Status of Claims
This office action for the 19/237606 application is in response to the communications filed July 01, 2025.
Claims 1-20 were initially submitted June 13, 2025.
Claims 1-20 were cancelled July 01, 2025.
Claims 21-40 were added as new July 01, 2025.
Claims 21-40 are currently pending and considered below.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 19 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
As per claim 21,
U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070 teaches a method for training a model that determines patient health conditions and outcomes, the method comprising: receiving, from a plurality of data sources, data that includes at least healthcare information; segmenting the data into multiple data segments; removing outliers from at least one segment of the multiple data segments; identifying missed data in the at least one segment of the multiple data segments; based on the identifying, imputing the missed data in the at least one segment of the multiple data segments; training, based on the at least one segment of the multiple data segments comprising the imputed missed data, a model to determine patient health conditions, corresponding treatments, and corresponding outcomes; and returning the model for runtime use in determining at least one of: the patient health conditions, the corresponding treatments, or the corresponding outcomes:
(Claims 1 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070. The teaching describes a method for determining outcomes of patients across a plurality of healthcare centers, the method comprising: receiving, at a computer system, patient data for patients in a plurality of healthcare centers; de-identifying the received data; splitting the de-identified data into a training dataset and a testing dataset; scaling one or more continuous variables in the training dataset; removing a predetermined quantity of sigma outliers from the training dataset; imputing missed data in the training dataset; returning the training dataset for training; training, at the computer system and using the training dataset, a predictive model, wherein the predictive model was trained to predict patient outcomes based on assessing a plurality of patient data for a plurality of patients across the plurality of healthcare centers, wherein the training comprises: determining importance values for variables in the training dataset using feature selection modeling techniques; and identifying a subset of the variables in the training dataset having respective values that satisfy one or more importance criteria, wherein the subset of the variables has a greater effect on output from the predictive model than other variables in the training dataset; and returning, at the computer system, the trained predictive model for runtime use, wherein during the runtime use, the method further comprises: generating, based on providing the patient data as input to the trained predictive model, predicted patient outcomes for at least one patient amongst the patients in the plurality of healthcare centers, determining, based at least in part on the predicted patient outcomes, at least one care recommendation, generating output representative of the predicted patient outcomes and the at least one care recommendation, and transmitting the output to a computing device for presentation in a graphical user interface (GUI) display. Claim 19 teaches the system that this method operates on.)
As per claim 22,
U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070 teaches the limitations of claim 21.
U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070 further teaches wherein the method further comprises de-identifying the received data:
(Claims 1 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070. The teaching describes a method for determining outcomes of patients across a plurality of healthcare centers, the method comprising: receiving, at a computer system, patient data for patients in a plurality of healthcare centers; de-identifying the received data; splitting the de-identified data into a training dataset and a testing dataset; scaling one or more continuous variables in the training dataset; removing a predetermined quantity of sigma outliers from the training dataset; imputing missed data in the training dataset; returning the training dataset for training; training, at the computer system and using the training dataset, a predictive model, wherein the predictive model was trained to predict patient outcomes based on assessing a plurality of patient data for a plurality of patients across the plurality of healthcare centers, wherein the training comprises: determining importance values for variables in the training dataset using feature selection modeling techniques; and identifying a subset of the variables in the training dataset having respective values that satisfy one or more importance criteria, wherein the subset of the variables has a greater effect on output from the predictive model than other variables in the training dataset; and returning, at the computer system, the trained predictive model for runtime use, wherein during the runtime use, the method further comprises: generating, based on providing the patient data as input to the trained predictive model, predicted patient outcomes for at least one patient amongst the patients in the plurality of healthcare centers, determining, based at least in part on the predicted patient outcomes, at least one care recommendation, generating output representative of the predicted patient outcomes and the at least one care recommendation, and transmitting the output to a computing device for presentation in a graphical user interface (GUI) display. Claim 19 teaches the system that this method operates on.)
As per claim 23,
U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070 teaches the limitations of claim 21.
U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070 further teaches wherein the multiple data segments comprise a training dataset and a testing dataset:
(Claims 1 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070. The teaching describes a method for determining outcomes of patients across a plurality of healthcare centers, the method comprising: receiving, at a computer system, patient data for patients in a plurality of healthcare centers; de-identifying the received data; splitting the de-identified data into a training dataset and a testing dataset; scaling one or more continuous variables in the training dataset; removing a predetermined quantity of sigma outliers from the training dataset; imputing missed data in the training dataset; returning the training dataset for training; training, at the computer system and using the training dataset, a predictive model, wherein the predictive model was trained to predict patient outcomes based on assessing a plurality of patient data for a plurality of patients across the plurality of healthcare centers, wherein the training comprises: determining importance values for variables in the training dataset using feature selection modeling techniques; and identifying a subset of the variables in the training dataset having respective values that satisfy one or more importance criteria, wherein the subset of the variables has a greater effect on output from the predictive model than other variables in the training dataset; and returning, at the computer system, the trained predictive model for runtime use, wherein during the runtime use, the method further comprises: generating, based on providing the patient data as input to the trained predictive model, predicted patient outcomes for at least one patient amongst the patients in the plurality of healthcare centers, determining, based at least in part on the predicted patient outcomes, at least one care recommendation, generating output representative of the predicted patient outcomes and the at least one care recommendation, and transmitting the output to a computing device for presentation in a graphical user interface (GUI) display. Claim 19 teaches the system that this method operates on.)
As per claim 24,
U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070 teaches the limitations of claim 21.
U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070 further teaches wherein the at least one segment of the multiple data segments comprises a training dataset:
(Claims 1 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070. The teaching describes a method for determining outcomes of patients across a plurality of healthcare centers, the method comprising: receiving, at a computer system, patient data for patients in a plurality of healthcare centers; de-identifying the received data; splitting the de-identified data into a training dataset and a testing dataset; scaling one or more continuous variables in the training dataset; removing a predetermined quantity of sigma outliers from the training dataset; imputing missed data in the training dataset; returning the training dataset for training; training, at the computer system and using the training dataset, a predictive model, wherein the predictive model was trained to predict patient outcomes based on assessing a plurality of patient data for a plurality of patients across the plurality of healthcare centers, wherein the training comprises: determining importance values for variables in the training dataset using feature selection modeling techniques; and identifying a subset of the variables in the training dataset having respective values that satisfy one or more importance criteria, wherein the subset of the variables has a greater effect on output from the predictive model than other variables in the training dataset; and returning, at the computer system, the trained predictive model for runtime use, wherein during the runtime use, the method further comprises: generating, based on providing the patient data as input to the trained predictive model, predicted patient outcomes for at least one patient amongst the patients in the plurality of healthcare centers, determining, based at least in part on the predicted patient outcomes, at least one care recommendation, generating output representative of the predicted patient outcomes and the at least one care recommendation, and transmitting the output to a computing device for presentation in a graphical user interface (GUI) display. Claim 19 teaches the system that this method operates on.)
As per claim 25,
U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070 teaches the limitations of claim 21.
U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070 further teaches wherein removing the outliers comprises removing a predetermined quantity of sigma outliers from the at least one segment of the multiple data segments:
(Claims 1 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070. The teaching describes a method for determining outcomes of patients across a plurality of healthcare centers, the method comprising: receiving, at a computer system, patient data for patients in a plurality of healthcare centers; de-identifying the received data; splitting the de-identified data into a training dataset and a testing dataset; scaling one or more continuous variables in the training dataset; removing a predetermined quantity of sigma outliers from the training dataset; imputing missed data in the training dataset; returning the training dataset for training; training, at the computer system and using the training dataset, a predictive model, wherein the predictive model was trained to predict patient outcomes based on assessing a plurality of patient data for a plurality of patients across the plurality of healthcare centers, wherein the training comprises: determining importance values for variables in the training dataset using feature selection modeling techniques; and identifying a subset of the variables in the training dataset having respective values that satisfy one or more importance criteria, wherein the subset of the variables has a greater effect on output from the predictive model than other variables in the training dataset; and returning, at the computer system, the trained predictive model for runtime use, wherein during the runtime use, the method further comprises: generating, based on providing the patient data as input to the trained predictive model, predicted patient outcomes for at least one patient amongst the patients in the plurality of healthcare centers, determining, based at least in part on the predicted patient outcomes, at least one care recommendation, generating output representative of the predicted patient outcomes and the at least one care recommendation, and transmitting the output to a computing device for presentation in a graphical user interface (GUI) display. Claim 19 teaches the system that this method operates on.)
