Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/03/2026, 02/27/2026, 12/16/2025, 09/29/2025, 09/24/2025, 07/11/2025, and 06/30/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, this submission of the information disclosure statements is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 21, 22, 23, 25, 26a, 26b, 26c, 28, 29, 30A, 30B, 31, and 32 contain text labels instead of numeral labels. See MPEP 1825.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “spring” in the “spring-loaded cam” of claim 12 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 09/21/2026 has been entered. Currently, claims 1-24 remain pending in the application. Independent claims 1, 13, and 22 were amended by Applicant without the addition of new matter to include further narrowing limitations. Additionally, claims 2, 13, and 24 have been amended without the addition of new matter, ultimately overcoming previous claim objections, 35 USC 112(B), and 35 USC 101 rejections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 05/21/2026. Lastly, claims 13-24 overcome the previous double patenting rejection, but claims 1-12 are still subject to a new double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments regarding claims 13-24 filed 09/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Thereby, the prior art is maintained: Vadher (U.S. Patent No. 5716307), Knott et al. (DE 102015208125 A1), Hansen et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20130006386), Bell (U.S. Patent No. 5131490), Tanaka et al. (JP 2008067762 A), Gilsan (U.S. Patent No. 5816251), Deweese (U.S. Patent No. 0330213).
Applicant makes the argument that “Vadher does not provide the upper body coupling to protect from falling and also an elastic material strap with the d-ring would also not protect from falling” (Remarks, Pages 9-10).
In response to Applicant’s argument (Remarks, Pages 9-10), Vadher does have an anterior mechanical coupling 116 of the shoulder upper body interface 67 with the elastic member 40. Furthermore the waist belt 61 of Vadher is not described as elastic, such that providing the fall waist belt material of Bell in the combination as a whole does not teach away from operability. Additionally, Vadher has the elastic members coupling at a superior and posterior part 102 of the lower/second body interface; see annotated figure below. However, Examiner notes that while Vadher has a mechanical coupling there described as “releasibly, snugly, and vertically receives the right side member strap 40 of the right side member 12 that extends continuously” (Col. 10, lines 50-55), Vadher does not have a --non-continuous anchoring--. does not have any inferior coupling at the lower/second body interface. Vadher also doesn’t have any superior or posterior or inferior coupling at the upper/first body interface, such that amended the “or” statements in the claims would overcome the prior art of record.
Moreover, Examiner notes that Applicant may further overcome the double patenting rejections and the prior art above by reciting positive limitations; negative limitations such as --without-- or --not--; and/or transitional phrases such as --consisting-- or --consisting essentially of--. For example, amending to recite --without a pretension clip (68)—to teach away from Vadher; amending to recite --mechanical connection comprising a Bowden cable and the clutch as a rotating cam working together—to teach away from the pulley and wire winder of Tanaka; In Applicant's Figure 30, the elastic member overlaps over the upper body interface shoulder section while the clutch is more free-floating between the upper and lower body interface. Furthermore, other amendments such as the waist belt with the fall harness rings 910 is positioned underneath the elastic member. Moreover, the clutch can be described as a rotating cam with a bowden cable. Furthermore, Applicant's Paragraph 189 describes an embodiment with a pretension strap actuator but other embodiments do not use the pretension, while Vadher requires a pretension clip at a front.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “first body interface”/”upper body interface” in claims 1, 4, 8, 10, 13, 15, 20, 22; “second body interface”/”lower body interface” in claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 10, 13, 15, 20, 22, 24; “elastic members” in claims 13, 15-16, 20-22; and “clutch mechanism” in claims 1, 3, 5-9, 11, 13-19, 21-23.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Terms such as “members” or “mechanism” or “interface” are broad and a placeholder for the term “means. For examination purposes, “first body interface”/“upper body interface” in claims 1, 4, 8, 10, 13, 15, 20, 22 and “second body interface”/”lower body interface” in claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 10, 13, 15, 20, 22, 24 is interpreted as garment being worn on a bicep, back, thigh, head, and/or shoulder such as vest, shorts, straps, laces (Specification, Paragraphs 98-99), and any other equivalent structure. For examination purposes, “elastic members” in claims 13, 15-16, 20-22, is interpreted as “any other type of elastic member(s), viscoelastic member(s), or spring-type devices can be used in place of the elastic bands” (Specification, Paragraph 83) and any other equivalent structure. For examination purposes, “clutch mechanism” in claims 1, 3, 5-9, 11, 13-19, 21-23, is interpreted as a ratchet, dog clutch, cam clutch, friction clutch, overrunning clutch disc brake, drum brake, latch, or buckle (Specification, Paragraphs 82) as well as spring-loaded cam (Specification, Paragraph 39), and any other equivalent structure.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 7-12, and 14 of Patent 12527678 in view of Patent 12721744.
