In the response to this Office action, the Office respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Office in prosecuting this application.
The Office has cited particular figures, elements, paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider each of the cited references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage disclosed by the Office.
Status of Claims
- Applicant’s Amendment filed August 4, 2025 is acknowledged.
- Claim(s) 1-7, 9-20 is/are amended
- Claim(s) 8 is/are canceled
- Claim(s) 20-21 is/are new
- Claim(s) 1-7, 9-21 is/are pending in the application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
The application has claimed priority based on International Patent Application No. PCT/CN2023/136468 filed on December 5, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 26, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johansson et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20150355774 in view of Agarwal et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20160092010.
Consider claim 1, Johansson teaches a touch scanning method comprising outputting a touch scanning signal to a display based on a second frame rate, wherein the second frame rate is an integer multiple of a first frame rate (see Johansson paragraph 0052, 0055 specifically for example 0052 where touch panel scan rate may be increased by a factor of 2, 3, 4, etc., relative to the display refresh rate and paragraph 0055 where Based on the estimated display refresh rate, choreographer 315 communicates a scan rate value (illustrated as a SYNC) to host touch driver 320. In turn, host touch driver 320 communicates the scan rate value (illustrated as a SYNC) to touch panel IC 345. For example, host touch driver 320 stores the scan rate value in a register of touch panel IC 345. Subsequently, touch panel IC 345 operates according to the scan rate value), and
receiving touch data from the display in response to the touch scanning signal being output to the display (see Johansson paragraph 0053 where referring to FIG. 3B, as illustrated, there are three events, namely the VSYNC, the touch panel scan, and the when an event is delivered to the choreographer. As previously described, the VSYNC events correspond to the display refresh events. The touch panel scan events correspond to the touch panel scans. The event delivered to choreographer corresponds to choreographer 315 receiving touch event data. And paragraph 0053 where touch event data is communicated from touch panel IC 345 to host touch driver 320 ); and
outputting a touch scanning result based on the touch data (see Johansson paragraph 0053 where referring to FIG. 3B, as illustrated, there are three events, namely the VSYNC, the touch panel scan, and the when an event is delivered to the choreographer. As previously described, the VSYNC events correspond to the display refresh events. The touch panel scan events correspond to the touch panel scans. The event delivered to choreographer corresponds to choreographer 315 receiving touch event data. And paragraph 0053 where touch event data is communicated from touch panel IC 345 to host touch driver 320, which in turn is communicated to choreographer 315. When choreographer 315 receives the touch event data is when the event is delivered.).
Johansson is silent regarding wherein the first frame rate is an adjustable frame rate of a display drive signal. In the same field of endeavor, Agarwal teaches a variable display rate display so as to save power when displaying static images or to improve performance in computationally intensive graphic environments (see Agarwal paragraph 0003). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Johansson to have a variable display rate display so as to save power when displaying static images or to improve performance in computationally intensive graphic environments using known techniques with predictable results.
Consider claim 2, Johansson as modified by Agarwal teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches further comprising: receiving a frame synchronization signal corresponding to the first frame rate (see Johansson paragraph 0055 where according to an exemplary scenario, assume that a user of user device 100 presses a button that causes user device 100 to wake-up. In response, as illustrated, choreographer 315 receives VSYNCs from display driver IC 330. Based on the received VSYNCs, choreographer 315 estimates the display refresh rate based on a timestamp for each VSYNC. Since each VSYNC event may vary stochastically, choreographer 315 uses a smoothing technique (e.g., exponential smoothing) to estimate the display refresh rate. Based on the estimated display refresh rate, choreographer 315 communicates a scan rate value (illustrated as a SYNC) to host touch driver 320. In turn, host touch driver 320 communicates the scan rate value (illustrated as a SYNC) to touch panel IC 345. For example, host touch driver 320 stores the scan rate value in a register of touch panel IC 345. Subsequently, touch panel IC 345 operates according to the scan rate value); and
outputting, based on the second frame rate, the touch scanning signal to the display by using the frame synchronization signal as a reference (see Johansson paragraph 0055 where According to an exemplary scenario, assume that a user of user device 100 presses a button that causes user device 100 to wake-up. In response, as illustrated, choreographer 315 receives VSYNCs from display driver IC 330. Based on the received VSYNCs, choreographer 315 estimates the display refresh rate based on a timestamp for each VSYNC. Since each VSYNC event may vary stochastically, choreographer 315 uses a smoothing technique (e.g., exponential smoothing) to estimate the display refresh rate. Based on the estimated display refresh rate, choreographer 315 communicates a scan rate value (illustrated as a SYNC) to host touch driver 320. In turn, host touch driver 320 communicates the scan rate value (illustrated as a SYNC) to touch panel IC 345. For example, host touch driver 320 stores the scan rate value in a register of touch panel IC 345. Subsequently, touch panel IC 345 operates according to the scan rate value).