As per claim 26,
U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070 teaches the limitations of claim 21.
U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070 further teaches wherein the method further comprises scaling at least one continuous variable in the at least one segment of the multiple data segments:
(Claims 1 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070. The teaching describes a method for determining outcomes of patients across a plurality of healthcare centers, the method comprising: receiving, at a computer system, patient data for patients in a plurality of healthcare centers; de-identifying the received data; splitting the de-identified data into a training dataset and a testing dataset; scaling one or more continuous variables in the training dataset; removing a predetermined quantity of sigma outliers from the training dataset; imputing missed data in the training dataset; returning the training dataset for training; training, at the computer system and using the training dataset, a predictive model, wherein the predictive model was trained to predict patient outcomes based on assessing a plurality of patient data for a plurality of patients across the plurality of healthcare centers, wherein the training comprises: determining importance values for variables in the training dataset using feature selection modeling techniques; and identifying a subset of the variables in the training dataset having respective values that satisfy one or more importance criteria, wherein the subset of the variables has a greater effect on output from the predictive model than other variables in the training dataset; and returning, at the computer system, the trained predictive model for runtime use, wherein during the runtime use, the method further comprises: generating, based on providing the patient data as input to the trained predictive model, predicted patient outcomes for at least one patient amongst the patients in the plurality of healthcare centers, determining, based at least in part on the predicted patient outcomes, at least one care recommendation, generating output representative of the predicted patient outcomes and the at least one care recommendation, and transmitting the output to a computing device for presentation in a graphical user interface (GUI) display. Claim 19 teaches the system that this method operates on.)
As per claim 27,
U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070 teaches the limitations of claim 21.
U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070 further teaches wherein the training comprises: determining importance values for variables in the at least one segment of the multiple data segments using feature selection modeling techniques; and identifying a subset of the variables in the at least one segment of the multiple data segments having respective values that satisfy one or more importance criteria, wherein the subset of the variables has a greater effect on output from the model than other variables in the at least one segment of the multiple data segments:
(Claims 1 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070. The teaching describes a method for determining outcomes of patients across a plurality of healthcare centers, the method comprising: receiving, at a computer system, patient data for patients in a plurality of healthcare centers; de-identifying the received data; splitting the de-identified data into a training dataset and a testing dataset; scaling one or more continuous variables in the training dataset; removing a predetermined quantity of sigma outliers from the training dataset; imputing missed data in the training dataset; returning the training dataset for training; training, at the computer system and using the training dataset, a predictive model, wherein the predictive model was trained to predict patient outcomes based on assessing a plurality of patient data for a plurality of patients across the plurality of healthcare centers, wherein the training comprises: determining importance values for variables in the training dataset using feature selection modeling techniques; and identifying a subset of the variables in the training dataset having respective values that satisfy one or more importance criteria, wherein the subset of the variables has a greater effect on output from the predictive model than other variables in the training dataset; and returning, at the computer system, the trained predictive model for runtime use, wherein during the runtime use, the method further comprises: generating, based on providing the patient data as input to the trained predictive model, predicted patient outcomes for at least one patient amongst the patients in the plurality of healthcare centers, determining, based at least in part on the predicted patient outcomes, at least one care recommendation, generating output representative of the predicted patient outcomes and the at least one care recommendation, and transmitting the output to a computing device for presentation in a graphical user interface (GUI) display. Claim 19 teaches the system that this method operates on.)
As per claim 28,
U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070 teaches the limitations of claim 21.
U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070 further teaches wherein during runtime use, the method further comprises: receiving patient data; and determining, based on providing the patient data as input to the model, predicted patient outcomes:
(Claims 1 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070. The teaching describes a method for determining outcomes of patients across a plurality of healthcare centers, the method comprising: receiving, at a computer system, patient data for patients in a plurality of healthcare centers; de-identifying the received data; splitting the de-identified data into a training dataset and a testing dataset; scaling one or more continuous variables in the training dataset; removing a predetermined quantity of sigma outliers from the training dataset; imputing missed data in the training dataset; returning the training dataset for training; training, at the computer system and using the training dataset, a predictive model, wherein the predictive model was trained to predict patient outcomes based on assessing a plurality of patient data for a plurality of patients across the plurality of healthcare centers, wherein the training comprises: determining importance values for variables in the training dataset using feature selection modeling techniques; and identifying a subset of the variables in the training dataset having respective values that satisfy one or more importance criteria, wherein the subset of the variables has a greater effect on output from the predictive model than other variables in the training dataset; and returning, at the computer system, the trained predictive model for runtime use, wherein during the runtime use, the method further comprises: generating, based on providing the patient data as input to the trained predictive model, predicted patient outcomes for at least one patient amongst the patients in the plurality of healthcare centers, determining, based at least in part on the predicted patient outcomes, at least one care recommendation, generating output representative of the predicted patient outcomes and the at least one care recommendation, and transmitting the output to a computing device for presentation in a graphical user interface (GUI) display. Claim 19 teaches the system that this method operates on.)
As per claim 29,
U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070 teaches the limitations of claim 28.
U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070 further teaches wherein the method further comprises: determining, based at least in part on the predicted patient outcomes, a care recommendation:
(Claims 1 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070. The teaching describes a method for determining outcomes of patients across a plurality of healthcare centers, the method comprising: receiving, at a computer system, patient data for patients in a plurality of healthcare centers; de-identifying the received data; splitting the de-identified data into a training dataset and a testing dataset; scaling one or more continuous variables in the training dataset; removing a predetermined quantity of sigma outliers from the training dataset; imputing missed data in the training dataset; returning the training dataset for training; training, at the computer system and using the training dataset, a predictive model, wherein the predictive model was trained to predict patient outcomes based on assessing a plurality of patient data for a plurality of patients across the plurality of healthcare centers, wherein the training comprises: determining importance values for variables in the training dataset using feature selection modeling techniques; and identifying a subset of the variables in the training dataset having respective values that satisfy one or more importance criteria, wherein the subset of the variables has a greater effect on output from the predictive model than other variables in the training dataset; and returning, at the computer system, the trained predictive model for runtime use, wherein during the runtime use, the method further comprises: generating, based on providing the patient data as input to the trained predictive model, predicted patient outcomes for at least one patient amongst the patients in the plurality of healthcare centers, determining, based at least in part on the predicted patient outcomes, at least one care recommendation, generating output representative of the predicted patient outcomes and the at least one care recommendation, and transmitting the output to a computing device for presentation in a graphical user interface (GUI) display. Claim 19 teaches the system that this method operates on.)
As per claim 30,
U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070 teaches the limitations of claim 29.
U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070 further teaches wherein the method further comprises: generating output representative of the predicted patient outcomes and the care recommendation; and transmitting the output to a computing device for presentation in a graphical user interface (GUI) display:
(Claims 1 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070. The teaching describes a method for determining outcomes of patients across a plurality of healthcare centers, the method comprising: receiving, at a computer system, patient data for patients in a plurality of healthcare centers; de-identifying the received data; splitting the de-identified data into a training dataset and a testing dataset; scaling one or more continuous variables in the training dataset; removing a predetermined quantity of sigma outliers from the training dataset; imputing missed data in the training dataset; returning the training dataset for training; training, at the computer system and using the training dataset, a predictive model, wherein the predictive model was trained to predict patient outcomes based on assessing a plurality of patient data for a plurality of patients across the plurality of healthcare centers, wherein the training comprises: determining importance values for variables in the training dataset using feature selection modeling techniques; and identifying a subset of the variables in the training dataset having respective values that satisfy one or more importance criteria, wherein the subset of the variables has a greater effect on output from the predictive model than other variables in the training dataset; and returning, at the computer system, the trained predictive model for runtime use, wherein during the runtime use, the method further comprises: generating, based on providing the patient data as input to the trained predictive model, predicted patient outcomes for at least one patient amongst the patients in the plurality of healthcare centers, determining, based at least in part on the predicted patient outcomes, at least one care recommendation, generating output representative of the predicted patient outcomes and the at least one care recommendation, and transmitting the output to a computing device for presentation in a graphical user interface (GUI) display. Claim 19 teaches the system that this method operates on.)
As per claim 31,
U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070 teaches the limitations of claim 21.
