DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eyuboglu (US 11,140,695 B1) in view of Wigren et al. (US 2021/0297130 A1).
Consider claims 1 and 19:
Eyuboglu discloses a method of operating a network node of a network, the network comprising a first access node and at least one second access node (see Fig. 61 and col. 71, lines 7-12, where Eyuboglu describes a wireless network that includes a first RF Node 612 and an adjacnt second RF Node 614), the method comprising:
establishing a first state of one or more first beams of a first transmission between the first access node and a mobile device (see Fig. 61 and col. 71, lines 57-60, where Eyuboglu describes that one of the RF Node is transmitting a Synchronizaton Signal Block (SSB) to a user equipment (UE) with a beam of angle X degrees),
the first state indicates certain beams of the one or more first beams that are active for the first transmission (see Fig. 61 and col. 71, lines 57-60, where Eyuboglu describes that the beam of angle X degrees is used to transmit the SSB to the UE); and
determining beams of one or more second beams of a second transmission between the at least one second access node and the mobile device to be activated, based on the first state (see Fig. 61 and col. 71, lines 60-62, where Eyuboglu describes that one neighboring RF Node can be configured to transmit the SSB to the UE with a beam of angle X-90 degrees),
the second transmission comprising reference signals (see Fig. 61 and col. 71, lines 57-62, where Eyuboglu describes that the neighboring RF Node transmits the SSB to the UE; see col. 48, lines 4-10, where Eyuboglu describes that the SSB carries Physical Cell Identifier (PCI)).
As discussed above, Eyuboglu discloses: the second transmission comprising SSB. Eyuboglu does not explicitly disclose: the SSB is a positioning reference signal.
Wigren teaches: a SSB is a positioning reference signal (see paragraphs 0055-0056, where Wigren describes that a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) may be a Positioning Reference Signal (PRS)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include: the SSB is a positioning reference signal, as taught by Wigren to modify the method of Eyuboglu in order to perform positioning measurement, as discussed by Wigren (see paragraphs 0055-0056).
Consider claims 6 and 20:
Eyuboglu in view of Wigren discloses the invention of claims 1 and 19 above. Eyuboglu discloses: determining beams to be activated of the one or more second beams of the second transmission between the at least one second access node and the mobile device is further based on a mapping between the first state and a second state of the one or more second beams (see col. 71, lines 57-63, where Eyuboglu describes that when a first RF Node is transmitting a beam of angle X degrees, a second RF Node will be configured to transmit a beam of angle X-90 degrees).
Consider claim 7:
Eyuboglu in view of Wigren discloses the method of claim 6 above. Eyuboglu discloses: determining the mapping based on geolocations of the first access node and the at least one second access node (see col. 71, lines 50-63, where Eyuboglu describes that the mapping of X degrees beams to X-90 degrees beams are determined based on the fact that the second RF Node is adjacent to the first RF Node).
Consider claim 8:
Eyuboglu in view of Wigren discloses the method of claim 6 above. Eyuboglu discloses: determining the mapping based on a configuration of at least one of the one or more first beams or the one or more second beams (see col. 71, lines 50-63, where Eyuboglu describes that the mapping of X degrees beams to X-90 degrees beams are determined based on beam angle of the first RF Node).
Consider claim 9:
Eyuboglu in view of Wigren discloses the method of claim 8 above. Eyuboglu discloses: the configuration comprises one or more of the following: a beam direction; a transmission power threshold; an angle of arrival; or an angle of departure (see col. 71, lines 50-63, where Eyuboglu describes that the configuration is based on an angle of transmitting beam).
Consider claim 10:
Eyuboglu in view of Wigren discloses the method of claim 6 above. Eyuboglu discloses: determining the mapping based on pairs of reference measurement reports for reference transmissions on multiple first reference beams and between the first access node and the mobile device (see Fig. 61 and col. 71, lines 48-65, where Eyuboglu describes that the first RF Node transmits an SSB on a beam to the UE; see col. 62, lines 55-58, where Eyuboglu describes that the UE can be configured to send measurement reports based on the SSB reference signal; see col. 78, lines 6-11, where Eyuboglu describes that the measurement reports are used to configure the beam parameters), as well as for further reference transmissions on multiple second reference beams and between the at least one second access node and the mobile device (see Fig. 61 and col. 71, lines 48-65, where Eyuboglu describes that the second RF Node also transmits the SSB on a beam to the UE; see col. 62, lines 55-58, where Eyuboglu describes that the UE can be configured to send measurement reports based on the SSB reference signal; see col. 78, lines 6-11, where Eyuboglu describes that the measurement reports are used to configure the beam parameters).