Consider claim 3, Johansson as modified by Agarwal teaches all the limitations of claim 2 and further teaches further comprising periodically changing the first frame rate (see Agarwal paragraph 0003-0004, 0020-0021, 0048).
Consider claim 4, Johansson as modified by Agarwal teaches all the limitations of claim 2 wherein in at least one frame, the touch scanning method further comprises: receiving the frame synchronization signal at a first time (see Johansson paragraph 0055 where according to an exemplary scenario, assume that a user of user device 100 presses a button that causes user device 100 to wake-up. In response, as illustrated, choreographer 315 receives VSYNCs from display driver IC 330. Based on the received VSYNCs, choreographer 315 estimates the display refresh rate based on a timestamp for each VSYNC. Since each VSYNC event may vary stochastically, choreographer 315 uses a smoothing technique (e.g., exponential smoothing) to estimate the display refresh rate. Based on the estimated display refresh rate, choreographer 315 communicates a scan rate value (illustrated as a SYNC) to host touch driver 320. In turn, host touch driver 320 communicates the scan rate value (illustrated as a SYNC) to touch panel IC 345. For example, host touch driver 320 stores the scan rate value in a register of touch panel IC 345. Subsequently, touch panel IC 345 operates according to the scan rate value); and
outputting the touch scanning signal at a second time that is a delay of a specified duration after the first time (see Johansson paragraph 0058 where choreographer 315 estimates the average delay (Dt) between the reception of a touch event and the next VSYNC event. For example, referring back to FIG. 3B, the wait time constitutes a delay between the reception of a touch event by choreographer 315 and the next VSYNC event. If the average delay (Dt) is outside a range (e.g., [Dtmax, Dtmin] ms), choreographer 315 calculates a time offset value to adjust the timing of touch panel scanning. If the average delay is not outside the range, then no adjustment is made. For purposes of description, assume the average delay (Dt) is outside the range. As illustrated in FIG. 3E, according to this example, choreographer 315 calculates a time offset value, which is communicated to host touch driver 320. In turn, host touch driver 320 stores the time offset value in register of touch panel IC 345. Touch panel IC 345 adjusts the timing of the touch panel scanning based on the time offset value. As a result, for example, referring to FIG. 3F, choreographer 315 adjusts the timing of the touch panel scanning to cause touch panel scan events to occur closer in time relative to VSYNC events as compared to the timing diagram of FIG. 3B. Additionally, the touch event data is received by choreographer 315, closer in time, relative to VSYNC events compared to the timing diagram of FIG. 3B).
Consider claim 5, Johansson as modified by Agarwal teaches all the limitations of claim 4 and further teaches further comprising periodically outputting the touch scanning signal at periods comprising consecutive frames (see Johansson paragraph 0056 where choreographer 315 continuously estimates the display refresh rate and host touch driver 320 continuously estimates the touch panel scan rate. if the difference between the refresh rate and scan rate is greater than a threshold value, choreographer 315 determines to adjust the scan rate. For example, similar to that previously described in relation to FIG. 3C, choreographer 315 communicates a scan rate value to host touch driver 320, and in turn, via host touch driver 320, this value is stored in a register of touch panel IC 345. Subsequently, touch panel IC 345 operates according to the scan rate value).