Claims 1 and 7 of Patent 12527678 discloses in claim 1: “A wearable assistance device configured to be worn by a user, the wearable assistance device comprising: a fall protection harness comprising: a first body interface comprising traps that cover at least a portion of the shoulders of the user and a fall arrest attachment, and a second body interface configured to connect to one or more legs of the user; one or more elastic members operatively coupling the first body interface to the second body interface and extending along a back of the user so as to provide an assistive force to or assistive torque about the back, wherein the one or more elastic members are configured to curve about a portion of a user's buttocks when the user bends forward; a clutch mechanism operatively connected to at least one of the one or more elastic members, the clutch mechanism being configured to selectively adjust the assistive force or assistive torque provided by the one or more elastic members about the back by changing a load path between the first body interface and the second body interface through the one or more elastic members when the clutch mechanism changes from disengaged to engaged; and a control mechanism for adjusting an operation of the clutch mechanism, the control mechanism being located on a front of the first body interface.” Also, in claim 7: “wherein the at least one clutch mechanism is configured to engage the one or more elastic members such that when the user bends forward a first portion of the one or more elastic members does not stretch and a second portion of the one or more elastic members stretches, thereby providing an assistive torque about the back of the user, and the at least one clutch mechanism is configured to disengage the one or more elastic members such that when the user bends forward, the first portion and second portion of the one or more elastic members move relative to the at least one clutch mechanism and the one or more elastic members provide minimal or no assistive force to the back of the user.”
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because (1) the claims of patent 12527678 are directed to a device/method having the essential structural features as claimed in the instant application. (2) The instant application differs from the patent 12527678 in that it recites the limitation of the elastic bands or straps.
However, U.S. Patent No. 12721744 claims 1 teaches the elastic bands or straps.
In view of the teachings of Patent 12721744, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the elastic members of Patent 12527678 by incorporating the elastic bands or straps of Patent 12721744 for providing a material stretching span.
All of the limitations of claim 2 can be found in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12527678.
All of the limitations of claim 3 can be found in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12527678.
All of the limitations of claim 4 can be found in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12527678.
All of the limitations of claim 5 can be found in claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12527678.
All of the limitations of claim 6 can be found in claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12527678.
All of the limitations of claim 7 can be found in claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12527678.
All of the limitations of claim 8 can be found in claims 2-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12527678.
All of the limitations of claim 9 can be found in claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12527678.
All of the limitations of claim 10 can be found in claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12527678.
All of the limitations of claim 11 can be found in claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12527678.
All of the limitations of claim 12 can be found in claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12527678.
This is a nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13, 15-16, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vadher (U.S. Patent No. 5716307) in view of Knott et al. (DE 102015208125 A1) and in further view of Hansen et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20130006386) and Bell (U.S. Patent No. 5131490).
Regarding claim 13, Vadher discloses a harness assistance device 10 (Col. 4, lines 65-67 and Figures 2-3, body exerciser 10 providing lower back support) configured to be worn by a user, the harness assistance device10 comprising: an upper body interface 67 (Col. 6, line 40 and Figures 2-3, shoulder maintaining apparatus 67; this is the structure as defined by the 112f analysis above) comprising first and second harness shoulder straps 67; a lower body interface 53 (Col. 6, lines 7-8 and Figures 2-3, knee maintaining apparatus 53; this is the structure as defined by the 112f analysis above) configured to connect to one or more legs of the user; one or more elastic members 40 (Col. 5, lines 19-21, 42-45, Col. 6, lines 7-8, 40, and Figure 2-3, right and left side members 12,20 each comprise a continuous elastic elongated strap 40 that mechanically couple the shoulder apparatus 67 to the knee apparatus 53; this is the structure as defined by the 112f analysis above) operatively coupling the upper body interface 67 to the lower body interface 53 and extending along a back of the user so as to provide an assistive force to or assistive torque about the back, wherein the one or more elastic members 40 are configured to curve about a portion of a user's buttocks when the user bends forward, wherein a a portion of at least one of the one or more elastic members 40 is mechanically coupled 102 to a superior or posterior portion of the lower body interface 53 (see annotated figure below); and assistive force or assistive torque provided by the one or more elastic members to/about the back (Col. 7, lines 1-15 and Figures 2-3, The right side member strap 40 of the right side member 12 further extends continuously vertically downwardly from the exerciser body waist right back 69 of the exerciser body waist 66 of the exerciser body 16 of the exerciser 18, continuously vertically downwardly along an exerciser body right buttocks 71, i.e., inter alia, the general area of the Gluteus Maximus, of the exerciser body right leg 30 of the exerciser body right side 14 of the exerciser body 16 of the exerciser 18, thereby curving around buttocks 71 when the exerciser 18 bends forward).
However, Vadher fails to explicitly disclose (1) a clutch mechanism operatively connected to at least one of the one or more elastic members; (2) the clutch mechanism configured to selectively adjust the assistive force or assistive torque provided by the one or more elastic members to/about the back; and wherein the one or more elastic members are configured to provide the assistive torque about the back of the user when the clutch mechanism is engaged and the user bends forward (3) the harness assistance device is a fall protection harness assistance device comprising a fall arrest attachment coupled to the upper body interface.
