DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicants’ Remarks, filed on 10/05/2026, in which no claims are amended.
Applicant’s declaration of Motlagh, filed on 10/05/2026, is acknowledged and further discussed below.
Claims 28-29 are pending and are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
The instant application claims domestic benefit to 63/659,539, filed on 06/13/2024.
No rejections are withdrawn. The following are maintained grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prokin et al. (WO 2023/219526 A1; PTO-892 07/31/2025).
Prokin teaches a multitarget antiviral dietary supplement which can target viruses including SARS-CoV-2, Influenza, HIV-1, HCoV-229E, HCoV-NL63, HCoV-OC43, and HCoV-HKU1 (abstract). Prokin teaches that SARS-CoV-2 is a coronavirus (page 10, line 8). The supplement can be administered daily as a dietary supplement for the treatment of viral infection (claim 29). The supplement comprises at least one substance for binding to the viral spike protein, at least one substance for binding to the receptor of the viral spike protein, at least one substance for preventing viral entry into the cell, and at least one substance for preventing viral replication in cells (claim 1). The substance for binding to a virus spike protein is selected from, among others, hesperetin (claim 5) included in a mass of between 5-500mg (claim 16). The substance for binding to the receptor of the viral spike protein is selected from, among others, rutin (claim 6) included in a mass of between 5-500mg (claim 16). The substance for preventing viral entry into the cell is selected from, among others, hesperidin (claim 8), included in a mass of between 5-500mg (claim 16). The substance for preventing viral replication in cells is selected from, among others, quercetin (claim 15), included in a mass of between 5-500mg (claim 16). The multitarget antiviral dietary supplement may additionally comprise at least one substance for increasing the bioavailability of other substances (claim 17), selected from, among others, piperine (claim 18). The multitarget antiviral dietary supplement may additionally comprise at least one essential micronutrient (claim 19), selected from the group consisting of: vitamin D3, vitamin K2, vitamin A, vitamin C, zinc, and magnesium (claim 20). The masses of essential micronutrients used on a daily basis are selected from the group consisting of 1,000-5,000 IU of vitamin D3, 50-250 μg of vitamin K2, 25,000-125,000 IU of vitamin A, 200-1,000 mg of vitamin C, 10-50 mg of zinc, and 50-250 mg of magnesium (claim 21). The multitarget antiviral dietary supplement may additionally comprise at least one substance for treatment (claim 25) selected from, among others, N-acetylcysteine (claim 26). Prokin teaches an example of a composition for treatment in which N-acetylcysteine is administered in an amount of 150 mg (page 37, line 31). Prokin additionally teaches that the masses of the individual compounds may be optimized for particular viruses (abstract and page 45, line 27-page 46, line 1). Prokin teaches that the compositions may be administered with mesoporous silicon nanoparticles, solid lipid nanoparticles, and liposomes, thus teaching that the composition may include a carrier (page 45, lines 14-16).
Prokin does not expressly disclose an embodiment containing a carrier and the disclosed active ingredients in the disclosed amounts.
It would have been prima facie obvious to formulate a composition consisting of hesperidin, quercetin, hesperetin, piperine, zinc, vitamin C, vitamin D3, and N-acetylcysteine, as well as a carrier such as nanoparticles, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention because Prokin directs one of ordinary skill in the art to formulate a composition comprising a substance for binding to a virus spike protein, a substance for binding to the receptor of the viral spike protein, a substance for preventing viral entry into the cell, a substance for preventing viral replication in cells, essential micronutrients, and a substance for treatment, together with a carrier, and it is prima facie obvious to combine the prior art elements of substances for a multitarget antiviral dietary supplement according to the known method of Prokin to yield the predictable result of an antiviral composition. Furthermore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to select hesperidin as the substance for preventing viral entry into the cell, quercetin as the substance for preventing viral replication in cells, hesperetin as the substance for binding to a virus spike protein, piperine as the substance for increasing the bioavailability of other substances, zinc, vitamin C, and vitamin D3 as essential micronutrients, and N-acetylcysteine as a substance for treatment because Prokin teaches these compounds as being suitable substances to select for each of these respective classes of substances. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Prokin teaches that these substances are useful for the development of a multitarget antiviral dietary supplement. Furthermore, Prokin suggests a composition consisting of a carrier and hesperidin, quercetin, hesperetin, piperine, zinc, vitamin D3, vitamin C, and N-acetylcysteine and teaches that the masses of the individual compounds may be optimized for particular viruses (abstract and page 45, line 27-page 46, line 1). Thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimize the masses of the compounds beginning with the suggested masses in order to optimize the composition for the treatment of a particular virus, such as a SARS-CoV-2 virus.