Consider claim 6, Johansson as modified by Agarwal teaches all the limitations of claim 5 and further teaches further comprising receiving a delayed reset signal between adjacent periods of the periods (see Johansson paragraph 0058-0059 average delay (Dt) depends on the initial phase difference between the display refresh rate and the touch panel scan rate, and the current load on the processor (e.g., processor 205). That is, referring to FIG. 3E, the elapsed time period for touch events (illustrated as “EVENTS”) communicated from touch panel IC 345 to reach choreographer 315, via host touch driver 320, is impacted based on the load of the processor (e.g., processor 205) during that time period. Since the load varies over time, in turn, so does the elapsed time. However, as described, the synchronization service adapts to these variations based on an adjustment of the timing (or phase) of the touch panel scanning. That is, as described herein, touch panel IC 345 may be controlled as to when to start a touch panel scan so as to sync the touch panel scan event with the VSYNC event. This synchronization may minimize wait time and minimize the time between the scan and when the touch event should be delivered to choreographer 315.)
Consider claim 7, Johansson as modified by Agarwal teaches all the limitations of claim 5 and further teaches wherein each of the periods further comprises two frames (see Johansson paragraph 0056 where choreographer 315 continuously estimates the display refresh rate and host touch driver 320 continuously estimates the touch panel scan rate. if the difference between the refresh rate and scan rate is greater than a threshold value, choreographer 315 determines to adjust the scan rate. For example, similar to that previously described in relation to FIG. 3C, choreographer 315 communicates a scan rate value to host touch driver 320, and in turn, via host touch driver 320, this value is stored in a register of touch panel IC 345. Subsequently, touch panel IC 345 operates according to the scan rate value. Paragraph 0048 indicates that VSYNC corresponds to vertical synchronizations which occur between two consecutive frames).
Claim 8 canceled
Consider claim 9, Johansson teaches an apparatus comprising a display (see Johansson figure 1 and paragraph 0036, 0048 where user device 100 is illustrated in FIG. 1 as a mobile device that includes a touch and/or touchless panel/display) configured to receive a display drive signal based on a first frame rate (see Johansson paragraph 0055 where according to an exemplary scenario, assume that a user of user device 100 presses a button that causes user device 100 to wake-up. In response, as illustrated, choreographer 315 receives VSYNCs from display driver IC 330. Based on the received VSYNCs, choreographer 315 estimates the display refresh rate based on a timestamp for each VSYNC.),
a touch panel integrated circuit chip (TPIC) chip (see Johansson figure 2, element 205 and paragraph 0038 where Processor 205 includes one or multiple processors, microprocessors, data processors, co-processors, application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), controllers, programmable logic devices, chipsets, field-programmable gate arrays (FPGAs), application specific instruction-set processors (ASIPs), system-on-chips (SoCs), central processing units (e.g., one or multiple cores), microcontrollers, and/or some other type of component that interprets and/or executes instructions and/or data. Processor 205 may be implemented as hardware (e.g., a microprocessor, etc.), a combination of hardware and software (e.g., a SoC, an ASIC, etc.), may include one or multiple memories (e.g., memory/storage 210), etc. Processor 205 controls the overall operation or a portion of operation(s) performed by user device 100. And figure 3A-3G) configured to:
output a touch scanning signal to the display based on a second frame rate, wherein the second frame rate is an integer multiple of the first frame rate (see Johansson paragraph 0052, 0055 specifically for example 0052 where touch panel scan rate may be increased by a factor of 2, 3, 4, etc., relative to the display refresh rate and paragraph 0055 where Based on the estimated display refresh rate, choreographer 315 communicates a scan rate value (illustrated as a SYNC) to host touch driver 320. In turn, host touch driver 320 communicates the scan rate value (illustrated as a SYNC) to touch panel IC 345. For example, host touch driver 320 stores the scan rate value in a register of touch panel IC 345. Subsequently, touch panel IC 345 operates according to the scan rate value);
receive touch data from the display in response to the touch scanning signal being output to the display (see Johansson paragraph 0053 where referring to FIG. 3B, as illustrated, there are three events, namely the VSYNC, the touch panel scan, and the when an event is delivered to the choreographer. As previously described, the VSYNC events correspond to the display refresh events. The touch panel scan events correspond to the touch panel scans. The event delivered to choreographer corresponds to choreographer 315 receiving touch event data. And paragraph 0053 where touch event data is communicated from touch panel IC 345 to host touch driver 320 ); and
output a touch scanning result based on the touch data (see Johansson paragraph 0053 where referring to FIG. 3B, as illustrated, there are three events, namely the VSYNC, the touch panel scan, and the when an event is delivered to the choreographer. As previously described, the VSYNC events correspond to the display refresh events. The touch panel scan events correspond to the touch panel scans. The event delivered to choreographer corresponds to choreographer 315 receiving touch event data. And paragraph 0053 where touch event data is communicated from touch panel IC 345 to host touch driver 320, which in turn is communicated to choreographer 315. When choreographer 315 receives the touch event data is when the event is delivered.).