Knott teaches an analogous wearable assistance device (Page 5/22, lines 18-20 and Figure 2, support system 1 for human musculoskeletal system) comprising a clutch mechanism 22,23 (Page 6/22, Paragraph 1 and Figures 2-3, clamp plate 22 against fastener 23 which frictionally tightens against the flexurally elastic connecting structure 4) operatively connected the analogous elastic member 4 (Page 5/22, lines 18-20 and Figure 2).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the elastic members of Vadher, so that a clutch mechanism operatively connected to at least one of the one or more elastic members, as taught by Knott, in order to provide an improved harness assistance device with enhanced elastic members associated with a clutch mechanism to provide for a desired tension force of the elastic members releasing and maintaining the elastic member (Knott, Page 6/22, Paragraph 1).
However, the combination of Vadher in view of Knott fails to explicitly disclose (2) the clutch mechanism configured to selectively adjust the assistive force or assistive torque provided by the one or more elastic members to/about the back; and wherein the one or more elastic members are configured to provide the assistive torque about the back of the user when the clutch mechanism is engaged and the user bends forward; (3) the harness assistance device is a fall protection harness assistance device comprising a fall arrest attachment coupled to the upper body interface.
Hansen teaches an analogous assistance device (Paragraphs 50, 56, and Figure 2, adaptable ankle model for adjusting assistive force of ankle during dorsiflexion and plantarflexion) wherein the analogous clutch mechanism 7 (Paragraphs 50, 56, and Figure 2, wrap spring clutch 7 is engaged so that assistive force is adjusted by changing the load path from the low stiffness upper elastic bumper 5 to the high stiffness lower elastic bumper 6) is configured t0 selectively adjust the analogous assistive force (Paragraphs 50, 56, and Figure 2) provided by the analogous elastic members 5,6 (Paragraphs 50, 56, and Figure 2) to/about a body segment, by changing a load path between a similar upper frame (Figure 2, leg frame) and a similar lower frame (Figure 2, foot frame) through the analogous elastic members 5,6 when the analogous clutch mechanism 7 changes from disengaged to engaged.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the continuous elastic members between the upper-body interface and the lower-body interface of Vadher in view of Knott, the clutch mechanism configured to selectively adjust the assistive force or assistive torque provided by the one or more elastic members to/about the back (Modifying the continuous elastic members 40 of Vadher so that the continuous elastic members 40 below the clutch mechanism 22,23 of Knott has a high stiffness elastic portion 6 of Hansen and the continuous elastic member 40 above the clutch mechanism 22,23 of Knott has a low stiffness elastic portion 5 of Hansen. Thereby, the assistive force of Vadher as modified by Knott and Hansen is adjusted by changing a load path from the low stiffness upper elastic portion of the elastic member when the clutch is not engaged, to a load path through the high stiffness lower elastic portion when the clutch is engaged), as taught by Hansen, in order to provide an improved harness assistance device with enhanced elastic members and clutch mechanism, wherein when the clutch mechanism is engaged a load path is changed to adjust the assistive force as given by a low and high stiffness elastic member (Hansen, Paragraphs 50 and 56).
Therefore, the combination of Vadher in view of Knott in view of Hansen discloses wherein the one or more elastic members 40 (Modification of Col. 5, lines 42-45 of Vadher in view of Page 6/22, Paragraph 1 of Knott in view of Paragraphs 50, 56 of Hansen) are configured to provide the assistive torque about the back of the user when the clutch mechanism 22,23 (Knott, Page 6/22, Paragraph 1 and Figures 2-3, engaging clamp 22,23 against elastic member 4) is engaged and the user bends forward (Modification of Col. 5, lines 42-45 of Vadher in view of Page 6/22, Paragraph 1 of Knott in view of Paragraphs 50, 56 of Hansen: Modifying the continuous elastic members 40 of Vadher so that the continuous elastic members 40 below the clutch mechanism 22,23 of Knott has a high stiffness elastic portion 6 of Hansen and the continuous elastic member 40 above the clutch mechanism 22,23 of Knott has a low stiffness elastic portion 5 of Hansen. Thereby, the assistive force of Vadher as modified by Knott and Hansen is adjusted by changing a load path from the low stiffness upper elastic portion of the elastic member when the clutch is not engaged and the user bends forward, to a load path through the high stiffness lower elastic portion when the clutch is engaged and the user bends forward).
However, the combination of Vadher in view of Knott in view of Hansen fails to explicitly disclose (3) the harness assistance device is a fall protection harness assistance device comprising a fall arrest attachment coupled to the upper body interface.
