DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8, 11-15, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hurst (US 2012/0210216 A1) in view of Biderman et al. (Biderman) (US 2015/0016804 A1).
As to claim 1, while Hurst discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a video playback device and during output of segmented video content, a request to start a trick play (user trickplay input regarding playback rate or direction; paragraph 36, 45, 51-53);
determining a video segment of segmented trick play video content at which to begin the trick play (metadata mapping presentation times of different objects to select next corresponding object; Fig. 1, paragraph 18-26, 31, 45-46, 48, 55), wherein at least one segment, of one or more segments of the segmented trick play video content, omits at least one video frame of the video content between video frames of the video content (see Fig. 1, trick play objects 134, 136, omitting frames from the standard stream; paragraph 17-19); and
causing playback of the segmented trick play video content beginning with the determined video segment (sequential playback of the determined object from the trickplay stream to maintain continuity; paragraph 26-27, 46, 51-55), they fail to specifically disclose omitting at least one video frame of the video content between sequences of consecutive video frames of the video content.
In an analogous art, Biderman discloses a system providing video trick-play (Fig. 2-3; paragraph 22, 24, 29-30) wherein at least one segment, of one or more segments of segmented trick play video content (paragraph 45, 53), omits at least one video frame of the video content between video frames of video content (trickplay using snippets of multiple consecutive frame before skipping frames; Fig. 5A-C; paragraph 33-37, 53-54) so as to provide a pleasant experience and make it easier for the viewer to recognize the content (paragraph 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hurst’s system to include omitting at least one video frame of the video content between sequences of consecutive video frames of the video content, as taught in combination with Biderman, for the benefit of providing a pleasant experience and make it easier for the viewer to recognize the content (paragraph 14).
As to claim 8, while Hurst discloses a computing device (Fig. 2, client device, 204) comprising:
one or more processors (paragraph 29); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the computing device (paragraph 29) to:
receive, during output of segmented trick play video content, a request to start a trick play (user input regarding playback rate or direction; paragraph 36, 45, 51-53);
determine a video segment of segmented trick play video content at which to begin the trick play (metadata mapping presentation times of different objects to select next corresponding object; Fig. 1, paragraph 18-26, 31, 45-46, 48, 55), wherein at least one segment, of one or more segments of the segmented trick play video content, omits at least one video frame of the video content between video frames of the video content (see Fig. 1, trick play objects 134, 136, omitting frames from the standard stream; paragraph 17-19); and
cause playback of the segmented trick play video content beginning with the determined video segment (sequential playback of the determined object from the trickplay stream to maintain continuity; paragraph 26-27, 46, 51-55), they fail to specifically disclose omitting at least one video frame of the video content between sequences of consecutive video frames of the video content.
In an analogous art, Biderman discloses a system providing video trick-play (Fig. 2-3; paragraph 22, 24, 29-30) wherein at least one segment, of one or more segments of segmented trick play video content (paragraph 45, 53), omits at least one video frame of the video content between video frames of video content (trickplay using snippets of multiple consecutive frame before skipping frames; Fig. 5A-C; paragraph 33-37, 53-54) so as to provide a pleasant experience and make it easier for the viewer to recognize the content (paragraph 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hurst’s system to include omitting at least one video frame of the video content between sequences of consecutive video frames of the video content, as taught in combination with Biderman, for the benefit of providing a pleasant experience and make it easier for the viewer to recognize the content (paragraph 14).
As to claim 15, while Hurst discloses a non-transitory computing readable medium comprising instructions, that when executed, configure a computing device (Fig. 2, client device, 204; paragraph 29) to:
receive, during output of segmented trick play video content, a request to start a trick play (user input regarding playback rate or direction; paragraph 36, 45, 51-53);
determine a video segment of segmented trick play video content at which to begin the trick play (metadata mapping presentation times of different objects to select next corresponding object; Fig. 1, paragraph 18-26, 31, 45-46, 48, 55), wherein at least one segment, of one or more segments of the segmented trick play video content, omits at least one video frame of the video content between video frames of the video content (see Fig. 1, trick play objects 134, 136, omitting frames from the standard stream; paragraph 17-19); and
cause playback of the segmented trick play video content beginning with the determined video segment (sequential playback of the determined object from the trickplay stream to maintain continuity; paragraph 26-27, 46, 51-55), they fail to specifically disclose omitting at least one video frame of the video content between sequences of consecutive video frames of the video content.
In an analogous art, Biderman discloses a system providing video trick-play (Fig. 2-3; paragraph 22, 24, 29-30) wherein at least one segment, of one or more segments of segmented trick play video content (paragraph 45, 53), omits at least one video frame of the video content between video frames of video content (trickplay using snippets of multiple consecutive frame before skipping frames; Fig. 5A-C; paragraph 33-37, 53-54) so as to provide a pleasant experience and make it easier for the viewer to recognize the content (paragraph 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hurst’s system to include omitting at least one video frame of the video content between sequences of consecutive video frames of the video content, as taught in combination with Biderman, for the benefit of providing a pleasant experience and make it easier for the viewer to recognize the content (paragraph 14).
As to claim 4, 11, 18 Hurst and Biderman disclose wherein:
the segmented video content comprises a set of video frames (normal playback rate objects and video frames; see Hurst at Fig. 1-2; paragraph 18-19, 27, 30-31); and
the segmented trick play video content comprises a subset of the set of video frames of the segmented video content (trickplay segments including less frames based upon the particular trickplay playback rate; see Hurst at Fig. 1; paragraph 18-19 and Biderman at Fig. 5A-C; paragraph 33-37, 53-54).