Johansson is silent regarding wherein the first frame rate is an adjustable frame rate. In the same field of endeavor, Agarwal teaches a variable display rate display so as to save power when displaying static images or to improve performance in computationally intensive graphic environments (see Agarwal paragraph 0003). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Johansson to have a variable display rate display so as to save power when displaying static images or to improve performance in computationally intensive graphic environments using known techniques with predictable results.
Consider claim 10, Johansson as modified by Agarwal teaches all the limitations of claim 9 and further teaches wherein the TPIC chip is further configured to: receive a frame synchronization signal corresponding to the first frame rate (see Johansson paragraph 0055 where according to an exemplary scenario, assume that a user of user device 100 presses a button that causes user device 100 to wake-up. In response, as illustrated, choreographer 315 receives VSYNCs from display driver IC 330. Based on the received VSYNCs, choreographer 315 estimates the display refresh rate based on a timestamp for each VSYNC. Since each VSYNC event may vary stochastically, choreographer 315 uses a smoothing technique (e.g., exponential smoothing) to estimate the display refresh rate. Based on the estimated display refresh rate, choreographer 315 communicates a scan rate value (illustrated as a SYNC) to host touch driver 320. In turn, host touch driver 320 communicates the scan rate value (illustrated as a SYNC) to touch panel IC 345. For example, host touch driver 320 stores the scan rate value in a register of touch panel IC 345. Subsequently, touch panel IC 345 operates according to the scan rate value) and
output, based on the second frame rate, the touch scanning signal to the display by using the frame synchronization signal as a reference (see Johansson paragraph 0055 where According to an exemplary scenario, assume that a user of user device 100 presses a button that causes user device 100 to wake-up. In response, as illustrated, choreographer 315 receives VSYNCs from display driver IC 330. Based on the received VSYNCs, choreographer 315 estimates the display refresh rate based on a timestamp for each VSYNC. Since each VSYNC event may vary stochastically, choreographer 315 uses a smoothing technique (e.g., exponential smoothing) to estimate the display refresh rate. Based on the estimated display refresh rate, choreographer 315 communicates a scan rate value (illustrated as a SYNC) to host touch driver 320. In turn, host touch driver 320 communicates the scan rate value (illustrated as a SYNC) to touch panel IC 345. For example, host touch driver 320 stores the scan rate value in a register of touch panel IC 345. Subsequently, touch panel IC 345 operates according to the scan rate value).