Regarding the limitation “a zinc salt”, Prokin does not expressly teach that the zinc is in the form of a zinc salt. However, Prokin teaches that zinc in the form of the salt zinc sulfate is suitable for administration in the treatment of COVID-19 patients (page 19, lines 28-32). Thus it would have been prima facie obvious to include the zinc in the composition of Prokin in the form of a zinc salt.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prokin et al. (WO 2023/219526 A1; PTO-892 07/31/2025) in view of Chacon (US 20230218556 A1; PTO-892 01/15/2026).
Prokin teaches a multitarget antiviral dietary supplement which can target viruses including SARS-CoV-2, Influenza, HIV-1, HCoV-229E, HCoV-NL63, HCoV-OC43, and HCoV-HKU1 (abstract). Prokin teaches that SARS-CoV-2 is a coronavirus (page 10, line 8). The supplement can be administered daily as a dietary supplement for the treatment of viral infection (claim 29). The supplement comprises at least one substance for binding to the viral spike protein, at least one substance for binding to the receptor of the viral spike protein, at least one substance for preventing viral entry into the cell, and at least one substance for preventing viral replication in cells (claim 1). The substance for binding to a virus spike protein is selected from, among others, hesperetin (claim 5) included in a mass of between 5-500mg (claim 16). The substance for binding to the receptor of the viral spike protein is selected from, among others, rutin (claim 6) included in a mass of between 5-500mg (claim 16). The substance for preventing viral entry into the cell is selected from, among others, hesperidin (claim 8), included in a mass of between 5-500mg (claim 16). The substance for preventing viral replication in cells is selected from, among others, quercetin (claim 15), included in a mass of between 5-500mg (claim 16). The multitarget antiviral dietary supplement may additionally comprise at least one substance for increasing the bioavailability of other substances (claim 17), selected from, among others, piperine (claim 18). The multitarget antiviral dietary supplement may additionally comprise at least one essential micronutrient (claim 19), selected from the group consisting of: vitamin D3, vitamin K2, vitamin A, vitamin C, zinc, and magnesium (claim 20). The masses of essential micronutrients used on a daily basis are selected from the group consisting of 1,000-5,000 IU of vitamin D3, 50-250 μg of vitamin K2, 25,000-125,000 IU of vitamin A, 200-1,000 mg of vitamin C, 10-50 mg of zinc, and 50-250 mg of magnesium (claim 21). The multitarget antiviral dietary supplement may additionally comprise at least one substance for treatment (claim 25) selected from, among others, N-acetylcysteine (claim 26). Prokin teaches an example of a composition for treatment in which N-acetylcysteine is administered in an amount of 150 mg (page 37, line 31). Prokin additionally teaches that the masses of the individual compounds may be optimized for particular viruses (abstract and page 45, line 27-page 46, line 1). Prokin teaches that the compositions may be administered with mesoporous silicon nanoparticles, solid lipid nanoparticles, and liposomes, thus teaching that the composition may include a carrier (page 45, lines 14-16).
The teachings of Prokin differ from that of the instantly claimed invention in that Prokin does not expressly disclose an embodiment containing a carrier and the disclosed active ingredients in the disclosed amounts, nor does Prokin teach one or more omega-3 fatty acids.
Chacon discloses a method for the treatment of viral infections comprising the administration of fatty acids (abstract), including the treatment of SARS-CoV-2 (claim 7). Chacon teaches that the administration of a composition comprising a fatty acid will increase serum fatty acid levels and provides a protective effect to subjects suffering from acute respiratory distress syndrome such as that caused by severe viral respiratory infections [0084], including SARS-CoV-2 [0085]. The composition may further comprise an anti-viral drug (claim 61) and may be administered orally [0129]. The fatty acid may be an omega-3 fatty acid [0017]. The effective amount of the fatty acid may be, among others, about 500 mg [0147].