U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070 further teaches wherein the patients comprise burn patients:
(Claims 2 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070. The teaching describes wherein the patients are burn patients. Claim 20 teaches the system that this method operates on.)
As per claim 32,
U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070 teaches the limitations of claim 21.
U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070 further teaches wherein the predicted patient outcomes comprise a predicted risk of mortality:
(Claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070. The teaching describes wherein the predicted patient outcomes include a predicted risk of mortality for the at least one patient.)
As per claim 33,
U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070 teaches the limitations of claim 21.
U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070 further teaches wherein the predicted patient outcomes comprise a predicted length of stay (LOS):
(Claims 6 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070. The teaching describes wherein the predicted patient outcomes include a predicted length of stay (LOS) for the at least one patient. Claim 20 teaches the system that this method operates on.)
As per claim 34,
U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070 teaches the limitations of claim 21.
U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070 further teaches wherein the predicted patient outcomes comprise a predicted recovery rate:
(Claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,362,070. The teaching describes wherein the predicted patient outcomes include a predicted recovery rate for the at least one patient.)
As per claim 35,
Claim 35 is substantially similar to claim 21. Accordingly, claim 35 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 21.
As per claim 36,
Claim 36 is substantially similar to claim 24. Accordingly, claim 36 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 24.
As per claim 37,
Claim 37 is substantially similar to claim 25. Accordingly, claim 37 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 25.
As per claim 38,
Claim 38 is substantially similar to claim 28. Accordingly, claim 38 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 28.
As per claim 39,
Claim 39 is substantially similar to claim 29. Accordingly, claim 39 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 29.
As per claim 40,
Claim 40 is substantially similar to claim 31. Accordingly, claim 40 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 31.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 21-26 and 28-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
As per claim 21,
Step 1: The claim recites subject matter within a statutory category as a process.
Step 2A is a two-prong inquiry, in which Prong 1 determines whether a claim recites a judicial exception. Prong 2 determines if the additional limitations of the claim integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application. If the additional elements of the claim fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, claim is directed to the recited judicial exception, see MPEP 2106.04(II)(A).
Step 2A Prong 1: The claim contains subject matter that recites an abstract idea, with the steps of a method for determining patient health conditions and outcomes, the method comprising: receiving, from a plurality of data sources, data that includes at least healthcare information; segmenting the data into multiple data segments; removing outliers from at least one segment of the multiple data segments; identifying missed data in the at least one segment of the multiple data segments; based on the identifying, imputing the missed data in the at least one segment of the multiple data segments; determining at least one of: the patient health conditions, the corresponding treatments, or the corresponding outcomes. These steps, as drafted, under the broadest reasonable interpretation are directed to:
certain methods of organizing human activity (e.g., fundamental economic principles or practices including: hedging; insurance; mitigating risk; etc., commercial or legal interactions including: agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations; etc., managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people including: social activities; teaching; following rules or instructions; etc.) but for recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting steps as performed by the generic computer components, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from being directed to certain methods of organizing human activity. For example, but for the additional element(s) of “at a computer system”, “training, at the computer system and using (i) one or more machine learning techniques and (ii) at least a portion of the data for the burn patients, a predictive model, wherein the predictive model was trained to predict patient outcomes based on assessing a plurality of patient data for a plurality of patients across the plurality of healthcare centers”, “returning, at the computer system, the trained predictive model for runtime use, wherein during the runtime use, the method further comprises”, “as output from the predictive model” and “transmitting the output to a user computing device for presentation in a graphical user interface (GUI) display”, the identified abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon identified above, in the context of this claim, encompasses a certain method of organizing human activity, namely managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people. This is because each of the limitations of the abstract idea recites a list of rules or instructions that a human person can follow in the course of their personal behavior. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers at least the recited methods of organizing human activity above, but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.04(a).
Step 2A Prong 2: The claim does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. In particular, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, other than the abstract idea per se, because the additional elements amount to no more than limitations which:
amount to mere instructions to apply an exception, see MPEP 2106.05(f), such as:
“training a model that” and “training, based on the at least one segment of the multiple data segments comprising the imputed missed data, a model to determine patient health conditions, corresponding treatments, and corresponding outcomes; and returning the model for runtime use in” which corresponds to merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Paragraph [0004] of the as-filed specification describes that the technology that implements the steps of the abstract idea are at a level comparable to a generic computer. Implementing an abstract idea on a generic computer, does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application in Step 2A Prong Two or add significantly more in Step 2B, similar to how the recitation of the computer in the claim in Alice amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of intermediated settlement on a generic computer.
Accordingly, this claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: The claim does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to discussion of integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception, add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea, and/or generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use.
Looking at the limitations of the claim as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely recite an abstract idea and/or provide conventional computer implementation which does not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and/or amount to no more than limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields.
As per claim 22,
Claim 22 depends from claim 21 and inherits all the limitations of the claim from which it depends. Claim 22 merely further defines the abstract idea and/or introduces additional elements that are insufficient to provide a practical application or something significantly more:
“wherein the method further comprises de-identifying the received data” further describes the abstract idea. This claim limitation is still directed to “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” and therefore continues to recite an abstract idea.
Looking at the limitations of the claim as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely recite an abstract idea and/or provide conventional computer implementation which does not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and/or amount to no more than limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields.
As per claim 23,
Claim 23 depends from claim 21 and inherits all the limitations of the claim from which it depends. Claim 23 merely further defines the abstract idea and/or introduces additional elements that are insufficient to provide a practical application or something significantly more:
“wherein the multiple data segments comprise a training dataset and a testing dataset” further describes the abstract idea. This claim limitation is still directed to “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” and therefore continues to recite an abstract idea.
Looking at the limitations of the claim as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely recite an abstract idea and/or provide conventional computer implementation which does not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and/or amount to no more than limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields.
As per claim 24,
Claim 24 depends from claim 21 and inherits all the limitations of the claim from which it depends. Claim 24 merely further defines the abstract idea and/or introduces additional elements that are insufficient to provide a practical application or something significantly more:
“wherein the at least one segment of the multiple data segments comprises a training dataset” further describes the abstract idea. This claim limitation is still directed to “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” and therefore continues to recite an abstract idea.
Looking at the limitations of the claim as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely recite an abstract idea and/or provide conventional computer implementation which does not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and/or amount to no more than limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields.
As per claim 25,
Claim 25 depends from claim 21 and inherits all the limitations of the claim from which it depends. Claim 25 merely further defines the abstract idea and/or introduces additional elements that are insufficient to provide a practical application or something significantly more:
“wherein removing the outliers comprises removing a predetermined quantity of sigma outliers from the at least one segment of the multiple data segments.” further describes the abstract idea. This claim limitation is still directed to “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” and therefore continues to recite an abstract idea.
Looking at the limitations of the claim as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely recite an abstract idea and/or provide conventional computer implementation which does not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and/or amount to no more than limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields.
As per claim 26,
Claim 26 depends from claim 21 and inherits all the limitations of the claim from which it depends. Claim 26 merely further defines the abstract idea and/or introduces additional elements that are insufficient to provide a practical application or something significantly more:
“wherein the method further comprises scaling at least one continuous variable in the at least one segment of the multiple data segments.” further describes the abstract idea. This claim limitation is still directed to “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” and therefore continues to recite an abstract idea.
Looking at the limitations of the claim as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely recite an abstract idea and/or provide conventional computer implementation which does not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and/or amount to no more than limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields.
As per claim 28,
Claim 28 depends from claim 21 and inherits all the limitations of the claim from which it depends. Claim 28 merely further defines the abstract idea and/or introduces additional elements that are insufficient to provide a practical application or something significantly more:
“wherein during runtime use, the method further comprises: receiving patient data; and determining, based on providing the patient data as input to the model, predicted patient outcomes.” further defines an additional element that was insufficient to provide a practical application and/or significantly more. The claim with this further defining limitation still corresponds to merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea.
Looking at the limitations of the claim as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely recite an abstract idea and/or provide conventional computer implementation which does not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and/or amount to no more than limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields.
As per claim 29,
Claim 29 depends from claim 28 and inherits all the limitations of the claim from which it depends. Claim 29 merely further defines the abstract idea and/or introduces additional elements that are insufficient to provide a practical application or something significantly more:
“wherein the method further comprises: determining, based at least in part on the predicted patient outcomes, a care recommendation” further describes the abstract idea. This claim limitation is still directed to “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” and therefore continues to recite an abstract idea.
