CTNF 19/237,275 CTNF 86521 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 2. Claims 21-45 are pending. Information Disclosure Statement 3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/08/2025, 07/29/2025, 04/24/2026 and 09/01/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 4. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 5. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA 6. Claim s 21-38 and 40-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Intel Corp (WO 2018/125250 A1 hereinafter “Intel” – IDS Submission) . Referring to claim 21 , Intel discloses a device (Intel – Par. [0377] discloses “an accelerator includes PCI configuration registers 2902 and MMIO registers 2906 which may be programmed to provide access to device backend resources 2905.”) comprising: an input/output interface to couple the device to a processor over a link (Intel – Fig. 28, Multiplexor 2811 coupling the accelerator 2801 to host processor 2802 over link 2800.) ; a first base address register region (BARO) comprising physical base addresses of configuration and control registers, the configuration and control registers comprising work queue configuration (WQCFG) registers (Intel – Par. [0380] discloses “MMIO space accesses to the BAR0 region (capability, configuration, and status registers) is performed as aligned 1-, 2-, 4- or 8-byte accesses. The 8-byte accesses should only be used for 8-byte registers. Software should not read or write unimplemented registers. The MMIO space accesses to the BAR 2 and BAR 4 regions should be performed as 64-byte accesses, using the ENQCMD, ENQCMDS, or MOVDIR64B instructions (described in detail below). ENQCMD or ENQCMDS should be used to access a work queue that is configured as shared (SWQ), and MOVDIR64B must be used to access a work queue that is configured as dedicated (DWQ).”) ; and a second base address register region (BAR2) comprising physical base addresses of portals to receive work descriptors from the processor (Intel – Par. [0382] discloses “BAR2 is a 64-bit BAR that contains the physical base address of the Privileged and Non-Privileged Portals. Each portal is 64-bytes in size and is located on a separate 4KB page. This allows the portals to be independently mapped into different address spaces using CPU page tables. The portals are used to submit descriptors to the device. The Privileged Portals are used by kernel-mode software, and the Non-Privileged Portals are used by user-mode software. The number of Non-Privileged Portals is the same as the number of work queues supported. The number of Privileged Portals is Number-of-Work Queues (WQs) × (MSI-X- table-size– 1).”) ; wherein the device is to: configure work queues based on the work queue configuration registers (Intel – Par. [0383] discloses “Descriptor submissions using a Non-Privileged Portal are subject to the occupancy threshold of the WQ, as configured using a work queue configuration (WQCFG) register. Descriptor submissions using a Privileged Portal are not subject to the threshold. Descriptor submissions to a SWQ must be submitted using ENQCMD or ENQCMDS.”) ; queue work descriptors into the work queues based on an address of the portal that received the work descriptor (Intel – Par. [0382] discloses “The Privileged Portals are used by kernel-mode software, and the Non-Privileged Portals are used by user-mode software. The number of Non-Privileged Portals is the same as the number of work queues supported. The number of Privileged Portals is Number-of-Work Queues (WQs) × (MSI-X- table-size– 1).”) ; and dispatch the work descriptors from the work queues to processing engines of the device for processing (Intel – Figs. 34, 35 & Par. [0382] disclose “The illustrated implementation includes an arbiter 3513 which arbitrates between the work queues and dispatches a work descriptor to one of a plurality of engines 3550. The operation of the arbiter 3513 and work queues 3511-1012 may be configured through a work queue configuration register 3500. For example, the arbiter 3513 may be configured to implement various QoS and/or fairness policies for dispatching descriptors from each of the work queues 3511-1012 to each of the engines 3550.”) . Referring to claim 22 , Intel discloses the device of claim 21, wherein each work queue is accessible via a privileged portal accessible by kernel-mode software agents and a non-privileged portal accessible by user-mode software agents (Intel – See Par. [0382]) . Referring to claim 23 , Intel discloses the device of claim 22, wherein the device is to: determine, based on the address of the portal that received the work descriptor, whether the portal is privileged or non-privileged; if the portal is non-privileged, determine whether the portal can accept the work descriptor based on an occupancy threshold indicated in the work queue configuration registers; if the portal is privileged, determine whether the portal can accept the work descriptor based on a size indicated in the work queue configuration registers; and return a retry completion status if the portal cannot accept the work descriptor (Intel – See Par. [0383]) . Referring to claim 24 , Intel discloses the device of claim 21, wherein the work queues comprise a shared work queue to receive work descriptors from multiple non-cooperating software agents executing on the processor, the shared work queue to only accept descriptors received in a non-posted write transaction (Intel – See Par. [0706]) . Referring to claim 25 , Intel discloses the device of claim 24, wherein the device is to return a completion indicating success based on the shared work queue accepting the work descriptor, and return a retry based on the shared work queue not accepting the work descriptor (Intel – See Par. [0479]) . Referring to claim 26 , Intel discloses the device of claim 21, wherein the work queues comprise a dedicated work queue to receive work descriptors from a single software agent executing on the