DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210184362 A1 (hereinafter “Hong Loh”) in view of US 20220384961 A1 (hereinafter “Chang’).
Claim 1: Hong Loh teaches an intelligent reflecting surface comprising: a first substrate (e.g., see 12 in FIGS. 1-4, 25-28) including a patch electrode (e.g., see 14), a strip wiring (e.g., see 16, 18, 20, 22 in FIG. 25), and a transistor (e.g., see 20, 22, 24, 26, Para. 214-215); a second substrate (e.g., see 34) including a counter electrode (e.g., see 35) opposed to the patch electrode; wherein a first end of the strip wiring is connected at an intermediate position on one side of the patch electrode (e.g., as shown in FIG. 25), and a second end of the strip wiring is electrically connected to the transistor.
Hong Loh does not teach a liquid crystal layer between the first substrate and the second substrate.
However Chang teaches a liquid crystal layer (e.g., see LCL in FIGS. 2-3) between first substrate (e.g., see SUB1) having patch electrode (e.g., see 110) and second layer (e.g., see SUB2) having counter electrode (e.g., see 120).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to utilize a liquid crystal layer between the first substrate of Hong Loh and the second substrate as taught by Chang in order to provide continuous phase reconfigurability which changes the permittivity continuously and/or for precise beam steering in the reflected signal’s phase.
Claim 2: the modified invention of Hong Loh is such that it teaches the intelligent reflecting surface according to claim 1, wherein the patch electrode has a first side extending in a first direction and a second side extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction (e.g., see two sides as shown), and an oscillation direction of a polarized wave (e.g., see Vertical and Horizontal Polarized Electric Field Vectors in FIG. 1) incident on the patch electrode is parallel to or in a direction equivalent to the first direction, and the strip wiring is connected to the second side (e.g., as shown).
Claim 3: the modified invention of Hong Loh is such that it teaches the intelligent reflecting surface according to claim 1, wherein the patch electrode has a first side extending in a first direction and a second side extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction (e.g., see two sides as shown), an oscillation direction of a polarized wave (e.g., see Vertical and Horizontal Polarized Electric Field Vectors in FIG. 1) incident on the patch electrode is parallel to or in a direction equivalent to the second direction, and the strip wiring is connected to the second side, and the strip wiring includes a lead portion extending in the first direction from the patch electrode and an extended portion extending in the second direction, wherein the extended portion is longer than the lead portion (e.g., see stubs in FIG. 32).
Claim 4: the modified invention of Hong Loh is such that it teaches the intelligent reflecting surface according to claim 1, wherein the strip wiring and the patch electrode are arranged on an insulating layer (e.g., insulating layer of 12), and the strip wiring is electrically connected to the transistor via a contact hole (e.g., see FIG. 26-31) arranged in the insulating layer (e.g., see Para. 187).
Claim 5: the modified invention of Hong Loh is such that it teaches the intelligent reflecting surface according to claim 2, wherein a length of the second side is L, and the strip wiring is connected to the patch electrode at a position closer to the center of the second side than a length of L / 4 from both ends of the second side (e.g., wherein the strip wiring is centered on the sides of patch).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Inquiry
/AMAL PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845