DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a rear sleeve that is “a multi-lumen tube” (claim 6) and “a polygonal radially-shaped tube” (claim 1) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The drawings currently show a multilumen tube (FIG 5) OR a polygonal radially-shaped tube (FIG 4) but fails to show a combination which meets both limitations. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites ”the rear sleeve being a polygonal radially-shaped tube” in lines 11-12. The scope of this limitation is unclear to one of ordinary skill in the art particularly in view of the Figures 4 and 5. Particularly, it is not clear what should be considered “radially-shaped” since a tube is already understood to have a radial component, but the specification in [0026] discloses that FIG 4 shows the “polygonal radial tubular shape” and FIG 5 alternatively shows a multi-lumen tube, suggesting that a simple tube structure does not satisfy the conditions of a radially shaped tube.
Claims 3-4 recite “the number of radiating arms” and claim 5 recites “its radiating arms”. Each instance is lacking proper antecedent basis for radiating arms. In combination with the above discussion of claim 1, it is unclear if radiating arms are an additional element of the rear sleeve or if the radiating arms are defined by the polygonal radially shape tube.
Further regarding claim 5, it is unclear what amount of space should be considered ”sufficient” space between the radiating arms. One of ordinary skill in the art is unable to determine the scope of this limitations because the claim does not establish what the spacing should be sufficient for.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yassinzadeh (US 2023/0380820).
Regarding claim 1, Yassinzadeh discloses a tissue closure device for a vascular puncture site (42, FIGs 8A-8H), comprising: a proximal temporary closure device (90, [0037]); a delivery device (40, FIG 8A, [0044]) slidably movable along the axis of a main conduit (123; 40 is movable along the axis as 10 is inserted into 40, FIG 8B); an implant (121, [0040], FIG 1A and 8F); and a main handle (78) located distally (FIG 1, 2, 8B-8H) for controlling the temporary closure device ([0037-0038]); wherein the proximal temporary closure device is capable of actively changing its morphological size in diameter (See change in diameter of 90 from FIGs 1-2, [0037]); the delivery device is a hollow tubular structure sleeved over the exterior of the main conduit and is slidably movable along the axis of the main conduit towards or away from the temporary closure device (Because sheath 40 is fully slidable relative to the elements of device 10, [0044]); the implant is a hollow tubular structure enveloping the main conduit (121 is tubular in shape, FIG 1A-5, and is positioned within 123 such that is seals an annular gap thereof, FIG 1A. Therefore it is interpreted as enveloping the main conduit by fully covering an inner lumen wall thereof), moves slidably along the axis of the main conduit following the delivery device ([0043]), and is capable of expanding within tissue at the puncture site to achieve hemostasis (See expansion in FIG 4 relative to FIG 3, [0043] discloses the expansion due to swelling of the material); the distal main handle controls the morphological change of the temporary closure device via a traction wire (76, [0037-0038]); characterized in that the inner diameter of the main conduit (Particularly conduit 123’ shown in FIG 10A-10C, [0047]) is provided with a rear sleeve (126’/162), the rear sleeve being a polygonal radially-shaped tube (Tube shaped at 162 and polygon radially shaped due to barbs 160), having a central lumen which is circular in shape (Lumen passing therethrough shown in FIG 10B-10C), the inner diameter of said lumen being larger than the diameter of the traction wire (Although not numbered, traction wire 76 is shown as passing through the lumen, therefore the lumen is a larger diameter), and the traction wire being slidable within the rear sleeve (FIG 10A-10C shows slidable relative movement between the rear sleeve and the wire).
Regarding claim 3, Yassinzadeh discloses the number of radiating arms of the rear sleeve is at least greater than three (FIG 10C shows more than three barbs 160).
Regarding claim 5, Yassinzadeh discloses the rear sleeve has sufficient space between its radiating arms (FIG 10A-10C shows spacing between the radiating arms which is interpreted as being ‘sufficient’ to allow for expansion of the arms); when the rear sleeve is nested within an outer sleeve (The following limitations are interpreted as being optional because they follow a conditional “when” statement pertaining to an outer sleeve which is not positively recited element of the claim), the radiating arms serve as supports for fixation, maintaining the traction wire in a relatively central position, and the spaces between the radiating arms allow for the smooth or even venting of gases to expel excess gas generated during the retraction of the temporary closure device.
Regarding claim 7, Yassinzadeh discloses the temporary closure device is a segment of external braided structure (mesh 74), covered with a layer of covering material (membrane 96, [0037]); the proximal and distal ends of the segment of external braided structure (77 and 75, FIG 1A) are provided with external limiting rings serving a fixation function ([0037]; 75 and 77 are rings which serve to define the proximal and distal ends of the mesh), and the external limiting rings constraining the segment of external braided structure to prevent it from unraveling ([0037] “The occlusion element 90 is held between the plug 77 and the proximal anchor 75 so that axial retraction of the rod in the proximal direction (to the left as shown in FIGS. 1 and 1A) foreshortens the occlusion element 90, causing the occlusion element to expand radially, as shown for example in FIG. 2” is understood as preventing unraveling of the braid structure because expansion is permitted).
Regarding claim 8, Yassinzadeh discloses the main conduit is internally provided with an inner sleeve (71, FIG 1A); the outer diameter of the inner sleeve is smaller than the inner diameter of the external limiting ring (FIG 1A, because 71 is received within 75); the inner sleeve can be nested within the interior of the external limiting ring and within the external braided structure (FIG 1A); the inner sleeve extends into the space within the external limiting ring and the external braided structure (As shown in FIG 1A and 10A-10C).
Regarding claim 9, Yassinzadeh discloses the rear sleeve is either abutted against the inner sleeve or spaced apart from it by an interval (FIGs 10A-10C shows 71 being slightly spaced apart from 162).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yassinzadeh (US 2023/0380820).
Regarding claim 2, Yassinzadeh discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1. Yassinzadeh discloses the inner diameter of the lumen of the rear sleeve is larger than the diameter of the traction wire (FIG 10A-10C and 11A) but is silent regarding the difference in diameter being 0.01 mm to 0.5 mm.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the inner diameter of the lumen of the rear sleeve to be 0.01mm to 0.5 mm larger than the diameter of the traction wire since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Yassinzadeh would not operate differently with the claimed diameters and since the lumen should be sufficiently larger than the wire to allow for translation therebetween but not so great such that the overall diameter of the device is excessive, the device would function appropriately having the claimed diameters. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the diameter is “preferably” be within the claimed ranges (specification pp. [0026]).
Regarding claim 4, Yassinzadeh discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
Yassinzadeh is silent regarding the total number of radiating arms and therefore fails to disclose the number of radiating arms of the rear sleeve is an odd number.
However, the number of radiating arms is limited to either an odd number or an even number. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select an odd number of radiating arms, because it would have been obvious to try by choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Conclusion
/BROOKE LABRANCHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771