Bell teaches an analogous harness assistance device comprises a fall protection harness assistance device 20 (Col. 3, lines 22-65 and Figure 1, harness fall protection straps 20) comprising a fall arrest attachment 58 (Col. 5, lines 1-6 and Figure 1, D-ring 58) coupled to the analogous upper body interface 28 (Col. 5, lines 1-6 and Figure 1, shoulder straps 28 comprising D-ring 58 fall arrest attachment).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the upper body interface of the harness assistance device of Vadher in view of Knott in view of Hansen, so that the upper body interface comprising a fall arrest attachment for providing a fall protection harness assistance device, as taught by Bell, in order to provide an improved fall protection harness assistance device with an enhanced upper body interface that has a D-ring fastener for connection via with a tie off device for fall prevention purposes during user activity (Bell, Col. 5, lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Vadher in view of Knott in view of Hansen in view of Bell discloses the invention as described above.
The combination of Vadher in view of Knott in view of Hansen in view of Bell fails to explicitly disclose wherein each of the elastic members comprises a first portion and a second portion connected in series, wherein the at least one clutch mechanism is mechanically connected to either the first body or second body interface, and wherein the at least one clutch mechanism is configured to selectively adjust the assistive torque provided by the one or more elastic members by selectively engaging and disengaging with at least one of the one or more elastic members at a point between the first portion and the second portion.
Hansen further teaches wherein each of the analogous elastic members 5,6 (Paragraphs 50, 56, and Figure 2, wrap spring clutch 7 is engaged so that assistive force is adjusted by changing the load path from the low stiffness upper elastic bumper 5 to the high stiffness lower elastic bumper 6 connected in series) comprises a first elastic portion 5 (Paragraphs 50, 56, and Figure 2) and a second elastic portion 6 (Paragraphs 50, 56, and Figure 2) connected in series, wherein the first elastic portion 5 is connected to a similar first frame (Figure 2, shank frame) (Paragraphs 50, 56, and Figure 2, shank frame), the second elastic portion 6 is connected to a similar second frame (Figure 2, foot frame), and wherein each of the first elastic portion 5 and the second elastic portion 6 has a different stiffness (Paragraphs 50, 56, and Figure 2).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the continuous elastic members between the first-body interface and the second-body interface of Vadher in view of Knott in view of Hansen in view of Bell, so that the continuous elastic members comprises a first portion and a second portion connected in series, (Modifying the continuous elastic members 40 of Vadher so that the continuous elastic members 40 below the clutch mechanism 22,23 of Knott has a high stiffness elastic portion 6 of Hansen and the continuous elastic member 40 above the clutch mechanism 22,23 of Knott has a low stiffness elastic portion 5 of Hansen. Thereby, the assistive force of Vadher as modified by Knott and Hansen is adjusted by changing a load path from the low stiffness upper elastic portion of the elastic member when the clutch is not engaged, to a load path through the high stiffness lower elastic portion when the clutch is engaged), as taught by Hansen, in order to provide an improved wearable lower back assistance device with enhanced elastic members and clutch mechanism, wherein when the clutch mechanism is engaged a load path is changed to adjust the assistive force as given by a low and high stiffness elastic member (Hansen, Paragraphs 50 and 56).
Therefore, the combination of Vadher in view of Knott in view of Hansen in view of Bell discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the clutch mechanism (Knott Page 5/22, line 22 and Figure 2, chest belt 6 on user’s upper body connected to clamp 22,23 is mechanically connected to the first body interface (Vadher, Col. 6, line 40 and Figures 2-3, shoulder maintaining apparatus 67 ; Knott, Page 5/22, line 22 and Figure 2, chest belt 6), and wherein the clutch mechanism is configured to selectively adjust (Knott, Paragraphs 50, 56, and Figure 2, wrap spring clutch 7 is engaged so that assistive force is adjusted by changing the load path from the low stiffness upper elastic bumper 5 to the high stiffness lower elastic bumper 6) the assistive force or assistive torque provided by the one or more elastic members (Vadher, Col. 5, lines 19-21, 42-45, Col. 6, lines 7-8, 40, and Figure 2-3) by selectively engaging and disengaging with at least one of the one or more elastic members (Vadher, Col. 5, lines 19-21, 42-45, Col. 6, lines 7-8, 40, and Figure 2-3) at a point between the first elastic portion (Knott, Paragraphs 50, 56, and Figure 2, and the second elastic portion (Knott, Paragraphs 50, 56, and Figure 2).