DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,357,834. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claimed inventions require sensing circuitry; memory; processing circuitry; and pulse generation circuitry, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to, for each of a plurality of pacing pulses, determine a match score to a morphology template; identifying first and second groups of scores based on the comparison to the template (to determine a type of capture). Based on the type of capture, the pulse generator is configured to generate pacing pulses. Claim 1 of the Patent also includes the limitations form claims 5, 6, 15 and 16 of the present application regarding determining frequency distributions of the matching scores.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Min et al. (2020/0353266).
Regarding Claims 1, 8, 9, 11 and 18-20, Min discloses a system and method for detecting and classifying His bundle capture comprising memory for storing a morphology template and a control circuit 60 configured to receive a cardiac electrical signal form a sensor after application of a pacing pulse by a pulse generator (par. [0113]). This process is repeatable for a plurality of pacing pulses. Min further discloses that for each pulse, the response is compared to the template; and the type of capture is determined based on the matching score. Specifically, the electrical signal can be compared to a template using cross-correlation. If the correlation coefficient exceeds 80% then the morphology is considered a match for a specific capture type. If it is below 80%, then a new template can be compared to identify a different capture type (par. [0100]). Therefore, Min discloses detecting first groups of matching scores (those that match to a template) and a second group of matching scores (those that do not match a template) and selecting a particular pacing pulse output to be applied based on the template the response matches to. For instance, if selective or non-selective capture is detected pulse can be selected to apply next (par. [0136-0137]). If the template is for loss of capture, the device can adjust the stimulation so that it can achieve the proper capture threshold (see par. [0119, 0138-0142]).
In regards to Claims 2 and 12, Min discloses identifying pulses that are 80% or greater match for a template (par. [0100]) and therefore any matching scores that pass the threshold tests are within 20% of one another.
With regard to Claims 3, 4, 13 and 14, Min discloses that’s cores less than an 80% match are in a second group of non-matching scores. These values are within a range of values less than the first matching scores (par. [0100]).
In regard to Claims 7 and 17, Min discloses a first template can be one indicative of selective or non-selective capture of the His-Purkinje system (par. [0099-0101]).
Regarding Claim 10, Min discloses testing for specific types of capture and selecting the lowest pulse output that obtains the capture goal, such as non-seletcive capture, see example of par. [0168]).
Allowable Subject Matter
The Examiner notes claims 5, 6, 15 and 16 do not have any prior art rejections applied but are not in condition for allowance due to the outstanding double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Casavant et al. (2020/0129772) discloses using morphology templates to determine match scores for types of capture (see par. [0097])
/ALLEN PORTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796