It would have been prima facie obvious to formulate a composition consisting of hesperidin, quercetin, rutin, piperine, zinc, vitamin C, vitamin D3, and N-acetylcysteine, as well as a carrier such as nanoparticles, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention because Prokin directs one of ordinary skill in the art to formulate a composition comprising a substance for binding to a virus spike protein, a substance for binding to the receptor of the viral spike protein, a substance for preventing viral entry into the cell, a substance for preventing viral replication in cells, essential micronutrients, and a substance for treatment, together with a carrier, and it is prima facie obvious to combine the prior art elements of substances for a multitarget antiviral dietary supplement according to the known method of Prokin to yield the predictable result of an antiviral composition. Furthermore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to select hesperidin as the substance for preventing viral entry into the cell, quercetin as the substance for preventing viral replication in cells, rutin as the substance for binding to the receptor of the viral spike protein, piperine as the substance for increasing the bioavailability of other substances, zinc, vitamin C, and vitamin D3 as essential micronutrients, and N-acetylcysteine as a substance for treatment because Prokin teaches these compounds as being suitable substances to select for each of these respective classes of substances. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Prokin teaches that these substances are useful for the development of a multitarget antiviral dietary supplement. Furthermore, Prokin suggests a composition consisting of a carrier and hesperidin, quercetin, rutin, piperine, zinc, vitamin C, vitamin D3, and N-acetylcysteine and teaches that the masses of the individual compounds may be optimized for particular viruses (abstract and page 45, line 27-page 46, line 1). Thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimize the masses of the compounds beginning with the suggested masses in order to optimize the composition for the treatment of a particular virus, such as a SARS-CoV-2 virus.
Regarding the limitation “a zinc salt”, Prokin does not expressly teach that the zinc is in the form of a zinc salt. However, Prokin teaches that zinc in the form of the salt zinc sulfate is suitable for administration in the treatment of COVID-19 patients (page 19, lines 28-32). Thus it would have been prima facie obvious to include the zinc in the composition of Prokin in the form of a zinc salt.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to add the omega-3 fatty acid of Chacon to the composition of Prokin because Chacon teaches that omega-3 fatty acids increase serum fatty acid levels and provide a protective effect to subjects suffering from acute respiratory distress syndrome, including SARS-CoV-2. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in adding an omega-3 fatty acid to the composition of Prokin because Prokin and Chacon teach compositions for the same purpose of treating a COVID-19 infection. In addition, Prokin teaches a multitarget antiviral dietary supplement and Chacon teaches that the composition may be administered orally and comprise additional anti-viral drugs.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the rationale for the rejection of claim 28 is improper because the rationale for claim 29 includes rutin, which is excluded from claim 28 by the language of “consisting of”. Applicant argues that the rationale thus explicitly comprises a component excluded from the claims (Remarks, paragraph bridging pages 3-4 and page 4 paragraph 1). Similarly, Applicant argues that the rationale for the rejection of claim 29 is improper because the rationale suggests the inclusion of hesperetin (Remarks, page 8, paragraph 1). This is not persuasive.
As discussed in the interview of 08/13/2026, because Prokin teaches both hesperetin and rutin as substances for binding to the receptor of the viral spike protein for the same purpose of an antiviral composition, Prokin teaches the compounds as interchangeable and thus renders the incorporation of either compound obvious, and thus the rationales do not require the inclusion of excluded components.
Applicant further argues that the rejection is improper because it is based on a conclusory statement without support and does not include articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness (Remarks, page 4, paragraph 3 and page 8, paragraph 4). This is not persuasive.
As discussed in the above rounds of rejection, Prokin directs one of ordinary skill in the art to formulate a composition comprising a substance for binding to a virus spike protein, a substance for binding to the receptor of the viral spike protein, a substance for preventing viral entry into the cell, a substance for preventing viral replication in cells, essential micronutrients, and a substance for treatment, together with a carrier, and it is prima facie obvious to combine the prior art elements of substances for a multitarget antiviral dietary supplement according to the known method of Prokin to yield the predictable result of an antiviral composition. Furthermore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to select any of the disclosed species disclosed for each of the sub-genus set forth by Prokin, including selecting hesperidin as the substance for preventing viral entry into the cell, quercetin as the substance for preventing viral replication in cells, hesperetin as the substance for binding to a virus spike protein, piperine as the substance for increasing the bioavailability of other substances, zinc, vitamin C, and vitamin D3 as essential micronutrients, and N-acetylcysteine as a substance for treatment because Prokin teaches these compounds as each being a suitable substance to select for each of these respective classes. Thus a rationale for obviousness has been provided and the rejection is not improper. Similarly, the above rounds of rejection for claim 29 likewise provides a rationale for obviousness in which it is indicated that it is prima facie obvious to combine the prior art elements of the compounds of Prokin according to the known methods of Prokin to yield the predictable results of an antiviral composition.