Looking at the limitations of the claim as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely recite an abstract idea and/or provide conventional computer implementation which does not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and/or amount to no more than limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields.
As per claim 30,
Claim 30 depends from claim 29 and inherits all the limitations of the claim from which it depends. Claim 30 merely further defines the abstract idea and/or introduces additional elements that are insufficient to provide a practical application or something significantly more:
“generating output representative of the predicted patient outcomes and the care recommendation” further describes the abstract idea. This claim limitation is still directed to “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” and therefore continues to recite an abstract idea.
“transmitting the output to a computing device for presentation in a graphical user interface (GUI) display” introduces additional elements that is insufficient to provide a practical application or significantly more:
Step 2A Prong 2: In particular, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, other than the abstract idea per se, because the additional elements amount to no more than limitations which:
add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(g), such as:
“transmitting the output to a computing device for presentation in a graphical user interface (GUI) display” which corresponds to mere data gathering and/or output.
Step 2B: As discussed above with respect to discussion of integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception, add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea, and/or generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. Additionally, the additional limitations, identified as insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea, amount to no more than limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields such as:
computer functions that have been identified by the courts as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), such as:
“transmitting the output to a computing device for presentation in a graphical user interface (GUI) display”which corresponds to receiving or transmitting data over a network.
Looking at the limitations of the claim as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely recite an abstract idea and/or provide conventional computer implementation which does not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and/or amount to no more than limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields.
As per claim 31,
Claim 31 depends from claim 21 and inherits all the limitations of the claim from which it depends. Claim 31 merely further defines the abstract idea and/or introduces additional elements that are insufficient to provide a practical application or something significantly more:
“wherein the patients comprise burn patients.” further describes the abstract idea. This claim limitation is still directed to “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” and therefore continues to recite an abstract idea.
Looking at the limitations of the claim as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely recite an abstract idea and/or provide conventional computer implementation which does not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and/or amount to no more than limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields.
As per claim 32,
Claim 32 depends from claim 21 and inherits all the limitations of the claim from which it depends. Claim 32 merely further defines the abstract idea and/or introduces additional elements that are insufficient to provide a practical application or something significantly more:
“wherein the predicted patient outcomes comprise a predicted risk of mortality.” further describes the abstract idea. This claim limitation is still directed to “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” and therefore continues to recite an abstract idea.
Looking at the limitations of the claim as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely recite an abstract idea and/or provide conventional computer implementation which does not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and/or amount to no more than limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields.
As per claim 33,
Claim 33 depends from claim 21 and inherits all the limitations of the claim from which it depends. Claim 33 merely further defines the abstract idea and/or introduces additional elements that are insufficient to provide a practical application or something significantly more:
“wherein the predicted patient outcomes comprise a predicted length of stay (LOS)” further describes the abstract idea. This claim limitation is still directed to “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” and therefore continues to recite an abstract idea.
Looking at the limitations of the claim as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely recite an abstract idea and/or provide conventional computer implementation which does not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and/or amount to no more than limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields.
As per claim 34,
Claim 34 depends from claim 21 and inherits all the limitations of the claim from which it depends. Claim 34 merely further defines the abstract idea and/or introduces additional elements that are insufficient to provide a practical application or something significantly more:
“wherein the predicted patient outcomes comprise a predicted recovery rate.” further describes the abstract idea. This claim limitation is still directed to “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” and therefore continues to recite an abstract idea.
Looking at the limitations of the claim as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely recite an abstract idea and/or provide conventional computer implementation which does not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and/or amount to no more than limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields.
As per claim 35,
Claim 35 is substantially similar to claim 21. Accordingly, claim 35 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 21.
As per claim 36,
Claim 36 is substantially similar to claim 24. Accordingly, claim 36 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 24.
As per claim 37,
Claim 37 is substantially similar to claim 25. Accordingly, claim 37 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 25.
As per claim 38,
Claim 38 is substantially similar to claim 28. Accordingly, claim 38 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 28.
As per claim 39,
Claim 39 is substantially similar to claim 29. Accordingly, claim 39 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 29.
As per claim 40,
Claim 40 is substantially similar to claim 31. Accordingly, claim 40 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 31.
The Examiner notes that claim 27 are eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101. Claim 27 recites the machine learning training process that is understood to provide a practical application of the abstract idea as was the case with claims 18 and 19 of the initial claim set of parent application 18/131666 filed April 06, 2023
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 23-26, 28-32 and 35-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rashidi et al. (US 2022/0301711; herein referred to as Rashidi) in view of Daware et al. (US 2020/0401917; herein referred to as Daware).
As per claim 21,
Rashidi teaches method for training a model that determines patient health conditions and outcomes, the method comprising: receiving, from a plurality of data sources, data that includes at least healthcare information:
(Paragraphs [0022]-[0026] of Rashidi. The teaching describes that advances in computational technology and artificial intelligence (AI) and machine learning (ML) may aid in the diagnosis of several disease and may augment the performance of existing tests success. Implementations of AI/ML algorithms for early recognition of AKI in a combined population of burn and non-burned trauma surgery patients are discussed and compared below, and in particular, AI/ML prediction within the first 24 hours due to burn- and/or trauma injury-related shock (being common mechanisms causing AKI). These algorithms were first trained and validated on a retrospective burn AKI dataset, and then analyzed for generalizability in a second dataset containing a mix of burned and non-burned trauma surgery patients.)
Rashidi further teaches training a model to determine patient health conditions, corresponding treatments, and corresponding outcomes:
(Paragraph [0027] of Rashidi. The teaching describes that two databases containing patients (Cohort A and Cohort B) that received neutrophil gelatinase associated lipocalin (NGAL), creatinine, N-terminal pro-B-type natriuretic peptide (NT-proBNP) and urine output (UOP) measurements at admission were used to train, test, and generalize the AI/ML models. Models were first optimized in Cohort A for predicting AKI in Cohort B. Cohort A (n=50) was based on a retrospective dataset of adult (age ≥18 years) burn patients, while Cohort B (n=51) consisted of prospectively enrolled adult burned or non-burned trauma patients at risk for AKI. A grid search and cross validation approach was employed in building 68,100 unique ML models from five distinct ML approaches: logistic regression (LR), k-nearest neighbor (k-NN), support vector machine (SVM), random forest (RF), and deep neural networks (DNN) which enabled us to find the most accurate ML models.)
Rashidi further teaches returning the model for runtime use in determining at least one of: the patient health conditions, the corresponding treatments, or the corresponding outcomes:
(Paragraphs [0046] and [0047] of Rashidi. The teaching describes that combining point-of-care (POC) testing with AI/ML could be used to enhance diagnostic power in pre-hospital settings. The figure illustrates a conceptual diagram where POC creatinine and NT-proBNP testing is used at a pre-hospital admission time (t-n) point and augmented by AI/ML (green pathways). Point-of-care testing data may be then transmitted to an AI/ML algorithm to predict AKI prior to hospital admission. Alternately, AI/ML may also be employed as early as the first day of admission denoted as t1. In contrast, traditional workflows (red pathways) relying on urine output and creatinine delay recognition of AKI. Accordingly, accurate prediction of AKI in a mixed burn/trauma population is feasible using an AI/ML algorithm originally trained for burn patients. This finding highlights the generalizability of AI/ML between these two populations for AKI. Both DNN and k-NN, in particular, provide robust means to predict AKI using both common and esoteric biomarkers of cardiorenal dysfunction. The limited availability and adoption of novel biomarkers such as NGAL increases the appeal of an AI/ML algorithm enhancing the performance of NT-proBNP, UOP, and plasma creatinine for predicting AKI. In particular, NGAL may be analytically superior to traditional AKI biomarkers such as creatinine and UOP in many implementations. With machine learning, the AKI predictive capability of NGAL can be further enhanced and accelerated when combined with NT-proBNP, UOP, and creatinine.)
Rashidi does not explicitly disclose segmenting the data into multiple data segments; removing outliers from at least one segment of the multiple data segments; identifying missed data in the at least one segment of the multiple data segments; or based on the identifying, imputing the missed data in the at least one segment of the multiple data segments.
