DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
This action is in response to application Response to Election/Restriction for 19237012 filed on 04/21/2026. Claims 1-18 are presented for examination, of which claims 1, 2 and 5-15 are withdrawn from consideration.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 18337043, filed on 07/25/2023.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species 2 in the reply filed on 04/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Prior Art Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 3, 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hung et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2011/0187672 A1)
Regarding claim 3, Hung teaches a touch device (Hung, Fig. 11, device comprising the touch display panel 30C), comprising:
a display panel (Hung, Fig. 11, touch display panel 30C), comprising a first substrate (Hung, Fig. 11, overcoat 42’), a second substrate (Hung, Fig. 11, lower glass substrate 48), a display medium layer (Hung, Fig. 11, display unit structure 46), and a color filter layer (Hung, Fig. 11, color filter 44), wherein the first substrate has a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface (Hung, Fig. 11, top and bottom surfaces of overcoat 42’);
a conductive layer, disposed on the first surface of the first substrate, wherein the conductive layer is a patterned electrode layer (Hung, Fig. 11, ITO1’ on top surface of overcoat 42’ and have a specific pattern);
wherein the display medium layer and the color filter layer are disposed between the second surface of the first substrate and the second substrate (Hung, Fig. 11, display unit structure between the bottom surface of overcoat 42’ and lower glass substrate 48); and
a touch substrate, disposed on the first surface of the first substrate, wherein the touch substrate comprises a third substrate and a first touch electrode (Hung, Fig. 11, overcoat 42 along with ITO 1 are on the top surface of overcoat 42’).
Regarding claim 4, Hung teaches the limitations of claim 3 and further teaches the conductive layer serves as a drive electrode, and the first touch electrode serves as a sensing electrode (Hung, [0047]-[0048], the lower of the two ITOs transmits/drives a voltage and the top of the two ITO senses/detects).
Regarding claim 16, Hung teaches the limitations of claim 3 and further teaches the conductive layer comprises a transparent conductive layer (Hung, [0025], ITO is a transparent conductive layer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2011/0187672 A1) in view of Chen et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2013/0021289 A1)
Regarding claim 17, Hung teaches the limitations of claim 3. Hung does not seem to explicitly teach a polarizer disposed between the conductive layer and the first touch electrode.
However, in a related art of touch sensitive display, Chen teaches a touch sensitive display having a polarizer disposed between a conductive layer and a first touch electrode for a touch sensor (Chen, Fig. 22, ITO electrode 44, polarizer 92 and another ITO electrode 44 are arranged in sequential order).
Before the time of the first effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art to arrange the polarizer between the electrodes as suggested by Chen for the touch sensitive display of Hung. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to compensate for the interference of display image by the touch electrode and to provide improved touch sensitive display (Chen, [0006]-[0007]).
Regarding claim 18, Hung in view of Chen teaches the limitations of claim 17 and further teaches an optical adhesive disposed between the polarizer and the first touch electrode (Chen, [0071], structure/layers can be bonded together with optically clear adhesive, i.e. between the two layers).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2013/0222317 A1 to Abiru et al. discloses a similar invention as recited, specifically a polarizer between touch electrodes, see Fig. 3, polarizing plate 17 between electrodes 18 and 19.
/DONG HUI LIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629