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Vadher in view of Knott in view of Hansen in view of Bell discloses the invention as described above wherein the at least one clutch mechanism 22,23 (Knott, Page 6/22, Paragraph 1 and Figures 2-3, engaging clamp 22,23 against elastic member 4) is configured to engage (Modification of Col. 5, lines 42-45 of Vadher in view of Page 6/22, Paragraph 1 of Knott in view of Paragraphs 50, 56 of Hansen: Modifying the continuous elastic members 40 of Vadher so that the continuous elastic members 40 below the clutch mechanism 22,23 of Knott has a high stiffness elastic portion 6 of Hansen and the continuous elastic member 40 above the clutch mechanism 22,23 of Knott has a low stiffness elastic portion 5 of Hansen. Thereby, the assistive force of Vadher as modified by Knott and Hansen is adjusted by changing a load path from the low stiffness upper elastic portion of the elastic member when the clutch is not engaged and the user bends forward, to a load path through the high stiffness lower elastic portion when the clutch is engaged and the user bends forward) the one or more elastic members 40 (Modification of Col. 5, lines 42-45 of Vadher in view of Page 6/22, Paragraph 1 of Knott in view of Paragraphs 50, 56 of Hansen)such that when the user bends forward a first portion (Modification of Col. 5, lines 42-45 of Vadher in view of Page 6/22, Paragraph 1 of Knott in view of Paragraphs 50, 56 of Hansen: first upper portion of elastic member 40 of Vadher above clutch22,23 of Knott) of the one or more elastic members 40 (Modification of Col. 5, lines 42-45 of Vadher in view of Page 6/22, Paragraph 1 of Knott in view of Paragraphs 50, 56 of Hansen)does not stretch and a second portion (Modification of Col. 5, lines 42-45 of Vadher in view of Page 6/22, Paragraph 1 of Knott in view of Paragraphs 50, 56 of Hansen: second lower portion of elastic member 40 of Vadher below clutch22,23 of Knott) of the one or more elastic members stretches, thereby providing an assistive force to or assistive moment about the back of the user, and the at least one clutch mechanism 22,23 (Knott, Page 6/22, Paragraph 1 and Figures 2-3, engaging clamp 22,23 against elastic member 4) is configured to disengage the one or more elastic members 40 (Modification of Col. 5, lines 42-45 of Vadher in view of Page 6/22, Paragraph 1 of Knott in view of Paragraphs 50, 56 of Hansen)such that when the user bends forward, the first portion and second portion of the one or more elastic members 40 (Modification of Col. 5, lines 42-45 of Vadher in view of Page 6/22, Paragraph 1 of Knott in view of Paragraphs 50, 56 of Hansen)move relative to the at least one clutch mechanism 22,23 (Knott, Page 6/22, Paragraph 1 and Figures 2-3, engaging clamp 22,23 against elastic member 4)and the one or more elastic members 40 (Modification of Col. 5, lines 42-45 of Vadher in view of Page 6/22, Paragraph 1 of Knott in view of Paragraphs 50, 56 of Hansen) provide minimal or no assistive force to the back of the user.
Regarding claim 22, Vadher discloses a method of using a wearable assistance device 10 (Col. 4, lines 65-67 and Figures 2-3, body exerciser 10 providing lower back support) configured to be worn by a user, the wearable assistance device 10 comprising a harness 10: a first body interface 67 (Col. 6, line 40 and Figures 2-3, shoulder maintaining apparatus 67; this is the structure as defined by the 112f analysis above) comprising first and second harness shoulder straps 67 and a second body interface 53 (Col. 6, lines 7-8 and Figures 2-3, knee maintaining apparatus 53; this is the structure as defined by the 112f analysis above) configured to connect to legs of a user; one or more elastic members 40 (Col. 5, lines 19-21, 42-45, Col. 6, lines 7-8, 40, and Figure 2-3, right and left side members 12,20 each comprise a continuous elastic elongated strap 40 that mechanically couple the shoulder apparatus 67 to the knee apparatus 53; this is the structure as defined by the 112f analysis above) operatively coupling the first body interface 67 to the second body interface 53 and extending along (Col. 5, lines 19-21, 42-45, Col. 6, lines 7-8, 40, and Figure 2-3) a back of the user so as to provide an assistive force/torque (Col. 5, lines 19-21, 42-45, Col. 6, lines 7-8, 40, and Figure 2-3, continuous elastic member 40 along back of a user provide an assistive force parallel to the back of the user) about the back, wherein the one or more elastic members are configured to curve about a portion of a user's buttocks when the user bends forward (Col. 7, lines 1-15 and Figures 2-3, The right side member strap 40 of the right side member 12 further extends continuously vertically downwardly from the exerciser body waist right back 69 of the exerciser body waist 66 of the exerciser body 16 of the exerciser 18, continuously vertically downwardly along an exerciser body right buttocks 71, i.e., inter alia, the general area of the Gluteus Maximus, of the exerciser body right leg 30 of the exerciser body right side 14 of the exerciser body 16 of the exerciser 18, thereby curving around buttocks 71 when the exerciser 18 bends forward), and wherein a portion of at least one of the one or more elastic members 40 is mechanically coupled 102 (see annotated figure below) to a superior or posterior portion of (this part of “or” statement is not being examined) the second body interface 53.
