DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding all claims: names of components should remain consistent throughout the claim disclosure. For example, in claim 1, Applicant recites “a first pair of oppositely provided sidewalls” but then later refers to this as “the first pair of sidewalls”, when instead it should be “the first pair of oppositely provided sidewalls” in order to maintain clarity throughout the claim disclosure. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 2: Applicant refers to “the respective faces of the at least one second contact face and the at least one first contact face”. This is redundant as the components are already faces themselves. Claim is corrected below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the lower part” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, claim is rewritten below with corrected forms of antecedent.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the lower surface” in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, claim is rewritten below with corrected forms of antecedent.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the lower surface” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the thickness” in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the outer side” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the upper part” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the side” in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the first rim” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the installation hole” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the inner side” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-3,7-8,11-14 are rejected based on their dependency on at least one claim above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2,5-8, 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Promutico et al. EP 1936018 (hereinafter referred to as Promutico).
Claim 1, Promutico discloses door lock, comprising:
a housing (1,7,8);
a door hook hole body (3) provided on the housing, wherein the door hook hole body comprises a top (annotated figure), a first pair of oppositely provided sidewalls (annotated figure), and a second pair of oppositely provided sidewalls (annotated figure), and the first pair of oppositely provided sidewalls and the second pair of oppositely provided sidewalls are formed respectively by extending downward from a lower part (annotated figure) of the top;
a pair of clamping edges (annotated figure) comprising a first clamping edge (annotated figure) and a second clamping edge (annotated figure), the pair of clamping edges extending outward respectively from the first pair of oppositely provided sidewalls from the top of the door hook hole body;
a groove (annotated figure) formed by upward recessing from a lower surface of the first clamping edge;
a lock head (11a) provided below the groove, wherein the lock head is capable of moving into or out of the groove; and
wherein the housing comprises:
at least one first contact face (annotated figure) and at least one second contact face (annotated figure) are formed by extending from an outer side (which is the outer face of second sidewall; the contact faces extend from the outer side via the inner side of the second sidewall) of the second pair of oppositely provided sidewalls,
the at least one second contact face is formed by extending obliquely downward from a distal end of the at least one first contact face; and
at least one supporting part (annotated figure) formed at a junction of the at least one first contact face and the at least one second contact face. (fig1-5b, annotated figure)
Claim 2. Promutico further discloses the door lock of claim 1, wherein: the at least one second contact face is a sloped face that extends downward from the at least one first contact face, and defines an acute angle (annotated figure) formed between
Claim 5. Promutico further discloses the door lock of claim 1, further comprising: a cantilever (11) that is laterally provided on the housing and is on an outer side (left side of first sidewall) of the first sidewall of the first pair of sidewalls of the door hook hole body, with the lock head provided on an upper part (from fig4a frame of reference, 11a is on the upper part of 11) of the cantilever. (fig1-5b, annotated figure)
Claim 6. Promutico further discloses the door lock of claim 5, wherein: a proximal end (end of 11 attached directly to 8 of housing) of the cantilever is connected to the housing, the cantilever extends laterally from the housing (depending on frame of reference), a distal end (end right before 11a is formed)of the cantilever is a free end (considered free end of 11 and then 11a continues to protrude from said ‘free end’), and the lock head is connected to a side of the cantilever adjacent (all sides are adjacent to the distal end) to the distal end. (fig1-5b, annotated figure)
Claim 7. Promutico further discloses the door lock of claim 6, wherein: the distal end of the cantilever has an operating part (11b), and by uplifting the operating part, the distal end of the cantilever moves upward, thereby driving the lock head to move upward. (fig1-5b, annotated figure)
Claim 8. Promutico further discloses the door lock of claim 6, wherein: the cantilever is elastic, and elastic deformation of the cantilever enables the lock head to move into the groove. (fig1-5b, annotated figure)
Claim 11. Promutico further discloses the door lock of claim 1, wherein: the groove has a width (H) capable of accommodating the lock head. (fig1-5b, annotated figure)
Claim 12. Promutico further discloses the door lock of claim 1, wherein:
the door hook hole body is rectangular (annotated figure);
the door hook hole body is provided with a door hook hole (3a); and
the pair of clamping edges are provided respectively on two sides of the door hook hole body in a length direction (left and right of page). (fig1-5b, annotated figure)
Claim 13. Promutico further discloses an electrical device (washing machine, paragraph 1) comprising a panel (5) provided with an installation hole (6), wherein the electrical device comprises:
the door lock of claim 1; and
the door hook hole body of the door lock is installed in the installation hole. (fig1-5b, annotated figure)
Claim 14. Promutico further discloses the electrical device of claim 14, wherein: the electrical device is a washing machine. (fig1-5b, paragraphs 1-5, annotated figure)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 9-10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. (NOTE: There is a Double Patenting rejection as well on these claims).
Regarding claim 3, Promutico does not teach the first contact face comes into contact with the installation panel while also having a second contact face extending obliquely downward from said first contact face as described in preceding claim 1. The identified first contact face in Promutico does not come into contact with the installation panel.
Regarding claim 9, the lock head of Promutico is not hung on a first rim (left edge of 6) of the installation hole (6 in Promutico) and does not “catch” said first rim. Examiner can find no reason to combine or modify references of record without the use of impermissible hindsight.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12351972. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the claims of the application and claims of the patent disclose a door lock comprising a housing, a door hook hole body with a top, a first pair of sidewalls, a second pair of sidewalls, a pair of clamping edges comprising a first clamping edge and second clamping edge, a groove, a lock head , the housing comprising a first and a second contact face, and a supporting part.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Art is related to door locks.
Related but not relied upon prior art: US 10815691, US 8459065, US 9469932.
/F.F.A./
Examiner
Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675