DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Reckitt (WO 23156750).
Claim 1, Reckitt discloses a cabinet (page 1) defining a cartridge port (cartridge receiver 4);
a dispensing actuator (7) coupled to the cabinet and extending into the cartridge port; and
a dispensing cartridge (1) selectively received by the cartridge port, wherein the dispensing cartridge selectively engages the dispensing actuator when in an installed position within the cartridge port, and wherein the dispensing cartridge includes (FIG 1-13):
an engagement panel (end of 1 opposing opening 8; FIG 1-13) including a supplemental receiver (FIG 1 and 11; receiving section within the cartridge which receives modular compartment);
a nesting portion (page 16, lines 3-12) coupled to the engagement panel, wherein the nesting portion includes a first reservoir configured to house a first laundry chemistry; and
an insert portion (page 16, lines 3-12) including a second reservoir configured to house a second laundry chemistry, wherein the insert portion is configured to selectively engage the supplemental receiver to couple with the engagement panel.
Claim 2, Reckitt discloses wherein the first reservoir has a greater volume than the second reservoir (page 16).
Claim 3, Reckitt discloses wherein the engagement panel has a width that is greater than a width of the nesting portion to provide a receiving space for the nesting portion (page 16, lines 3-12; nesting portion is inherently smaller than the width of the engagement panel).
Claim 4, Reckitt discloses wherein the nesting portion is disposed adjacent to and extends along a sidewall of the insert portion (page 16-17).
Claim 5, Reckitt discloses wherein the first and second laundry chemistries are configured to be dispensed in different quantities during a wash cycle (page 17-18).
Claim 6, Reckitt discloses a cover (9, 10; FIG 1-13) operably coupled with the cabinet and configured to at least partially retain the dispensing cartridge in the cartridge port.
Claim 7, Reckitt discloses wherein the engagement panel includes a handle extending along an edge thereof (handle opposing opening 8; FIG 1-13).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12351970. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
JEREMY W. CARROLL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3754
/Jeremy Carroll/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754