DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments received 12/15/2025 have been entered. Claims 90-96, 98-100, and 104-107 are pending. Any objection or rejection set forth in the Office Action mailed 08/05/2025 not maintained herein has been overcome and is withdrawn. The non-statutory double patenting rejection over co-pending application 18/912,278 has been withdrawn due to abandonment of the ‘278 application.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges that, according to the Filing receipt received 07/03/2025, that the instant application 19/237/500 filed 06/13/2025 claims domestic benefit of U.S. provisional applications 63/663,853 filed 06/25/2024 and 63/754,168 filed 02/05/2025.
However, the limitations of the instantly amended claims are not adequately supported or enabled in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA U.S.C. 112, first paragraph by 63/663,853. More specifically, the limitation of restarting administration of the mirdametinib or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof at the same dose is not taught or suggested in its entirety by 63/663,853 which discloses restarting administration at a reduced dose. As such, all the instant claims have been awarded the effective filing date of 63/754,168 filed 02/05/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 12/15/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and has been considered in full. A signed copy of list of references cited from the IDS is included with this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 90-91, 94-96, 98-100, and 104-107 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiss et al. (Journal of Clinical Oncology; 2021; IDS filed 06/13/2025).
Weiss et al. teaches a method of treating patients with neurofibromatosis type 1 (NF1) between the ages of 16 (pediatric, see specification paragraph [0101] to 39 (adult) (Abstract; p. 799 Table 1). Weiss et al. teaches administering mirdametinib orally, twice daily, at a dose of 2 mg/m2 to a maximum dose of 4 mg (p. 798, col. 1). Weiss et al. teaches that the patients received an ophthalmology assessment before and during treatment (p. 798, col. 2). Weiss et al. teaches that treatment was discontinued upon development of retinal vein occlusion or other development of unacceptable toxicity or plexiform neurofibroma progression (p. 798, col. 2). Weiss et al. teaches that the patients had plexiform neurofibromas (PN) that were either progressive or causing significant morbidity (Abstract, Methods section). Weiss et al. teaches that trial eligibility included patients with PN causing head and neck lesions compromising the airway or vessels, brachial or lumbar plexus lesions causing nerve compression and loss of function, lesions that cause major deformity or are significantly disfiguring, lesions that cause limb hypertrophy or loss of function, painful lesions, and paraspinal PN (Table A1).
While Weiss et al. does not teach the steady-state Cmax or AUC of claims 90 and 105-107, Weiss et al. teaches that most treatment responses were seen in patients when AUC was ≥ 600 ng h/mL.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the optimal plasma level of mirdametinib to achieve treatment response via routine optimization, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 92-93 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiss et al. (Journal of Clinical Oncology; 2021; IDS filed 06/13/2025) as applied to claims 90-91, 94-107 above, and further in view of Koselugo (Drugs.com; IDS filed 07/24/2025) and as evidenced by Solares et al. (ESMO Open; IDS filed 07/24/2025).
Weiss et al. teaches or makes obvious as above.
Weiss et al. does not disclose guidance on missed doses or vomiting. However, these limitations are obvious over Koselugo as evidenced by Solares et al.
Koselugo (selumetinib, see page 1) discloses the following dosing guidance (page 5, Koselugo Dosage and Administration).
As evidenced by Solares et al., selumetinib and mirdametinib are both MEK inhibitors for treatment of neurofibromatosis type 1 (Abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute mirdametinib for selumetinib in the dosage guidance of Koselugo, as one of ordinary skill in the art would be apprised that due to both mirdametinib and selumetinib having the same function, that following the same directions of missed doses and vomiting would yield predictable results.
Double Patenting
Claims 90 and 105-107 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5-9, 31, and 45 of U.S. Patent No. 12029711 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are substantially similar to or narrower than the scope of the instant invention, such that one of ordinary skill in the art could arrive at the instant invention. Moreover, while the ‘711 patent does not teach the steady-state Cmax or AUC of claims 90 and 105-107, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the optimal plasma level of mirametinib to achieve treatment response via routine optimization, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 90 and 105-107 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11839595 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are substantially similar to or narrower than the scope of the instant invention, such that one of ordinary skill in the art could arrive at the instant invention. Moreover, while the ‘595 patent does not teach the steady-state Cmax or AUC of claims 90 and 105-107, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the optimal plasma level of mirametinib to achieve treatment response via routine optimization, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 90 and 105-107 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12324791 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are substantially similar to or narrower than the scope of the instant invention, such that one of ordinary skill in the art could arrive at the instant invention. Moreover, while the ‘791 patent does not teach the steady-state Cmax or AUC of claims 90 and 105-107, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the optimal plasma level of mirametinib to achieve treatment response via routine optimization, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 90-96, 98-100, and 104-107 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7-12, 14-21 of copending Application No. 18/912,218 (allowed, not issued) (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are substantially similar to or narrower than the scope of the instant invention, such that one of ordinary skill in the art could arrive at the instant invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 90-96, 98-100, and 104-107 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 46 and 49-56 of copending Application No. 18/912,328 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are substantially similar to or narrower than the scope of the instant invention, such that one of ordinary skill in the art could arrive at the instant invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 90-96, 98-100, and 104-107 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 99-104, 111-117, 124-130, 137-143, and 150 of copending Application No. 18/912,367 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are substantially similar to or narrower than the scope of the instant invention, such that one of ordinary skill in