However, Vadher fails to explicitly disclose (1) a clutch mechanism operatively connected to at least one of the one or more elastic members; (2) the clutch mechanism configured to selectively adjust the assistive force or assistive torque provided by the one or more elastic members about the back by changing a load path between the first body interface and the second body interface through the one or more elastic members when the clutch mechanism changes from disengaged to engaged; and wherein the one or more elastic members are configured to provide the assistive torque about the back of the user when the clutch mechanism is engaged and the user bends forward; (3) the harness comprises a fall protection harness, the first body interface comprising a fall arrest attachment.
Knott teaches an analogous wearable assistance device (Page 5/22, lines 18-20 and Figure 2, support system 1 for human musculoskeletal system) comprising a clutch mechanism 22,23 (Page 6/22, Paragraph 1 and Figures 2-3, clamp plate 22 against fastener 23 which frictionally tightens against the flexurally elastic connecting structure 4) operatively connected the analogous elastic member 4 (Page 5/22, lines 18-20 and Figure 2).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the elastic members of Vadher, so that a clutch mechanism operatively connected to at least one of the one or more elastic members, as taught by Knott, in order to provide an improved wearable assistance device with enhanced elastic members associated with a clutch mechanism to provide for a desired tension force of the elastic members releasing and maintaining the elastic member (Knott, Page 6/22, Paragraph 1).
However, the combination of Vadher in view of Knott fails to explicitly disclose (2) the clutch mechanism configured to selectively adjust the assistive force or assistive torque provided by the one or more elastic members to/about the back by changing a load path between the first body interface and the second body interface through the one or more elastic members when the clutch mechanism changes from disengaged to engaged; and wherein the one or more elastic members are configured to provide the assistive torque about the back of the user when the clutch mechanism is engaged and the user bends forward; (3) the harness comprises a fall protection harness, the first body interface comprising a fall arrest attachment.
Hansen teaches an analogous assistance device (Paragraphs 50, 56, and Figure 2, adaptable ankle model for adjusting assistive force of ankle during dorsiflexion and plantarflexion) wherein the analogous clutch mechanism 7 (Paragraphs 50, 56, and Figure 2, wrap spring clutch 7 is engaged so that assistive force is adjusted by changing the load path from the low stiffness upper elastic bumper 5 to the high stiffness lower elastic bumper 6) is configured t0 selectively adjust the analogous assistive force (Paragraphs 50, 56, and Figure 2) provided by the analogous elastic members 5,6 (Paragraphs 50, 56, and Figure 2) to/about a body segment, by changing a load path between a similar first frame (Figure 2, leg frame) and a similar second frame (Figure 2, foot frame) through the analogous elastic members 5,6 when the analogous clutch mechanism 7 changes from disengaged to engaged
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the continuous elastic members between the upper-body interface and the lower-body interface of Vadher in view of Knott, the clutch mechanism configured to selectively adjust the assistive force or assistive torque provided by the one or more elastic members to/about the back by changing a load path between the first body interface and the second body interface through the one or more elastic members when the clutch mechanism changes from disengaged to engaged (Modifying the continuous elastic members 40 of Vadher so that the continuous elastic members 40 below the clutch mechanism 22,23 of Knott has a high stiffness elastic portion 6 of Hansen and the continuous elastic member 40 above the clutch mechanism 22,23 of Knott has a low stiffness elastic portion 5 of Hansen. Thereby, the assistive force of Vadher as modified by Knott and Hansen is adjusted by changing a load path from the low stiffness upper elastic portion of the elastic member when the clutch is not engaged, to a load path through the high stiffness lower elastic portion when the clutch is engaged), as taught by Hansen, in order to provide an improved wearable assistance device with enhanced elastic members and clutch mechanism, wherein when the clutch mechanism is engaged a load path is changed to adjust the assistive force as given by a low and high stiffness elastic member (Hansen, Paragraphs 50 and 56).
Therefore, the combination of Vadher in view of Knott in view of Hansen discloses wherein the one or more elastic members 40 (Modification of Col. 5, lines 42-45 of Vadher in view of Page 6/22, Paragraph 1 of Knott in view of Paragraphs 50, 56 of Hansen) are configured to provide the assistive torque about the back of the user when the clutch mechanism 22,23 (Knott, Page 6/22, Paragraph 1 and Figures 2-3, engaging clamp 22,23 against elastic member 4) is engaged and the user bends forward (Modification of Col. 5, lines 42-45 of Vadher in view of Page 6/22, Paragraph 1 of Knott in view of Paragraphs 50, 56 of Hansen: Modifying the continuous elastic members 40 of Vadher so that the continuous elastic members 40 below the clutch mechanism 22,23 of Knott has a high stiffness elastic portion 6 of Hansen and the continuous elastic member 40 above the clutch mechanism 22,23 of Knott has a low stiffness elastic portion 5 of Hansen. Thereby, the assistive force of Vadher as modified by Knott and Hansen is adjusted by changing a load path from the low stiffness upper elastic portion of the elastic member when the clutch is not engaged and the user bends forward, to a load path through the high stiffness lower elastic portion when the clutch is engaged and the user bends forward).