Applicant further argues that Prokin encompasses a nearly infinite genus by teaching a large number of categories of components based on alleged function (Remarks, paragraph bridging pages 4-5) and does not expressly teach any particular reason under MPEP 2144.08(A)(4)(b) to select a composition consisting of the recited elements to the exclusion of the other disclosed components (Remarks, page 5, paragraph 1 and page 9, paragraph 2). This is not persuasive.
Prokin gives specific direction to select one substance for each of: binding to the viral spike protein, binding to the receptor of the viral spike protein, preventing viral entry into the cell, preventing viral replication in cells, for increasing the bioavailability of other substances, and at least one substance for treatment. Prokin thus teaches that for each group any of the recited compounds would have the recited function and suggests a composition comprising active agents taught as each being suitable substances to select for these respective classes of substances in the formulation of multitarget antiviral compositions. Because these components are each taught as having antiviral properties, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably predict that the composition also has antiviral properties. As a result, it is prima facie obvious to choose any one of the disclosed compounds or any combination of the disclosed compounds with a reasonable expectation that it would have the indicated function. Therefore the composition of the instant claims is suggested by the teachings of Prokin because it would have been obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of an antiviral composition. MPEP 2144.08(A)(4)(d) states that “If the claimed invention and the structurally similar prior art species share any useful property, that will generally be sufficient to motivate an artisan of ordinary skill to make the claimed species...Thus, evidence of similar properties or evidence of any useful properties disclosed in the prior art that would be expected to be shared by the claimed invention weighs in favor of a conclusion that the claimed invention would have been obvious.” MPEP 2144.08(A)(4)I states that “obviousness does not require absolute predictability, only a reasonable expectation of success, i.e., a reasonable expectation of obtaining similar properties.”
Applicant further argues that Prokin’s exemplary species are structurally distinct compounds from the compounds in the claimed compositions (Remarks, paragraph bridging pages 5-6 and paragraph bridging pages 9-10). This is not persuasive.
The teachings of Prokin are not limited to that of the exemplary compositions, but rather include broader teachings for producing an antiviral composition and teach that, for example, hesperidin, rutin, and vitamin C as useful for the formulation of an antiviral composition. MPEP 2123(II) states that disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. Furthermore MPEP 2123(I) states that a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Thus the teachings of Prokin and Prokin in view of Chacon suggest the instantly claimed compositions.
Applicant further argues that the Declaration from Ali Mohseni Motlagh demonstrates that the teachings of Prokin are not predictable (Remarks, page 6, paragraph 1 and page 10, paragraph 2). Specifically, Applicant argues that Prokin teaches a number of categories of substances based on alleged function with hundreds of structurally unrelated compounds allegedly having such function in each of these categories and that Prokin provides no evidence or rationale supporting the alleged functions (Remarks, page 6, paragraph 2 and page 10, paragraph 2). Applicant argues that experimental testing shows that a large number of the compounds listed in Prokin do not have the alleged functional activity (Remarks, page 6, paragraph 3 and page 10, paragraph 3).
The Declaration of Motlagh states that Prokin lists each of naringenin, neohesperidin, nobiletin, and narirutin as substances that bind to the virus spike protein (Declaration, 7), but that in silico docking and experimental confirmation with Surface Plasmon Resonance (SPR), shows that these substances do not bind the virus spike protein (Declaration, 8). Specifically, the Declaration states that while naringenin, neohesperidin, nobiletin, narirutin, rutin, and hesperidin were all tested for binding of the SARS-CoV-2 spike protein via in silico docking only rutin and hesperidin showed binding activity (Declaration, 8). The Declaration states that these binding characteristics were confirmed via SPR, in which an initial SPR experiment in MCK mode showed that of naringenin, neohesperidin, nobiletin, narirutin, rutin, and hesperidin, only hesperidin displayed binding activity. A follow-up SPR experiment in SCK mode showed that only rutin and hesperidin among the tested compounds (naringenin, neohesperidin, nobiletin, narirutin, rutin, and hesperidin) displayed binding activity (Declaration, 8). The Examiner notes that the Declaration of Motlagh does not provide additional data, but rather points to the data provided in the instant specification.
