DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks filed 12 August 2026 have been considered. The amendments do not overcome the rejection under section 102, as described below in the updated mapping to address the newly-introduced claim limitations. It is noted that language along the lines of “enabling a storage system to replicate,” used throughout the claims, as functional language, carries little patentable weight: because the outcome of the replication is recited without details of how the replication is performed, and because the mapping and the information identifying the consistency group appear to be sufficient, on their own, to enable any system to replicate the identified consistency group based on the mapping and the information identifying the consistency group, transmitting the generated metadata update inherently includes the enabling information because it is explicitly recited as being included in the metadata update when it was generated in the first place: what other information, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, is necessary to enable the replication?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-13, and 15-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iwamura et al., US 2008/0104347 A1.
As per claims 1, 8, and 15, Iwamura teaches:
generating, by a first storage system of a plurality of storage systems configured to replicate a dataset, a metadata update describing a mapping of a dataset segment to a virtual address of a storage object storing at least a portion of the dataset, wherein the metadata update comprises information identifying a consistency group comprising a group of storage objects storing portions of the dataset, wherein the storage object is included in the group of storage objects of the consistency group, Iwamasu ¶¶ 0074, 0134, 0435-38, where the volumes are consistency groups, and where changes to the virtual address/real address mappings of identified storage blocks – the claimed storage objects – are determined; and
transmitting the metadata update from the first storage system to a second storage system of the plurality of storage systems, wherein the metadata update includes information that enables any storage system of the plurality of storage systems to replicate, based on the mapping and the information identifying the consistency group, a snapshot of the consistency group, Iwamura ¶¶ 0074 (“the I/O interface corresponding to the volume 5040 provided by the HBA device drive”), 0134, 0438 (“thereafter sends the contents of change in the virtual address/real address mapping table 15009A to the storage apparatus 15000B.”), where the information identifying the volume enables selection of the proper driver and therefore enables replication.
As per claims 2, 9, and 16, the rejection of claims 1, 8, and 15 is incorporated, and Iwamura further teaches:
generating the metadata update based on receiving an input/output (I/O) operation directed to the dataset, Iwamura ¶ 0435 (“operating system 14001 that received a write request from the application program 14002”); and
applying the I/O operation to the dataset on the first storage system, Iwamura ¶¶ 0435-37, where the write request is applied on storage apparatus 15000A.
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and Iwamura further teaches:
wherein the metadata update includes information identifying a snapshot identifier for the snapshot of the group of storage elements, Iwamura ¶ 0064, and
wherein the information identifying the snapshot identifier enables replication of the snapshot, Iwamura ¶¶ 0074, 0438, where the information identifying the volume is used to identifying what volume the mapping is used to replicate.
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and Iwamura further teaches:
wherein the metadata update includes a sequence number indicating an order of I/O operations for the dataset, Iwamura ¶ 0304, and
wherein the sequence number enables replication of the snapshot, Iwamura ¶¶ 0074, 0304, where, inasmuch as the information is used and the use results in the replication, the number enables replication, at a broadest reasonable interpretation.
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and Iwamura further teaches:
wherein the virtual address corresponds to a block address within a logical volume, Iwamura ¶ 0074.
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and Iwamura further teaches:
wherein the storage object is implemented as a volume, Iwamura ¶¶ 0058, 0074, where the blocks are implemented as part of a volume.
As per claims 10 and 17, the rejection of claims 9 and 16 is incorporated, and Iwamura further teaches:
responsive to successfully applying the I/O operation on the first storage system, updating, on the first storage system and in accordance with the metadata update, a version of metadata corresponding to the dataset prior to applying the I/O operation, Iwamura ¶ 0437.
As per claims 11 and 18, the rejection of claims 9 and 16 is incorporated, and Iwamura further teaches:
wherein the metadata update includes a description of an update to be made to represent application of the I/O operation, Iwamura ¶ 0439, where the contents of change describe the changes.
As per claims 12 and 19, the rejection of claims 8 and 15 is incorporated, and Iwamura further teaches:
wherein the group of storage objects that share at least one common characteristic, Iwamura ¶¶ 0058, 0074, where the blocks are implemented as part of a volume.
As per claims 13 and 20, the rejection of claims 12 and 19 is incorporated, and Iwamura further teaches:
wherein the at least one common characteristic includes a particular host, a particular application, a particular virtual machine, or a particular container, Iwamura ¶ 0060, where the RAID parity group is the particular container.
As per claim 21, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and Iwamura further teaches:
wherein the group of storage objects share at least one of: a particular host, a particular application, a particular virtual machine, or a particular container, Iwamura ¶ 0074, where the volume is a container.
As per claim 22, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and Iwamura further teaches:
replicating, based on the mapping and the information identifying the consistency group, the snapshot of the consistency group, Iwamura ¶¶ 0074 (“the I/O interface corresponding to the volume 5040 provided by the HBA device drive”), 0134, 0438 (“thereafter sends the contents of change in the virtual address/real address mapping table 15009A to the storage apparatus 15000B.”), where the information identifying the volume enables selection of the proper driver and therefore enables replication.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6-13, and 15-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,884,993. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims overlap in scope and one of ordinary skill in the art would immediately envisage the instant invention upon reading the ’993 patent.
Claims 1-4, 6-13, and 15-22are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,687,500. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims overlap in scope and one of ordinary skill in the art would immediately envisage the instant invention upon reading the ’500 patent.
Claims 1-4, 6-13, and 15-22are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,360,866. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims overlap in scope and one of ordinary skill in the art would immediately envisage the instant invention upon reading the ’866 patent.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
WILLIAM SPIELER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2159
/WILLIAM SPIELER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2159