As to claim 5, 12, 19, Hurst and Biderman disclose wherein:
the segmented video content comprises first segmented trick play video content associated with a first playback rate (trickplay segments including frames based upon the particular trickplay playback rate; see Hurst at Fig. 1; paragraph 18-19 and Biderman at paragraph 33-37); and
the segmented trick play video content comprises second segmented trick play video content associated with a second playback rate that is different than the first playback rate (wherein any number of different trickplay streams may be available at different playback rates; see Hurst at Fig. 1; paragraph 18-19, 22, 39, 43, 56-57 and Biderman at paragraph 33-37); and
As to claim 6, 13, Hurst and Biderman disclose wherein determining the video segment of segmented trick play video content at which to begin the trick play further comprises:
querying, based on a determination of a trick play playback time, a manifest file to determine the video segment of segmented trick play video content at which to begin the trick play (requesting object based upon data table; see Hurst at paragraph 25, 35-36, 48).
As to claim 7, 14, Hurst and Biderman disclose
receiving, by the video playback device from a server prior to the output of segmented video content, the manifest file (see Hurst at paragraph 25, 35-36, 48).
As to claim 20, Hurst and Biderman disclose wherein the instructions, when executed, configured the video playback device to:
receive, from a server, prior to the output of segmented video content, a manifest file (see Hurst at paragraph 25, 35-36, 48); and
determine the video segment of segmented trick play video content at which to begin the trick play by querying, based on a determination of a trick play playback time, the manifest file to determine the video segment of segmented trick play video content at which to begin the trick play (requesting object based upon data table; see Hurst at paragraph 25, 35-36, 48).
Claims 2-3, 9-10, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hurst and Biderman and further in view of Boccon-Gibod et al. (Boccon-Gibod) (6,965,724) (of record).
As to claims 2, 9, 16, while Hurst and Biderman disclose wherein the trick play playback time is determined relative to the relative to the relative presentation time of the segments (see Biderman at paragraph 24-26, 48), he fails to specifically disclose wherein the trick play playback time is determined by dividing the playback time by a playback rate of the trick play.
In an analogous art, Boccon-Gibod discloses a system for switching between different speed normal and trick-play streams (column 2, lines 26-59) which will identify the ideal trick-play playback time and frame by dividing the playback time by a playback rate of the trick play (playback position in the normal stream is divided by the playback rate of the new trickplay stream to identify the corresponding location in the trickplay stream; Fig. 2, column 4, line 1-column 5, line 38) so as to achieve efficient switching between the different streams (column 5, lines 32-37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hurst and Biderman’s system to include wherein the trick play playback time is determined at least by dividing the playback time by a playback rate of the trick play, as taught in combination with Boccon-Gibod, for the benefit of efficient switching between the different streams.
As to claim 4, 10, 17, Hurst, Biderman and Boccon-Gibod disclose wherein:
the trick play is a rewind trick play (see Hurst at paragraph 17-22, 44, 53 and Boccon-Gibod at column 2, line 32-36);
video frames of the segmented trick play video content are arranged in reverse order relative to the segmented video content (see Hurst at Fig. 1, paragraph 17-18, 22),
the trick play playback time is further determined by subtracting, from an ending playback time of the segmented trick play video content, a result obtained by the dividing (adding the result from a forward trickplay and subtracting the result from a reverse or negative speed trickplay; see Boccon-Gibod at column 5, lines 8, 27-28, column 7, line 44).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,363,382. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the narrower patented claims fully disclose and encompass the claimed subject matter of the instant application.
For example,
Claim 1 of the instant application corresponds to claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,363,382.
Claim 1 of the instant application:
1. A method comprising:
receiving, by a video playback device and during output of segmented video content, a request to start a trick play;
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,363,382:
1. A method comprising:
receiving, by a video playback device and during output of segmented video content, a request to start a trick play;
based on a determination of a trick play playback time that corresponds to a playback time associated with a video frame of the segmented video content that is outputted during receipt of the request to start the trick play,
determining a video segment of segmented trick play video content at which to begin the trick play, wherein at least one segment, of one or more segments of the segmented trick play video content, omits at least one video frame of the video content between sequences of consecutive video frames of the video content;
determining a video segment of segmented trick play video content at which to begin the trick play, wherein at least one segment, of one or more segments of the segmented trick play video content, omits at least one video frame of the video content between one or more sequences of consecutive video frames of the video content; and
causing playback of the segmented trick play video content beginning with the determined video segment.
causing playback of the segmented trick play video content beginning with the determined video segment.
Claims 2-20 correspond to the limitations included within claims 2-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,363,382.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,838,58 in view of Biderman.
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,838,588 corresponds to claims 1, 8, 15, of the instant application and includes every limitation except omitting at least one video frame of the video content between sequences of consecutive video frames of the video content.
In an analogous art, Biderman discloses a system providing video trick-play (Fig. 2-3; paragraph 22, 24, 29-30) wherein at least one segment, of one or more segments of segmented trick play video content (paragraph 45, 53), omits at least one video frame of the video content between video frames of video content (trickplay using snippets of multiple consecutive frame before skipping frames; Fig. 5A-C; paragraph 33-37, 53-54) so as to provide a pleasant experience and make it easier for the viewer to recognize the content (paragraph 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,838,588 to include omitting at least one video frame of the video content between sequences of consecutive video frames of the video content, as taught in combination with Biderman, for the benefit of providing a pleasant experience and make it easier for the viewer to recognize the content (paragraph 14).
Claims 2-7, 9-14, 16-60, of the instant application correspond to claims 2-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,838,588.
Conclusion
/James R Sheleheda/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424