Applicant concludes that, because a significant number of compounds listed by Prokin as binding to the virus spike protein failed to exhibit this activity, that it is not predictable which of the other hundreds of structurally unrelated compounds listed by Prokin might have the alleged activities, and that undue experimentation would accordingly be required to make this determination (Remarks, page 6, paragraph 3 and page 10, paragraph 3). This is not persuasive.
The instant grounds of rejection are based on a reasonable expectation of success that the teachings of Prokin, which provide sufficient detail for one of ordinary skill in the art to synthesize the claimed composition, can be relied upon for whatever it teaches. MPEP 2121.01(II) states that even if a reference discloses an inoperative device, it is prior art for all that it teaches. Therefore, a non-enabling reference may qualify as prior art for the purpose of determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that the instant specification demonstrates that a large number of the compounds listed in Prokin do not have the alleged functional activity, Example 1 (instant specification beginning on page 18, line 26) describes the in silico study. Example 1 at page 19, lines 15-16 states that the in silico analysis showed strong association of hesperidin, neohesperidin, hesperetin, and rutin with the spike protein of SARS-COV-2. The example does not list any compounds that did not show strong association. Regarding the SPR analysis, Example 1 of the Specification states that in MCK mode Hesperidin displayed binding activity with slow dissociation that confounded kinetic fitting, but does not provide data regarding the outcomes of the other ligands (Specification, page 20, line 7-19). The Specification states that only the combination of rutin and hesperidin displayed binding activity in the SCK mode (Specification, page 20, line 18). Thus Applicant’s conclusion that the instant Specification conclusively demonstrates that rutin and hesperidin showed binding activity while naringenin, neohesperidin, nobiletin, and narirutin do not display binding activity is unpersuasive, as the only data that suggests that naringenin, neohesperidin, nobiletin, and narirutin do not display binding activity is the SPR analysis in SCK mode also suggests that hesperidin and rutin alone do not display binding activity, whereas SPR analysis in MCK mode reports binding by hesperidin. Thus it does not appear that the data provided by SPR analysis is sufficient to conclusively demonstrate that all of the naringenin, neohesperidin, nobiletin, and narirutin do not display binding activity. As a result, Applicant’s argument that the teachings of Prokin are unpredictable because a large number of the compounds listed in Prokin are demonstrated to not have the alleged functional activity is not persuasive.
The instant specification has been reviewed for evidence of unexpected results, for example a comparison of the instantly claimed composition with a composition which comprises the closest prior art components as substitutes. However, no such comparison was found. Thus the instant specification does not demonstrate unexpected results and the method of Prokin and Prokin in view of Chacon renders obvious the instant claims.
Applicant further argues that it would not have been obvious to include the alleged fatty acids of Chacon with the other specific recited components because Prokin teaches the recited components as being effective against many different viruses and does not expressly teach the components of the instantly claimed invention as specifically being effective against SARS-CoV-2 (Remarks, page 11, paragraph 3 to page 12, paragraph 1). This is not persuasive.
As discussed in the above grounds of rejection, Prokin teaches a multitarget antiviral dietary supplement which can target viruses including SARS-CoV-2, Influenza, HIV-1, HCoV-229E, HCoV-NL63, HCoV-OC43, and HCoV-HKU1. Thus although Prokin teaches that the composition is a multitarget antiviral composition useful for treating multiple viruses, Prokin teaches that this includes the treatment of SARS-CoV-2 infections. Chacon teaches that a composition comprising a fatty acid provides the benefit of increasing serum fatty acid levels and provides a protective effect to subjects suffering from acute respiratory distress syndrome such as that caused by severe viral respiratory infections, including SARS-CoV-2. Thus Chacon teaches that a patient suffering from a SARS-CoV-2 infection is in need of protection from acute respiratory distress syndrome, and the antiviral composition suggested by Prokin is taught as useful for treating a SARS-CoV-2 infection. Thus, Prokin and Chacon teach compositions which are useful for the same purpose of treating a SARS-CoV-2 infection, and it would be prima facie obvious to combine the compositions to achieve the predictable result of a composition useful for the treatment of SARS-CoV-2.
Because Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, the instant claims are rejected for the reasons of record.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Sarah Grace Hibshman whose telephone number is (703)756-5341. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday 7:30am-5:30pm (EST). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Scarlett Goon can be reached on (571) 270-5241. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/S.G.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1693
/SCARLETT Y GOON/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1693