However, Daware teaches segmenting the data into multiple data segments; removing outliers from at least one segment of the multiple data segments; identifying missed data in the at least one segment of the multiple data segments; or based on the identifying, imputing the missed data in the at least one segment of the multiple data segments:
(Paragraphs [0012] and [0013] of Daware. The teaching describes that in an embodiment of the present disclosure, determining the optimal prediction model for each functional parameter of the one or more functional parameters, comprises: obtaining an input dataset associated with the one or more key input parameters and the one or more functional parameters of the desired formulation, wherein the input dataset comprises data elements for the one or more key input parameters and the one or more functional parameters; extracting a sub-input dataset of each functional parameter, from the input dataset, wherein the sub-input dataset comprises the data elements for the one or more key input parameters and the associated functional parameter; pre-processing the sub-input dataset to obtain a pre-processed dataset of each functional parameter, wherein the pre-processed dataset comprises pre-processed data elements for the one or more key input parameters and the associated functional parameter; dividing the pre-processed dataset of each functional parameter into a training dataset and a testing dataset, based on a predefined ratio; scaling the training dataset of each functional parameter to obtain a scaled training dataset; scaling the testing dataset of each functional parameter to obtain a scaled testing dataset; generating one or more prediction models of each functional parameter, using the scaled training dataset; validating the one or more generated prediction models of each functional parameter using the scaled testing dataset; determining the optimal prediction model for each functional parameter out of the one or more generated prediction models, based on the validation; and obtaining the optimal prediction function for the associated functional parameter, from the optimal prediction model. In an embodiment of the present disclosure, pre-processing the sub-input dataset to obtain the pre-processed dataset of each functional parameter, comprises imputing missing data, outlier removal, and high correlation coefficient data removal.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to add to the machine learning training processes of Rashidi, the machine learning training processes of Daware. Paragraphs [0005] and [0006] of Daware teach that the disclosed methods of training machine learning models provide improvement in personalized formulations for determining user outcomes. One of ordinary skill in the art in possession of Rashidi would have looked to Daware to achieve such an improvement for its own model. One of ordinary skill in the art would have added to the teaching of Rashidi, the teaching of Daware based on this incentive without yielding unexpected results.
The combined teaching of Rashidi and Daware would have then taught training, based on the at least one segment of the multiple data segments comprising the imputed missed data, a model to determine patient health conditions, corresponding treatments, and corresponding outcomes:
(Paragraph [0027] of Rashidi. The teaching describes that two databases containing patients (Cohort A and Cohort B) that received neutrophil gelatinase associated lipocalin (NGAL), creatinine, N-terminal pro-B-type natriuretic peptide (NT-proBNP) and urine output (UOP) measurements at admission were used to train, test, and generalize the AI/ML models. Models were first optimized in Cohort A for predicting AKI in Cohort B. Cohort A (n=50) was based on a retrospective dataset of adult (age ≥18 years) burn patients, while Cohort B (n=51) consisted of prospectively enrolled adult burned or non-burned trauma patients at risk for AKI. A grid search and cross validation approach was employed in building 68,100 unique ML models from five distinct ML approaches: logistic regression (LR), k-nearest neighbor (k-NN), support vector machine (SVM), random forest (RF), and deep neural networks (DNN) which enabled us to find the most accurate ML models.)
(Paragraphs [0012] and [0013] of Daware. The teaching describes that in an embodiment of the present disclosure, determining the optimal prediction model for each functional parameter of the one or more functional parameters, comprises: obtaining an input dataset associated with the one or more key input parameters and the one or more functional parameters of the desired formulation, wherein the input dataset comprises data elements for the one or more key input parameters and the one or more functional parameters; extracting a sub-input dataset of each functional parameter, from the input dataset, wherein the sub-input dataset comprises the data elements for the one or more key input parameters and the associated functional parameter; pre-processing the sub-input dataset to obtain a pre-processed dataset of each functional parameter, wherein the pre-processed dataset comprises pre-processed data elements for the one or more key input parameters and the associated functional parameter; dividing the pre-processed dataset of each functional parameter into a training dataset and a testing dataset, based on a predefined ratio; scaling the training dataset of each functional parameter to obtain a scaled training dataset; scaling the testing dataset of each functional parameter to obtain a scaled testing dataset; generating one or more prediction models of each functional parameter, using the scaled training dataset; validating the one or more generated prediction models of each functional parameter using the scaled testing dataset; determining the optimal prediction model for each functional parameter out of the one or more generated prediction models, based on the validation; and obtaining the optimal prediction function for the associated functional parameter, from the optimal prediction model. In an embodiment of the present disclosure, pre-processing the sub-input dataset to obtain the pre-processed dataset of each functional parameter, comprises imputing missing data, outlier removal, and high correlation coefficient data removal.)
As per claim 23,
The combined teaching of Rashidi and Daware teaches the limitations of claim 21.
Daware further teaches wherein the multiple data segments comprise a training dataset and a testing dataset:
(Paragraphs [0012] and [0013] of Daware. The teaching describes that in an embodiment of the present disclosure, determining the optimal prediction model for each functional parameter of the one or more functional parameters, comprises: obtaining an input dataset associated with the one or more key input parameters and the one or more functional parameters of the desired formulation, wherein the input dataset comprises data elements for the one or more key input parameters and the one or more functional parameters; extracting a sub-input dataset of each functional parameter, from the input dataset, wherein the sub-input dataset comprises the data elements for the one or more key input parameters and the associated functional parameter; pre-processing the sub-input dataset to obtain a pre-processed dataset of each functional parameter, wherein the pre-processed dataset comprises pre-processed data elements for the one or more key input parameters and the associated functional parameter; dividing the pre-processed dataset of each functional parameter into a training dataset and a testing dataset, based on a predefined ratio; scaling the training dataset of each functional parameter to obtain a scaled training dataset; scaling the testing dataset of each functional parameter to obtain a scaled testing dataset; generating one or more prediction models of each functional parameter, using the scaled training dataset; validating the one or more generated prediction models of each functional parameter using the scaled testing dataset; determining the optimal prediction model for each functional parameter out of the one or more generated prediction models, based on the validation; and obtaining the optimal prediction function for the associated functional parameter, from the optimal prediction model. In an embodiment of the present disclosure, pre-processing the sub-input dataset to obtain the pre-processed dataset of each functional parameter, comprises imputing missing data, outlier removal, and high correlation coefficient data removal.)
As per claim 24,
The combined teaching of Rashidi and Daware teaches the limitations of claim 21.
Daware further teaches wherein the at least one segment of the multiple data segments comprises a training dataset:
(Paragraphs [0012] and [0013] of Daware. The teaching describes that in an embodiment of the present disclosure, determining the optimal prediction model for each functional parameter of the one or more functional parameters, comprises: obtaining an input dataset associated with the one or more key input parameters and the one or more functional parameters of the desired formulation, wherein the input dataset comprises data elements for the one or more key input parameters and the one or more functional parameters; extracting a sub-input dataset of each functional parameter, from the input dataset, wherein the sub-input dataset comprises the data elements for the one or more key input parameters and the associated functional parameter; pre-processing the sub-input dataset to obtain a pre-processed dataset of each functional parameter, wherein the pre-processed dataset comprises pre-processed data elements for the one or more key input parameters and the associated functional parameter; dividing the pre-processed dataset of each functional parameter into a training dataset and a testing dataset, based on a predefined ratio; scaling the training dataset of each functional parameter to obtain a scaled training dataset; scaling the testing dataset of each functional parameter to obtain a scaled testing dataset; generating one or more prediction models of each functional parameter, using the scaled training dataset; validating the one or more generated prediction models of each functional parameter using the scaled testing dataset; determining the optimal prediction model for each functional parameter out of the one or more generated prediction models, based on the validation; and obtaining the optimal prediction function for the associated functional parameter, from the optimal prediction model. In an embodiment of the present disclosure, pre-processing the sub-input dataset to obtain the pre-processed dataset of each functional parameter, comprises imputing missing data, outlier removal, and high correlation coefficient data removal.)
As per claim 25,
The combined teaching of Rashidi and Daware teaches the limitations of claim 21.