However, the combination of Vadher in view of Knott in view of Hansen fails to explicitly disclose (3) the harness comprises a fall protection harness.
Bell teaches an analogous harness comprises a fall protection harness 20 (Col. 3, lines 22-65 and Figure 1, harness fall protection straps 20), and the analogous first body interface 28 (Col. 5, lines 1-6 and Figure 1, shoulder straps 28 comprising D-ring 58 fall arrest attachment) comprising a fall arrest attachment 58.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the harness with the first body interface of the harness of the wearable assistance device of Vadher in view of Knott in view of Hansen, so that the first body interface comprising a fall arrest attachment for providing a fall protection harness, as taught by Bell, in order to provide an improved wearable assistance device with an enhanced first body interface that has a D-ring fastener for connection via with a tie off device for fall prevention purposes during user activity (Bell, Col. 5, lines 1-6).
11. Claims 14, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vadher (U.S. Patent No. 5716307) in view of Knott et al. (DE 102015208125 A1) in view of Hansen et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20130006386) in view of Bell (U.S. Patent No. 5131490), as applied to claims 14 and 22, respectively, and in further view of Tanaka et al. (JP 2008067762 A).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Vadher in view of Knott in view of Hansen in view of Bell discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose a control mechanism for adjusting the operation of the clutch mechanism.
Tanaka teaches an analogous wearable assistance device 10 (Page 4/22, Paragraph 4 and Figure 1, muscle strength assisting device 10 for supporting user’s back) with a control mechanism 23,16 (Page 4/22, Paragraph 8, Page 6/22, Paragraph 1, and Figure 1, manual button 23 and motor 16 forming an actuator for operating a pulley clutch mechanism 13,15, with microcomputer control unit 30 that controls the stepping motor 16 of the electric wire winder 14 based on a bending sensor 21 that detects the state of the user's upper body to determine whether a current activity requires assistive force) for adjusting an analogous operation (Page 4/22, Paragraphs 8-12, and Page 5/22, calculating a user’s bending angle to determine assistive force applied to elastic body 11 by pulley clutch 13,15) of the analogous clutch mechanism 13 (Page 4/22, Paragraphs 8-12 and Figure 1, metal wire 13 connected to elastic body 11 for engaging and disengaging elastic body 11 is wound around the pulley 15 of the electric wire winder 14 such that the pulley clutch is engaged and disengaged by a control unit 30 and motor to variably applies tension to the elastic body 11 according to the amount of wire winding; This is the structure as defined by the 112f analysis above).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clutch mechanism of Vadher in view of Knott in view of Hansen in view of Bell, so that there is a control mechanism for adjusting the operation of the clutch mechanism, as taught by Tanaka, in order to provide an improved wearable assistance device with an enhanced clutch mechanism that is operable by an actuator and processor for controlling locking and unlocking of the clutch mechanism to apply assistive force (Tanaka, Page 4/22, Paragraphs 8-12, Page 6/22, Paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Vadher in view of Knott in view of Hansen in view of Bell in view of Tanaka discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the control mechanism 23,16 (Tanaka, Page 4/22, Paragraph 8, Page 6/22, Paragraph 1, and Figure1, actuator motor 23,16 and processor 30 to control pulley clutch mechanism 13,15) is an electric motor 16 (Tanaka, Page 4/22, Paragraph 8, Page 6/22, Paragraph 1) that is controlled by a processor 30 (Tanaka, Page 4/22, Paragraph 8, Page 6/22, Paragraph 1, and Figure1) to adjust the operation of the clutch mechanism 22,23 (Knott, Page 6/22, Paragraph 1 and Figures 2-3, engaging clamp 22,23 against elastic member 4).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Vadher in view of Knott in view of Hansen in view of Bell in view of Tanaka discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the actuator 23 (Tanaka, Page 4/22, Paragraph 8, Page 6/22, Paragraph 1, and Figure 1, manual button 23 and motor 16 are an actuator for operating a pulley clutch mechanism 13,15) is a button 23 (Tanaka, Page 6/22, Paragraph 1) that is triggered manually to adjust the operation of the clutch mechanism (Knott, Page 6/22, Paragraph 1 and Figures 2-3, clamp plate 22 and fastener 23).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Vadher in view of Knott in view of Hansen in view of Bell in view of Tanaka discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein a mechanical connection (Tanaka, Page 4/22, Paragraph 8, Page 6/22, Paragraph 1, and Figure 1, actuator button 23 mechanically connected to clutch 13 via pulley 15 and electric wire winder 14; Examiner notes that Applicant may overcome the mechanical connection of Tanaka if Applicant were to amend the claims to further define the mechanical connection such as a combination of a Bowden cable and the clutch as a rotating cam working together as recited in Applicant’s Specifications 117 and 119 in order to teach away from the pulley and wire winder of Tanaka) extends between the control mechanism 23 (Tanaka, Page 4/22, Paragraph 8, Page 6/22, Paragraph 1, and Figure 1) and the clutch mechanism (Knott, Page 6/22, Paragraph 1 and Figures 2-3, clamp plate 22 and fastener 23).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Vadher in view of Knott in view of Hansen in view of Bell in view of Tanaka discloses the invention as described above. Vadher further discloses wherein the first body interface 67 (Col. 6, line 40 and Figures 2-3, shoulder maintaining apparatus 67) is an upper body interface 67 comprising straps 67 that are configured to cover at least shoulder portions of the user, and the second body interface 53 (Col. 6, lines 7-8 and Figures 2-3, knee maintaining apparatus 53; this is the structure as defined by the 112f analysis above) is a lower body interface 53 configured to connect to one or more legs of the user.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vadher (U.S. Patent No. 5716307) in view of Knott et al. (DE 102015208125 A1) in view of Hansen et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20130006386) in view of Bell (U.S. Patent No. 5131490), as applied to claim 13, and in further view of Gilsan (U.S. Patent No. 5816251).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Vadher in view of Knott in view of Hansen in view of Bell discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the elastic members comprises a first elastic member extending from a right side of the upper-body interface to a left side of the lower-body interface and a second elastic member extending from a left side of the upper-body interface to a right side of the lower-body interface.
