CTNF 19/237,929 CTNF 85775 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions 08-25-01 AIA Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species B , in the reply filed on 05/01/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 9-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, claim 1 recites the limitation "the photoelectric conversion element" in line 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this office action, the limitation will be treated as if it refers to each photoelectric conversion element of the plurality of photoelectric conversion elements. Claims 2-8 are rejected due to their respective dependence on claim 1. Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, lines 2 and 3 of claim 3 recite “the counter electrode of the first photoelectric conversion element group,” however, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim is indefinite because the counter electrode referred to in the claim is unclear. Similarly, lines 5 and 6 of claim 3 recite “the counter electrode of the second photoelectric conversion element group,” however, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 4, which is dependent on claim 3, recites the limitations cited above in lines 2-3 and 5-6, respectively, which render claim 4 indefinite for the same reason set forth above with regard to claim 3. Claim 4 is rejected due to its dependence on claim 3. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US 2011/0126876) in view of Sasagawa et al. (JP 2006-253417, see attached machine translation) . Regarding claim 1, Guo discloses a photoelectric conversion module (abstract; 1 in Figures 3 and 4) and further discloses a light-transmitting insulating substrate (11 in Fig. 4; [0023]); a plurality of photoelectric conversion element groups including a first photoelectric conversion element group and a second photoelectric conversion element group adjacent to each other ([0024]; 1 is comprised of a plurality of photoelectric element conversion groups as depicted in annotated Figure 3 below), the plurality of photoelectric conversion element groups being disposed on a first principal surface of the light-transmitting insulating substrate (adjacent groups of 12, 13, and 14 on 11 in Figures 3 and 4); and a light-transmitting portion disposed between the first photoelectric conversion element group and the second photoelectric conversion element group ([0024]; 20, depicted in annotated Fig. 3 below), wherein the first photoelectric conversion element group and the second photoelectric conversion element group each include a plurality of photoelectric conversion elements electrically connected to each other in series (back electrode 14 connected in series with transparent electrode 12 in each of the plurality of photoelectric conversion elements in Figures 3 and 4), the plurality of photoelectric conversion element groups are disposed in parallel along a second direction that is different from the first direction ([0024]; the cross-sectional view of the line A-A of Figure 3 in Figure 4 depicts the series connection between the plurality of photoelectric conversion elements of each group; annotated Fig. 3 below depicts the plurality of groups in parallel in a direction perpendicular to the direction of the series connected cells of the cross-sectional view A-A in Fig. 4), the light-transmitting portion includes a light-transmitting layer disposed on the first principal surface of the light-transmitting substrate (12 in Fig. 4), the photoelectric conversion element includes a light-transmitting electrode disposed on the first principal surface of the light-transmitting insulating substrate ([0024]; 12 on 11 in Fig. 4), a counter electrode disposed to face the light-transmitting electrode ([0024]; 14 in Fig. 4), and a photoelectric conversion layer disposed between the light-transmitting electrode and the counter electrode ([0024]; 13 in Fig. 4), the light-transmitting portion is composed of a first region in contact with the first photoelectric conversion element group (shown in annotated Fig. 4 below; it is noted that the limitation “in contact” does not require direct physical contact or the absence of intermediate components), a second region in contact with the second photoelectric conversion element group (shown in annotated Fig. 4 below; it is noted that the limitation “in contact” does not require direct physical contact or the absence of intermediate components), and a third region provided between the first region and the second region (shown in annotated Fig. 4 below), the light-transmitting layer is disposed neither in the first region nor in the second region, and the light-transmitting layer is disposed in the third region (shown in annotated Fig. 4 below). Guo does not explicitly disclose the third region being in contact neither with the first photoelectric conversion element group nor with the second photoelectric conversion element group. Sasagawa discloses a photoelectric conversion module ([0002]) and further discloses the transparent conductive layer is provided on the substrate and is divided by grooves to correspond to multiple solar cell power generation cells ([0028]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include grooves in the transparent conductive layer, as disclosed by Sasagawa, to correspond to the photoelectric conversion elements of Guo, because as evidenced by Sasagawa, the formation of grooves in a transparent conductive layer to correspond to multiple solar power generation cells of a photovoltaic module amounts to the use of known components in the art for their intended purpose to achieve an expected result, and one skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when including grooves in the transparent conductive layer of Guo to correspond to the photoelectric conversion elements based on the teaching of Sasagawa. Regarding claim 2, modified Guo discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Guo further discloses the light-transmitting layer is formed of the same material as that of the light-transmitting electrode (Guo - [0024]; 12 in Fig. 4). Regarding claims 3 and 4, modified Guo discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Guo further discloses the first region is a region from an end face of the counter electrode of a first photoelectric conversion element (Guo – first region depicted in annotated Fig. 4 below satisfies the limitation “from an end face of the counter electrode” because the limitation “from an end face” does not require direct physical contact or the absence of intermediate components), the end face facing the first region (an end face of the counter electrode of the leftmost photoelectric cell in relation to the first region depicted in annotated Fig. 4 below), and