Daware further teaches wherein removing the outliers comprises removing a predetermined quantity of sigma outliers from the at least one segment of the multiple data segments:
(Paragraphs [0012] and [0013] of Daware. The teaching describes that in an embodiment of the present disclosure, determining the optimal prediction model for each functional parameter of the one or more functional parameters, comprises: obtaining an input dataset associated with the one or more key input parameters and the one or more functional parameters of the desired formulation, wherein the input dataset comprises data elements for the one or more key input parameters and the one or more functional parameters; extracting a sub-input dataset of each functional parameter, from the input dataset, wherein the sub-input dataset comprises the data elements for the one or more key input parameters and the associated functional parameter; pre-processing the sub-input dataset to obtain a pre-processed dataset of each functional parameter, wherein the pre-processed dataset comprises pre-processed data elements for the one or more key input parameters and the associated functional parameter; dividing the pre-processed dataset of each functional parameter into a training dataset and a testing dataset, based on a predefined ratio; scaling the training dataset of each functional parameter to obtain a scaled training dataset; scaling the testing dataset of each functional parameter to obtain a scaled testing dataset; generating one or more prediction models of each functional parameter, using the scaled training dataset; validating the one or more generated prediction models of each functional parameter using the scaled testing dataset; determining the optimal prediction model for each functional parameter out of the one or more generated prediction models, based on the validation; and obtaining the optimal prediction function for the associated functional parameter, from the optimal prediction model. In an embodiment of the present disclosure, pre-processing the sub-input dataset to obtain the pre-processed dataset of each functional parameter, comprises imputing missing data, outlier removal, and high correlation coefficient data removal.)
As per claim 26,
The combined teaching of Rashidi and Daware teaches the limitations of claim 21.
Daware further teaches wherein the method further comprises scaling at least one continuous variable in the at least one segment of the multiple data segments:
(Paragraphs [0012] and [0013] of Daware. The teaching describes that in an embodiment of the present disclosure, determining the optimal prediction model for each functional parameter of the one or more functional parameters, comprises: obtaining an input dataset associated with the one or more key input parameters and the one or more functional parameters of the desired formulation, wherein the input dataset comprises data elements for the one or more key input parameters and the one or more functional parameters; extracting a sub-input dataset of each functional parameter, from the input dataset, wherein the sub-input dataset comprises the data elements for the one or more key input parameters and the associated functional parameter; pre-processing the sub-input dataset to obtain a pre-processed dataset of each functional parameter, wherein the pre-processed dataset comprises pre-processed data elements for the one or more key input parameters and the associated functional parameter; dividing the pre-processed dataset of each functional parameter into a training dataset and a testing dataset, based on a predefined ratio; scaling the training dataset of each functional parameter to obtain a scaled training dataset; scaling the testing dataset of each functional parameter to obtain a scaled testing dataset; generating one or more prediction models of each functional parameter, using the scaled training dataset; validating the one or more generated prediction models of each functional parameter using the scaled testing dataset; determining the optimal prediction model for each functional parameter out of the one or more generated prediction models, based on the validation; and obtaining the optimal prediction function for the associated functional parameter, from the optimal prediction model. In an embodiment of the present disclosure, pre-processing the sub-input dataset to obtain the pre-processed dataset of each functional parameter, comprises imputing missing data, outlier removal, and high correlation coefficient data removal.)
As per claim 28,
The combined teaching of Rashidi and Daware teaches the limitations of claim 21.
Rashidi further teaches wherein during runtime use, the method further comprises: receiving patient data; and determining, based on providing the patient data as input to the model, predicted patient outcomes:
(Paragraphs [0046] and [0047] of Rashidi. The teaching describes that combining point-of-care (POC) testing with AI/ML could be used to enhance diagnostic power in pre-hospital settings. The figure illustrates a conceptual diagram where POC creatinine and NT-proBNP testing is used at a pre-hospital admission time (t-n) point and augmented by AI/ML (green pathways). Point-of-care testing data may be then transmitted to an AI/ML algorithm to predict AKI prior to hospital admission. Alternately, AI/ML may also be employed as early as the first day of admission denoted as t1. In contrast, traditional workflows (red pathways) relying on urine output and creatinine delay recognition of AKI. Accordingly, accurate prediction of AKI in a mixed burn/trauma population is feasible using an AI/ML algorithm originally trained for burn patients. This finding highlights the generalizability of AI/ML between these two populations for AKI. Both DNN and k-NN, in particular, provide robust means to predict AKI using both common and esoteric biomarkers of cardiorenal dysfunction. The limited availability and adoption of novel biomarkers such as NGAL increases the appeal of an AI/ML algorithm enhancing the performance of NT-proBNP, UOP, and plasma creatinine for predicting AKI. In particular, NGAL may be analytically superior to traditional AKI biomarkers such as creatinine and UOP in many implementations. With machine learning, the AKI predictive capability of NGAL can be further enhanced and accelerated when combined with NT-proBNP, UOP, and creatinine.)
(Paragraphs [0082], [0090], [0091] and [0093] of Rashidi. The teaching describes that the measurements may be normalized or scaled, as discussed above at step 952, and at step 970, the set of measurements may be classified via the validated neural network. At step 972, the system may determine if the condition is indicated by the classification (e.g. if the classification value exceeds a threshold, in many implementations). If so, then at step 974, a treatment may be provided. In some implementations, the processor is further configured to: receive biomarker and vital sign measurements of an individual with an unknown clinical diagnosis, and classify the individual with the biomarker and vital sign measurements according to the validated neural network; and at least one treatment is provided, responsive to the classification corresponding to acute kidney injury. The method includes receiving biomarker and vital sign measurements of an individual with an unknown clinical diagnosis; and classifying the individual as corresponding to acute kidney injury via a trained neural network, wherein the neural network is trained in a first stage using a first training set comprising a first subset of a set of biomarker and vital sign measurements of a population with a known clinical diagnosis, and validated in a second stage using a second training set comprising a second subset of the set of biomarker and vital sign measurements of the population with the known clinical diagnosis, wherein each biomarker and vital sign measurement is normalization to create a modified set of biomarker and vital sign measurements prior to the first stage and second stage. At least one treatment is provided responsive to the classification corresponding to acute kidney injury. In some implementations, the at least one treatment comprises a course of increased fluid administration, plasmapheresis, or plasma exchange. The systems discussed herein may be deployed as and/or executed on any type and form of computing device, such as a computer, network device or appliance capable of communicating on any type and form of network and performing the operations described herein. FIGS. 10A and 10B depict block diagrams of a computing device 1000 useful for practicing an embodiment of the wireless communication devices 1002 or the access point 1006. As shown in FIGS. 10A and 10B, each computing device 1000 includes a central processing unit 1021, and a main memory unit 1022. As shown in FIG. 10A, a computing device 1000 may include a storage device 1028, an installation device 1016, a network interface 1018, an I/O controller 1023, display devices 1024 a-1024 n, a keyboard 1026 and a pointing device 1027, such as a mouse. The storage device 1028 may include, without limitation, an operating system and/or software. As shown in FIG. 10B, each computing device 1000 may also include additional optional elements, such as a memory port 1003, a bridge 1070, one or more input/output devices 1030 a-1030 n (generally referred to using reference numeral 1030), and a cache memory 1040 in communication with the central processing unit 1021.)
As per claim 29,
The combined teaching of Rashidi and Daware teaches the limitations of claim 28.
Rashidi further teaches wherein the method further comprises: determining, based at least in part on the predicted patient outcomes, a care recommendation:
(Paragraphs [0082], [0090], [0091] and [0093] of Rashidi. The teaching describes that the measurements may be normalized or scaled, as discussed above at step 952, and at step 970, the set of measurements may be classified via the validated neural network. At step 972, the system may determine if the condition is indicated by the classification (e.g. if the classification value exceeds a threshold, in many implementations). If so, then at step 974, a treatment may be provided. In some implementations, the processor is further configured to: receive biomarker and vital sign measurements of an individual with an unknown clinical diagnosis, and classify the individual with the biomarker and vital sign measurements according to the validated neural network; and at least one treatment is provided, responsive to the classification corresponding to acute kidney injury. The method includes receiving biomarker and vital sign measurements of an individual with an unknown clinical diagnosis; and classifying the individual as corresponding to acute kidney injury via a trained neural network, wherein the neural network is trained in a first stage using a first training set comprising a first subset of a set of biomarker and vital sign measurements of a population with a known clinical diagnosis, and validated in a second stage using a second training set comprising a second subset of the set of biomarker and vital sign measurements of the population with the known clinical diagnosis, wherein each biomarker and vital sign measurement is normalization to create a modified set of biomarker and vital sign measurements prior to the first stage and second stage. At least one treatment is provided responsive to the classification corresponding to acute kidney injury. In some implementations, the at least one treatment comprises a course of increased fluid administration, plasmapheresis, or plasma exchange. The systems discussed herein may be deployed as and/or executed on any type and form of computing device, such as a computer, network device or appliance capable of communicating on any type and form of network and performing the operations described herein. FIGS. 10A and 10B depict block diagrams of a computing device 1000 useful for practicing an embodiment of the wireless communication devices 1002 or the access point 1006. As shown in FIGS. 10A and 10B, each computing device 1000 includes a central processing unit 1021, and a main memory unit 1022. As shown in FIG. 10A, a computing device 1000 may include a storage device 1028, an installation device 1016, a network interface 1018, an I/O controller 1023, display devices 1024 a-1024 n, a keyboard 1026 and a pointing device 1027, such as a mouse. The storage device 1028 may include, without limitation, an operating system and/or software. As shown in FIG. 10B, each computing device 1000 may also include additional optional elements, such as a memory port 1003, a bridge 1070, one or more input/output devices 1030 a-1030 n (generally referred to using reference numeral 1030), and a cache memory 1040 in communication with the central processing unit 1021.)
