DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/13/2025, 4/15/2026 and 7/27/2026 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 22, 28-32, 38-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang (US 20100097271 A).
With regards to claim 21. (New) Chang disclose(s):
An antenna device for a wireless communication system (figs 1a-8c) comprising:
a printed circuit board PCB (31; fig 3a); a conductive pattern (32) disposed on the PCB, and configured to supply radio frequency RF signals ([0048]); a radome (33; [0047]) disposed so as to at least partially cover the PCB (see 33 covering 31 in fig 3a) and the conductive pattern (32), and spaced apart from the PCB without a radiating structure directly connected to the conductive pattern ([0047]); and a radiator pattern (see pattern of each 3321; fig 3a), formed on a first surface of the radome (33), configured to radiate the RF signals supplied from the conductive pattern([0050]) , wherein the radiator pattern includes a first radiator (3324) and at least one second radiator surrounding the first radiator (see 3323 surrounding 3324 in fig 3e).
With regards to claim 22. (New) Chang disclose(s):
The antenna device of claim 21, wherein the at least one second radiator (3323) is disposed on the radome with a plurality of gaps (3325, 3326) for maintaining a resonant frequency within a predefined frequency band ([0060]; see also figs 5a and 5b).
With regards to claim 28. (New) Chang disclose(s):
The antenna device of claim 21, wherein each of the at least one second radiator (3323) has a loop-shape with a predetermined width (see partial loop in fig 3e).
With regards to claim 29. (New) Chang disclose(s):
The antenna device of claim 21, wherein the first surface of the radome corresponds to an upper surface of the radome (see surface 3311; fig 3a), and wherein the radome is spaced apart from the PCB (31) by a predetermined distance (hg) and is disposed to so as to cover the PCB and the conductive pattern (32).
With regards to claim 30. (New) Chang disclose(s):
The antenna device of claim 21, wherein the first surface of the radome corresponds to a lower surface of the radome (see surface 3311; fig 3a), and wherein the radome is spaced apart from the PCB (31) by a predetermined distance (hg) and is disposed to so as to cover an antenna module including the PCB (31), the conductive pattern (32), and the radiating pattern.
Examiner note: the term “lower surface” does not involve a direction of reference.
With regards to claim 31. (New) Chang disclose(s):
A base station comprising an antenna device (figs 1a-8c) configured for use in a wireless communication system, wherein the antenna device comprises:
a printed circuit board PCB (31; fig 3a); a conductive pattern (32) disposed on the PCB, configured to supply radio frequency RF signals ([0048]); a radome (33; [0047])disposed so as to cover the PCB (see 33 covering 31 in fig 3a) and the conductive pattern (32) and spaced apart from the PCB (see distance hg) without a radiating structure directly connected to the conductive pattern ([0047]); and a radiator pattern (see pattern of each 3321; fig 3a) formed on a first surface (3311) of the radome (33) configured to radiate the RF signals supplied from the conductive pattern [0050], wherein the radiator pattern includes a first radiator (3324) and at least one second radiator at least partially surrounding the first radiator (see 3323 surrounding 3324 in fig 3e).
With regards to claim 32. (New) Chang disclose(s):
The base station of claim 31, wherein the at least one second radiator (3323) is disposed on the radome with a plurality of gaps (3325, 3326) for maintaining a resonant frequency within a predefined frequency band ([0060]; see also figs 5a and 5b).
With regards to claim 38. (New) Chang disclose(s):
The base station of claim 31 wherein each of the at least one second radiator (3323) has a loop-shape with a predetermined width (see partial loop in fig 3e).
With regards to claim 39. (New) Chang disclose(s):
The base station of claim 31, wherein the first surface of the radome corresponds to an upper surface of the radome (see surface 3311; fig 3a), and wherein the radome is spaced apart from the PCB (31) by a predetermined distance (hg) and is disposed to so as to cover the PCB and the conductive pattern (32).
With regards to claim 40. (New) Chang disclose(s):
The base station of claim 31, wherein the first surface of the radome corresponds to a lower surface of the radome, and wherein the radome is spaced apart from the PCB by a predetermined distance and is disposed to so as to cover an antenna module including the PCB, the conductive pattern, and the radiating pattern.
wherein the first surface of the radome corresponds to a lower surface of the radome (see surface 3311; fig 3a), and wherein the radome is spaced apart from the PCB (31) by a predetermined distance (hg) and is disposed to so as to cover an antenna module including the PCB (31), the conductive pattern (32), and the radiating pattern.
Examiner note: the term “lower surface” does not involve a direction of reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 20100097271 A) in view of Udagawa (US 20190123432 A1).
With regards to claims 23 and 33. (New) Chang disclose(s):
The antenna device of claims 21 and 31,
wherein the radiator pattern includes: the first radiator and the at least one second radiator corresponding to the first antenna element (see 3323 surrounding 3324),
Chang does not disclose(s):
wherein the conductive pattern comprises an antenna divider for a plurality of antenna elements including a first antenna element and a second antenna element,
Udagawa teaches:
wherein the conductive pattern comprises an antenna divider (31-33; fig 6; [0061]) for a plurality of antenna elements (radiating element 21-25) including a first antenna element (21) and a second antenna element (22), and
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Chang by implementing the conductive pattern comprises an antenna divider for a plurality of antenna elements including a first antenna element and a second antenna element as disclosed by Udagawa in order to configure a particular distribution of power to multiple antenna elements as taught/suggested by Udagawa ([0061]).
Chang as modified does not disclose(s):
third radiator and the at least one fourth radiator corresponding to the second antenna element.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the known technique of implementing multiple patch antennas having a power divider of Udagawa to the know device patch antenna having a radome of Chang yielding the predictable result of multiple antennas having corresponding radomes which involves at least two radiators for each radome as suggested by Chang (see 3323 surrounding 3324 in fig 3e).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 24-27, 34-37 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RENAN LUQUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845