the second region is a region from an end face of the counter electrode of a second photoelectric conversion element (Guo – second region depicted in annotated Fig. 4 below satisfies the limitation “from an end face of the counter electrode” because the limitation “from an end face” does not require direct physical contact or the absence of intermediate components), the end face facing the second region (an end face of the counter electrode of the middle photoelectric cell in relation to the second region depicted in annotated Fig. 4 below). While modified Guo does not explicitly disclose the first region is a region to a position 20 microns or more and 1 mm or less apart from the end face of the counter electrode of a first photoelectric conversion element, and the second region is a region to a position 20 microns or more and 1 mm or less apart from the end face of a second photoelectric conversion element, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the first and second regions of modified Guo such that it is to a position 20 microns or more and 1 mm or less apart from the end face of the respective counter electrode of a first and second photoelectric conversion element because such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size (or dimension) of a component. A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose , 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device, Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc. , 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). Regarding claim 7, modified Guo discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Guo does not explicitly disclose the light-transmitting insulating substrate is a glass substrate. Sasagawa discloses a photoelectric conversion module ([0002]) and further discloses a light-transmitting glass substrate ([0024]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the light-transmitting insulating substrate of modified Guo with a glass substrate, as disclosed by Sasagawa, because as evidenced by Sasagawa, the use of a glass substrate as a light-transmitting substrate in a photovoltaic module amounts to the use of a known material in the art for its intended purpose to achieve an expected result, and one skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when forming the light-transmitting insulating substrate of modified Guo with glass based on the teaching of Sasagawa. Regarding claim 8, modified Guo discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Guo further discloses the glass substrate is formed of glass for windows (Sasagawa – [0024] discloses the substrate is translucent). It is noted that with regard to the limitation “wherein the glass substrate is formed of glass for windows,” the limitation is directed to the manner in which the apparatus is intended to be used, and a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115. [AltContent: textbox (light-transmitting portion)] [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: textbox (second group comprised of row of cells depicted in Fig. 4)] [AltContent: textbox (first group comprised of row of cells depicted in Fig. 4 )] PNG media_image1.png 424 502 media_image1.png Greyscale [AltContent: textbox (second region)] [AltContent: textbox (third region)] [AltContent: textbox (first region)] [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: oval] [AltContent: oval] [AltContent: oval] PNG media_image2.png 262 392 media_image2.png Greyscale 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US 2011/0126876) in view of Sasagawa et al. (JP 2006-253417, see attached machine translation) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Conklin et al. (US 2021/0391550) . Regarding claim 5, modified Guo discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Guo does not explicitly disclose the first photoelectric conversion element group and the second photoelectric conversion element group are electrically connected to each other in parallel. Conklin discloses a photoelectric conversion module and further discloses one or more cells connected in series and/or parallel ([0037]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to electrically connect the first and second photoelectric conversion element groups of modified Guo in parallel, as disclosed by Conklin, because as evidenced by Conklin, electrically connecting cells of a photovoltaic module in series and in parallel amounts to the use of a known configuration in the art for its intended purpose to achieve an expected result, and one skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when connecting the first and second photoelectric conversion groups of modified Guo in parallel based on the teaching of Conklin. Regarding claim 6, modified Guo discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Guo does not explicitly disclose the photoelectric conversion layer includes a perovskite compound. Conklin discloses a photoelectric conversion module and further discloses the photoelectric conversion layer includes a perovskite compound ([0040]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the photoelectric conversion layer of modified Guo with a perovskite compound, as disclosed by Conklin, because as evidenced by Conklin, the use of a perovskite compound as a photoelectric conversion layer in a photovoltaic module amounts to the use of a known material in the art for its intended purpose to achieve an expected result, and one skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when forming the photoelectric conversion layer of modified Guo with a perovskite compound based on the teaching of Conklin. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TAMIR AYAD whose telephone number is (313) 446-6651. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday, 8:30am - 5pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeffrey Barton can be reached at (571) 272-1307. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at (866) 217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call (800) 786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or (571) 272-1000. /TAMIR AYAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726 Application/Control Number: 19/237,929 Page 2 Art Unit: 1726 Application/Control Number: 19/237,929 Page 3 Art Unit: 1726 Application/Control Number: 19/237,929 Page 4 Art Unit: 1726 Application/Control Number: 19/237,929 Page 5 Art Unit: 1726 Application/Control Number: 19/237,929 Page 6 Art Unit: 1726 Application/Control Number: 19/237,929 Page 7 Art Unit: 1726 Application/Control Number: 19/237,929 Page 8 Art Unit: 1726 Application/Control Number: 19/237,929 Page 9 Art Unit: 1726 Application/Control Number: 19/237,929 Page 10 Art Unit: 1726 Application/Control Number: 19/237,929 Page 11 Art Unit: 1726