Consider claim 11, Johansson as modified by Agarwal teaches all the limitations of claim 10 and further teaches wherein in at least one frame, the TPIC chip is further configured to: receive the frame synchronization signal at a first time (see Johansson paragraph 0055 where according to an exemplary scenario, assume that a user of user device 100 presses a button that causes user device 100 to wake-up. In response, as illustrated, choreographer 315 receives VSYNCs from display driver IC 330. Based on the received VSYNCs, choreographer 315 estimates the display refresh rate based on a timestamp for each VSYNC. Since each VSYNC event may vary stochastically, choreographer 315 uses a smoothing technique (e.g., exponential smoothing) to estimate the display refresh rate. Based on the estimated display refresh rate, choreographer 315 communicates a scan rate value (illustrated as a SYNC) to host touch driver 320. In turn, host touch driver 320 communicates the scan rate value (illustrated as a SYNC) to touch panel IC 345. For example, host touch driver 320 stores the scan rate value in a register of touch panel IC 345. Subsequently, touch panel IC 345 operates according to the scan rate value); and
output the touch scanning signal at a second time that is a delay of a specified duration after the first time (see Johansson paragraph 0058 where choreographer 315 estimates the average delay (Dt) between the reception of a touch event and the next VSYNC event. For example, referring back to FIG. 3B, the wait time constitutes a delay between the reception of a touch event by choreographer 315 and the next VSYNC event. If the average delay (Dt) is outside a range (e.g., [Dtmax, Dtmin] ms), choreographer 315 calculates a time offset value to adjust the timing of touch panel scanning. If the average delay is not outside the range, then no adjustment is made. For purposes of description, assume the average delay (Dt) is outside the range. As illustrated in FIG. 3E, according to this example, choreographer 315 calculates a time offset value, which is communicated to host touch driver 320. In turn, host touch driver 320 stores the time offset value in register of touch panel IC 345. Touch panel IC 345 adjusts the timing of the touch panel scanning based on the time offset value. As a result, for example, referring to FIG. 3F, choreographer 315 adjusts the timing of the touch panel scanning to cause touch panel scan events to occur closer in time relative to VSYNC events as compared to the timing diagram of FIG. 3B. Additionally, the touch event data is received by choreographer 315, closer in time, relative to VSYNC events compared to the timing diagram of FIG. 3B).
Consider claim 12, Johansson as modified by Agarwal teaches all the limitations of claim 11 and further teaches wherein the TPIC chip is further configured to periodically output the touch scanning signal at periods comprising consecutive frames (see Johansson paragraph 0056 where choreographer 315 continuously estimates the display refresh rate and host touch driver 320 continuously estimates the touch panel scan rate. if the difference between the refresh rate and scan rate is greater than a threshold value, choreographer 315 determines to adjust the scan rate. For example, similar to that previously described in relation to FIG. 3C, choreographer 315 communicates a scan rate value to host touch driver 320, and in turn, via host touch driver 320, this value is stored in a register of touch panel IC 345. Subsequently, touch panel IC 345 operates according to the scan rate value).
Consider claim 13, Johansson as modified by Agarwal teaches all the limitations of claim 12 and further teaches wherein the TPIC chip is further configured to receive a delayed reset signal between adjacent periods of the periods (see Johansson paragraph 0058-0059 average delay (Dt) depends on the initial phase difference between the display refresh rate and the touch panel scan rate, and the current load on the processor (e.g., processor 205). That is, referring to FIG. 3E, the elapsed time period for touch events (illustrated as “EVENTS”) communicated from touch panel IC 345 to reach choreographer 315, via host touch driver 320, is impacted based on the load of the processor (e.g., processor 205) during that time period. Since the load varies over time, in turn, so does the elapsed time. However, as described, the synchronization service adapts to these variations based on an adjustment of the timing (or phase) of the touch panel scanning. That is, as described herein, touch panel IC 345 may be controlled as to when to start a touch panel scan so as to sync the touch panel scan event with the VSYNC event. This synchronization may minimize wait time and minimize the time between the scan and when the touch event should be delivered to choreographer 315.).
Consider claim 14, Johansson as modified by Agarwal teaches all the limitations of claim 11 and further teaches wherein each of the periods further comprises two frames (see Johansson paragraph 0056 where choreographer 315 continuously estimates the display refresh rate and host touch driver 320 continuously estimates the touch panel scan rate. if the difference between the refresh rate and scan rate is greater than a threshold value, choreographer 315 determines to adjust the scan rate. For example, similar to that previously described in relation to FIG. 3C, choreographer 315 communicates a scan rate value to host touch driver 320, and in turn, via host touch driver 320, this value is stored in a register of touch panel IC 345. Subsequently, touch panel IC 345 operates according to the scan rate value. Paragraph 0048 indicates that VSYNC corresponds to vertical synchronizations which occur between two consecutive frames).
