DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the amended limitation "each comprising a first end integral with the first parts of the base…second parts of the base which are arranged between the first parts of the base…through the second parts of the base" in claims 1 and 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities: “Light-emitting device” in line 1, without markings to indicate the changes, is inconsistent with immediate prior version of claims 1 and 16 reciting “A light-emitting device” (Claims dated 11/04/2025). As such, “Light-emitting device” should be changed back to “A light-emitting device” as a suggestion. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 10-11, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 14, the amended limitation "each comprising a first end integral with the first parts of the base…second parts of the base which are arranged between the first parts of the base…through the second parts of the base" would render the claims indefinite with reasons as follow: First, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the first parts of the base” recited in claims. Second, “each” is not defined in the claims and “each” does not specify what is referring to. Third, the specification of the instant application does not describe claimed first and second parts of the base 106 (See Fig. 1 and paragraph 55). As such, it is unclear exactly what should be considered as the claimed first parts and second parts of the base 106.
Claims 2-8, 10-11, and 15, which depend from claims 1 and 14, are also rejected by virtue of their dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forrest et al. (US 2018/0097202 A1; hereinafter “Forrest”) in view of Forrest et al. (US 2022/0271260 A1; hereinafter “Forrest 260”).
Regarding claim 16, Forrest teaches Light-emitting device comprising at least: - a light source (an organic emissive layer 720) at least partially transparent to at least one type of light (light having emission wavelengths) intended to be emitted by the light source, and configured to emit the light at least on the side of a first surface arranged in front of a substrate (710) (a bottom side of 720 facing 715) and on the side of a second surface opposite to the first surface (a top side of 720 facing 725) (Figs. 1 and 7-8 and paragraphs 8-14 and 68-71. 720 emitting light towards the top side and the bottom side, wherein the light emitted by 720 towards the top side is reflected by 750 to have a bottom-emission type an OLED stack 700); - a reflective layer (a combination of an optical grating 740 and a metal mirror layer 750) arranged on the side of the second surface of the light source (Fig. 7 and paragraphs 68-69); - an optical component (an organic layer 730) arranged between the reflective layer and the substrate and at least partially transparent to the light intended to be emitted by the light source (Fig. 7 and paragraphs 68-71); wherein the reflective layer forms at least one reflective surface conformal to a non-planar surface of the optical component having the reflective layer arranged thereon (Fig. 7, the combination of 740 and 750 is conformal to a non-planar surface of 730); and wherein the reflective surface comprises at least one concave or convex portion which is also curved, or forms at least one spherical or conical or hyperbolic mirror [underlying for clarity] (Fig. 7. It is noted that the limitation above with the term “which is also curved” does not specifically/explicitly define what is also curved. As such, with numerous “or”, the limitation above is considered as Forrest teaching the surface of the combination of 740 and 750 facing 730 comprising at least one convex portion).
Forrest does not explicitly teach an optical guide element on the bottom side of the light source. Forrest 260 teaches a light-emitting device (Fig. 5, an OLED structure), comprising: a light source (an emissive region 530) and an optical guide element (a bottom reflector 550) on a bottom side of the light source between the light source and a substrate 560 for providing strong coupling regime (i.e., strong light intensity of the OLED structure) (Fig. 5 and paragraphs 93-101). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Forrest with that of Forrest 260 in order to provide strong coupling regime.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2021/0393974 A1; hereinafter “Kim”) in view of Song et al. (US 2022/0271259 A1; hereinafter “Song”).
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches Light-emitting device comprising at least: - an optical guide element (an array of microneedles) (Fig. 1B and paragraphs 18-28); - a light source (120/220) at least partially transparent to at least one type of light (for example, light in emission wavelengths between 400 nm to 600 nm) intended to be emitted by the light source, and configured to emit the light at least on the side of a first surface arranged in front of the optical guide element (a first surface of 120/220 facing the microneedles) and on the side of a second surface opposite to the first surface (a second surface of 120/220 facing 110/210) (Figs. 1B-2 and 5 and paragraphs 18-29 and 61-65).
Kim does not explicitly teach the light-emitting device further comprising a reflective layer and an optical component as claimed. Song teaches a light-emitting device (a light-emitting device 100 in Fig. 1 and paragraph 64) comprising: a light source (an organic emission layer 130) (Fig. 1 and paragraphs 64-67); a reflective layer (a reflective layer 110) arranged on a second surface of the light source (a bottom surface of 130) (Fig. 1 and paragraphs 64-65 and 73-74); an optical component (a planarization layer 115) arranged between the reflective layer and the optical guide element and at least partially transparent to the light intended to be emitted by the light source (Fig. 1 and paragraph 65); and wherein the reflective layer forms at least one reflective surface conformal to a non-planar surface of the optical component having the reflective layer arranged thereon (Fig. 1, 110 being conformal to a non-planar surface of 115); and wherein the reflective surface comprises at least one concave or convex portion which is also curved, or forms at least one spherical or conical or hyperbolic mirror [underlying for clarity] (Fig. 1. For the limitation above with numerous “or”, Song teaching the surface of 110 facing 115 having at least one convex portion, wherein the convex portion is curved to be a circle as shown in Figs. 4A-4B would read on the claimed limitation). Song further teaches improvements in light emitting characteristics such as luminous efficiency and/or color purity (paragraphs 87-88). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Kim with that of Song in order to improve light emitting characteristics.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejections as set forth above in this Office Action.
Conclusion
/DANIEL WHALEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893