DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities: Within the ninth line of claim 22, please delete “be” after “detachably”. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7, 9 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,976,408. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because. Because the patent claims are much more specific than the application claims, the patent claims are in essence a "species" of the generic invention of the application claims. It has been held that the generic invention is "anticipated" by the "species" within the scope of the generic invention. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Note that the use of different terminology for the same parts also does not distinguish the application claim from the patent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 12 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIM et al. (US 2015/0159315 A1) in view of KIM et al. (US 8,850,855 B2).
Regarding claims 11 and 23, LIM discloses a laundry treating apparatus (100) comprising: a cabinet (1) having an opening in a front direction (Fig. 1); a door assembly (11) configured to open or close the opening (Fig. 1); a first laundry treating chamber (31) provided inside the cabinet (1) to provide a space for accommodating laundry and communicated with an outside of the cabinet through the opening (Fig. 1); a machine chamber (7) communicated with the first laundry treating chamber (31) to arrange at least one of a steam supply unit (at least 37, 727 of 72) configured to supply steam to the first laundry treating chamber (31) and an air supply unit (71) configured to circulate the air (Figures 1 and 2); and a press unit (9) provided in the door assembly (11) and configured to press laundry (Fig. 1), wherein the press unit (9) comprises: a base plate (91) arranged at an inner side of the door assembly (11) to support the laundry (Fig. 1), and a press plate (93) provided to rotate toward to the base plate (91) to press the laundry (Fig. 1). However, LIM fails to disclose an auxiliary steam supply unit disposed at least one of the first laundry treating chamber, door assembly, and the press unit to supply steam to the laundry.
KIM discloses a laundry treatment apparatus comprising a cabinet (100), a door assembly (12), a first laundry treatment chamber (11; at least the top thereof), a machine chamber (wherein 20 and 40 are located at bottom of 11), a steam supply unit (21), an air supply unit (40, 41) and a press unit (supplemental cabinet 30 includes press 50) provided in the door assembly (12) (Figures 1-2). KIM further discloses an auxiliary steam supply unit (15, 51) disposed at least one of the first laundry treating chamber (11), door assembly (12), and the press unit (30; 50) in order to directly provide steam to the press unit (specifically, press 50) and thus better remove wrinkles from the laundry. Note that KIM discloses a steam generate unit (20) disposed in the machine chamber and providing steam to both the steam supply unit (21) and the auxiliary steam supply unit (15, 51) (Figures 1 and 2). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have provided the laundry treatment apparatus of KIM with an auxiliary steam supply unit, in light of the teachings of KIM, in order to directly provide steam to the press unit (specifically, the press plate) and thus better remove wrinkles from the laundry.
Regarding claim 12, LIM discloses the base plate (91) and the press plate (93) forming a second laundry treating chamber (therebetween) to remove a crease of the laundry by applying a pressure to inside (Figures 1, 3 and 4). Additionally, since the combination of LIM and KIM teaches the auxiliary steam supply unit being provided to supply steam generated from the steam generate unit to the press plate, as discussed above, the steam will also be supplied to “the second laundry treatment chamber” as claimed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-22 and 24-26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, as cited on attached PTO-892, and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Note that US 2011/0005279 A1 disclose a laundry treatment machine (100) comprising multiple steam supply units (a plurality of steam spraying units 50) (additionally, note a second steam spraying unit 55 which sprays steam into the circulation duct 26) to a laundry treatment chamber (10) which would include providing steam to an inside surface of the door (60) (Fig. 1).
NED
/NATHAN E DURHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732