Consider claim 15, Johansson as modified by Agarwal teaches all the limitations of claim 9. Johansson is silent regarding wherein the display is an organic light-emitting diode display.
In the same field of endeavor, Agarwal teaches a variable refresh rate (VRR) display may use liquid crystal display (LCD) technology, light emitting polymer display (LPD) technology, organic LED (OLED) technology, or organic electro luminescence (OEL) technology, although other display technologies can be used in other examples (see Agarwal paragraph 0023).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have further modified Johansson to have an organic light emitting diode display so as to incorporate a variable refresh rate display using known techniques with predictable results.
Consider claim 16, Johansson teaches touch scanning method comprising outputting, at a second time, a touch scanning signal to a display based on a second frame rate, wherein the second frame rate is an integer multiple of a first frame rate (see Johansson paragraph 0052, 0055 specifically for example 0052 where touch panel scan rate may be increased by a factor of 2, 3, 4, etc., relative to the display refresh rate and paragraph 0055 where Based on the estimated display refresh rate, choreographer 315 communicates a scan rate value (illustrated as a SYNC) to host touch driver 320. In turn, host touch driver 320 communicates the scan rate value (illustrated as a SYNC) to touch panel IC 345. For example, host touch driver 320 stores the scan rate value in a register of touch panel IC 345. Subsequently, touch panel IC 345 operates according to the scan rate value),
wherein the second time is a delay of a specified duration after the first time (see Johansson paragraph 0058 where choreographer 315 estimates the average delay (Dt) between the reception of a touch event and the next VSYNC event. For example, referring back to FIG. 3B, the wait time constitutes a delay between the reception of a touch event by choreographer 315 and the next VSYNC event. If the average delay (Dt) is outside a range (e.g., [Dtmax, Dtmin] ms), choreographer 315 calculates a time offset value to adjust the timing of touch panel scanning. If the average delay is not outside the range, then no adjustment is made. For purposes of description, assume the average delay (Dt) is outside the range. As illustrated in FIG. 3E, according to this example, choreographer 315 calculates a time offset value, which is communicated to host touch driver 320. In turn, host touch driver 320 stores the time offset value in register of touch panel IC 345. Touch panel IC 345 adjusts the timing of the touch panel scanning based on the time offset value. As a result, for example, referring to FIG. 3F, choreographer 315 adjusts the timing of the touch panel scanning to cause touch panel scan events to occur closer in time relative to VSYNC events as compared to the timing diagram of FIG. 3B. Additionally, the touch event data is received by choreographer 315, closer in time, relative to VSYNC events compared to the timing diagram of FIG. 3B);
receiving touch data from the display in response to the touch scanning signal being output to the display (see Johansson paragraph 0053 where referring to FIG. 3B, as illustrated, there are three events, namely the VSYNC, the touch panel scan, and the when an event is delivered to the choreographer. As previously described, the VSYNC events correspond to the display refresh events. The touch panel scan events correspond to the touch panel scans. The event delivered to choreographer corresponds to choreographer 315 receiving touch event data. And paragraph 0053 where touch event data is communicated from touch panel IC 345 to host touch driver 320 ); and
outputting a touch scanning result based on the touch data (see Johansson paragraph 0053 where referring to FIG. 3B, as illustrated, there are three events, namely the VSYNC, the touch panel scan, and the when an event is delivered to the choreographer. As previously described, the VSYNC events correspond to the display refresh events. The touch panel scan events correspond to the touch panel scans. The event delivered to choreographer corresponds to choreographer 315 receiving touch event data. And paragraph 0053 where touch event data is communicated from touch panel IC 345 to host touch driver 320, which in turn is communicated to choreographer 315. When choreographer 315 receives the touch event data is when the event is delivered.).