processor, the dedicated work queue to only accept descriptors received in a posted write transaction (Intel – See Par. [0481]) . Referring to claim 27 , Intel discloses the device of claim 26, wherein the device is to return a retry completion status based on a non-posted write transaction being directed to the dedicated work queue (Intel – See Par. [0468]) . Referring to claim 28 , Intel discloses the device of claim 21, wherein the BARO region further comprises group configuration registers and the device is to map configured work queues to processing engines of the device based on the group configuration registers (Intel – See Par. [0485-0486]) . Referring to claim 29 , Intel discloses the device of claim 21, wherein each portal is 64-bytes in size and is located on a separate 4KB page (Intel – See Par. [0382]) . Referring to claim 30 , Intel discloses the system comprising: a processor (Intel – Fig. 28, accelerator 2801.) to execute software agents (Intel – Par. [0411] discloses internal processor agents.) ; an accelerator coupled to the processor, the accelerator (Intel – Fig. 28, accelerator 2801 coupled to the host processor 2802 over link 2800.) comprising: a first base address register region (BARO) comprising physical base addresses of configuration and control registers, the configuration and control registers comprising work queue configuration (WQCFG) registers (Intel – Par. [0380] discloses “MMIO space accesses to the BAR0 region (capability, configuration, and status registers) is performed as aligned 1-, 2-, 4- or 8-byte accesses. The 8-byte accesses should only be used for 8-byte registers. Software should not read or write unimplemented registers. The MMIO space accesses to the BAR 2 and BAR 4 regions should be performed as 64-byte accesses, using the ENQCMD, ENQCMDS, or MOVDIR64B instructions (described in detail below). ENQCMD or ENQCMDS should be used to access a work queue that is configured as shared (SWQ), and MOVDIR64B must be used to access a work queue that is configured as dedicated (DWQ).”) ; and a second base address register region (BAR2) comprising physical base addresses of portals to receive work descriptors from the processor (Intel – Par. [0382] discloses “BAR2 is a 64-bit BAR that contains the physical base address of the Privileged and Non-Privileged Portals. Each portal is 64-bytes in size and is located on a separate 4KB page. This allows the portals to be independently mapped into different address spaces using CPU page tables. The portals are used to submit descriptors to the device. The Privileged Portals are used by kernel-mode software, and the Non-Privileged Portals are used by user-mode software. The number of Non-Privileged Portals is the same as the number of work queues supported. The number of Privileged Portals is Number-of-Work Queues (WQs) × (MSI-X- table-size– 1).”) ; and circuitry to: configure work queues based on the work queue configuration registers (Intel – Par. [0383] discloses “Descriptor submissions using a Non-Privileged Portal are subject to the occupancy threshold of the WQ, as configured using a work queue configuration (WQCFG) register. Descriptor submissions using a Privileged Portal are not subject to the threshold. Descriptor submissions to a SWQ must be submitted using ENQCMD or ENQCMDS.”) ; queue work descriptors into the work queues based on an address of the portal that received the work descriptor (Intel – Par. [0382] discloses “The Privileged Portals are used by kernel-mode software, and the Non-Privileged Portals are used by user-mode software. The number of Non-Privileged Portals is the same as the number of work queues supported. The number of Privileged Portals is Number-of-Work Queues (WQs) × (MSI-X- table-size– 1).”) ; and dispatch the work descriptors from the work queues to processing engines of the processor (Intel – Figs. 34, 35 & Par. [0382] disclose “The illustrated implementation includes an arbiter 3513 which arbitrates between the work queues and dispatches a work descriptor to one of a plurality of engines 3550. The operation of the arbiter 3513 and work queues 3511-1012 may be configured through a work queue configuration register 3500. For example, the arbiter 3513 may be configured to implement various QoS and/or fairness policies for dispatching descriptors from each of the work queues 3511-1012 to each of the engines 3550.”) ; and memory coupled to the processor and the accelerator (Intel – Fig. 28 & Par. [0372] disclose “an accelerator 2801 with an accelerator memory 2850 coupled over a multi-protocol link 2800 to a host processor 2802 with a host memory 2860.”) . Referring to claim 31 , note the rejections of claim 22 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings. Referring to claim 32 , note the rejections of claim 23 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings. Referring to claim 33 , note the rejections of claim 24 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings. Referring to claim 34 , note the rejections of claim 26 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings. Referring to claim 35 , note the rejections of claim 28 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings. Referring to claim 36 , Intel discloses the system of claim 30, wherein the software agents are to re-submit a descriptor to a work queue in response to receiving a retry completion status (Intel – See Par. [0530]) . Referring to claim 37 , Intel discloses the system of claim 30, wherein a user-mode software agent is to request a work descriptor be submitted on its behalf to a privileged portal by its kernel-mode driver in response to receiving a retry completion status for submission of the work descriptor to a non-privileged portal (Intel – See Par. [0478]) . Referring to claim 38 , Intel discloses the system of claim 30, wherein the processor is to generate non-posted write transactions based on enqueue command instructions issued by the software agents (Intel – See Par. [0400]) . Referring to claim 40 , Intel discloses the system of claim 30, wherein the processor is to independently map the portals of the accelerator into different address spaces using processor page tables (Intel – See Par. [0385]) . Referring to claim 41 , note the rejections of claim 30 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings. Referring to claim 42 , note the rejections of claim 31 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings. Referring to claim 43 , note the rejections of claim 33 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings. Referring to claim 44 , note the rejections of claim 34 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings. Referring to claim 45 , note the rejections of claim 23 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 7. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA 8. Claim 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Intel in view of Intel Corporation (EP 3343367 A1 hereinafter “Intel2” – IDS Submission ) . Referring to claim 39 , Intel discloses the system of claim 38, however, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the non-posted write transactions are Deferrable Memory Write (DMWr) requests generated from one of an Enqueue Command (ENQCMD) instruction or an Enqueue Command as Supervisor (ENQCMDS) instruction, the ENQCMD instruction capable of being executed from a user (non ring 0) or supervisor (ring 0) privilege level, and the ENQCMDS instruction capable of being executed from a supervisor (ring 0) privilege level. Intel2 discloses wherein the non-posted write transactions are Deferrable Memory Write (DMWr) requests generated from one of an Enqueue Command (ENQCMD) instruction or an Enqueue Command as Supervisor (ENQCMDS) instruction, the ENQCMD instruction capable of being executed from a user (non ring 0) or supervisor (ring 0) privilege level, and the ENQCMDS instruction capable of being executed from a supervisor (ring 0) privilege level. (Intel2 – See Figs. 3, 4, 6 & par. [0003, 0030, 0050-0053, 0059].) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Intel2’s teachings with Intel ’s techniques for improving round-trip latency of ENQCMD/S instruction to send the non-posted write request all the way (Intel2 – Par. [0032]). Related Prior Art 07-96 AIA 9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. a. Kakaiya et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0289229 A1 hereinafter “Kakaiya”) discloses methods and apparatus relating to confidential computing extensions for highly scalable accelerators are described. One or more embodiments provide extensions for scalable accelerator(s) to be able to directly assign accelerator work-queue(s) to Trusted Execution Environment (TEE) Virtual Machines (TVMs). Other embodiments are also disclosed and claimed. b. Haehnle et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0311199 A1 hereinafter “Haehnle”) discloses a program code executing on a processing system includes one or more instructions each identifying a workload that includes a plurality of waves and each identifying resource allocations for the plurality of waves of the workgroup. In response to receiving an instruction identifying a workload and resource allocations for the plurality of waves of the workgroup, a processor allocates a first set of processing resources to a compute unit of the processor based on the resource allocations for the plurality of waves. The compute unit then performs operations for the workgroup using the allocated set of processing resources. c. Labat (US Pub. No. 2026/0140627 A1 hereinafter “Labat”) discloses systems, methods, and apparatus related to shared work queue interfaces for memory systems. In one approach, an NVMe solid-state drive (SSD) includes NAND flash memory. A controller of a host system writes NVMe commands to the SSD using a PCIe transaction layer packet. The host system can selectively configure a shared work queue interface of the SSD. A host/processor sends a get feature command to determine whether an SWQ interface is supported by the SSD. If the SSD supports the SWQ interface, then the SSD provides a response that identifies the resources provided by an NVMe controller in the SSD for use of the SWQ feature. The host/processor can send a command to enable/disable the SWQ feature using a set feature command. A queue pair can also be used whether the SWQ feature is enabled or disabled . Conclusion The examiner requests, in response to this office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application. When responding to this office action, applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37 C.F.R.I .Ill(c). In amending in reply to a rejection of claims in an application or patent under reexamination, the applicant or patent owner must clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. The applicant or patent owner must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DAYTON LEWIS-TAYLOR whose telephone number is (571) 2707754. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Thursday, 8AM TO 4PM, EASTERN TIME. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Idriss Alrobaye, can be reached on (571) 270-1023. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Dayton Lewis-Taylor/ Examiner, Art Unit 2181 Application/Control Number: 19/237,275 Page 2 Art Unit: 2181 Application/Control Number: 19/237,275 Page 3 Art Unit: 2181 Application/Control Number: 19/237,275 Page 4 Art Unit: 2181 Application/Control Number: 19/237,275 Page 5 Art Unit: 2181 Application/Control Number: 19/237,275 Page 6 Art Unit: 2181 Application/Control Number: 19/237,275 Page 7 Art Unit: 2181 Application/Control Number: 19/237,275 Page 8 Art Unit: 2181 Application/Control Number: 19/237,275 Page 9 Art Unit: 2181 Application/Control Number: 19/237,275 Page 10 Art Unit: 2181 Application/Control Number: 19/237,275 Page 11 Art Unit: 2181 Application/Control Number: 19/237,275 Page 12 Art Unit: 2181