DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 13 June 2025 and 25 June 2025 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “at least one controller” and recited in claim 1 and the “adjustable valve”, “slide”, and “pump as recited in claim 2 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “112” and “H”.
The drawings are objected to because:
Regarding claim 6, it is unclear what the unlabeled arrow adjacent the lead line associated with reference character “100” represents.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the phrase “thereby providing realistic and variable surfing conditions suitable for training and recreation” as recited in the final sentence of the abstract refers to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
It appears that “controlling the water flow” as recited in line 1 should be changed to “controlling at least a portion of the water flow” because the controlling step recited in claim 5, from which claim 6 depends, recites a step of controlling “at least a portion of the water flow”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 - 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for the following limitations in the claims:
Claim 1, line 4: “the controller”. It is unclear as to which of the “at least one controller” the aforementioned limitation refers.
Claim 1, line 4: “the height level”
Claim 2, line 2: “the controller”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lochtefeld (US 2009/0169305; hereinafter Lochtefeld ‘305).
Regarding claim 1, Lochtefeld ‘305 discloses an apparatus comprising: an apparatus body including a wave generating section (inclined section 15, ridge 17, declining area 19) and a flow system (pump 33, nozzles 1) configured to direct a water flow in a main flow direction through the wave generating section; and at least one controller (hydraulic or electromechanical control device, not shown; paragraph 0016) operatively coupled to at least a portion of the water flow, wherein the controller is configured to adjust the height level of the water flow (height of water flow is adjusted by movement of the hinged plate) in a direction transverse to the main flow direction to generate a modifiable transverse wave profile (Figs. 1 - 3; paragraphs 0016, 0031 - 0034, and 0041).
Regarding claim 2, Lochtefeld ‘305 further discloses the flow system divides the water flow into at least two partial flows (Lochtefeld teaches a plurality of nozzles 1. Examiner has interpreted the flow associated with each nozzle as a partial flow.), and the controller is operatively coupled to a pump (33) configured to control a partial flow by adjusting flow delivery over time (Figs. 1 - 3; paragraphs 0044 and 0056).
Regarding claim 5, Lochtefeld ‘305 discloses a method of controlling a hydraulic jump wave to generate a surfable transverse wave profile, the method comprising: directing (using nozzles 1) a water flow in a main flow direction through a wave generating section (15, 17, 19); controlling (using a hydraulic or electromechanical control device; paragraph 0016) at least a portion of the water flow to set different height levels (using inflatable bladders 27) across a direction transverse to the main flow direction; and producing a modifiable transverse wave profile (by independently adjusting the pressure within each of the bladders 27) in the wave generating section (Figs. 1 - 3; paragraphs 0016, 0031 - 0034, and 0041).
Regarding claim 6, Lochtefeld ‘305 further discloses controlling the water flow comprises adjusting a pump (33) to vary flow rate of at least one partial flow (Lochtefeld teaches a plurality of nozzles 1. Examiner has interpreted the flow associated with each nozzle as a partial flow.) (Figs. 1 - 3; paragraphs 0044 and 0056).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lochtefeld ‘305 in view of Lochtefeld et al. (US 2014/0189948; hereinafter Lochtefeld ‘948).
Regarding claim 3, Lochtefeld ‘305 discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except a plurality of partition wall sections configured to separate two or more partial flows from one another in at least a portion of the flow system upstream of the wave generating section. Lochtefeld ‘948 teaches a plurality of partition wall sections (dividing walls 20, 22) configured to separate two or more partial flows from one another in at least a portion of the flow system (caisson 17) upstream of the wave generating section (section of the apparatus extending along the inclined floor 21; see Fig. 2) (Figs. 1 and 2; paragraphs 0017 - 0020, 0052, 0053, and 0055). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the apparatus as disclosed above with the partition wall sections as taught by Lochtefeld ‘948 to confine the energy of the wave segments as they are formed and travel forward before merging.
Regarding claim 4, Lochtefeld ‘305 further discloses a ramp-like acceleration section (down slope feeding area 11) is configured to accelerate the partial flows by gravity (Figs. 2 and 3; paragraphs 0031 and 0037). Lochtefeld ‘305 fails to disclose the partition wall sections extend over at least a portion of the ramp-like acceleration section positioned upstream of the wave generating section. Lochtefeld ‘948 teaches the partition wall sections (20, 22) extend over at least a portion of a ramp-like acceleration section (sloped section of back wall 28 is functionally equivalent to a ramp-like acceleration section) (Figs. 1 and 2). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the apparatus as disclosed above with the partition wall sections as taught by Lochtefeld ‘948 to confine the energy of the wave segments as they are formed and travel forward before merging.
Claims 7 - 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lochtefeld ‘305.
Regarding claim 7, Lochtefeld ‘305 further discloses modifying the height levels over time (The height of water flow is adjusted by independently inflating and adjusting each bladder 27.) (paragraphs 0033 and 0034). Examiner takes the position that Lochtefeld ‘305 teaches at least one height maximum because at least one of the bladders 27 of Lochtefeld ‘305 would be inflated the most, thus producing a height maximum. Lochtefeld ‘305 fails to explicitly teach a transverse wave profile that includes at least one height maximum moving in the transverse direction. Given the apparatus as disclosed above, the step of modifying the height levels to produce a transverse wave profile that includes at least one height maximum moving in the transverse direction would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art based on the size and shape of the wave to be produced by the wave generating apparatus.
Regarding claim 8, Lochtefeld ‘305 fails to explicitly teach producing a plurality of height maxima moving concurrently in the same transverse direction. Given the apparatus as disclosed above, the step of producing a plurality of height maxima moving concurrently in the same transverse direction would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art based on the size and shape of the wave to be produced by the wave generating apparatus.
Regarding claim 9, Lochtefeld ‘305 fails to explicitly teach producing a plurality of height maxima that each originate from a central region and move outward in opposite directions. Given the apparatus as disclosed above, the step of producing a plurality of height maxima that each originate from a central region and move outward in opposite directions would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art based on the size and shape of the wave to be produced by the wave generating apparatus.
Regarding claim 10, Lochtefeld ‘305 fails to explicitly teach producing a single height maximum that originates from a central region and moves in a selected one of a leftward or rightward direction. Given the apparatus as disclosed above, the step of producing a single height maximum that originates from a central region and moves in a selected one of a leftward or rightward direction would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art based on the size and shape of the wave to be produced by the wave generating apparatus.
Conclusion
/SEAN D ANDRISH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
SA
10/8/2026