Johansson is silent regarding wherein the first frame rate is an adjustable frame rate of a display drive signal corresponding to a first time. In the same field of endeavor, Agarwal teaches a variable display rate display so as to save power when displaying static images or to improve performance in computationally intensive graphic environments (see Agarwal paragraph 0003). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Johansson to have a variable display rate display so as to save power when displaying static images or to improve performance in computationally intensive graphic environments using known techniques with predictable results.
Consider claim 17, Johansson as modified by Agarwal teaches all the limitations of claim 16 and further teaches further comprising receiving a frame synchronization signal corresponding to the first frame rate (see Johansson paragraph 0055 where according to an exemplary scenario, assume that a user of user device 100 presses a button that causes user device 100 to wake-up. In response, as illustrated, choreographer 315 receives VSYNCs from display driver IC 330. Based on the received VSYNCs, choreographer 315 estimates the display refresh rate based on a timestamp for each VSYNC. Since each VSYNC event may vary stochastically, choreographer 315 uses a smoothing technique (e.g., exponential smoothing) to estimate the display refresh rate. Based on the estimated display refresh rate, choreographer 315 communicates a scan rate value (illustrated as a SYNC) to host touch driver 320. In turn, host touch driver 320 communicates the scan rate value (illustrated as a SYNC) to touch panel IC 345. For example, host touch driver 320 stores the scan rate value in a register of touch panel IC 345. Subsequently, touch panel IC 345 operates according to the scan rate value); and
outputting, based on the second frame rate, the touch scanning signal to the display by using the frame synchronization signal as a reference (see Johansson paragraph 0055 where According to an exemplary scenario, assume that a user of user device 100 presses a button that causes user device 100 to wake-up. In response, as illustrated, choreographer 315 receives VSYNCs from display driver IC 330. Based on the received VSYNCs, choreographer 315 estimates the display refresh rate based on a timestamp for each VSYNC. Since each VSYNC event may vary stochastically, choreographer 315 uses a smoothing technique (e.g., exponential smoothing) to estimate the display refresh rate. Based on the estimated display refresh rate, choreographer 315 communicates a scan rate value (illustrated as a SYNC) to host touch driver 320. In turn, host touch driver 320 communicates the scan rate value (illustrated as a SYNC) to touch panel IC 345. For example, host touch driver 320 stores the scan rate value in a register of touch panel IC 345. Subsequently, touch panel IC 345 operates according to the scan rate value).
Consider claim 18, Johansson as modified by Agarwal teaches all the limitations of claim 16 and further teaches further comprising periodically outputting the touch scanning signal at periods comprising consecutive frames (see Johansson paragraph 0056 where choreographer 315 continuously estimates the display refresh rate and host touch driver 320 continuously estimates the touch panel scan rate. if the difference between the refresh rate and scan rate is greater than a threshold value, choreographer 315 determines to adjust the scan rate. For example, similar to that previously described in relation to FIG. 3C, choreographer 315 communicates a scan rate value to host touch driver 320, and in turn, via host touch driver 320, this value is stored in a register of touch panel IC 345. Subsequently, touch panel IC 345 operates according to the scan rate value).
Consider claim 19, Johansson as modified by Agarwal teaches all the limitations of claim 18 and further teaches further comprising receiving a delayed reset signal between adjacent periods of the periods (see Johansson paragraph 0058-0059 average delay (Dt) depends on the initial phase difference between the display refresh rate and the touch panel scan rate, and the current load on the processor (e.g., processor 205). That is, referring to FIG. 3E, the elapsed time period for touch events (illustrated as “EVENTS”) communicated from touch panel IC 345 to reach choreographer 315, via host touch driver 320, is impacted based on the load of the processor (e.g., processor 205) during that time period. Since the load varies over time, in turn, so does the elapsed time. However, as described, the synchronization service adapts to these variations based on an adjustment of the timing (or phase) of the touch panel scanning. That is, as described herein, touch panel IC 345 may be controlled as to when to start a touch panel scan so as to sync the touch panel scan event with the VSYNC event. This synchronization may minimize wait time and minimize the time between the scan and when the touch event should be delivered to choreographer 315.).
Claim(s) 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johansson et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20150355774 and Agarwal et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20160092010 in view of Henry et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20140232664.