As per claim 30,
The combined teaching of Rashidi and Daware teaches the limitations of claim 29.
Rashidi further teaches wherein the method further comprises: generating output representative of the predicted patient outcomes and the care recommendation; and transmitting the output to a computing device for presentation in a graphical user interface (GUI) display:
(Paragraphs [0082], [0090], [0091] and [0093] of Rashidi. The teaching describes that the measurements may be normalized or scaled, as discussed above at step 952, and at step 970, the set of measurements may be classified via the validated neural network. At step 972, the system may determine if the condition is indicated by the classification (e.g. if the classification value exceeds a threshold, in many implementations). If so, then at step 974, a treatment may be provided. In some implementations, the processor is further configured to: receive biomarker and vital sign measurements of an individual with an unknown clinical diagnosis, and classify the individual with the biomarker and vital sign measurements according to the validated neural network; and at least one treatment is provided, responsive to the classification corresponding to acute kidney injury. The method includes receiving biomarker and vital sign measurements of an individual with an unknown clinical diagnosis; and classifying the individual as corresponding to acute kidney injury via a trained neural network, wherein the neural network is trained in a first stage using a first training set comprising a first subset of a set of biomarker and vital sign measurements of a population with a known clinical diagnosis, and validated in a second stage using a second training set comprising a second subset of the set of biomarker and vital sign measurements of the population with the known clinical diagnosis, wherein each biomarker and vital sign measurement is normalization to create a modified set of biomarker and vital sign measurements prior to the first stage and second stage. At least one treatment is provided responsive to the classification corresponding to acute kidney injury. In some implementations, the at least one treatment comprises a course of increased fluid administration, plasmapheresis, or plasma exchange. The systems discussed herein may be deployed as and/or executed on any type and form of computing device, such as a computer, network device or appliance capable of communicating on any type and form of network and performing the operations described herein. FIGS. 10A and 10B depict block diagrams of a computing device 1000 useful for practicing an embodiment of the wireless communication devices 1002 or the access point 1006. As shown in FIGS. 10A and 10B, each computing device 1000 includes a central processing unit 1021, and a main memory unit 1022. As shown in FIG. 10A, a computing device 1000 may include a storage device 1028, an installation device 1016, a network interface 1018, an I/O controller 1023, display devices 1024 a-1024 n, a keyboard 1026 and a pointing device 1027, such as a mouse. The storage device 1028 may include, without limitation, an operating system and/or software. As shown in FIG. 10B, each computing device 1000 may also include additional optional elements, such as a memory port 1003, a bridge 1070, one or more input/output devices 1030 a-1030 n (generally referred to using reference numeral 1030), and a cache memory 1040 in communication with the central processing unit 1021.)
As per claim 31,
The combined teaching of Rashidi and Daware teaches the limitations of claim 21.
Rashidi further teaches wherein the patients comprise burn patients:
(Paragraph [0027] of Rashidi. The teaching describes that two databases containing patients (Cohort A and Cohort B) that received neutrophil gelatinase associated lipocalin (NGAL), creatinine, N-terminal pro-B-type natriuretic peptide (NT-proBNP) and urine output (UOP) measurements at admission were used to train, test, and generalize the AI/ML models. Models were first optimized in Cohort A for predicting AKI in Cohort B. Cohort A (n=50) was based on a retrospective dataset of adult (age ≥18 years) burn patients, while Cohort B (n=51) consisted of prospectively enrolled adult burned or non-burned trauma patients at risk for AKI. A grid search and cross validation approach was employed in building 68,100 unique ML models from five distinct ML approaches: logistic regression (LR), k-nearest neighbor (k-NN), support vector machine (SVM), random forest (RF), and deep neural networks (DNN) which enabled us to find the most accurate ML models.)
As per claim 32,
The combined teaching of Rashidi and Daware teaches the limitations of claim 21.
Rashidi further teaches wherein the predicted patient outcomes comprise a predicted risk of mortality:
(Paragraph [0023] of Rashidi. The teaching describes that kidney injury doubles burn mortality—thus, early prediction of acute kidney injury (AKI) in the burn population could benefit from artificial intelligence (AI) and machine learning (ML). This disclosure discusses performances of such AI/ML algorithms and describes generalizable models that may be implemented to augment AKI recognition)
As per claim 35,
Claim 35 is substantially similar to claim 21. Accordingly, claim 35 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 21.
As per claim 36,
Claim 36 is substantially similar to claim 24. Accordingly, claim 36 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 24.
As per claim 37,
Claim 37 is substantially similar to claim 25. Accordingly, claim 37 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 25.
As per claim 38,
Claim 38 is substantially similar to claim 28. Accordingly, claim 38 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 28.
As per claim 39,
Claim 39 is substantially similar to claim 29. Accordingly, claim 39 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 29.
As per claim 40,
Claim 40 is substantially similar to claim 31. Accordingly, claim 40 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 31.
Claims 27, 33 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rashidi and Daware in further view of Taoka et al. (US 2023/0298751; herein referred to as Taoka)
As per claim 27,
The combined teaching of Rashidi and Daware teaches the limitations of claim 21.
The combined teaching of Rashidi and Daware does not explicitly teach wherein the training comprises: determining importance values for variables in the at least one segment of the multiple data segments using feature selection modeling techniques; and identifying a subset of the variables in the at least one segment of the multiple data segments having respective values that satisfy one or more importance criteria, wherein the subset of the variables has a greater effect on output from the model than other variables in the at least one segment of the multiple data segments.
However, Taoko teaches wherein training the predictive model further comprises: determining feature importance values for variables in the portion of the data for the burn patients using CatBoost feature selection modeling techniques; and identifying a portion of the variables having respective feature importance values that exceed a threshold feature importance level, wherein the identified portion of the variables have a greater effect on output from the predictive model than other variables having respective feature importance values that are less than the threshold feature importance level:
(Paragraphs [0013] and [0066] of Taoka. The teaching describes a prognosis prediction device 1 according to the embodiment of the present invention. The preliminarily selected machine learning processes may include a variety of decision trees or classifiers such as cat boost (Liudmila Prokhorenkova, et al., CatBoost: unbiased boosting with categorical features, arXiv:1706.09516v5), Light GBM (Gradient Boosting Machine:Guolin Ke, et al., Light GBM: A Highly Efficient Gradient Boosting Decision Tree), GBM, Extreme Gradient Boosting (XGBoost), ExtraTrees (Pierre Geurts, et al., Extremely randomized trees, Mach. Learn 63, 3-42(2006)), a random forest, Ada Boost Classifier, logistic regression, linear discriminant analysis (LDA), Naive Bayes, the K-nearest neighbor, the ridge classifier, and the support-vector machine, for example.)
