, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify Hsu with so that its receiving portion and mating member have complementary shaped spherical surfaces providing a universal joint connection that allows for tilting of the components to maintain vertical alignment of the down-rod as demonstrated by Wang.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 10, 15 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claims 9 and 10, the prior art of record either alone or in combination does not teach or fairly suggest the electrically powered device kit of claim 1 further wherein each of the first or second electrical contacts comprises a spring-biased electrical contact pin; and each of the first or second electrical contacts comprises an electrical contact surface configured to accommodate different locations of contact between a corresponding one of the first electrical contacts and the electrical contact surface to accommodate different tilted orientations of the elongate down-rod relative to the mounting bracket.
With respect to claim 15, the prior art of record either alone or in combination does not teach or fairly suggest the electrically powered device kit of claim 1 including the limitation of intervening claims 13 and 14 further wherein the mounting bracket comprises hooks on opposing sides of the mounting bracket around which the excess length of the second electrical wires can be wrapped to retain the excess length of the second electrical wires in a compact configuration.
With respect to claim 16, the prior art of record either alone or in combination does not teach or fairly suggest the electrically powered device kit of claim 1 including the limitation of intervening claims 13 and 14 further wherein the mounting bracket is configured to enable the excess length of the second electrical wires to be wrapped around at least a portion of the mounting bracket and accommodate different configurations of the elongate down-rod having different lengths without shortening of the second electrical wires.
It is the Examiner’s opinion that modification of the applied art with the aforesaid dependent claim features would not be reasonably foreseeable without benefit of the disclosure of the instant invention. For example, configuring the electrical contacts with spring-biased surfaces for accommodating different tiling orientations of the down-rod would not be foreseeable without recognizing the problem of providing instant electrical connection when fitting the mating member to the receiving portion while accommodating different orientations.
Conclusion
/KENNETH J HANSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
1 It is further noted that it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1993).
2 Applicant should verify that recitation of the second electrical wires, not the first, is intended here.
3 Applicant should verify that recitation of the second electrical wires, not the first, is intended here.