Consider claim 20, Johansson as modified by Agarwal teaches all the limitations of claim 2 and further teaches further comprising
outputting, based on the second frame rate, the touch scanning signal to the display by using the frame synchronization signal as a reference (see Johansson paragraph 0055 where According to an exemplary scenario, assume that a user of user device 100 presses a button that causes user device 100 to wake-up. In response, as illustrated, choreographer 315 receives VSYNCs from display driver IC 330. Based on the received VSYNCs, choreographer 315 estimates the display refresh rate based on a timestamp for each VSYNC. Since each VSYNC event may vary stochastically, choreographer 315 uses a smoothing technique (e.g., exponential smoothing) to estimate the display refresh rate. Based on the estimated display refresh rate, choreographer 315 communicates a scan rate value (illustrated as a SYNC) to host touch driver 320. In turn, host touch driver 320 communicates the scan rate value (illustrated as a SYNC) to touch panel IC 345. For example, host touch driver 320 stores the scan rate value in a register of touch panel IC 345. Subsequently, touch panel IC 345 operates according to the scan rate value).
Johansson is silent regarding receiving a line synchronization signal corresponding to the first frame rate. In the same field of endeavor, Henry teaches information can be passed to the touch system about which pixels are being updated, and/or whether a horizontal or vertical blanking period is occurring so as to control the way touch inputs are recognized, and thereby provide improved performance (see Henry paragraph 0007 The present description is directed to a system in which the display and touch recognition systems are synchronized in order to improve touch recognition performance. Specifically, the control system that drives touch recognition is provided with information about the state of the display. For example, information can be passed to the touch system about which pixels are being updated, and/or whether a horizontal or vertical blanking period is occurring. The touch system can then use this information to control the way touch inputs are recognized, and thereby provide improved performance over the approaches described above. Examples of synchronization include using state information provided by the display controller to: (1) disable touch recognition in areas where display pixels are being updated; (2) only scan for touch inputs during blanking periods; (3) modify measurement voltages in areas where pixels are being updated; (4) use different filters in areas where pixels are being updated; (5) control touch input recognition based on how recently pixels have been updated.).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Johansson with the teachings of Henry to have receiving a line synchronization signal corresponding to the first frame rate so as to control the way touch inputs are recognized, and thereby provide improved performance using known techniques with predictable results.
Consider claim 21, Johansson as modified by Agarwal and Henry teaches all the limitations of claim 20 and further teaches further comprising synchronizing the second frame rate with the first frame rate based on the line synchronization signal and the frame synchronization signal (see Johansson paragraph 0055 where according to an exemplary scenario, assume that a user of user device 100 presses a button that causes user device 100 to wake-up. In response, as illustrated, choreographer 315 receives VSYNCs from display driver IC 330. Based on the received VSYNCs, choreographer 315 estimates the display refresh rate based on a timestamp for each VSYNC. Since each VSYNC event may vary stochastically, choreographer 315 uses a smoothing technique (e.g., exponential smoothing) to estimate the display refresh rate. Based on the estimated display refresh rate, choreographer 315 communicates a scan rate value (illustrated as a SYNC) to host touch driver 320. In turn, host touch driver 320 communicates the scan rate value (illustrated as a SYNC) to touch panel IC 345. For example, host touch driver 320 stores the scan rate value in a register of touch panel IC 345. Subsequently, touch panel IC 345 operates according to the scan rate value) and Henry paragraph 0007 where The present description is directed to a system in which the display and touch recognition systems are synchronized in order to improve touch recognition performance. Specifically, the control system that drives touch recognition is provided with information about the state of the display. For example, information can be passed to the touch system about which pixels are being updated, and/or whether a horizontal or vertical blanking period is occurring. The touch system can then use this information to control the way touch inputs are recognized, and thereby provide improved performance over the approaches described above.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lo et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20130069895 (electrical apparatus), Liang et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20200004378 (electronic display) Lin et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210089188 (electronic circuit), Wen et al, U.S. Patent No. 11775117 (display synchronization).
/Dorothy Harris/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625