Gilsan teaches an analogous wearable lower back assistance device 11 (Col. 3, line 38 and Figure 1, back support system 11) wherein the analogous elastic members 22,23 (Col. 3, line 45-49 and Figure 1, a first elastic strap 22 and a second elastic strap 23) comprises a first elastic member 23 (Col. 3, line 45-49 and Figure 1, a second elastic strap 23) extending from a right side (Col. 4, lines 10-19 and Figure 1, second elastic strap 23 extends from a right side of shoulder harness 12) of the analogous first-body interface 12 (Col. 3, line 45 and Figure 1, shoulder harness 12) to a left side (Col. 4, lines 10-19 and Figure 1, second elastic strap 23 extends from a right side of shoulder harness 12 towards left cuff 14) of the analogous second-body interface 14,16 (Col. 3, line 45-54 and Figure 1, first and second cuffs 14,16 cuffs around, respectively, the thighs 15,17) and a second elastic member 22 (Col. 3, line 45-49 and Figure 1, a first elastic strap 22) extending from a left side (Col. 4, lines 10-19 and Figure 1, first elastic strap 22 extends from a left side of shoulder harness 12) of the analogous first-body interface 12 to a right side (Col. 4, lines 10-19 and Figure 1, first elastic strap 22 extends from a left side of shoulder harness 12 towards right cuff 16) of the analogous second-body interface 14,16.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the positions of the elastic members of Vadher in view of Knott in view of Hansen in view of Bell , to include a crossed configuration from the first-body interface to the second-body interface so that a first elastic member extending from a right side of the first-body interface to a left side of the second-body interface and a second elastic member extending from a left side of the first-body interface to a right side of the second-body interface, as taught by Gilsan, in order to provide an improved wearable lower back assistance device with elastic members that provides dynamic support to as a user not only as the user bends over but also twists, as given by the potential elastic energy formed during the stretching of the elastic members, transferring a portion of the upper body's mass from the low back musculature to the lower body (Gilsan, Col. 4, lines 47-63).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vadher (U.S. Patent No. 5716307) in view of Knott et al. (DE 102015208125 A1) in view of Hansen et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20130006386) in view of Bell (U.S. Patent No. 5131490), as applied to claim 13, and in further view of Deweese (U.S. Patent No. 0330213).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Vadher in view of Knott in view of Hansen in view of Bell discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the clutch mechanism comprises a rotating element that fixates or clamps the one or more elastic members when the clutch mechanism is engaged.
Deweese teaches an analogous clutch mechanism A,B,C,D,E,F,G (Col. 1, lines 19-20, 30-35 and Figures 1-3, strap clamp A,B,C,D,E,F,G that remains on strap I) comprises a rotating cam G (Col. 2, lines 55-60, 69, and Figures 2-3, lever G pivots to clamp the strap I in place about a pivot axis H) that fixates or clamps the one or more analogous strap member I (Col. 2, lines 45-51 and Figures 1-3, strap I) using frictional engagement when the analogous clutch mechanism is engaged (Col. 2, lines 55-60 and Figures 2-3, engaging clamp A,B,C,D,E,F,G by pivoting lever G).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clutch mechanism of Vadher in view of Knott in view of Hansen in view of Bell , so that the clutch mechanism is a rotating cam for clamping the elastic member, as taught by Deweese, in order to provide an improved wearable lower back assistance device that is operable by a pivotable element to engage the clutch mechanism for desirable clamping given by pivoting of the clamp to maintain the strap member in place as desired (Deweese, Col. 2, lines 55-60).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL MILO/
Art Unit 3786
/OPHELIA A HAWTHORNE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786