Consider claim 11:
Eyuboglu in view of Wigren discloses the method of claim 10 above. Eyuboglu discloses: iteratively refining the mapping based on multiple instances of the reference measurement reports and further measurement reports (see col. 130, lines 5-16, where Eyuboglu describes that transmit beam set A(n) is determined based on measurement results; see col. 128, lines 63-67, where Eyuboglu describes that A(n-1) and A(n) are calculated for different reference signals).
Consider claim 12:
Eyuboglu in view of Wigren discloses the method of claim 1 above. Eyuboglu discloses: the second transmission comprises downlink reference signals transmitted from the at least one second access node on the one or more second beams (see Fig. 61 and col. 71, lines 60-62, where Eyuboglu describes that one neighboring RF Node can be configured to transmit the SSB to the UE with a beam of angle X-90 degrees; see col. 48, lines 4-10, where Eyuboglu describes that the SSB carries Physical Cell Identifier (PCI)).
Eyuboglu does not explicitly disclose: the SSB is a positioning reference signal.
Wigren teaches: a SSB is a positioning reference signal (see paragraphs 0055-0056, where Wigren describes that a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) may be a Positioning Reference Signal (PRS)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include: the SSB is a positioning reference signal, as taught by Wigren to modify the method of Eyuboglu in order to perform positioning measurement, as discussed by Wigren (see paragraphs 0055-0056).
Consider claim 13:
Eyuboglu in view of Wigren discloses the method of claim 1 above. Eyuboglu discloses: providing at least one control command to at least one of the at least one second access node or the mobile device, the control command being indicative of whether the certain one of the one or more second beams is to be activated (see Fig. 61 and col. 71, lines 60-62, where Eyuboglu describes that one neighboring RF Node can be configured to transmit the SSB to the UE with a beam of angle X-90 degrees; see col. 10, lines 1-3, where Eyuboglu describes that a RF Node is configured by a controller).
Consider claim 14:
Eyuboglu in view of Wigren discloses the method of claim 1 above. Eyuboglu does not specifically discloses: the network node is a location server of the network.
Wigren teaches: a network node is a location server of a network (see Fig. 1 and paragraph 0005, where Wigren describes a network which includes a location server 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include: the network node is a location server of the network, as taught by Wigren to modify the method of Eyuboglu in order to support positioning, as discussed by Wigren (see paragraph 0005).
Consider claim 15:
Eyuboglu in view of Wigren discloses the method of claim 1 above. Eyuboglu discloses: the first access node is a serving access node of the mobile device (see Fig. 61 and col. 71, lines 57-60, where Eyuboglu describes that the first RF Node is transmitting a Synchronizaton Signal Block (SSB) to the user equipment (UE)).
Consider claim 16:
Eyuboglu in view of Wigren discloses the method of claim 6 above. Eyuboglu discloses: the mapping comprises a parameterized dependency (see col. 71, lines 57-63, where Eyuboglu describes that when a first RF Node is transmitting a beam of angle X degrees, a second RF Node will be configured to transmit a beam of angle X-90 degrees).
Consider claim 17:
Eyuboglu in view of Wigren discloses the method of claim 6 above. Eyuboglu discloses: the mapping depends on at least one of a configuration of at least one of the one or more first beams or the one or more second beams, a geolocation of the mobile device, or a mobility of the mobile device (see Fig. 61 and col. 71, lines 5-12, where Eyuboglu describes that the mapping depends on a UE which is located along the line connecting the first RF Node and the second RF Node).
Consider claim 18:
Eyuboglu in view of Wigren discloses the method of claim 6 above. Eyuboglu discloses: the second state indicates certain beams of the one or more second beams to employ for the second transmission (see Fig. 61 and col. 71, lines 57-62, where Eyuboglu describes that the second state indicates a beam of angle X-90 degrees).
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eyuboglu (US 11,140,695 B1) in view of Wigren et al. (US 2021/0297130 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al. (US 2022/0007275 A1).
Consider claim 2:
Eyuboglu in view of Wigren discloses the method of claim 1 above. Eyuboglu discloses: the first state of the one or more first beams (see col. 71, lines 57-62, where Eyuboglu describes that a beam of an angle X).
However, Eyuboglu does not specifically disclose: the first state of the one or more first beams is indicative of a measurement report for the first transmission on the one or more first beams.