(Paragraphs [0072] and [0073] of Taoka. The teaching describes certain example of the present embodiment, prognosis information to be predicted may include a plurality of types of prognosis information including prognosis information concerning the progress of a disease and prognosis information concerning the end of a disease, as previously explained. Prognosis information regarding the progress of a disease indicates the probability of developing a severe symptom, or indicates whether an artificial respirator is required or not, or the presence/absence of the probability of entering an intensive care unit, for example. In addition, prognosis information concerning the end of a disease indicates whether or not the patient will highly probably die, for example. In this example, the machine learning unit 23 may obtain machine learning results for respective types of prognosis information to be predicted. That is, the machine learning unit 23 may input a plurality of types of factor information, and perform machine learning of a first decision tree by CatBoost using prognosis information (for example, information represents a symptom from among a mild symptom, a moderate symptom, or a severe symptom, after the elapse of a prescribed number of days) concerning the progress of a disease as teacher information, and further, may input a plurality of types of factor information, and perform machine learning of a second decision tree by CatBoost using prognosis information (for example, whether a patient will survive or die after the elapse of a prescribed number of days) concerning the end of the disease. These two decision trees establish certain data types as more important than others and therefore greater effect on the outcome.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to add to the combined teaching of Rashidi and Daware, the predictive modeling techniques of Taoka. Paragraphs [0069]-[0071] of Taoka describe that predictive modeling techniques such as gradient boosting and CatBoosting are advantageous to predictive methods by providing a more accurate scope of the patient data being analyzed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have added to the combined teaching of Rashidi and Daware, the teaching of Taoka based on this incentive without yielding unexpected results.
As per claim 33,
The combined teaching of Rashidi and Daware teaches the limitations of claim 21.
The combined teaching of Rashidi and Daware does not explicitly teach wherein the predicted patient outcomes comprise a predicted length of stay (LOS).
However, Taoka teaches predicted patient outcomes include a predicted length of stay (LOS) for a cohort of the patients using predictive modeling:
(Paragraphs [0013] and [0066] of Taoka. The teaching describes a prognosis prediction device 1 according to the embodiment of the present invention. The preliminarily selected machine learning processes may include a variety of decision trees or classifiers such as cat boost (Liudmila Prokhorenkova, et al., CatBoost: unbiased boosting with categorical features, arXiv:1706.09516v5), Light GBM (Gradient Boosting Machine:Guolin Ke, et al., Light GBM: A Highly Efficient Gradient Boosting Decision Tree), GBM, Extreme Gradient Boosting (XGBoost), ExtraTrees (Pierre Geurts, et al., Extremely randomized trees, Mach. Learn 63, 3-42(2006)), a random forest, Ada Boost Classifier, logistic regression, linear discriminant analysis (LDA), Naive Bayes, the K-nearest neighbor, the ridge classifier, and the support-vector machine, for example.)
(Paragraph [0027] of Taoka. The teaching describes that prognosis information that is obtained by the information collecting unit 21 may include a plurality of types of prognosis information including prognosis information concerning the progress of a disease such as a hospitalization period (the number of days from admission to discharge) [LOS] or the probability that the disease will become severe, a survival time (the number of days from admission to death), and prognosis information concerning the end of the disease indicating a possibility that the patient finally survives or dies)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to add to the combined teaching of Rashidi and Daware, the predictive modeling techniques of Taoka. Paragraphs [0069]-[0071] of Taoka describe that predictive modeling techniques such as gradient boosting and CatBoosting are advantageous to predictive methods by providing a more accurate scope of the patient data being analyzed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have added to the combined teaching of Rashidi and Daware, the teaching of Taoka based on this incentive without yielding unexpected results.
As per claim 34,
The combined teaching of Rashidi and Daware teaches the limitations of claim 21.
The combined teaching of Rashidi and Daware does not explicitly teach wherein the predicted patient outcomes comprise a predicted recovery rate. H
However, Taoka teaches predicted patient outcomes include a predicted recovery rate for a cohort of the patients using predictive modeling:
(Paragraphs [0013] and [0066] of Taoka. The teaching describes a prognosis prediction device 1 according to the embodiment of the present invention. The preliminarily selected machine learning processes may include a variety of decision trees or classifiers such as cat boost (Liudmila Prokhorenkova, et al., CatBoost: unbiased boosting with categorical features, arXiv:1706.09516v5), Light GBM (Gradient Boosting Machine:Guolin Ke, et al., Light GBM: A Highly Efficient Gradient Boosting Decision Tree), GBM, Extreme Gradient Boosting (XGBoost), ExtraTrees (Pierre Geurts, et al., Extremely randomized trees, Mach. Learn 63, 3-42(2006)), a random forest, Ada Boost Classifier, logistic regression, linear discriminant analysis (LDA), Naive Bayes, the K-nearest neighbor, the ridge classifier, and the support-vector machine, for example.)
(Paragraph [0027] of Taoka. The teaching describes that prognosis information that is obtained by the information collecting unit 21 may include a plurality of types of prognosis information including prognosis information concerning the progress of a disease such as a hospitalization period (the number of days from admission to discharge) [recovery rate] or the probability that the disease will become severe, a survival time (the number of days from admission to death), and prognosis information concerning the end of the disease indicating a possibility that the patient finally survives or dies)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to add to the combined teaching of Rashidi and Daware, the predictive modeling techniques of Taoka. Paragraphs [0069]-[0071] of Taoka describe that predictive modeling techniques such as gradient boosting and CatBoosting are advantageous to predictive methods by providing a more accurate scope of the patient data being analyzed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have added to the combined teaching of Rashidi and Daware, the teaching of Taoka based on this incentive without yielding unexpected results.
Subject Matter Free of Prior Art
Claim 22 contains subject matter free of prior art. The Examiner has conducted a thorough search of the prior art and could not find a single reference, or combination of references with adequate rationale to combine, to teach the limitation of:
“wherein the method further comprises de-identifying the received data”
The closest prior art the Examiner was able to find was:
Albright (US 2019/0272922) which teaches that in order to assess the performance of these models in a more rigorous manner, each of the 12 models was also evaluated on a series of random splits of the preprocessed LB1 dataset. For each model, the preprocessed LB1 dataset was randomly separated into a training dataset and testing dataset using a 70:30 ratio, and this was repeated to create 100 pairs of training and testing datasets that were then used to train and test the model. The use of a large number of randomly generated splits produces a distribution of mAUC scores that better reflects the overall performance of the model and minimizes the effects of outliers. The results are shown as box-and-whisker plots 700 in FIG. 7. Using this more rigorous approach, the model with the highest average mAUC score was an MLP trained on data with 15 features and with triplets of patients' examinations, which had an average mAUC score of 0.967 and a standard deviation of 0.0016. This teaching is deficient in the data being de-identified (see Paragraph [0060] of Albright).
Daware et al. (US 2020/0401917; herein referred to as Daware) which teaches that in an embodiment of the present disclosure, determining the optimal prediction model for each functional parameter of the one or more functional parameters, comprises: obtaining an input dataset associated with the one or more key input parameters and the one or more functional parameters of the desired formulation, wherein the input dataset comprises data elements for the one or more key input parameters and the one or more functional parameters; extracting a sub-input dataset of each functional parameter, from the input dataset, wherein the sub-input dataset comprises the data elements for the one or more key input parameters and the associated functional parameter; pre-processing the sub-input dataset to obtain a pre-processed dataset of each functional parameter, wherein the pre-processed dataset comprises pre-processed data elements for the one or more key input parameters and the associated functional parameter; dividing the pre-processed dataset of each functional parameter into a training dataset and a testing dataset, based on a predefined ratio; scaling the training dataset of each functional parameter to obtain a scaled training dataset; scaling the testing dataset of each functional parameter to obtain a scaled testing dataset; generating one or more prediction models of each functional parameter, using the scaled training dataset; validating the one or more generated prediction models of each functional parameter using the scaled testing dataset; determining the optimal prediction model for each functional parameter out of the one or more generated prediction models, based on the validation; and obtaining the optimal prediction function for the associated functional parameter, from the optimal prediction model. In an embodiment of the present disclosure, pre-processing the sub-input dataset to obtain the pre-processed dataset of each functional parameter, comprises imputing missing data, outlier removal, and high correlation coefficient data removal. This prior art is also deficient in de-identifying data. (see Paragraphs [0012] and [0013] of Daware)
As can be seen by the foregoing, the prior art teaches the data processing steps that are claimed. However, the pending invention presents novelty by using these processes in a new way. Such an application of existing technology to be used with de-identified data is not considered to be obvious. For the Examiner to rely on Albright or Daware to combine with the other cited prior art does not result in de-identified data being processed in the disclosed manner. Rather, the Examiner would have to find prior art that included a de-identifying step and combine references using impermissible hindsight reasoning to arrive at the claimed invention. Accordingly, claim 21, contains subject matter free of prior art.
Conclusion
/CHAD A NEWTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3681