the art could arrive at the instant invention. Moreover, while the dose of mirdametinib is not administered according to the patient’s body surface area, the instant specification (par. 0006) provides guidance regarding dosages determined by body surface area, such that one of ordinary skill in the art could arrive at the instant invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 90-96, 98-100, and 104-107 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of copending Application No. 19/237,400 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are substantially similar to or narrower than the scope of the instant invention, such that one of ordinary skill in the art could arrive at the instant invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 90-96, 98-100, and 104-107 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 35-53 of copending Application No. 19/237,417 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are substantially similar to or narrower than the scope of the instant invention, such that one of ordinary skill in the art could arrive at the instant invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 90-96, 98-100, and 104-107 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 35-53 of copending Application No. 19/237,465 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are substantially similar to or narrower than the scope of the instant invention, such that one of ordinary skill in the art could arrive at the instant invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 90-96, 98-100, and 104-107 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5-9, 31, and 45 of copending Application No. 18/608,748 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are substantially similar to or narrower than the scope of the instant invention, such that one of ordinary skill in the art could arrive at the instant invention. Moreover, while the ‘748 application does not teach the steady-state Cmax or AUC of claims 90 and 105-107, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the optimal plasma level of mirametinib to achieve treatment response via routine optimization, with a reasonable expectation of success.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 90 and 105-107 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5-9, 31, and 45 of copending Application No. 18/765,632 (allowed, to issue 8/12/2025 as U.S. Patent No. 12383517) (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are substantially similar to the scope of the instant invention, such that one of ordinary skill in the art could arrive at the instant invention. Moreover, while the ‘748 application does not teach the steady-state Cmax or AUC of claims 90 and 105-107, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the optimal plasma level of mirametinib to achieve treatment response via routine optimization, with a reasonable expectation of success.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 90-96, 98-100, and 104-107 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11427534 B1 in view of Weiss et al. (Journal of Clinical Oncology; 2021; IDS filed 06/13/2025) and Koselugo (Drugs.com; IDS filed 07/24/2025) and as evidenced by Solares et al. (ESMO Open; IDS filed 07/24/2025).
Claim 6 of the ‘534 patent reads as follows.
Claim 6 does not teach the dosages based on body surface area, the steady-state Cmax or AUC, and directions for withholding treatments. These limitations are obvious over Weiss et al., Koselugo, and as evidenced by Solares et al.
Weiss et al., Koselugo, and Solares et al. teach as above.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the method of Weiss et al. with that of claim 6 in order to arrive at a dose of 2 mg/m2 and to further optimize the plasma level of mirametinib to achieve treatment response via routine optimization, with a reasonable expectation of success using the guidance of Weiss et al.
Moreover, for the same reasons as set forth in the above 103 rejections, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the methods of instant claims 92 and 93.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
35 U.S.C. 103 and Non-statutory Double Patenting
In the Remarks filed 12/15/2025, Applicant argues that claim 90 has been amended to recite “upon the patient exhibiting a symptomatic retinal pigment epithelium detachment (RPED), withholding the mirdametinib until resolution to Grade 1 or less or baseline and then restarting administration of the mirdametinib at the same dose,” which is neither disclosed nor suggested by Weiss et al. (p. 8 of Remarks). This is not persuasive.
While this limitation is not explicitly taught by Weiss et al., Examiner notes that the limitation at issue is not required by the claimed method but is instead interpreted to be conditional. The phrase “wherein upon” suggests two patient groups: one group which does not exhibit symptomatic RPED, and another group that does exhibit symptomatic RPED. Thus, only if the patient exhibits symptomatic RPED would the limitations of step (iv)(B) be required. Weiss et al. does not disclose than any patient exhibited symptomatic RPED, and therefore step (iv)(B) need not be carried out. This interpretation also applies to claims 92 and 93.
Further regarding claims 92 and 93, Applicant argues that in addition to Weiss et al. not disclosing or suggesting the above limitation, Koselugo suggests resuming selumetinib at a reduced dose upon a patient exhibiting RPED (Remarks, p. 8-9). Applicant additionally argues that “Unlike Koselugo, mirdametinib does not require a dose reduction upon a patient exhibiting RPED. Mirdametinib surprisingly has a broader therapeutic window that permits resuming administration at the same dose as prior to the RPED symptoms” (Remarks, p. 9). This is not persuasive.
As above, the conditional nature of the claimed invention does not require that step (iv)(B) be carried out if a patient does not exhibit symptomatic RPED. Since Weiss et al. does not disclose than any patient exhibited symptomatic RPED, and step (iv)(B) need not be carried out. Moreover, regarding Applicant’s argument of surprising results, allegations of unexpected results must be supported by evidence. It is Applicant’s burden to establish that results are unexpected and significant. See MPEP 712.02(a) and (b). No such evidence has been set forth either by way of declaration or disclosure in the instant specification. In fact, the instant disclosure makes no reference to any “surprising” or “unexpected” results relevant to the claimed invention, nor is any mention made to the therapeutic window of mirdametinib. Examiner additionally notes that statements made by Applicant and Applicant’s attorney are not a substitute for factual evidence. See MPEP 2145(I). For these reasons, the rejection is maintained.
Similarly, the non-statutory double patenting rejections are maintained for the above reasons. Moreover, while page 10 of the Remarks states that a terminal disclaimer over U.S. applications 19/237,465; 19/237,400; and 19/237,417 has been submitted with Applicant’s response, no such terminal disclaimer has been received by the Examiner. The rejections are therefore maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.E.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1624 01/07/2026
/BRENDA L COLEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1624