Li teaches: a first state of one or more first beams is indicative of a measurement report for a first transmission on the one or more first beams (see Fig. 4 and paragraph 0021, where Li describes that a beam angle may be derived from beam information in each measurement report).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include: the first state of the one or more first beams is indicative of a measurement report for the first transmission on the one or more first beams, as taught by Li to modify the method of Eyuboglu in order to improve positioning accuracy, as discussed by Li (see paragraph 0011).
Consider claim 3:
Eyuboglu in view of Wigren discloses the method of claim 1 above. Eyuboglu discloses: the first state of the one or more first beams (see col. 71, lines 57-62, where Eyuboglu describes that a beam of an angle X).
However, Eyuboglu does not specifically disclose: the first state of the one or more first beams is established based on at least one beam report message provided by at least one of the first access node or the mobile device.
Li teaches: a first state of one or more first beams is established based on at least one beam report message (see Fig. 4 and paragraph 0021, where Li describes that a beam angle may be derived from beam information in each measurement report) provided by at least one of the first access node or the mobile device (see paragraph 0072, where Li describes that the measurement report is received from a transmitting/receiving point (TRP)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include: the first state of the one or more first beams is established based on at least one beam report message provided by at least one of the first access node or the mobile device, as taught by Li to modify the method of Eyuboglu in order to improve positioning accuracy, as discussed by Li (see paragraph 0011).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eyuboglu (US 11,140,695 B1) in view of Wigren et al. (US 2021/0297130 A1) and Li et al. (US 2022/0007275 A1), as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Demirhan et al. (US 8,149,746 B2).
Consider claim 4:
Eyuboglu in view of Wigren and Li discloses the method of claim 3 above. Li discloses: obtaining the beam report message in accordance with a reporting scheme (see Fig. 4 and paragraph 0021, where Li describes that a beam angle may be derived from beam information in received measurement report).
Eyuboglu and Li do not specifically disclose: selecting a reporting scheme from a plurality of reporting schemes for providing the at least one beam report message at the mobile device.
Demirhan teaches: selecting a reporting scheme from a plurality of reporting schemes for providing at least one beam report message at a mobile device (see col. 10, lines 10-16, where Demirhan describes a selection of a channel reporting scheme from two channel reporting schemes for a reporting by a mobile station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include: selecting a reporting scheme from a plurality of reporting schemes for providing the at least one beam report message at the mobile device, as taught by Demirhan to modify the method of Eyuboglu and Li in order to reduce power consumption, as discussed by Demirhan (see col. 1, lines 25-27).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eyuboglu (US 11,140,695 B1) in view of Wigren et al. (US 2021/0297130 A1), Li et al. (US 2022/0007275 A1) and Demirhan et al. (US 8,149,746 B2), as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Bergström et al. (US 2017/0367014 A1).
Consider claim 5:
Eyuboglu in view of Wigren, Li and Demirhan discloses the method of claim 4 above. Eyuboglu does not specifically disclose: the selected reporting scheme is restricted to providing the at least one beam report message comprising the first state of the one or more first beams, wherein a further reporting scheme of the plurality of reporting schemes comprises providing the at least one beam report message comprising the first state of the one or more first beams and comprising the second state of the one or more second beams.
Bergström teaches: a selected reporting scheme is restricted to providing at least one beam report message comprising a first state of the one or more first beams (see Fig. 2 and paragraphs 0034, where Bergström describes a wireless device 10 which receives beams transmitted from a first radio network node 12, the wireless device 10 may also receive beams transmitted from a second radio network node 13; see paragraphs 0045-0046, where Bergström describes that the first radio network node 12 sends to the wireless device 10 measurement information indicating the transmitted beams to perform measurement on, and the first radio network node 12 may receive a measurement report from the wireless device 10), wherein a further reporting scheme of a plurality of reporting schemes comprises providing the at least one beam report message comprising the first state of the one or more first beams and comprising the second state of the one or more second beams (see paragraph 0048, where Bergström describes that the first radio network node 12 may further receive measurement report based on second indication; see the Abstract, where Bergström describes that the second indication indicates one or more beams used at the second radio network node 13 to perform measurement).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include: the selected reporting scheme is restricted to providing the at least one beam report message comprising the first state of the one or more first beams, wherein a further reporting scheme of the plurality of reporting schemes comprises providing the at least one beam report message comprising the first state of the one or more first beams and comprising the second state of the one or more second beams, as taught by Bergström to modify the method of Eyuboglu in order to improve performance of wireless communication network, as discussed by Bergström (see paragraph 0016).
Conclusion
/LIHONG YU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631